DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's reply filed 4/10/2026 includes claim amendments and corresponding arguments. Applicant’s amendments to Claims 1, 2, 11, and 12 resolve all 35 USC 112(b) Rejections set forth in the previous action.
Applicant argues the art of record does not disclose all limitations set forth in amended Claim 1. Examiner agrees the references cited in the previous action do not disclose the new limitations regarding the plurality of discontinuous folder-shaped electrodes. After an updated search and consideration of the amended claims, the claimed invention remains obvious, but over new prior art that teaches discontinuous folder-shaped electrodes (Minamigata et al., JP 2014038711 A). See updated action below.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 includes the following limitations:
“the non-coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode forms electrode tabs,”
“the non-coating portions of the discontinuous folder-shaped electrode forms electrode tabs”
The instant specification and drawings do not disclose the “electrode tabs” are traditional “tabs” which are separate and distinct from an electrode structure. The instant specification defines the structure of the electrode tab as “The first non-coating portion 111 and the second non-coating portion 121 may be electrode tabs of the first electrode 110 and the second electrode 120” (see Page 7, Lines 5-8 and Fig. 9). In light of the instant disclosure, the “electrode tabs” limitation is met by prior art that discloses non-coated portions on the zigzag-shaped and folder-shaped electrode structures.
18/273,339 – Fig. 9
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Minamigata et al., JP 2014038711 A.
Regarding Claim 1, Minamigata discloses an electrode assembly (electrode assembly 12 [0024], Figs. 1-2) comprises:
a positive electrode (positive electrode sheet 30 [0024], Fig. 2);
a negative electrode (negative electrode sheet 20 [0024], Figs. 2-7); and
a separator (first separator 40 [0024], Figs. 2 and 4),
wherein the positive electrode and the negative electrode each comprise coating portions coated
with an electrode active material (positive electrode active material layer 32 on metal foil 31 [0036]; negative electrode active material layer 26 on flat portion 22 [0069]) and non-coating portions not coated with an electrode active material (positive electrode sheet 30 has an electrode bending portion 30c provided with an uncoated portion 33 [0036-0039, 0047]; negative electrode sheet 20 may have uncoated portions 27 provided at bent portions 21 to improve bending/electrode assembly forming [0070]),
wherein a zigzag-shaped electrode of the negative electrode has a zigzag shape formed by bending a rectangular sheet in which the coating portions and the non- coating portions are alternately formed (negative electrode sheet 20 is a strip shaped metal foil folded in a zigzag pattern [0025-0028, 0043]; uncoated portions 27 provided at bent portions 21 to improve bending [0070], Annotated Fig. 2),
wherein a discontinuous folder-shaped electrode of the positive electrode has a plurality of folder shapes formed by bending a plurality of sheets (a plurality of positive electrode sheets 30 [0035], see discontinuous structure in Figs. 2 and 3B; bent at electrode bending portion 30c [0036-0038]) in which each of the non-coating portions is interposed between two of the coating portions (electrode bending portion 30c and uncoated portion 33 are provided in the center of each metal foil 31, Figs. 2 and 3B),
wherein the non-coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode faces first and second opposing directions (negative electrode sheet 20 has repeated folds/first bent portions 21 along direction “Ya,” uncoated portions 27 provided at bent portions 21 [0026, 0070], Annotated Fig. 2),
wherein the non-coating portions of the discontinuous folder-shaped electrode faces a third direction perpendicular to the first and second opposing directions (uncoated portion 33/electrode bending portion 30c is bent to form a valley fold with the separator 40 [0047, 0063], Annotated Fig. 2).
The limitations “the non-coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode forms electrode tabs,” and “the non-coating portions of the discontinuous folder-shaped electrode forms electrode tabs” are interpreted and examined in light of the instant specification. The “electrode tabs” limitation is interpreted as being met by prior art that discloses non-coated portions on the zigzag-shaped and folder-shaped electrode structures. In the instant case, the limitations are met, as Minamigata discloses non-coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode (negative electrode sheet 20 has repeated folds/first bent portions 21 along direction “Ya” [0026], Annotated Fig. 2) and non-coating portions of the discontinuous folder-shaped electrode (uncoated portion 33/electrode bending portion 30c).
Minamigata – Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 2, Minamigata discloses all limitations as set forth above. Minamigata discloses
the separator has a zigzag shape formed by bending a long separator sheet in accordance with a predetermined unit length (the first separator 40 on which the positive electrode sheet 30 is fixed and the
strip-shaped second separator 41 may be overlapped and folded in a zigzag pattern [0073], separator folding portion is a distance relative to the size of the positive electrode sheet [0067-0068]).
Regarding Claim 3, Minamigata discloses all limitations as set forth above. Minamigata discloses the zigzag-shaped electrode and separator have a folding line formed by being bent (negative electrode bent portion 21 and separator bent portion 42 [0070-0073]),
the folding line of the zigzag-shaped electrode (bent portion 21) is formed on the non-coating
portion (an uncoated portion 27 may be provided at the bent portion 21 of the negative electrode sheet 20 by not forming the negative electrode active material layer 26 thereon [0070]), and
the folding line of the zigzag-shaped electrode is arranged perpendicular to the folding line of the separator (Annotated Fig. 2).
Minamigata – Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 4, Minamigata discloses all limitations as set forth above. Minamigata discloses the folding line formed on the folder-shaped electrode is arranged parallel to the folding line of the separator (bent portion 42/separator folded portion 44 is positioned to overlap with the center of the uncoated portion 33 [0038], Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 5, Minamigata discloses all limitations as set forth above. Minamigata discloses two unit separators are located between the two coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode (separators 41 and 43 between each coating portion 26 layer, Figs. 2-3), two other unit separators are located between two other coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode (same structure is shown repeatedly in Figs. 2-3), one of two coating portions of the folder-shaped electrode is located between the two unit separators (region of positive electrode active material layer 32 from edge 30a to center 33; see position of separators in Figs. 2-3), and the other of the two coating portions of the folder-shaped electrode is located between the two other unit separators (region of positive electrode active material layer 32 from center 33 to edge 30b; see position of separators in Figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claims 6 and 7, Minamigata discloses all limitations as set forth above. Minamigata discloses each of the coating portions has a long side facing each other and a short side facing each other (Zigzag Shape: Annotated Fig. 2; Folder-shape: Annotated Fig. 3), the non-coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode are located between the long sides of the coating portions (uncoated portion located at bent portions 21, between edge portions 20a and 20b, Annotated Fig. 2), and the non-coating portions of the folder-shaped electrode are located between short sides of the coating portion (uncoated portion 33 is provided in the center of each metal foil 31 [0038], Annotated Fig. 3).
Minamigata – Annotated Fig. 2
Minamigata – Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding Claim 8, Minamigata discloses all limitations as set forth above. Minamigata discloses the bent portion of the separator (bent portion 42) is located between short sides of the separator (short sides of separator 40 are parallel to short sides of positive electrode sheet 30, Figs. 1-3).
Regarding Claim 11, Minamigata discloses all limitations as set forth above. Minamigata discloses the coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode are formed on first and second opposite surfaces of the zigzag-shaped electrode (negative electrode active material layer 26 formed only on the negative electrode flat portion 22 [0069], Fig. 2; see upper and lower edge portions 20a and 20b [0029]).
Regarding Claim 13, Minamigata discloses all limitations as set forth above. Minamigata discloses a battery cell comprising the electrode assembly as set forth in claim 1 (secondary battery [0018], Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamigata et al., JP 2014038711 A.
Regarding Claims 9 and 10, Minamigata discloses all limitations as set forth above. Minamigata discloses an alternate embodiment wherein the zigzag-shaped electrode is a positive electrode and the folder-shaped electrode is a negative electrode (Alternatively, the negative electrode sheet 20 may be fixed to the first separator 40 instead of the positive electrode sheet 30 to form the electrode sheet body 50 [0071]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have the zigzag-shaped electrode be a positive electrode and the folder-shaped electrode be a negative electrode, in the electrode assembly of Minamigata, as Minamigata teaches this configuration as an alternate embodiment.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minamigata as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kitaoka et al., JP H0917441 A (previously cited).
Regarding Claim 12, Minamigata discloses all limitations as set forth above. Minamigata does not disclose each of the coating portions of the zigzag-shaped electrode has a shape in which four sides thereof have a same length. However, this limitation is taught by Kitaoka et al.
Kitaoka teaches an electrode assembly wherein positive electrode plates 1A and negative electrode plates 1B are formed in the shape of long, thin strips, with the edges of the plates folded ([0011], Fig. 1). Kitaoka teaches the active material coating portions of electrode plates 1A and 1B can have a shape in which four sides have the same length (active material 2A applied on a plate measuring 38 mm in length and 38 mm in width [0022], Fig. 2; active material 2B applied to a portion measuring 40 mm in length and 40 mm in width [0023], Fig. 3).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have square coating portions on the zigzag-shaped electrode, in the electrode assembly of Minamigata, as Kitaoka teaches a square-shaped coating area is suitable for use on a long, strip-like electrode plate.
The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Kitaoka – Figs. 1-3
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721