DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18, 32, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiroto (KR 20210030856 A) in view of Sennott (US 4453695 A).
Regarding claim 16, Hiroto discloses a shoes care device comprising:
an inner cabinet (20) configured to accommodate shoes therein (Fig. 12);
an opening configured to suck air from inside the inner cabinet (Fig. 4 shows an area Y with an opening for air to enter the base compartment);
a nozzle duct (Figs. 12/13a; 381(2)) defining a passage for air, the nozzle duct having a first end coupled (coupled at 38b) to the inner cabinet and a second end (Fig. 13a: end connected to attachment 382) spaced from the first end, the nozzle duct protruding into the inner cabinet (Fig. 12);
a nozzle (Figs. 12/13a; 381(3) + 382) having a first end coupled to the second end of the nozzle duct, the nozzle being configured to inject air into the shoes;
a connection path from the opening to the nozzle (Fig. 4 shows arrows indicating the airflow path);
a blower (Fig. 4, 31) located in the connection path, the blower being configured to move air from the outlet to the nozzle; and
a dehumidifier (Fig. 4, 32) located in the connection path, the dehumidifier being configured to dehumidify the air in the connection path.
Hiroto fails to disclose:
where the first end of the nozzle duct is hinge-coupled to the inner cabinet; and
a nozzle connector having a first end hinge-coupled to the inner cabinet and a second end hinge-coupled to the nozzle at the first end of the nozzle.
Sennott teaches an articulating arm for a hair dryer (Fig. 1), comprising:
a nozzle duct (Fig. 1: one of the arms 26; two arms 26 are shown in Fig. 3) having a first end hinge-coupled (24) to the wall (equivalent to the inner cabinet wall in Hiroto) and a second end spaced from the first end, the nozzle duct protruding from the wall;
a nozzle (Fig. 1; 14+28+30) having a first end hinge-coupled to the second end of the nozzle duct (Fig. 1 shows where arms 26 and 28 are hinge-coupled), the nozzle being configured (i.e., capable) to inject air into the shoes;
a nozzle connector (another one of the arms 26) having a first end hinge-coupled to the wall and a second end hinge-coupled to the nozzle at the first end of the nozzle.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Hiroto where the first end of the nozzle duct is hinge-coupled to the inner cabinet; and to include a nozzle connector having a first end hinge-coupled to the inner cabinet and a second end hinge-coupled to the nozzle at the first end of the nozzle.
With the modification, the extension nozzle (Hiroto, 381) can be mounted to an articulating arm (Sennott; 26+28), e.g., within the articulating arm, so that the discharge end of the nozzle (Hiroto, 381(3)) can be positioned in multiple angles and positions depending on the unique arrangement of the shoes. For example, if the shoes were placed upside down or in a sideways position, the articulating arm could position and hold the nozzle to blow upward or from the side.
Regarding 17, modified Hiroto discloses the shoes care device of claim 16, further comprising a steam generator (Fig. 4 of Hiroto; 60) configured to supply steam to the inner cabinet.
Regarding 18, modified Hiroto discloses the shoes care device of claim 16, wherein a length of the nozzle connector corresponds to a length of the nozzle duct (see rejection of claim 16).
Regarding 32, modified Hiroto discloses the shoes care device of claim 16, further comprising: a shelf support located on a side wall of the inner cabinet (Fig. 12 of Hiroto shows a shelf support supporting the auxiliary shelf 21); and an auxiliary shelf, the auxiliary shelf being detachably supported by the shelf support (see pg. 8 of Hiroto, “In this way, by allowing any one of the partitions to be separated..”).
Regarding 34, modified Hiroto discloses (see Fig. 12 of Hiroto) the shoes care device of claim 32, wherein an upper portion of the first end (38b(2)) of the nozzle duct is located above the shelf support (shelf support of shelf unit 21(3)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-31, 33, 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762