Response to Amendment
The amendment filed by the Applicant on 12/16/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,6,7,9-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei (CN 112151689 A) in view of Wang (CN 110205118 B)
Regarding claim 1, Mei teaches a quantum dot light-emitting device (see in Mei: FIG. 1 to FIG. 8 are the structure schematic diagram of the quantum dot light emitting device provided by the embodiment of the present invention and the quantum dot light emitting layer 3); comprising: a quantum dot emitting layer 3 and a hole injecting layer (further comprising forming a hole injection layer 6 in Fig.11) arranged on a side of the quantum dot emitting layer, wherein the quantum dot emitting layer comprises a first surface on a side close to the hole injecting layer, a passivation functional layer (hole transport layer 4) is arranged between the quantum dot emitting layer and the hole injecting layer, the passivation functional layer further comprises metal ions (see in Mei: the material of the hole transport layer is generally nickel oxide; the energy level of the hole transport layer can be adjusted by doping metal ions) , the hole injecting layer comprises a second surface on a side close to the quantum dot emitting layer, and the metal ions are arranged on a side of the second surface and are configured to improve interfacial property of the quantum dot emitting layer and the hole injecting layer (Mei teaches that its device reduces interfacial defect throughout its disclosure).
Mei does not teach: a material of the passivation functional layer is a metal halide, the passivation functional layer is configured to modify the first surface, the passivation functional layer at least comprises passivation ions configured to be combined with the first surface to passivate the first surface, the passivation ions are halide ions.
Wang discloses:
The passivation method the obtained perovskite crystal of the metal halide, can be used for the preparation of electroluminescent devices, quantum dot light emitting devices
electroluminescent efficiency in order to passivate the defect of the NCs (nanocrystals (NCs)) surface
development compatibility better removing the passivation surface defect of NCs is important for improving device performance.
Aiming at the existing technology defect or improvement of more than requirement, the present invention provides a surface defect passivation of metal halide perovskite crystal, preparation and application thereof, does not need to introduce exogenous ligand. directly adding excess by raw material components in the precursor solution, the raw material component is A-site monovalent cation halide corresponding to octahedral interstitial site perovskite crystal material in a crystalline structure at room temperature to form colloid solution of metal halide perovskite nanocrystals, the surface defect is fully passivated, a photoluminescence quantum yield is obviously improved, surface ligand density from decreasing, the electroluminescent device field of perovskite has great application prospect, thereby solving the technical problem that the existing metal halide perovskite nanocrystal surface ligand from falling off.
Therefore, Wang mixes metal halide to the layer of the nano-crystals, with the same intention of improving passivation defect and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to either mix metal halide to the quantum dot/nanocrystal layer OR form a separate layer with the metal halide as claimed, which are well known design options in the art, to either use a separate layer or mix metal halide in the quantum dot layer, in order to reduce the passivating defect.
Further Mei in view of Wang explicitly teaches the materials as claimed and for the same benefit of reducing passivating defects and also improving interfacing property however, Mei in view of Wang does not teach a separate layer made of a metal halide and the metal ions are closer to the hole injecting layer than the passivation ions and/or the passivation ions are closer to the quantum dot emitting layer than the metal ions.
However, since all the elements as claimed, along with their properties are taught in Mei in view of Wang, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide separate arrangement of the elements as claimed, by routine experimentation, since forming in two pieces, an article which has formerly been formed in one piece as disclosed in Mei in view of Wang involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, Mei in view of Wang teaches a method for manufacturing a quantum dot light-emitting device, comprising: forming a quantum dot emitting layer; forming a passivation functional layer on a first surface of the quantum dot emitting layer, the passivation functional layer being configured to modify the first surface; and forming a hole injecting layer on a side of the passivation functional layer away from the quantum dot emitting layer, wherein a material of the passivation functional layer is a metal halide, the passivation functional layer at least comprises passivation ions configured to be combined with the first surface to passivate the first surface, the passivation ions are halide ions, the passivation functional layer further comprises metal ions, the hole injecting layer comprises a second surface on a side close to the quantum dot emitting layer, and the metal ions are arranged on a side of the second surface, the metal ions are configured to improve interfacial property of the quantum dot emitting layer and the hole injecting layer, and the metal ions are closer to the hole injecting layer than the passivation ions; and/or the passivation ions are closer to the quantum dot emitting layer than the metal ions (see rejection of claim 1 above, as the scope of the claims are the same).
.
Regarding claim 6, Mei in view of Wang teaches a quantum dot light-emitting device, further comprising a hole transporting layer 4 located between the quantum dot emitting layer and the hole injecting layer
See in Mei: the eighth sub-functional layer 32 and the ninth sub-functional layer 43, so as to form a stepped barrier between the quantum dot light emitting layer 3 and the anode 1, to gradually improve the hole injection capability of the hole transport layer AND a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a quantum dot light emitting layer; an electronic transmission layer and a cathode; the inverted manufacturing order is orderly manufacturing cathode on the substrate base plate, an electron transport layer, a quantum dot light emitting layer, a hole transport layer, a hole injection layer and an anode.
Also see in Mei:
The embodiment of the invention claims a quantum dot light emitting device, as shown in FIG. 1 to FIG. 6, comprising a laminated anode 1, at least one layer of light emitting function layer (comprising an electron transport layer 2, a quantum dot light emitting layer 3 and a hole transport layer 4 three layers of light emitting function layer) and a cathode 5; wherein at least one layer of at least one layer of light emitting function layer comprises at least two layers of functional layer, for example, as shown in FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, the electronic transmission layer 2 comprises at least two layers of sub-functional layer; As shown in FIG. 3 and FIG. 4, the quantum dot light emitting layer 3 comprises at least two layers of sub-functional layer; As shown in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6, hole transport layer 4 comprises at least two layers of functional layer, after detailed introduction of each luminous function layer of the sub-functional layer; each sub-functional layer comprises a ligand, and the carrier in the transmission direction of each sub-function layer (FIG. 1 to FIG. 6), each sub-functional layer corresponding to the surface of the ligand can be gradient change, so that the energy level of each sub-functional layer is gradient change.
wherein at least a part of the hole transporting layer is doped together with at least a part of the passivation functional layer (as disclosed in paragraph above wherein multiple types of sub- layers are disclosed in Mei above).
Regarding claim 7, Mei in view of Wang teaches the invention set forth in claim 6 above, but is silent regarding a doping ratio of the hole transporting layer to the passivation functional layer is 1:1 to 20:1.
However, the ratio as claimed is only considered to be the “optimum” value that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to determine using routine experimentation based or simulation, among other things, on the desired accuracy and discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art in order to optimize the interface structure of the quantum dot light emitting layer.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Mei in view of Wang teaches a quantum dot light-emitting device, further comprising a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein the first electrode is located on a side of the hole injecting layer away from the quantum dot emitting layer, and the second electrode is located on a side of the quantum dot emitting layer away from the hole injecting layer (anode 1 and cathode 5 in Mei).
Regarding claim 10, Mei in view of Wang teaches a display apparatus, comprising the quantum dot light-emitting device (Title of Mei).
Regarding claim 12, Mei in view of Wang teaches the method of evaporation for the various layers throughout the disclosure (see in Wang: finally conveying to the vacuum chamber to respectively evaporate the Al of 40nm TPBi, 1nmLiF and 100nm), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the same method towards forming the passivation functional layer on the first surface of the quantum dot emitting layer comprises: forming the passivation functional layer from a metal halide on the first surface of the quantum dot emitting layer through an evaporation process in order to achieve high purity.
Regarding claim 13, Mei in view of Wang teaches the method, wherein forming a passivation functional layer on a first surface of the quantum dot emitting layer comprises: forming the passivation functional layer from a metal halide on the first surface of the quantum dot emitting layer through a same evaporation process, so that a hole transporting material forms the hole transporting layer, and at least a part of the passivation functional layer is doped together with at least a part of the hole transporting layer (see rejection of claim 12 above and disclosure of Liang regarding the passivation functional layer).
Claims 8 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei in view of Wang and further in view of Lee (US 20220194969 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claims 8 and 18-19, Mei in view of Wang teaches the invention set forth in claims 1 and 6-7 above, but is silent regarding the quantum dot light-emitting device wherein a thickness of the passivation functional layer is 1 nm-20 nm.
Lee teaches the thickness of the passivation layer (40, Fig.15) in the 1-100 nm range ([1536];[0546],[0555] It is preferable that the thickness of the passivation layer 40 is 1 to 100 nm) and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to use the thickness as disclose in Lee, in the device of Mei in view of Wang in order to optimize the charge injection.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 12/16/26 is acknowledged, however it is moot in light of new grounds of rejection for the amended claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875