DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having Application No. 18/273294 filed on 07/20/2023 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Claim 1-17 is/are pending in the application.
Claims 1-11 are elected.
Claims 1, 12 and 17 are independent claims.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609, the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statement dated 01/19/2024 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending.
Status of the Claims
Applicant’s election, with traverse, of Group I, claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 01/08/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “claims 1, 12 and 17 involve a single general inventive concept and comply with PCT rules of unity of invention”. This is not found persuasive. The restriction for examination purposes as indicated in the restriction /election requirement, mailed on 11/18/2025, is proper because all these inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given and there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
(e) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)).
Non-elected invention of Group II/III, claims 12-17 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-11 are pending.
Action on merits of Group I, claims 1-11 as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0385642 to Di Girolamo et al. (hereafter “Di”) and further in view of US 2010/0231383 to Levine et al. (hereafter “Levine”)
As per claim 1, Di discloses a method for subscription notification performed by a common service entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 205: “In order for two applications, e.g., App1 and App2, to be able to exchange data with each other using a oneM2M compliant M2M/IoT server, the following steps may be required: App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer” [Wingdings font/0xE0] M2M/IoT sever), comprising:
creating a subscribed to resource associated with a application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0100-0101, 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 subscribes changed container resources (container 2) created/changed by App2 [Wingdings font/0xE0] App2 (application as claimed)) based at least in part on an action resource associated with the application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] changed container resources (container 2) created/changed by App2); and
sending a subscription notification corresponding to the action resource associated with the application entity to a notified application entity when a resource attribute of the application entity changes (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] registering to be notified [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 is notified when container resource (container2) is changed by App2).
Di discloses monitoring the container resources (paragraph 0192), however, Di does not explicitly disclose resource associated with the monitored application entity.
Levine further discloses resource associated with the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
As per claim 2, Di discloses wherein a plurality of action resources associated with a plurality of application entities are created on the common service entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0100-0101, 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.”).
Di does not explicitly disclose the monitored application entity is one of the plurality of application entities.
Levine further discloses the monitored application entity is one of the plurality of application entities (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
As per claim 4, Di discloses wherein the subscribed-to resource comprises an event notification criteria attribute (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0101, 0103, 0105, 0106, 0192, 0198 and 0205: ““Social Markers” refer to attributes of objects associated with social devices that may be observed or measured by, for example, cameras, scanners, or any other sensors. These markers may be used for matching between the objects associated with the social devices. Social markers may be “wireless” or “physical”. For example, physical markers may include the type of the object associated with the device (e.g., a truck, a car, a robot, a smart lamppost). If the object type is a car, then physical markers may include its license plate number, VIN, route number, or color. Wireless markers, for example, may include data about the object associated with the device, such as: location (e.g., address, cell identity, tracking area), activity (e.g., on/off), route, speed, transmission frequency of the device, or IDs that may be broadcast by the device. Note that the social identifiers and the social markers are comparable type of data.”), and an event notification criterion for the subscribed-to resource comprises a registration monitoring attribute (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0188, 0192, 0205, and 0207-0208: “the Monitoring UE may first register its interest to monitor something. It may provide an indication of the type of information it wants to monitor. The ProSe Function may then check if the UE is allowed to monitor, and, if so, it may return a mask that represents the information to be monitor. Once this procedure is completed, the Announcing UE may begin broadcasting its code on PC5. The monitoring UE may begin listening to PC5, and it may attempt detecting a match between any broadcast code and its mask. If a match had been found, the monitoring UE has “discovered” a UE that is broadcasting the information that it is interested in. On the other hand, in Model B, ProSe enabled UEs may be either Discoverer UEs or Discoveree UEs. The Discoverer UE may transmit requests asking for certain information that it may want to discover (asking “who is there”). The Discoveree UE may receive these requests and then may respond if it has the information that was requested. As with Model A, the entire process may be facilitated through the ProSe Function.”), wherein creating the subscribed-to resource associated with the application entity further comprises:
adding an identifier of the application entity to a subscription monitoring list corresponding to the registered monitoring attribute (paragraphs 0092, 0101, 0103, 0212, 0217-0218, 0221-0224 and 0247: “Hence, when registering, the application may provide an SSF a sociability context, containing one or more social identifiers and one or more social permissions or social preferences (i.e., social policy). The SSF may then store the sociability context provided by the device.”).
Di does not explicitly disclose the monitored application entity.
Levine further discloses the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
As per claim 9, Di discloses wherein determination that the resource attribute of the application entity is changed further comprises:
determining to change the resource attribute of the application entity in response to receiving a request to change the resource attribute of the application entity (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0188, 0192, 0205, and 0205-0208: “the Monitoring UE may first register its interest to monitor something. It may provide an indication of the type of information it wants to monitor. The ProSe Function may then check if the UE is allowed to monitor, and, if so, it may return a mask that represents the information to be monitor. Once this procedure is completed, the Announcing UE may begin broadcasting its code on PC5. The monitoring UE may begin listening to PC5, and it may attempt detecting a match between any broadcast code and its mask. If a match had been found, the monitoring UE has “discovered” a UE that is broadcasting the information that it is interested in. On the other hand, in Model B, ProSe enabled UEs may be either Discoverer UEs or Discoveree UEs. The Discoverer UE may transmit requests asking for certain information that it may want to discover (asking “who is there”). The Discoveree UE may receive these requests and then may respond if it has the information that was requested. As with Model A, the entire process may be facilitated through the ProSe Function.”).
Levine further discloses the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.”).
As per claim 10, Di discloses wherein the action resource associated with the application entity is created after the application entity completes initial registration (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0193-0194 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.”)
Di discloses monitoring the container resources (paragraph 0192), however, Di does not explicitly disclose the monitored application entity.
Levine further discloses the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
As per claim 11, Di discloses wherein the subscription notification is used for at least one of: notification on invalidation of a current action resource of the monitored application entity, notification on an action resource list associated with the monitored application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0100-0101, 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 subscribes changed container resources (container 2) created/changed by App2 [Wingdings font/0xE0] App2 (application as claimed), and notification on revalidation of the action resource of the monitored application entity.
Di discloses monitoring the container resources (paragraph 0192), however, Di does not explicitly disclose resource associated with the monitored application entity.
Levine further discloses resource associated with the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di in view of Levine, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 2005/0039183 to Romero et al. (hereafter “Romero”)
As per claim 3, Di discloses wherein the creation of the action resource associated with the application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 subscribes changed container resources (container 2) created/changed by App2 [Wingdings font/0xE0] App2 (application as claimed)).
Di discloses monitoring the container resources (paragraph 0192), however, Di does not explicitly disclose resource associated with the monitored application entity; and creating the action resource associated with the application entity in response to receiving a request to create the action resource.
Levine further discloses resource associated with the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
Romero further discloses creating the action resource associated with the application entity in response to receiving a request to create the action resource (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0008, 0034-0035 and 0037).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Romero into Di’s teaching and Levine’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the performance monitor generates performance data related to the execution of the at least one application and the second manager process requests additional resources from the first manager process in response to analysis of performance data in view of at least one service level parameter (Romero, paragraph 0007).
As per claim 5, Di discloses wherein creating the subscribed-to resource associated with the application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0100-0101, 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.”) comprises:
adding the identifier of the application entity to the subscription monitoring list (paragraphs 0092, 0101, 0103, 0212, 0217-0218, 0221-0224 and 0247: “Hence, when registering, the application may provide an SSF a sociability context, containing one or more social identifiers and one or more social permissions or social preferences (i.e., social policy). The SSF may then store the sociability context provided by the device.”).
Di discloses monitoring the container resources (paragraph 0192), however, Di does not explicitly disclose resource associated with the monitored application entity; and in response to receiving a request to create a subscribed-to resource for the monitored application entity, creating the subscribed-to resource associated with resources of the monitored application entity.
Levine further discloses resource associated with the monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
Romero further discloses and in response to receiving a request to create a subscribed-to resource for the monitored application entity (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0008, 0034-0035 and 0037), creating the subscribed-to resource associated with resources of the monitored application entity (FIG. 3; paragraphs 0008, 0034-0035 and 0037).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Romero into Di’s teaching and Levine’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the performance monitor generates performance data related to the execution of the at least one application and the second manager process requests additional resources from the first manager process in response to analysis of performance data in view of at least one service level parameter (Romero, paragraph 0007).
Claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di in view of Levine, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 2006/0200373 to Garg et al. (hereafter “Garg”)
As per claim 6, Di does not explicitly disclose wherein after the action resource is created, a value of an activation status attribute of the action resource is set to enable monitoring of the action resource.
Garg further discloses wherein after the action resource is created (FIG. 1; paragraphs 0502-0053: the resources/servers are already existed/created), a value of an activation status attribute of the action resource is set to enable monitoring of the action resource (FIG. 5-6; paragraphs 0069, 0071, 0075 and 0077).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Garg into Di’s teaching and Levine’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of a user can specify various attributes ("causation attributes") associated with an attribute ("problem attribute") for which root cause analysis is of interest (in case of abnormal behavior experienced with respect to the problem attribute) (Garg, paragraph 0028).
Claim 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di in view of Levine, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 2016/0180115 to Yamada et al. (hereafter “Yamada”)
As per claim 7, Di discloses wherein after sending the subscription notification corresponding to the action resource associated with the application entity to the notified application entity (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] registering to be notified [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 is notified when container resource (container2) is changed by App2).
Di does not explicitly disclose monitored application entity; and setting a value of an activation status attribute of the action resource to disable monitoring of the action resource in response to receiving an indication that the action resource of the monitored application entity is invalid.
Levine further discloses monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
Yamada further discloses setting a value of an activation status attribute of the action resource to disable monitoring of the action resource in response to receiving an indication that the action resource of the monitored application entity is invalid (paragraph 0040: “Alternatively, if the execution instruction threshold is reached prior to a security measure being initiated and the invalid target address threshold being reached, one or both counters may be reset to zero and execution tracking may be disabled.”)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Yamada into Di’s teaching and Levine’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of the two-counter approach may be used to filter out a false-positive attack while also detecting an attackers attempt to insert valid execution instruction in-between redirecting instructions (Yamada, paragraph 0016).
Claim 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di in view of Levine, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 2012/0131167 to Shen et al. (hereafter “Shen”)
As per claim 8, Di discloses determining whether the resource attribute of the application entity is changed (FIGs. 13; paragraphs 0192-0198 and 0205: “App1 and App2 have to be registered to the M2M/IoT Service or Service Layer; App1 has to create a container resource (container1) on the M2M/IoT Server and allow App2 access rights; App2 has to create a container resource (container2) on the M2M/IoT server and allow App1 access rights; App1 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container2; and App2 has to subscribe to be notified if there is a new data entry in container1.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] registering to be notified [Wingdings font/0xE0] App1 is notified when container resource (container2) is changed by App2).
Di does not explicitly disclose monitored application entity; and receiving a re-registration request of the monitored application entity; comparing a resource attribute of the re-registered monitored application entity with the resource attribute of the monitored application entity before re-registration.
Levine further discloses monitored application entity (paragraph 0059: “the monitored application 126 may be a non-LBS application, for example, a resource consuming application, a power consuming application, a processor-intensive application, an applications that heavily utilize one or more resources (e.g., processing resources, wireless communication resources, power resources, memory resources, network resources), an application that may be needed to be monitored for possible excess usage of resources, an application for which it may be beneficial to suggest to the user to shut-down or temporarily deactivate the application due to its power consumption or other excess usage of resources, an applications utilizing Bluetooth or various network resources, an Internet or Web application (e.g., particularly an application which automatically refreshes or periodically refreshes or dynamically modifies its content), or the like.” [Wingdings font/0xE0] resources consumed by monitored application).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Levine into Di’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of power saving for mobile devices, as well as condition-based activation, shut-down and/or management of applications of mobile devices (Levine, paragraph 0004).
Shen further discloses receiving a re-registration request of the monitored application entity (paragraph 0064);
comparing a resource attribute of the re-registered monitored application entity with the resource attribute of the monitored application entity before re-registration (paragraph 0064).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine a teaching of Shen into Di’s teaching and Levine’s teaching because it would provide for the purpose of correcting inconsistencies during re-registration because the S-CSCF detects that the HSS has no information about the assigned S-CSCF and the S-CSCF starts initial registration (Shen, paragraph 0011).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
Prior arts:
US 2022/0158925 to Song
In the IoT world, many IoT systems provide a function to detect any update of IoT resources. For example, there is a subscription/notification feature that sends information to subscribed applications when there is any change on the target resource. If the target resource is updated with a new value, all the subscribed applications obtain notification about the update. There also exist a feature called ‘expirationTime’. The ‘expirationTime’ feature is suggested to identify how long a resource can exist. After the given amount of time, the resource is not valid anymore.
US 2021/0367926 to Jimenez
On identifying an attack, the constrained device may update the value of this resource to be true, representing an ongoing attack. The LWM2M server may subscribe to notifications for this resource, thus ensuring the constrained device will send the notification of message 10 when it updates the value of the resource on identifying the attack.
US 2020/0044760 to Seed
The <beacon> 202 resource may also support a <subscription> 207 child resource to allow AEs to subscribe and be notified of updates to the <beacon> attributes (e.g., attributes listed in Table 5).
US 2019/0245767 to Di
For ease of description only, the expression “client asks server to monitor resource A” may refer to a process in which a client 102 asks a server 104 to be informed about changes of state to a resource A. The client 102 issues a monitor request to a resource and the server 104 sends monitor responses to inform the client 102 about the changes in the monitored resource state.
US 2019/0098089 to Shim
Subscriptions & notifications module 325 may provide notifications pertaining to a subscription that tracks event changes on a resource. A subscription to a resource may be initiated by an IoT device 140, and is granted by subscriptions & notifications module 325 subject to access control policies. During an active resource subscription, subscriptions & notifications module 325 may send a notification regarding an event to an address or device identifier provided by the subscriber.
US 2018/0316755 to Keum
When an AE or a CSE subscribes to a change to a resource under a particular condition and the resource is changed to meet the condition, the subscription and notification function plays a role in notifying this. The subscription and notification function may correspond to the Observe structure of OIC, which will be described later.
/TUAN C DAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2198