DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 05/15/2026.
Claims 1-11 have been examined.
Response to Amendment
In the instant amendment, claims 1 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0385642 to Di Girolamo et al. (hereafter “Di”) and further in view of US 2010/0231383 to Levine et al. (hereafter “Levine”) and US 2016/0036985 to Koren et al. (hereafter “Koren”)
As per claim 1, Di discloses a method for subscription notification performed by a common service entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 205: “In order for two applications, e.g., App1 and App2, to be able to exchange data with each other using a oneM2M compliant M2M/IoT server, the following steps may be required: App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer” [Wingdings font/0xE0] M2M/IoT sever), comprising:
creating a subscribed to resource associated with an application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0100-0101, 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 subscribes changed container resources (container 2) created/changed by App2 [Wingdings font/0xE0] App2 (application as claimed)) based at least in part on an action resource associated with the application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] changed container resources (container 2) created/changed by App2); and
sending a subscription notification corresponding to the action resource associated with the application entity to a notified application entity when a resource attribute of the application entity changes (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] registering to be notified [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 is notified when container resource (container2) is changed by App2).
Di discloses monitoring the container resources (paragraph 0192), however, Di does not explicitly disclose resource associated with the monitored application entity; wherein the action resource defines that at least one other application entity performs a corresponding action when the monitored application entity meets a predetermined condition.
Levine further discloses the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] monitored application), resource associated with the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
Koren further discloses wherein the action resource defines that at least one other application entity performs a corresponding action when the monitored application entity meets a predetermined condition (FIGs. 2-4; paragraphs 0010, 0017, 0035-0036 and 0038-0039: “an action to redirect a call from the monitored entity to a different entity may include, at least, routing the call to a different entity (e.g., a different server, service, web site, data center, social networking site, etc.) In some embodiments, a redirect action may include any action that results in the monitored entity no longer, at least temporarily, being responsible for satisfying a call to or an interaction with the monitored entity.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Koren into Di’s teaching and Levine’s teaching and because it would provide for the purpose of monitoring entity in an effort to support and maintain an availability of entity for its intended use by client devices (Koren, paragraph 0012).
As per claim 2, Di discloses wherein a plurality of action resources associated with a plurality of application entities are created on the common service entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0100-0101, 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.”).
Di does not explicitly disclose the monitored application entity is one of the plurality of application entities.
Levine further discloses the monitored application entity is one of the plurality of application entities (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
As per claim 4, Di discloses wherein the subscribed-to resource comprises an event notification criteria attribute (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0101, 0103, 0105, 0106, 0192, 0198 and 0205: ““Social Markers” refer to attributes of objects associated with social devices that may be observed or measured by, for example, cameras, scanners, or any other sensors. These markers may be used for matching between the objects associated with the social devices. Social markers may be “wireless” or “physical”. For example, physical markers may include the type of the object associated with the device (e.g., a truck, a car, a robot, a smart lamppost). If the object type is a car, then physical markers may include its license plate number, VIN, route number, or color. Wireless markers, for example, may include data about the object associated with the device, such as: location (e.g., address, cell identity, tracking area), activity (e.g., on/off), route, speed, transmission frequency of the device, or IDs that may be broadcast by the device. Note that the social identifiers and the social markers are comparable type of data.”), and an event notification criterion for the subscribed-to resource comprises a registration monitoring attribute (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0188, 0192, 0205, and 0207-0208: “the Monitoring UE may first register its interest to monitor something. It may provide an indication of the type of information it wants to monitor. The ProSe Function may then check if the UE is allowed to monitor, and, if so, it may return a mask that represents the information to be monitor. Once this procedure is completed, the Announcing UE may begin broadcasting its code on PC5. The monitoring UE may begin listening to PC5, and it may attempt detecting a match between any broadcast code and its mask. If a match had been found, the monitoring UE has “discovered” a UE that is broadcasting the information that it is interested in. On the other hand, in Model B, ProSe enabled UEs may be either Discoverer UEs or Discoveree UEs. The Discoverer UE may transmit requests asking for certain information that it may want to discover (asking “who is there”). The Discoveree UE may receive these requests and then may respond if it has the information that was requested. As with Model A, the entire process may be facilitated through the ProSe Function.”), wherein creating the subscribed-to resource associated with the application entity further comprises:
adding an identifier of the application entity to a subscription monitoring list corresponding to the registered monitoring attribute (paragraphs 0092, 0101, 0103, 0212, 0217-0218, 0221-0224 and 0247: “Hence, when registering, the application may provide an SSF a sociability context, containing one or more social identifiers and one or more social permissions or social preferences (i.e., social policy). The SSF may then store the sociability context provided by the device.”).
Di does not explicitly disclose the monitored application entity.
Levine further discloses the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
As per claim 9, Di discloses wherein determination that the resource attribute of the application entity is changed further comprises:
determining to change the resource attribute of the application entity in response to receiving a request to change the resource attribute of the application entity (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0188, 0192, 0205, and 0205-0208: “the Monitoring UE may first register its interest to monitor something. It may provide an indication of the type of information it wants to monitor. The ProSe Function may then check if the UE is allowed to monitor, and, if so, it may return a mask that represents the information to be monitor. Once this procedure is completed, the Announcing UE may begin broadcasting its code on PC5. The monitoring UE may begin listening to PC5, and it may attempt detecting a match between any broadcast code and its mask. If a match had been found, the monitoring UE has “discovered” a UE that is broadcasting the information that it is interested in. On the other hand, in Model B, ProSe enabled UEs may be either Discoverer UEs or Discoveree UEs. The Discoverer UE may transmit requests asking for certain information that it may want to discover (asking “who is there”). The Discoveree UE may receive these requests and then may respond if it has the information that was requested. As with Model A, the entire process may be facilitated through the ProSe Function.”).
Levine further discloses the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.”).
As per claim 10, Di discloses wherein the action resource associated with the application entity is created after the application entity completes initial registration (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0193-0194 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.”)
Di discloses monitoring the container resources (paragraph 0192), however, Di does not explicitly disclose the monitored application entity.
Levine further discloses the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
As per claim 11, Di discloses wherein the subscription notification is used for at least one of: notification on invalidation of a current action resource of the monitored application entity, notification on an action resource list associated with the monitored application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0100-0101, 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 subscribes changed container resources (container 2) created/changed by App2 [Wingdings font/0xE0] App2 (application as claimed), and notification on revalidation of the action resource of the monitored application entity.
Di discloses monitoring the container resources (paragraph 0192), however, Di does not explicitly disclose resource associated with the monitored application entity.
Levine further discloses resource associated with the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di in view of Levine and Koren, as applied to claims 1 and 4, and further in view of US 2005/0039183 to Romero et al. (hereafter “Romero”)
As per claim 3, Di discloses wherein the creation of the action resource associated with the application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 subscribes changed container resources (container 2) created/changed by App2 [Wingdings font/0xE0] App2 (application as claimed)).
Di discloses monitoring the container resources (paragraph 0192), however, Di does not explicitly disclose resource associated with the monitored application entity; and creating the action resource associated with the application entity in response to receiving a request to create the action resource.
Levine further discloses resource associated with the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
Romero further discloses creating the action resource associated with the application entity in response to receiving a request to create the action resource (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0008, 0034-0035 and 0037).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Romero into Di’s teaching, Levine’s teaching and Koren’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the performance monitor generates performance data related to the execution of the at least one application and the second manager process requests additional resources from the first manager process in response to analysis of performance data in view of at least one service level parameter (Romero, paragraph 0007).
As per claim 5, Di discloses wherein creating the subscribed-to resource associated with the application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0100-0101, 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.”) comprises:
adding the identifier of the application entity to the subscription monitoring list (paragraphs 0092, 0101, 0103, 0212, 0217-0218, 0221-0224 and 0247: “Hence, when registering, the application may provide an SSF a sociability context, containing one or more social identifiers and one or more social permissions or social preferences (i.e., social policy). The SSF may then store the sociability context provided by the device.”).
Di discloses monitoring the container resources (paragraph 0192), however, Di does not explicitly disclose resource associated with the monitored application entity; and in response to receiving a request to create a subscribed-to resource for the monitored application entity, creating the subscribed-to resource associated with resources of the monitored application entity.
Levine further discloses resource associated with the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
Romero further discloses and in response to receiving a request to create a subscribed-to resource for the monitored application entity (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0008, 0034-0035 and 0037), creating the subscribed-to resource associated with resources of the monitored application entity (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0008, 0034-0035 and 0037).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Romero into Di’s teaching, Levine’s teaching and Koren’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the performance monitor generates performance data related to the execution of the at least one application and the second manager process requests additional resources from the first manager process in response to analysis of performance data in view of at least one service level parameter (Romero, paragraph 0007).
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di in view of Levine, Koren and Komero, as applied to claim 3, and further in view of US 2006/0200373 to Garg et al. (hereafter “Garg”)
As per claim 6, Di does not explicitly disclose wherein after the action resource is created, a value of an activation status attribute of the action resource is set to enable monitoring of the action resource.
Garg further discloses wherein after the action resource is created (FIG. 1; paragraphs 0502-0053: the resources/servers are already existed/created), a value of an activation status attribute of the action resource is set to enable monitoring of the action resource (FIG. 5-6; paragraphs 0069, 0071, 0075 and 0077).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Garg into Di’s teaching, Levine’s teaching, Koren’s teaching and Komero’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of a user can specify various attributes ("causation attributes") associated with an attribute ("problem attribute") for which root cause analysis is of interest (in case of abnormal behavior experienced with respect to the problem attribute) (Garg, paragraph 0028).
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di in view of Levine and Koren, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 2016/0180115 to Yamada et al. (hereafter “Yamada”)
As per claim 7, Di discloses wherein after sending the subscription notification corresponding to the action resource associated with the application entity to the notified application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] registering to be notified [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 is notified when container resource (container2) is changed by App2).
Di does not explicitly disclose monitored application entity; and setting a value of an activation status attribute of the action resource to disable monitoring of the action resource in response to receiving an indication that the action resource of the monitored application entity is invalid.
Levine further discloses monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
Yamada further discloses setting a value of an activation status attribute of the action resource to disable monitoring of the action resource in response to receiving an indication that the action resource of the monitored application entity is invalid (paragraph 0040: “Alternatively, if the execution instruction threshold is reached prior to a security measure being initiated and the invalid target address threshold being reached, one or both counters may be reset to zero and execution tracking may be disabled.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Yamada into Di’s teaching, Levine’s teaching, and Koren’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the two-counter approach may be used to filter out a false-positive attack while also detecting an attackers attempt to insert valid execution instruction in-between redirecting instructions (Yamada, paragraph 0016).
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di in view of Levine and Koren, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 2012/0131167 to Shen et al. (hereafter “Shen”)
As per claim 8, Di discloses determining whether the resource attribute of the application entity is changed (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] registering to be notified [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 is notified when container resource (container2) is changed by App2).
Di does not explicitly disclose monitored application entity; and receiving a re-registration request of the monitored application entity; comparing a resource attribute of the re-registered monitored application entity with the resource attribute of the monitored application entity before re-registration.
Levine further discloses monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
Shen further discloses receiving a re-registration request of the monitored application entity (paragraph 0064);
comparing a resource attribute of the re-registered monitored application entity with the resource attribute of the monitored application entity before re-registration (paragraph 0064).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Shen into Di’s teaching, Levine’s teaching and Koren’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of correcting inconsistencies during re-registration because the S-CSCF detects that the HSS has no information about the assigned S-CSCF and the S-CSCF starts initial registration (Shen, paragraph 0011).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicants argue “Di does not even sending a subscription notification corresponding to the action resource associated with the monitored application entity to a notified application entity when a resource attribute of the monitored application changes” (remarks, page 3)
The examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
Di states:
[0192] Applications in M2M/IoT devices, referred to as Application Entities (AEs) in oneM2M, may use specialized types of resources and resource relationships to implement certain services. Examples of such resources may be: 1) container resources that are used to store data generated from an application resource; 2) accessControlPolicy resources that may be linked to a container resource and that may be used to define the access control policy of the container resource; or 3) subscription resources, children of a container resource, that may be used to start a service to monitor the container resource, including notifying some entity if there is a change in the container resource, where a change could be that an application added new data, deleted existing data, or modified existing data. In order for two applications, e.g., App1 and App2, to be able to exchange data with each other using a oneM2M compliant M2M/IoT server, the following steps may be required:
[0193] App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer;
[0194] App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; [0195] App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; [0196] App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and
[0197] App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.
Accordingly, Di discloses sending a subscription notification corresponding to the action resource associated with the application entity to a notified application entity when a resource attribute of the application entity changes (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] registering to be notified [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 is notified when container resource (container2) is changed by App2).
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273 8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature of relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2100 Group receptionist whose telephone number is (571) 272 2100.
/TUAN C DAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198