DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed May 15, 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1 and 3-21 are pending;
Claims 11-19 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 7 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention due to the recitation of broad and narrow limitations and/or lack of antecedent basis has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made May 15, 2026.
Claims 1, 3-10, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the red seaweed flour comprises carrageenan that is not isolated, purified, or chemically modified”, however, flour is formed from seaweed which is a wet material that has been dried, to purify and/or isolate the product components, including the carrageenan, from water or other liquid materials present in the seaweed. Thus, the claim conflicts with itself and is unclear. It is noted that although the instant specification states that “unrefined” and “unmodified” is intended to mean without isolating, purifying, or chemically modifying the individual components of the seaweed, such as carrageenan (page 6 lines 1-5), the disclosure further states “the seaweed flour derived from seaweed… is however minimally treated to obtain it from the seaweed, for example the treatment process may typically comprise washing, drying…” (page 6 lines 3-5). It is noted that both washing and drying would be considered to purify and/or isolate the seaweed components, including the carrageenan.
Claim 20 recites “the composition is free of an attrition aid”. As even water, can aid in attrition, and the disclosed examples in the invention all include water, the metes and bounds of the term “attrition aid” are unclear. It is unclear as to what components the term excludes from the product, and as to if the term would require a component in a specific amount to affect attrition for a component to be considered an attrition aid, or just be capable of functioning to aid attrition if used in any amount, etc. Similarly, it is unclear as to if claim 21 would exclude any salt or acid from being in the composition, or as to if the claim would only exclude salt or acid of the type and in an amount needed for attrition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes
“Coprocessed” means a process that effectively reduces the size of at least some if not all of the particles to a colloidal size and is also known as co-attrition (page 4 lines 14-19).
Claims 1, 6, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuason et al (WO 03/096976) in view of Kamada et al (US 6,270,830).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Tuason et al (Tuason) teaches of a stabilizer composition by teaching of a colloid microcrystalline cellulose composition co-attrited (i.e. coprocessed) with a hydrocolloid that is recovered and dispersed as a stabilizer (abstract, page 3 lines 4-6, page 5 lines 19-20, page 11 line 22, and page 12 lines 13-16 and 19-21). Tuason teaches that the hydrocolloids include seaweed polysaccharides including kappa and iota carrageenan, and mixtures thereof in an unrefined state (page 6 lines 19-23, page 7 lines 2-5, and claim 5). Tuason teaches in processing the product, the hydrocolloid, and thus the unrefined carrageenan, is added in the form of a powder (page 9 lines 10 and 14-15), and the use of the carrageenan source in a powdered form would be encompassed or alternatively obvious.
Regarding the carrageenan as not isolated, purified, or chemically modified as recited in claim 1, Tuason teaches that the hydrocolloids include seaweed polysaccharides including kappa and iota carrageenan, and mixtures thereof in an unrefined state (page 6 lines 19-23, page 7 lines 2-5, and claim 5), and thus encompass the carrageenan as not isolated, purified, or chemically modified. The position is further supported as Tuason discloses carrageenan, but does not require its modification (all), specifically teaching that it may be processed with no, low or high levels of alkali, thus encompassing, no alkali treatment (page 7 lines 3-4); and that the hydrocolloids are preferably natural (page 7 lines 14-16), which at least suggests an unmodified state of the hydrocolloid, i.e. seaweed flour.
Tuason is not specific to the hydrocolloid a seaweed flour derived from red seaweed of the Rhodophyta class as recited in claim 1, or to the seaweed as preferably derived from a genera including Eucheuma as recited in claim 6.
Kamada teaches a stabilizer ground and mixed, i.e. coprocessed or reduced in size, with 10-90% fine cellulose and 10-90% gelling agent preferably including semirefined carrageenan, kappa carrageenan, and iota carrageenan (abstract, column 5 lines 14-25, column 2 line 67 through column 3 line 2-13). Kamada teaches that kappa and iota carrageenan are contained within red algae and can be extracted with an alkali, purified, and then recovered (column 3 lines 13-17). Kamada teaches that semi refined carrageenan is obtained without extraction by immersing red algae in alkali followed by washing, drying, and grinding; is cited under the named processed Eucheuma seaweed; and contains kappa carrageenan as the major component (column 3 lines 18-26).
Regarding the hydrocolloid seaweed powder, i.e. the seaweed flour, as derived from red seaweed of the Rhodophyta class as recited in claim 1, preferably derived from a genus including Eucheuma as recited in claim 6, it would have been obvious for the unrefined kappa and/or iota carrageenan powder, i.e. seaweed flour, as taught by Tuason to be derived from Rhodophyta class, Eucheuma genius seaweed as Kamada teaches it was a known source of kappa and iota carrageenan for stabilizer compositions. To use a known source of carrageenan, i.e. Rhodophyta Eucheuma, with majority component of kappa carrageenan, wherein kappa carrageenan was disclosed would have been an obvious suggestion of the prior art. Thus, the use of red seaweed flour as claimed would have been obvious.
Regarding the weight ratio of colloidal microcrystalline cellulose (MCC) to red seaweed flour as between 70:30 and 90:10 as recited in claim 7, as discussed above, it would have been obvious for the hydrocolloid of Tuason to be red seaweed flour. Tuason teaches the ratio of mcc to hydrocolloid is 50:50 to 90:10 (page 7 lines 25-28), and thus the teachings of the prior art encompass a ratio of mcc to red seaweed flour within the claimed range.
Regarding the stabilizer composition as having an initial viscosity of 50-1000mPas when measured as a 2.6% dispersion in deionized water on a Brookfield RV viscosimeter spindle 3 at 20rpm and 20C as recited in claim 9, or a 24 hour viscosity of 510-5000mPas when measured as a 2.6% dispersion in deionized water on a Brookfield RV viscosimeter spindle 3 at 20rpm and 20C as recited in claim 9, Tuason is not specific to a general range of viscosities for the stabilizer compositions, however, exemplifies the product containing kappa carrageenan with a 2.6% dispersion in deionized water having an initial viscosity of 725cps (1,100mPas) and a 24 hour viscosity of 3,350mPas (Example 5). It would have been obvious for the product of Tuason to have about the same properties as the product examples, because when forming a product of the prior art, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the method of the prior art result in a product with similar properties to those disclosed in the examples. Thus, for the stabilizer of Tuason to have an initial viscosity of about 725mPas and a 24-hour viscosity of about 3,350mPas when measured at 2.6% in deionized water would have been an obvious suggestion of the prior art. Furthermore, as no temperature was disclosed for measurement, it would be understood, or at least obvious that the temperature encompasses room temperature including 20C. Thus, a product with the viscosity as claimed is considered obvious over the teachings of the prior art. It is noted that regardless of the measurement apparatus, i.e. Brookfield viscometer with 3 spindle and 20rpm, or other apparatus, the viscosity of the product would be the same under the same temperature and dilution conditions.
Claims 3-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tuason et al (WO 03/096976) in view of Kamada et al (US 6,270,830), as evidenced by Agoda-Tandjawa et al (WO 2020/076698).
As discussed above, Tuason teaches of a stabilizer composition comprising colloid microcrystalline cellulose co-processed with a hydrocolloid, wherein it would have been obvious for the hydrocolloid to be red seaweed flour derived from red seaweed Rhodophyta Eucheuma with kappa carrageenan as a major component. Tuason teaches that the hydrocolloids include seaweed polysaccharides including kappa and iota carrageenan, and mixtures thereof in an unrefined state (page 6 lines 19-23, page 7 lines 2-5, and claim 5).
Tuason is silent to the red seaweed flour as comprising 25-70% dry weight kappa-carrageenan as recited in claim 3, preferably 40-70% as recited in claim 4, or wherein the red seaweed flour comprises less than 10% dry weight iota carrageenan as recited in claim 5, and to the kappa-carrageenan in the non-processed red seaweed flour as having an average molecular weight of 900-2000kDa as recited in claim 8.
Regarding the red seaweed flour as comprising 25-70% dry weight kappa-carrageenan as recited in claim 3, preferably 40-70% as recited in claim 4, or wherein the red seaweed flour comprises less than 10% dry weight iota carrageenan as recited in claim 5, as discussed above, it would have been obvious for the hydrocolloid of Tuason to be red seaweed flour derived from red seaweed Rhodophyta Eucheuma with kappa carrageenan as a major component in view of Tuason and Kamada. As evidenced by Agoda-Tandjawa et al (AT) non-extracted seaweed contains polysaccharides, including carrageenan, in essentially their naturally occurring amounts (paragraph 21). Thus, as the prior art teaches the use of the same unrefined and unmodified, i.e. unextracted, seaweed as claimed and disclosed, the carrageenan composition of the seaweed material as claimed is considered encompassed, or at least obvious over the teachings of the prior art. Alternatively, as Tuason teaches the use of kappa and/or iota carrageenan, and it would have been obvious to use a seaweed with a majority kappa carrageenan in view of Kamada, the combination of the prior art would result in the kappa carrageenan in a majority amount, such as 50% or more dry weight, and for the iota carrageenan to be less than 50% by dry weight. To use the ranges suggested by the prior art, wherein no more specific guidance is given would have been obvious and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding the kappa-carrageenan in the non-processed red seaweed flour as having an average molecular weight of 900-2000kDa as recited in claim 8, as evidenced by Agoda-Tandjawa et al (AT) non-extracted seaweed contains polysaccharides, including carrageenan, in essentially their naturally occurring amounts (paragraph 21). Thus, as the prior art teaches the use of the same unrefined and unmodified, i.e. unextracted, seaweed as claimed and disclosed, the carrageenan of the seaweed material as claimed is considered encompassed, or at least obvious over the teachings of the prior art. Furthermore, it is noted that the claimed limitation appears to be a product by process limitation, in which a material to be used to make the claimed product is characterized. A product by process claim is considered in as much as it affects the final product. In the instant case as the molecular weight could change during processing, such as with co-attrition, the claim thus imparts the inclusion of a kappa carrageenan to the final product, which is not limited to the recited average molecular weight.
Claims 1, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumagai et al (EP 3904429) in view of Hultin (CPE Monthly: Health Benefits of Sea Vegetables – Learn About Their Culinary Uses, Including How Clients Can Incorporate Them Into Their Diets, pages 1-17, June 2016).
Regarding claim 1, Kumagai et al (Kumagai) teaches of a cellulose powder including microcrystalline cellulose with active health food ingredients including powdered seaweed, i.e. seaweed flour (abstract and paragraphs 18, 95, and 101). As Kumagai teaches that the active ingredients may be blended together with the cellulose in a finely pulverized state (paragraphs 14 and 101), the teachings of Kumagai encompasses or alternatively makes obvious the components as co-processed.
Kumagai is not specific to the type of seaweed flour, including the seaweed flour as derived from the class Rhodophyta and comprising carrageenan that is not isolated, purified, or chemically modified as recited in claim 1.
Hultin teaches that edible sea vegetables, known as seaweed are classified into four types: brown, red, (Rhodophyta), green, and single cells (page 3, Classification). Hultin teaches that Nori and Dulse are well known red seaweed, and that the primary polysaccharide in red seaweeds is carrageenan (page 3, Classification). Hultin teaches that the seaweeds have several health benefits (page 2 paragraph 2 and page 3 Nutrition Composition of Sea Vegetables). Hultin teaches that the red seaweed nori has tested among the highest protein content (page 4, paragraphs 2); that red seaweed uniquely can be a source of vitamin B12 and a rich source of iron (page 4, paragraphs 2 and 4 and page 5 paragraph 1); and that red seaweed inhibited the proliferation of breast cancer cells and had strong anticancer effects on human cells in vitro (page 6 Cancer paragraphs 1 and 2).
Regarding the seaweed flour as derived from the class Rhodophyta and comprising carrageenan that is not isolated, purified, or chemically modified as recited in claim 1, as discussed above Kumagai teaches the use of seaweed flour for its nutritional benefits. As Kumagai does not teach modifying the flour, the use of the flour, and thus its components in a natural, i.e. not isolated, purified, or chemically modified form would have been encompassed or at least obvious as being a limited number of forms of the disclosed component for use. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been specifically motivated to use seaweed flour as derived from the class Rhodophyta and comprising carrageenan for its numerous health benefits, including high protein content and/or source of iron and B12, and/or anticancer properties shown by Hultin.
Regarding the composition as a stabilizer composition as recited in claim 1, as Kumagai teaches of a powdered composition with the same active ingredients as claimed and disclosed the composition of Kumagai would be able to function as a stabilizer in the same manner as the composition as claimed.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, as Kumagai does not require the use of an attrition aid, salt, or acid in the powder composition (all), it would have been obvious to form the powder of Kumagai free of said components. To form a product of the prior art as disclosed, without additional non-required ingredients would have been obvious and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 15, 2026 regarding the remaining rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the 112 rejections should be withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments. This argument is not convincing regarding the remaining rejection for the reasons stated above.
Applicant argues that Tuason uses carrageenan which a person in the art appreciates is a hydrocolloid isolated from its source, and that Kamada also teaches of processed carrageenan, and thus does not cure the deficiencies of Tuason such that the prior art teaches of seaweed flour comprising carrageenan that is not isolated, purified, or chemically modified. This argument is not convincing. As stated above, and previously, as Tuason teaches that the hydrocolloids include seaweed polysaccharides including kappa and iota carrageenan, and mixtures thereof in an unrefined state (page 6 lines 19-23, page 7 lines 2-5, and claim 5), the teachings of Tuason encompass the carrageenan in a form that is not isolated, purified, or chemically modified, i.e. in a seaweed powder. Additionally, reference is made to PNRI, 1995 Annual Report, pages 1-40, which shows seaweed flour is unrefined carrageenan (page 10 food irradiation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2020/242859 teaches the replacement of isolated carrageen with seaweed flour to appease the consumer demand for natural products.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY BEKKER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1792
/KELLY J BEKKER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792