Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. patent application publication 2022/0380249 in view of U.S. patent application publication 2021/0122976.
U.S. patent application publication 2022/0380249 teaches a glass nanocomposite of a glass that is doped with quantum dots. The taught nanocomposite have longer lifetimes than polymer nanocomposite of a polymer that is doped with quantum dots (para 3). The reference teaches the quantum dots in the glass has a particle diameter of 1-50 nm (para 35 and 45), which corresponds with a radius of 0.5-25 nm. This radius range overlaps the size range of claims 2 and 17-19. Product claims with numerical ranges which overlap prior art ranges were held to have been obvious under 35 USC 103. In re Wertheim 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Malagari 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974); In re Fields 134 USPQ 242 (CCPA 1962); In re Nehrenberg 126 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1960). Also see MPEP 2144.05. Paragraphs [0035] and [0045] teaches the quantum dots in the glass can be a mixture of more than one type of quantum dots and that the list of possible quantum dots includes CdSe and CsPbBr3. U.S. patent application publication 2022/0380249 does not teach the claimed combination of CdSe and CsPbBr3.
U.S. patent application publication 2021/0122976 teaches a polymer nanocomposite of a polymer that can be doped with red light emitting CdSe quantum dots (para 249 and 280) and green light emitting CsPbBr3 perovskite quantum dots (para 117 and 197). This reference teaches using this taught polymer nanocomposite in combination with a solid state light source in a display panel backlight system.
Given that U.S. patent application publication 2022/0380249 teaches that the taught glass nanocomposite can contain more than one type of quantum dot and that the list of possible quantum dots for use in the taught glass nanocomposite includes both CdSe and CsPbBr3 and that U.S. patent application publication 2021/0122976 shows that it is known in the art to form a polymer nanocomposite of a polymer that can be doped with CdSe quantum dots and CsPbBr3 perovskite quantum dots, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to form a glass nanocomposite of a glass that is doped with CdSe quantum dots and CsPbBr3 quantum dots, wherein both types of quantum dots have a radius of 0.5-25 nm. The resulting glass nanocomposite would have the benefits discussed in U.S. patent application publication 2022/0380249 over the polymer nanocomposite of U.S. patent application publication 2021/0122976. The resulting glass nanocomposite suggests that of claims 1 and 2 of this reference.
As stated above, the polymer nanocomposite of U.S. patent application publication 2021/0122976 is used in a display panel backlight system. It is noted that a display panel backlight system is also a solid state lighting system. In view of the benefits of using a glass nanocomposite of a glass doped with quantum dots verses a polymer nanocomposite of a polymer doped with quantum dots, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the suggested glass nanocomposite of a glass that is doped with CdSe quantum dots and CsPbBr3 quantum dots, wherein both types of quantum dots have a radius of 0.5-25 nm in place of the polymer nanocomposite of U.S. patent application publication 2021/0122976 in a display panel backlight system and solid state lighting system. These systems suggest those of claims 3, 4, 17 and 18.
Based on the teachings in paragraphs [0001]-[0003], one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the above suggested glass nanocomposite of a glass that is doped with CdSe quantum dots and CsPbBr3 quantum dots, wherein both types of quantum dots have a radius of 0.5-25 nm as a luminescent solar concentrator. It is notoriously well known in the art that luminescent solar concentrator are part of a solar cell and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the suggested luminescent solar concentrator in a solar cell. The resulting solar cell suggests the solar cell of claims5 and 19.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-16 are allowable.
The claimed process is not taught or suggested by the cited art of record. There is no teaching or suggestion in the art that the melt used to form a glass, that comprises CdSe quantum dots and CsPbBr3 quantum dots, contains CsBr, PbBr2 and either CdSe or a mixture of CdO and ZnSe.
Conclusion
U.S. patent application 2017/0066963 is cited as of interest since paragraph [0106] of the reference teaches luminescent solar concentrator are part of a solar cell. This shows it is notoriously well known in the art that luminescent solar concentrator are part of a solar cell.
/C Melissa Koslow/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734
cmk
3/5/26