DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 14 recites the broad recitation 10 min to 6 hours, and the claim also recites 10 mins to 2 hours which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 9, 11 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haag et al. (US 2019/0010373)
In regards to claim 1, Haag teaches one-component epoxy polyurethane and/or urea tougheners, an epoxy resin and epoxy hardener (abstract). The admixture comprises rubber-modified epoxy resins at 0 to 40% or from 12 to 40% A/B), tougheners at 55 – 85% C), optional core-shell rubbers at 0 to 15% D), epoxy curing agents E), such that A-D is 65 to 97%, and A-E is at least 60% [0009]. Curing agents includes adipic dihydrazide, isophthalic dihydrazide (i.e., aromatic dihydrazide), stearic dihydrazide etc. according to components B1 and B2 of the claim [0049]. Since epoxy compounds have multiple epoxide groups per molecule according to component A of the claim [0018]. When multiple curing agents are used such as the adipic dihydrazide and isophthalic dihydride, since they are taught as equivalents, it would be obvious to use them at equal amounts and thus provide a ratio of 1:1 according to the claimed ratio. According to KSR, combining prior art elements useful for the same purpose to be used for the same purpose is obvious. The polyurethane epoxy compound is crosslinked and cured which provides a thermosetting epoxy component of the claim [0047, 0048].
In regards to claims 2, 3, Haag teaches the composition having the claimed limitation as previously discussed.
In regards to claim 4, Haag teaches the composition which can comprise a catalyst such as imidazole, imidazoline thus providing the accelerant of the claim [0050, 0051].
In regards to claim 5, Haag teaches the composition wherein the catalyst is a component F that can be present at calculated minor amounts, since component A to E can be present at 65 to 100%, or 65 to 97%, the balance of component F (i.e., imidazole or imidazoline catalyst) would be present at minor amounts, such that the amount of the catalyst per mole of the epoxy resin would overlap the claimed range [0009].
In regards to claims 6, 7, Haag teaches the composition having core shell rubbers at 0 to 15% according to the limitation D of the claim.
In regards to claim 8, Haag teaches the composition having the ingredients in the claimed amounts and would be expected to exhibit similar properties as claimed.
In regards to claim 9, Haag teaches the composition having the epoxy resin at 0 to 40% as previously stated and which overlaps the claimed range.
In regards to claims 11, 12, Haag teaches a method of bonding two substrates using the epoxy adhesive composition wherein the adhesive is heated to temperatures of at least 160℃ and up to 210℃ to cure the adhesive, and thus provides a heat-stable surface as claimed [0012 – 0016, 0068]. The adhesive can be used to bond a variety of surfaces together thus allowing for bonding similar or different surfaces [0069]. The rate of heating and/or the amount of time it takes to cure the adhesive is a parameter that would be routinely optimized by persons of ordinary skill in the art and would vary based on temperature. Since the same adhesive composition is being heated at similar temperatures it appears that the amount of time taken to cure the adhesive would be similar to the time claimed.
In regards to claim 13, Haag teaches the composition and method. While Haag does not particularly recite the means of heating as claimed, the use of induction curing of similar adhesive is known in the art in view of Munzinger et al. WO 2019/081581 and would have been obvious for the composition of Haag.
In regards to claim 14, Haag teaches the method as previously stated.
In regards to claim 15, Haag teaches the adhesive bonded article obtained from the process as previously discussed.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 9, 11 – 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,891,507 in view of Haag et al. (US 2019/0010373). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent teaches the epoxy adhesive composition having the claimed limitations and which is applied to a surface at temperatures overlapping the claimed range and at time periods overlapping the claimed range. The patent does not recite the presence of aromatic dihydrazide. However, Haag recites the use of aromatic dicarboxylic dihydrazide such as isophthalic dihydrazide in amounts that would be suitable for use in the patented composition. Haag teaches they are useful interchangeably with adipic dihydrazide and thus both can be used together at similar amounts which provides a ratio of 1:1.
While the amount of time it takes to heat it up to 160℃ is not particularly recited, the rate of heating is a parameter that would be routinely optimized by persons of ordinary skill in the art. Ratios of the curing agents would also be obvious since the patent teaches one or more of the curing agents each of which ae suitable which makes their combination at equal amounts suitable.
In regards to claim 13, the use of induction curing of the adhesive is known in the art in view of Munzinger et al. WO 2019/081581 and would have been obvious.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771