DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-53 were originally filed July 20, 2023.
The amendment received July 12, 2024 amended claims 1-5, 7-9, 12, 15, 17, 18, 20-26, 34-40, and 42 and cancelled claims 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 19, 27-33, 41, and 43-53.
The amendment received March 27, 2026 amended claims 2, 22-26, 34, 36, 37, 39, 40, and 42; cancelled claims 21, 35, and 38; and added new claims 54-58.
The amendment received August 10, 2026 amended claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, and 54-58 and canceled claims 3-9 and 12. Please note: claims 55-58 should each have a status identifier of “(Currently amended; Withdrawn)”.
Claims 1-2, 15, 17, 18, 20, 22-26, 34, 36, 37, 39, 40, 42, and 54-58 are currently pending.
Claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54 are currently under consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants elected, without traverse, Group I (claims 1-9, 12, 15, 17, 18, and 20) in the reply filed on March 27, 2026. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 22-26, 34, 36, 37, 39, 40, and 42 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected product, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Applicants elected, without traverse, IIH; octreotide in a liquid formulation and at a dose of 70 mg wherein the area-under-the-curve is equal to or less than about 10% of the dose administered by a non-nasal route; subcutaneous as the non-nasal route; 3 doses per day; and reduces an acute, ongoing episode of IIH as the species in the reply filed on March 27, 2026. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Please note: applicants’ representative states on page 9 of the response received March 27, 2026 that he believes that species F and G are for the product claims of Group II and not to the elected method claims of Group I. It is unclear why applicants’ representative believes that reagents utilized in a method and method steps of a method are species for a product. The response to the species of F and G is being treated as an election of nothing for each.
Claims 4-6, 8, 9, 12, and 55-58 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
The present application is a 371 (National Stage) of PCT/US2022/013144 filed January 20, 2022 which claims the benefit of 63/139,893 filed January 21, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 7, 2026 (English language only) and August 10, 2026 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
No drawings are present.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Withdrawn Objection
The objection to claim 17 regarding “selected from” should read “selected from the group consisting of” and the conjunction should be changed from “or” to “and” is withdrawn in view of the amendment received August 10, 2026.
Withdrawn Rejections
The rejection of claims 1-3, 7, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of the amendment received August 10, 2026.
The rejection of claims 3 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C is withdrawn in view of the cancellation of the claims in the amendment received August 10, 2026.
The rejection of claims 3 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C is withdrawn in view of the cancellation of the claims in the amendment received August 10, 2026.
The rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention is withdrawn in view of the amendment received August 10, 2026.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 7, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haviv U.S. Patent 10,682,387 issued June 16, 2020 and Weeke et al., 1992, A Randomized Comparison of Intranasal and Injectable Octreotide Administration in Patients with Acromegaly, Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, 75(1): 163-169 is withdrawn in view of the amendment received August 10, 2026.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 7, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mamluk U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0220628 published August 4, 2016 and Tomono et al., 2020, Nasal absorption enhancement of protein drugs independent to their chemical properties in the presence of hyaluronic acid modified with tetraglycine-L-octaarginine, European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics, 154: 186-194 is withdrawn in view of the amendment received August 10, 2026.
Maintained and/or Modified* Rejections
*wherein the modification is due to amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mamluk et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0298792 published October 3, 2019 and Lerner et al., 2004, Enhanced Delivery of Octreotide to the Brain via Transnasal Iontophoretic Administration, Journal of Drug Targeting, 12(5): 273-280.
For present claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54, Mamluk et al. teach methods of administering octreotide, somatostatin, lanreotide, or pasireotide to subjects with IIH or cluster headaches wherein administration is oral or intravenous at dosages of about 5 mg to about 35 mg, 20 mg, 40 mg, 60 mg, 80 mg, 90 mg, or 120 mg daily, every 8-16 hours, twice daily, or three or more times daily in liquid form (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 5-10, 24-26, 29, 33-35, 37-39, 48, 49, 53, 54, 58-63, 79-82, 84-91).
While Mamluk et al. teach oral or intravenous administration, intranasal administration is not taught.
For present claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54, Lerner et al. teach methods of transnasal administration which results in delivery (i.e. absorption) in the brain of octreotide in a liquid formulation (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; Drug Formulation; Figures 1 and 3).
The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. oral or intravenous administration of octreotide) for another (i.e. intranasal administration of octreotide) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. treatment with octreotide) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. intranasal administration of octreotide) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Arguments and Response
Applicants’ arguments directed to the rejection under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Mamluk et al. and Lerner et al. for claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54 were considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons.
Applicants argue the references individually (i.e. Mamluk et al. do not teach direct nose-to-brain absorption; Lerner et al. teach utilizing an iontophoresis electrode).
Applicants’ arguments are not convincing since the teachings of Mamluk et al. and Lerner et al. render the method of the instant claims prima facie obvious.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
New Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haviv U.S. Patent 10,682,387 issued June 16, 2020; Weeke et al., 1992, A Randomized Comparison of Intranasal and Injectable Octreotide Administration in Patients with Acromegaly, Journal of Clinical Endocrinology and Metabolism, 75(1): 163-169; and Ong et al., 2014, Nose-to-Brain Drug Delivery by Nanoparticles in the Treatment of Neurological Disorders, Current Medicinal Chemistry, 21: 4247-4256 (provided in the IDS).
For present claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54, Haviv teaches methods of administering octreotide, lanreotide, pasireotide, and/or somatostatin to a subject to treat headaches at a dosage of about 5 mg to about 120 mg given daily, 2, or 3 times a day in liquid form (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; Deftereos et al.; Panagopoulos et al.; columns 1-7; Examples). Haviv teaches utilizing octreotide to treat IIH (please refer to the entire specification particularly “OTHER PUBLICATIONS”).
Regarding cluster headaches, when the claim recites using an old composition or structure and the "use" is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure, then the claim is anticipated and/or rendered obvious. See In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1090, 197 USPQ 601, 607 (CCPA 1978) (Claims 1 and 6, directed to a method of effecting nonaddictive analgesia (pain reduction) in animals, were found to be anticipated by the applied prior art which disclosed the same compounds, as well as a method of using them for effecting analgesia but which was silent as to addiction. The court upheld the rejection and stated that the inventors had merely found a new property of the compound and such a discovery did not constitute a new use.
While Haviv teaches oral or injectable administration, intranasal administration is not taught.
For present claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54, Weeke et al. teach methods of administering octreotide intranasally (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; Study design, Dose selection and blinding; Figures 1-5).
For present claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54, Ong et al. teach nose-to-brain drug delivery (i.e. absorption) (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; sections 2, 3.1; Table 1; Conclusion).
The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. oral or intravenous administration of octreotide) for another (i.e. intranasal administration of octreotide; nose-to-brain delivery) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. treatment with octreotide) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. intranasal/nose-to-brain administration of octreotide) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mamluk U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0220628 published August 4, 2016; Tomono et al., 2020, Nasal absorption enhancement of protein drugs independent to their chemical properties in the presence of hyaluronic acid modified with tetraglycine-L-octaarginine, European Journal of Pharmaceutics and Biopharmaceutics, 154: 186-194; and Wang et al., 2019, Nose-to-Brain Delivery, J Pharmacol Exp Ther, 370: 593-601 (provided in the IDS).
For present claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54, Mamluk et al. teach methods of administering octreotide, somatostatin, lanreotide, or pasireotide to subjects with IIH or cluster headaches wherein administration is oral or intravenous at dosages of about 5 mg to about 35 mg, 20 mg, 40 mg, 60 mg, 80 mg, 90 mg, or 120 mg daily, every 8-16 hours, twice daily, or three or more times daily in liquid form (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; paragraphs 4-10, 19, 23-25, 28, 34, 36-38, 46-52, 57-96).
While Mamluk et al. teach oral or intravenous administration, intranasal administration is not taught.
For present claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54, Tomono et al. teach methods of intranasal administration of octreotide in a liquid formulation (i.e. diluted in PBS or saline) (please refer to the entire specification particularly the abstract; section 2.4; Tables 1 and 4).
For present claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54, Wang et al. teach nose-to-brain delivery (i.e. absorption) (please refer to the entire reference particularly the abstract; “Nose-to-Brain Mechanism of Delivery”, pages 594-600).
The claims would have been obvious because the substitution of one known element (i.e. oral or intravenous administration of octreotide) for another (i.e. intranasal administration of octreotide via nose-to-brain absorption) would have yielded predictable results (i.e. treatment with octreotide) to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. The claims would have been obvious because a particular known technique (i.e. intranasal administration resulting in nose-to-brain absorption of octreotide) was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007).
Maintained and/or Modified* Rejections
*wherein the modification is due to amendment
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8,15, 17, 18, 20-22, 24, 27, 30, 33, 38, 48, 51, 52, 54, 55, 57, 58, 61, 69, and 77 of copending Application No. 18/276,724 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the present claims and the claims of copending Application No. 18/276,724 (reference application) are drawn to methods of treating IIH or cluster headache via intranasal administration for direct nose-to-brain administration of a somatostatin mimetic including somatostatin, octreotide, loanreotide, pasireotide, or penetreotide at a dose of equal to or less than about 100 mg daily and administered daily or in 2, 3, or 4 divided doses in a powder, liquid, or gel formulation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Arguments and Response
Applicants’ arguments directed to the rejection on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over copending Application No. 18/276,724 (reference application) for claims 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54 were considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons.
Applicants request deferment of the provisional rejection.
Applicants’ arguments are not convincing since the claimed invention of 1, 2, 15, 17, 18, 20, and 54 renders obvious the method of the instant claims. In addition, while a request may be made that objections or requirements as to form not necessary to further consideration of the claims be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated, the present is a rejection and will not be held in abeyance (see MPEP § 714.02).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deftereos et al., 2011, Treatment of idiopathic intracranial hypertension: Is there a place for octreotide?, Cephalalgia, 31(16): 1679-1680.
Matharu et all., 2004, Subcutaneous Octreotide in Cluster Headache: Randomized Placebo-Controlled Double-Blind Crossover Study, Ann Neurol, 56: 488-494.
Panagopoulos et al., 2007, Octreotide: A therapeutic option for idiopathic intracranial hypertension, Neurology, Neurophysiology, and Neuroscience, 1 (6 pages).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Future Communications
/AMBER D STEELE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658