2Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2021-036067, filed on 03/08/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention. The instant invention is anticipated by Sakazume et al. (US5985215A):
Regarding Claim 1, Sakazume et al. teaches an automatic analyzer (See the Abstract, the analyzing apparatus 100, and Claim(s) 1-11 in [Col. 2 line 47-67]-[Col. 5 lines 1-64] in Fig. 1-4), comprising: a conveyance line for conveying a loaded sample container (See the transfer line, i.e. a conveyance line, in [Col. 2 lines 47-51] in Fig. 1);
an identification information reading device that reads identification information attached to the sample container (See the bar code reader 142 and 144, i.e. identification information reading devices, in [Col. 3 lines 9-21] in Fig. 1); and
a container height detection device that detects a height of the sample container (See the container type discrimination part 146, i.e. a container height detection device, in [Col. 3 lines 9-21] in Fig. 1 and 4),
wherein the identification information reading device and the container height detection device perform reading and detection when the sample container is at a common position on the conveyance line (See in [Col. 5 lines 57-63] in Fig. 1 and 4),
the container height detection device includes a plurality of sensors having different height ranges for a detection target (See in [Col. 5 lines 38-51] in Fig. 1 and 4),
a part of the plurality of sensors is disposed on the same side as the identification information reading device with respect to the conveyance line (See how the light emission part 146A is composed of light emitting diodes A1, A2 ,A3 , A4 and A5 arranged in an array state at different height positions perpendicular to the transfer line 130 in [Col. 3 lines 38-51] in Fig. 1 and 4), and
the rest of the plurality of sensors are disposed on the opposite side of the identification information reading device with respect to the conveyance line (See how the light reception part 146B is composed of photo-diodes B1, B2 ,B3 , B4 and B5 also arranged in an array state at different height positions perpendicular to the transfer line 130 in [Col. 3 lines 38-51] in Fig. 1 and 4).
Note in MPEP § 2144 VI. concerning the rearrangement of parts of a claimed invention in comparison to the prior art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice). The current claimed arrangement of the identification information reading device, the container height detection device, the conveyance line, and the plurality of sensors, would render similar results as the analyzing apparatus in the prior art.
Regarding Claim(s) 2-3, Sakazume et al. teaches the device limitations of claim 1.
Sakazume et al. teaches an automatic analyzer (See the Abstract, the analyzing apparatus 100, and Claim(s) 1-11 in [Col. 2 line 47-67]-[Col. 5 lines 1-64] in Fig. 1-4), wherein the sensor whose detection target is a height range in which a distance between the plurality of sample containers mounted on a sample rack along a conveyance direction of the conveyance line is the closest is disposed on the opposite side of the identification information reading device (See in [Col. 5 lines 4-63] in Fig. 1-4);
wherein the sensor whose height range for the detection target is the lowest is disposed on the opposite side of the identification information reading device (See in Fig. 1-4 in Claim(s) 4-11).
Regarding Claim 4, Sakazume et al. teaches the device limitations of claim 1.
Sakazume et al. teaches an automatic analyzer (See the Abstract, the analyzing apparatus 100, and Claim(s) 1-11 in [Col. 2 line 47-67]-[Col. 5 lines 1-64] in Fig. 1-4), wherein a light emission direction of the sensor disposed on the opposite side of the identification information reading device is closer to a direction perpendicular to the conveyance direction of the conveyance line than a light emission direction of the sensor disposed on the same side as the identification information reading device (See the container type discrimination part 146, i.e. a container height detection device, is perpendicular to the transfer line in [Col. 3 lines 38-51] in Fig. 1 and 4).
Regarding Claim 5, Sakazume et al. teaches the device limitations of claim 1.
Sakazume et al. teach an automatic analyzer (See the Abstract, the analyzing apparatus 100, and Claim(s) 1-11 in [Col. 2 line 47-67]-[Col. 5 lines 1-64] in Fig. 1-4), wherein the identification information reading device also reads identification information attached to a sample rack on which the sample container is mounted (See how the discrimination unit 140, i.e. identification information, includes a bar code reader 142 for reading a rack bar code label 24 affixed to each sample rack 20 to show information on the sample rack, a bar code reader 144 for reading a sample container bar code label 18 affixed to each sample container 10 to show information on a sample in the container 10, etc. in [Col. 2 lines 46-67]-[Col. 3 lines 1-21] in Fig. 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakazume et al. (US5985215A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Haung et al. (CN110873809A).
Regarding Claim 6, Sakazume et al. teaches the device limitations of claim 1.
Sakazume et al. fails to explicitly teach an automatic analyzer, wherein a light emission direction of the sensor disposed on the opposite side of the identification information reading device is closer to a direction perpendicular to the conveyance direction of the conveyance line than a light emission direction of the sensor disposed on the same side as the identification information reading device
However, in the analogous art of sample analyzers and methods, Haung et al. teaches an automatic analyzer (See the Abstract, the automatic sampling device, and Claim(s) 1-12 in Fig. 1-3), wherein a light emission direction of the sensor disposed on the opposite side of the identification information reading device is closer to a direction perpendicular to the conveyance direction of the conveyance line than a light emission direction of the sensor disposed on the same side as the identification information reading device (See how the sensor bracket 114 is disposed on the detection platform 113 in Fig. 1; Also, see how the automatic sampling device includes at least one rack 10, a sampling base 11, a rack driving mechanism, a length detection sensor 12, a barcode scanning unit 13, a sampling mechanism 14, and a processor that can be disposed vertically in Fig. 1).
Thus, it would be obvious to modify the device of Sakazume et al. by incorporating a light emitting unit and a light receiving unit are disposed in a vertical direction (as taught by Haung et al.) for the benefit of identifying samples in an analyzer via a reading device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following prior art teaches similar devices and methods: Yasui et al. (US20160327587A1), Hiroki et al. (US20210247412A1), and Nakajima et al. (US20220011333A1).
/BRITNEY N. WASHINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1797
/JENNIFER WECKER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797