DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites (emphasis added by Examiner) “the positive electrode and the negative electrode each comprise a coating portions” on line 5 of the claim. The limitation “a coating portions” is unclear whether one coating portion of coating portions are being claimed.
For the purpose of this action, the limitation will be examined as “one or more coating portions.”
Claims 2-13 are also rejected, as they depend upon Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 also recites (emphasis added by Examiner) “the zig-zag shaped electrodes” on line 14 and “the folder-shaped electrodes” on line 16 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for more than one zig-zag shaped electrode and more than one folder-shaped electrode.
For the purpose of this action, the limitation will be examined as “the zig-zag shaped electrode” and “the folder-shaped electrode.”
Claims 2-13 are also rejected, as they depend upon Claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 recites (emphasis added by Examiner):
2. (currently amended) The electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein: the separator has a zigzag shape formed by bending a long separator sheet in accordance with a predetermined unit length between bends of the separator.
The limitation “between bends of the separator” presents confusion around the structure of the separator’s zigzag shape, as the limitation appears to define the shape as being formed by bending a sheet between bends of itself. To maintain consistency with the instant specification (see page 4, lines 1-2) and ensure clarity of the claim, please delete “between bends of the separator.” For the purpose of this action, the limitation will be examined as “the separator has a zigzag shape formed by bending a long separator sheet in accordance with a predetermined unit length.”
Claims 3, 4, and 8 are also rejected, as they depend upon Claim 2.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 recites (emphasis added by Examiner):
11. (currently amended) The electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein: the coating portions of the electrode are formed on both surfaces of the electrode.
The limitation “the electrode” is unclear. Claim 1 (from which Claim 11 depends) comprises a folder-shaped positive or negative electrode, and a zig-zag shaped positive or negative electrode. In Claim 11, it is not clear which of the electrode(s) of Claim 1 is being referred to as “the electrode.” For the purpose of this action, “the electrode” will be examined as “one or more of a folder-shaped positive electrode, a folder-shaped negative electrode, a zig-zag shaped negative electrode, and a zig-zag shaped positive electrode.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 recites (emphasis added by Examiner):
12. (currently amended) The electrode assembly according to claim 1, wherein: each of the coating portions of the electrode has a shape in which four sides have the same length.
The limitation “the electrode” is unclear. Claim 1 (from which Claim 12 depends) comprises a positive electrode having at least one coating portion, and a negative electrode having at least one coating portion. In Claim 12, it is not clear whether the coating portion(s) of the positive and/or negative electrode is required to have the claimed shape. For the purpose of this action, “the electrode” will be examined as “at least one of the positive electrode or the negative electrode.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Baumeister, US 20160285133 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Baumeister discloses an electrode assembly (electrode assembly 110 [0095-0103], Figs. 1-6) comprises:
a positive electrode (second electrode 130 [0017, 0095]);
a negative electrode (first electrode 112 [0017, 0095]); and
a separator (separator 116 [0017, 0095]), wherein the positive electrode and the negative electrode each comprise one or more coating portions (see 35 USC 112 Section) coated with an electrode active material (electrodes 112 and 130 have active material regions 148 [0096-0097, 0103], Figs. 2A/B and 5A/B) and non-coating portions not coated with an electrode active material (electrodes 112 and 130 have coating gaps 150/152/154 [0096, 0103], Figs. 2A/B and 5A/B),
wherein the positive electrode has a zigzag shape formed by bending a rectangular sheet in which the coating portions and the non-coating portions are alternately formed (second conductive band 132 of second electrode 130 folded in a second zigzag fold [0046, 0095, 0103], Figs. 1, 4, 6; see alternating active material regions 148 and coating gaps 150/152/154 in Figs. 2B and 5B),
wherein the negative electrode has a folder shape formed by bending a sheet in which each of the non-coating portions is interposed between two of the coating portions (first conductive band 114 of first electrode 112 is folded [0046, 0095, 0103], Figs. 4-6; see alternating active material regions 148 and coating gaps 150/152/154 in Figs. 2A and 5A),
wherein the non-coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode forms electrode tabs facing in opposing directions (coating gaps at second folding edges are electrical contact regions that lie opposite one another [0028, 0095, 0103]), and
wherein the non-coating portions of the folder-shaped electrodes form electrode tabs facing in one direction (coating gaps at first folding edges are electrical contact regions, aligned in the first folding direction 138 [0028, 0095, 0103]) and arranged perpendicular to the electrode tabs formed in the opposing directions (two current collectors are attached perpendicularly to one another on the electrode assembly 110 [0103]).
Regarding Claim 2, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister discloses the separator (116) has a zigzag shape formed by bending a long separator sheet in accordance with a predetermined unit length ([0033-0034], Figs. 4-6).
Regarding Claim 3, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister discloses the zigzag-shaped electrode (130) and separator (116) have a folding line formed by being bent, the folding line of the zigzag-shaped electrode is formed on the non-coating portion (coating gaps 152, 154 are required for the folding of the second conductive band 132 [0095, 0103]), and the folding line of the zigzag-shaped electrode is arranged perpendicular to the folding line of the separator (band 132 is folded perpendicularly to separator band 118 [0099, 0103], Figs. 4-6).
Regarding Claim 4, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister discloses the folding line formed on the folder-shaped electrode is arranged parallel to the folding line of the separator (the first conductive band 114 of the first electrode 112 is folded together with the insulating band 118 of the separator 116 [0034, 0095], Figs. 1, 4, 6).
Regarding Claim 5, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister discloses two unit separators (see Unit Separator A and Unit Separator B, Annotated Fig. 4) are located between the two coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode (see Zigzag Coating A and Zigzag Coating B, Annotated Fig. 4), two other unit separators (see Unit Separator C and Unit Separator D, Annotated Fig. 4) are located between two other coating portions of the zigzag- shaped electrode (see Zigzag Coating C and Zigzag Coating D, zigzag electrode 130 is coated on both sides [0097, 0101]; Annotated Fig. 4),
one of two coating portions of the folder-shaped electrode is located between the two unit separators (see Folder Coating A in relation to Unit Separator A and Unit Separator B, Annotated Fig. 4), and the other of the two coating portions of the folder-shaped electrode is located between the two other unit separators (see Folder Coating B in relation to Unit Separator C and Unit Separator D, Annotated Fig. 4):
Baumeister – Annotated Fig. 4
Regarding Claim 6, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister discloses each of the coating portions (148) has a long side facing each other and a short side facing each other (Annotated Figs. 5A/B),
the non-coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode are located between the long sides of the coating portions (coating gaps 150/152/154 on electrode 130 are between vertical long side portions of adjacent coating sections, see Fig. 5B), and
the non-coating portions of the folder-shaped electrode are located between short sides of the coating portion (coating gaps 150/152/154 on electrode 112 are between vertical short side portions of adjacent coating sections, see Fig. 5B).
Baumeister – Annotated Figs. 5A/B
Regarding Claim 7, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister discloses
each of the coating portions has a long side facing each other and a short side facing each other (see Annotated Figs. 5A/B in Claim 6), and
the non-coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode are located between the long sides of the coating portion (see Annotated Figs. 5A/B in Claim 6).
Regarding Claim 8, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister discloses the separator band has short sides and long sides (the length of the band is very much greater than the width of the band [0018-0019], see Annotated Fig. 5A). As Baumeister discloses the separator and the folder shaped electrode are bent/folded together (the first electrode 112 is folded together with the separator 116 [0034, 0095]), the bent portion of the separator would be located between the two short sides of the separator (see Annotated Fig. 5A).
Baumeister – Annotated Fig. 5A
Regarding Claim 9, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister discloses the zigzag-shaped electrode is a positive electrode (second electrode 130 is a cathode [0017, 0095]).
Regarding Claim 10, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister discloses the folder-shaped electrode is a negative electrode (first electrode 112 is an anode [0017, 0095]).
Regarding Claim 11, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister discloses the coating portions of one or more of a folder-shaped positive electrode, a folder-shaped negative electrode, a zig-zag shaped negative electrode, and a zig-zag shaped positive electrode (see 35 USC 112 Section) are formed on both surfaces of the electrode (it is advantageous if both the first side 158 and the second side 160 of the second conductive band 132 have a coating with active material [0103], Figs. 2A and 5A).
Regarding Claim 13, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister discloses the electrode assembly may be used in a battery cell (an electrochemical cell comprises the electrode assembly [0013, 0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumeister, US 20160285133 A1 as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitaoka et al., JP H0917441 A.
Regarding Claim 12, Baumeister discloses all limitations as set forth above. Baumeister does not disclose the coating portions of at least one of the positive electrode or the negative electrode (see 35 USC 112 Section) has a shape in which four sides have the same length. However, this limitation is taught by Kitaoka et al.
Kitaoka teaches an electrode assembly wherein positive electrode plates 1A and negative electrode plates 1B are formed in the shape of long, thin strips, with the edges of the plates folded ([0011], Fig. 1). Kitaoka teaches the active material coating portions of electrode plates 1A and 1B can have a shape in which four sides have the same length (active material 2A applied on a plate measuring 38 mm in length and 38 mm in width [0022], Fig. 2; active material 2B applied to a portion measuring 40 mm in length and 40 mm in width [0023], Fig. 3).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have square coating portions on at least one of the positive electrode or the negative electrode, in the electrode assembly of Baumeister, as Kitaoka teaches a square-shaped coating area is suitable for use on a long, strip-like electrode plate.
The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Kitaoka – Figs. 1-3
Conclusion
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721