DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamauchi (US 2022/0105506 A1; hereinafter “Yamauchi”) in view of Hiddessen et al. (US 2012/0152369 A1; hereinafter “Hiddessen”).
Regarding claim 1, Yamauchi teaches throughout the publication a liquid handling system (fluid handling system 100; paragraph 20; figures 1 – 7) comprising:
a channel chip (channel chip 300; paragraph 21) including an introduction port (e.g., inlet 310; paragraph 21; figure 2) for introducing a liquid and a channel (e.g., channels connecting inlets 310 through chip 300 shown in figure 4B (unlabeled); paragraph 22) for allowing a liquid introduced from the introduction port to flow therethrough;
a cartridge housing a liquid to be introduced into the introduction port (a combination of reservoir 200 and cap 400 is referred to as the cartridge; paragraph 21);
wherein:
the channel chip or the liquid handling device includes a first engagement part (first engaging part 220; paragraph 21), and
the cartridge includes:
a housing part (housing part 230) housing a liquid,
a communication pipe (openings 210) configured to allow the housing part and the introduction port to communicate with each other,
a second engagement part (second engaging part 320; paragraph 21) configured to detachably engage with the first engagement part,
wherein:
the first engagement part and the second engagement part are configured in such a way that when the first engagement part and the second engagement part detachably engage with each other, the communication pipe is connected to the introduction port.
Yamauchi does not specifically teach:
a chip holder for housing the channel chip;
packing or gasket(s) disposed at the communication pipe; and
a liquid handling device for supporting the chip holder and for controlling a flow of a liquid in the channel chip housed in the chip holder.
Hiddessen teaches the concept of incorporating a chip holder that can be configured to support and position a chip with a cartridge (e.g., paragraphs 64 and 176). Hiddessen also teaches an apparatus using a gasket for defining a plurality of orifices or openings of wells for example (e.g., paragraphs 30, 40, 42, 43, 60, 63, 66, 68, 69, 70 and 71). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143, A.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a chip holder for housing the channel chip associated with the liquid handling device, and wherein one or more gaskets are disposed at the communication pipe for effective sealing.
Regarding claim 3, Yamauchi teaches the liquid handling system according to claim 1, wherein the first engagement part and the second engagement part are detachably engaged with each other by a snap fit mechanism (the engagement structure of the first engaging portion 220 and the second engaging portion 320 involves engagement between a prong and a recess and can be interpreted as a snap-fit mechanism; paragraphs 50 – 62).
Regarding claim 5, Yamauchi teaches liquid handling system according to claim 1, wherein the liquid handling device includes the first engagement part (first engaging part 220; paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 6, Yamauchi teaches the liquid handling system according to claim 1, wherein: the first engagement part is a groove included in the chip holder; and the second engagement part is a projection configured to engage with the groove (the first engaging portion 220 engaged with the recess or groove and the second engaging portion 320 of the channel chip 300 can also have a recess or groove and the first engaging portion 220 of reservoir 200 can have a prong or projection or guide protrusion 321 that engages with the recess 221; paragraphs 59 – 62).
Regarding claim 11, Yamauchi teaches the liquid handling system according to claim 3, wherein the liquid handling device includes the first engagement part (first engaging part 220; paragraph 21).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 7 – 10 and 12 – 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the cited prior art neither teaches nor fairly suggests the liquid handling system according to claim 1, wherein:
the cartridge includes:
a cartridge main body including the housing part, the second engagement part, and a first communication pipe that is a portion of the communication pipe, the portion being on a side of the housing part; and
a slide part configured to be slidable with respect to the cartridge main body, the slide part including the packing and a second communication pipe that is a portion of the communication pipe, the portion being on a side of the packing, wherein:
the second engagement part is included in the cartridge main body or in the slide part; and
a communication state between the first communication pipe and the second communication pipe is changed by sliding the cartridge main body with respect to the slide part.
Regarding claim 4, the cited prior art neither teaches nor fairly suggests the liquid handling system according to claim 3, wherein:
the second engagement part includes a bending part extending along an extending direction of the communication pipe, and
a claw protruding toward a side opposite to the housing part, the claw being at an end portion of the bending part, the end portion being on a side of the channel chip,
wherein:
in a state where the first engagement part and the second engagement part are engaged with each other, engagement between the first engagement part and the second engagement part is released by bending the bending part to move the claw toward the toward the housing part.
Regarding claim 7, the cited prior art neither teaches nor fairly suggests the liquid handling system according to claim 6, wherein:
the first engagement part includes a first groove extending along an extending direction of the communication pipe, and
a second groove connected to the first groove, the second groove extending in a direction orthogonal to the extending direction of the communication pipe.
Conclusion
BRIAN J. SINES
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1796
/BRIAN J. SINES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796