DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, drawn to a method of manufacturing an active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte, and claim 6, drawn to a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/01/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to claims 1-4 and an active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte, in the reply filed on 04/01/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Uchida (US 20110033749 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Uchida discloses an active material (Abstract lithium containing composite oxide [0018][0002]) for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, including: a core that is able to reversibly occlude and release Li ([0018]-[0020]); and a compound adhering ([0019]) to a surface of the core, wherein a titanium compound is trivalent (LiTiO2 [0020]).
Regarding claim 4, Uchida discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Uchida discloses wherein the core is a lithium-containing composite
oxide having a layered structure and represented by the general formula LixNiyM11-yO2 (0.9≤ x≤1.4,0.4≤y≤1, and M1 represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mn, Co, Al, and Fe [0018]).
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thackeray (US 2013/0130095 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, Thackery discloses an active material for a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery, including: a core that is able to reversibly occlude and release Li; and a compound adhering to a surface of the core, wherein a titanium compound is applied as (NH4)2TiF6 (see claim 1 and [0035]).
Applicant’s specification indicates in Example 1 the following process in para [0045] in the PG publication of the instant application see US 20240055585 A1 “The lithium-containing composite oxide and (NH4)2TiF6 were mixed in water to prepare an aqueous solution with a pH of 7. The aqueous solution was stirred and mixed for 5 minutes at 300 rpm, and then filtered to obtain a positive electrode active material in which (NH4)2TiF5 adhered to the surface of the lithium-containing composite oxide.”
Thackeray discloses in paragraph [0035 ]“The invention relates more specifically to preconditioned metal-oxide- and lithium-metal-oxide electrode particles with surfaces etched by solutions, preferably mildly acidic solutions with 4<pH<7, more preferably 5<pH<7, and most preferably 6<pH<7, the solutions containing stabilizing ammonium, phosphorus, titanium, silicon, zirconium, aluminum and boron cations and fluoride anions, such as those found in NH4PF6, (NH4)2TiF6, (NH4)2SiF6, (NH4)2ZrF6, (NH4)3AlF6, NH4BF4 salts or derivatives thereof, to improve the capacity, cycling efficiency and cycling stability of lithium cells and batteries when charged to high potentials. These preconditioning reactions can take place optionally in the presence of lithium ions.”
Thackeray discloses a substantially similar method, lithium-containing composite oxide and salt (ammonium and fluorine containing salt) were mixed in an aqueous solution with a pH of 7 (see Examples made [0037]-[0043]).
Therefore with regards to the claim limitations that the “compound contains trivalent Ti” and wherein “the compound represents (NH4)2TiF5”, Thackeray discloses the same process and starting reactant for forming the trivalent compound as instantly disclosed.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thackeray (US 2013/0130095 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Thackeray discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Thackery discloses that the lithium-metal oxide electrodes can be selected from the family of layered compounds, LiMO2, wherein M is selected preferably from Mg, Al, Ti, V, Cr, Mn, Fe, Co, and Ni ([0032]).-
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modified the lithium-containing composite oxide of Thackeray to have the
the general formula LixNiyM11-yO2 (0.9≤ x≤1.4,0.4≤y≤1, and M1 represents at least one element selected from the group consisting of Mn, Co, Al, and Fe) because Thackeray discloses a limited listing of lithium-containing composite oxides and therefore it would be obvious to use any and all of the limited listing.
Conclusion
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726