DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroto (KR 20210030856 A) alone.
Regarding claim 25, Hiroto discloses a shoes care device comprising:
a first management device (Fig. 1);
a steam generator (Fig. 4, 60) configured to generate steam; and
a controller (90) configured to control operations of the first management device and the steam generator (see English translation, bottom of pg. 6, discussing where each compartment 20 is controlled; see also pg. 11 discussing where the steam generator 60 is controlled by sensor information from the humidity sensor, and this sensor information is fed to the controller), wherein each of the first management device includes:
an inner cabinet (10) having an accommodation space configured to accommodate shoes therein (Figs. 1/2), the inner cabinet being configured to be supplied with the steam (Fig. 4 show steam flow from steam generator 60);
a connection path defining a path in which air in the accommodation space is introduced thereinto and then discharged therefrom to the accommodation space (Fig. 4: see arrows showing the connection path for the airflow);
a blower (Fig. 4, 31) located in the connection path, the blower being configured to move the air along the connection path, and
a dehumidifier (32) located in the connection path, the dehumidifier being configured to dehumidify the air in the connection path.
Hiroto fails to disclose:
a second management device located adjacent to the first management device, and
a controller configured to control operations of the second management device.
However, the only difference between Hiroto and the claimed invention is that the claimed invention has two, instead of one management device. A mere duplication of the first management device has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Hiroto to include a second management device located adjacent to the first management device, and a controller configured to control operations of the second management device, so that more shoes can be dried simultaneously.
Regarding claim 26, modified Hiroto discloses the shoes care device of claim 25, wherein each of the first management device and the second management device includes a heater (Fig. 4, 33) located in the connection path, the heater being configured to heat the air in the connection path.
Regarding claim 27, Hiroto discloses the shoes care device of claim 26, wherein each of the first management device and the second management device includes:
a module housing defining a portion of the connection path (Fig. 4), the module housing being coupled (i.e., indirect or direct connection) to one side of the inner cabinet (Fig. 2), the module housing including:
a module chamber located therein (Fig. 4 shows a bottom chamber containing the blower 31, heater 33, and dehumidifier 32); and
an opening (Fig. 4: opening proximate element 50) through which the air in the accommodation space is introduced into the module chamber; and
a drying flow path defining a portion of the connection path so that air introduced into the module chamber is discharged therefrom to the accommodation space (Fig. 4), and
wherein the blower, the heater, and the dehumidifier are located in the module chamber.
Claim(s) 29, 38, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroto (KR 20210030856 A) in view of Lee (KR 20150118796 A).
Regarding claim 29, modified Hiroto discloses the shoes care device of claim 27, further comprising a sump (Fig. 4, 71) configured to accommodate condensed water, the sump being located at a lower side of the second management device,
wherein the second management device is located at a lower side of the first management device (note: the relative placement is a matter of obvious design choice and can be determined based on the room layout),
wherein the controller (90) is further configured to, in each of the first management device and the second management device, control the air (via dampers in the blowing nozzle 38; see pg. 6, “In addition, in the present embodiment…”) introduced into the module chamber from the accommodation space and passing through the dehumidifier when the heater is turned on (the dehumidifying, sump, and heating operation operates continuously),
wherein the module housing of each of the first management device and the second management device includes a dry air outlet (outlet for discharge air 34) through which the air inside the module chamber, which passes through the dehumidifier, is discharged, and
wherein each of the first management device and the second management device includes a dry air duct (38) defining at least a portion of the drying flow path, the dry air duct being coupled (i.e., indirectly connected) to the inner cabinet, the dry air duct being connected to an outside of the module housing such that the dry air outlet and the accommodation space are in communication with each other.
Hiroto fails to disclose:
wherein the air is moved to the sump when the heater is turned on.
It is unclear if the air in Hiroto can move to the sump because Hiroto does not show the details of the sump; however, Lee teaches a shoe dryer wherein the air is moved to the sump (Fig. 2, 50) when the heater (37) is turned on (Fig. 2 shows an opening 54 where air can move to the sump).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Hiroto wherein the air is moved to the sump when the heater is turned on. The motivation to combine is to provide a working example of the sump that can be used in Hiroto.
Regarding claim 38, modified Hiroto discloses the shoes care device of claim 26, except further comprising a sump configured to accommodate condensed water, wherein the controller is further configured to control each of the first management device and the second management device so that air introduced into the connection path from the accommodation space and passing through the dehumidifier moves to the sump when the heater is turned on. However, see the modification made for the rejection of claim 29.
Regarding claim 39, modified Hiroto discloses the shoes care device of claim 38, wherein the second management device is located at a lower side of the first management device (note: the relative placement of the second management device is a matter of obvious design choice), and wherein the sump is located at a lower side of the second management device (the second management device would have the same configuration as the first management device).
Claim(s) 40, 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroto (KR 20210030856 A) in view of Lee (KR 20150118796 A), and Karlsson (EP 2642018 A2).
Regarding claim 40, Hiroto discloses the shoes care device of claim 38, further comprising:
a water supply tank (72), the water supply tank being configured to store water to be supplied to the steam generator (60); and
a drain tank, the drain tank being configured to store water drained from the sump (“drainage tank”; see bottom of pg. 3), EXCEPT:
a machine room located at a lower side of the second management device, where the water supply tank is located in the machine room, and where the removable drain tank is located in the machine room.
However, Karlsson teaches a machine room (Fig. 5a, 301) located at the base of the dryer, and wherein a detachable module housing (Fig. 5a, 1’) containing the components (e.g., dehumidifier) is positioned within the machine room.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Hiroto to include a machine room located at a lower side of the second (and first) management device, wherein the module housing is detachable from the machine room, and wherein the water supply tank and drain tank are located in the detachable module housing. The motivation to combine is so that the various components can be easily removed for servicing, maintenance, replacement, and cleaning.
Regarding claim 44, modified Hiroto discloses a shoes care device comprising (see rejection of claim 25 for citations unless otherwise noted):
a first management device;
a second management device located at one side of the first management device;
a steam generator, the steam generator being configured to generate steam;
a sump (Hiroto, 71), the sump being configured to accommodate condensed water; and
a controller configured to control operations of the first management device, the second management device, and the steam generator, wherein each of the first management device and the second management device individually includes:
an inner cabinet having an accommodation space configured to accommodate shoes therein, the inner cabinet being configured to be supplied with the steam;
a module housing coupled to one side of the inner cabinet (see rejection of claim 27 for citations for the module housing), the module housing including:
a module chamber located therein; and
an opening through which the air in the accommodation space is introduced into the module chamber; and
a blower located in the module chamber; the blower being configured to blow the air in the module chamber;
a heater located in the module chamber, the heater being configured to heat the air in the module chamber;
a dehumidifier located in the module chamber, the dehumidifier being configured to dehumidify the air in the module chamber;
a drying flow path defining a path for the air in the module chamber to be re-introduced into the accommodation space; and
a regeneration path defining a path for the air in the module chamber to be discharged and to move to the sump (see Lee and the modification made for the rejection of claim 29).
Hiroto in view of Lee fails to disclose:
a machine room located at a lower side of the second management device, wherein the steam generator and sump are located in the machine room.
However, Karlsson teaches a machine room (Fig. 5a, 301) located at the base of the dryer, and wherein a detachable module housing (Fig. 5a, 1’) is positioned within the machine room.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Hiroto to include a machine room located at a lower side of the second (and first) management device, wherein the module housing is detachable from the machine room, and wherein the steam generator and sump are located in the module housing, which is located in the machine room. The motivation to combine is so that the module housing and its components within can be easily removed for servicing, maintenance, replacement, and cleaning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 28, 30-37, 41-43, 45-48 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762