CTNF 18/273,396 CTNF 95489 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-03 AIA The term “ essentially ” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ essentially ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. 07-34-03 The term “plate-like elements” in claims 1-3, 6 and 10-14 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “plate-like” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims 4-5, 7-9 and 15 are rejected as they are dependent upon a previously rejected claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-3, 5-6, 10-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (US 5167274) in view of Bracegirdle et al. (US 4784216) . Regarding claim 1 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches a hopper (Fig. 1 #2, 4, 5) comprising a buffer compartment defined by side walls (Fig. 1 #8, 9, 10), a top end comprising an opening (Fig. 1 see top end of #4 with opening) adapted for receiving solid particles (Col. 3 lines 14-16, Col. 4 lines 33-37), and a bottom end comprising an opening (Fig. 1 see bottom end of #5 with opening) adapted for dispensing the solid particles from the buffer compartment (Col. 3 lines 6-10, Col. 4 lines 35-37), wherein: - the buffer compartment comprises a plurality of essentially vertically positioned cooling plate-like elements (Fig. 2 #3) for cooling the solid particles in the buffer compartment (Col. 4 lines 39-59); - the hopper (Fig. 1 #2, 4, 5) comprises an inlet pipe (Fig. 2 #25) and an outlet pipe (Fig. 2 #27) for a cooling liquid (Col. 5 lines 31-42) and the plurality of cooling plate-like elements (Fig. 2 #3) are fluidly connected to the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe (Col. 5 lines 27-31); and - the outlet pipe (Fig. 2 #27) is located in the buffer compartment above the plurality of cooling plate-like elements (Fig. 2 see #27 located above #3). Mueller (US 5167274) lacks teaching the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe are located in the buffer compartment above the plurality of cooling plate-like elements. Bracegirdle et al. (US 4784216) teaches a hopper (Fig. 2 #102) wherein the inlet pipe (Fig. 2 #48) and the outlet pipe (Fig. 2 #58) are located in the buffer compartment above the plurality of cooling plate-like elements (Fig. 2 #48, 58 located above #180). Bracegirdle et al (US 4784216) explains that the hopper is constructed to enable the relatively easy removal and/or replacement of all of the hollow heat exchange plate assemblies as a unit, and the inlet and outlet manifolds can have flanges of a conventional structure to allow for the easy removal of the hollow heat exchange plate assemblies (Col. 13 lines 14-23). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller (US 5167274) to include wherein the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe located in the buffer compartment above the plurality of cooling plate-like elements as taught by Bracegirdle et al. (US 4784216) in order to enable easier removal or replacement of the cooling plate-like elements. Regarding claim 2 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches the hopper according to claim 1, wherein a height of the cooling plate-like elements (Fig. 2 height of #3) is corresponding to between 30 and 80% of the height of the hopper (Col. 8 lines 59-Col. 9 line 1), wherein the cooling plate-like elements are extending in a vertical direction from the bottom end of the hopper towards the top end (Fig. 2 see #3 extending in vertical direction from #5 to #4). Regarding claim 3 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches the hopper according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of cooling plate-like elements (Fig. 2 #3) do not extend into a volume defined by a horizontal cross-section at 80% of a height of the hopper (Col. 8 line 59-Col. 9 line 1) and the top end of the hopper (Fig. 2 #3 does not extend into a volume defined by cross section at 80% of #2, 4, 5 and top end of #4; height of #3 122cm plus height of #5 96cm is 218cm). Regarding claim 5 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches the hopper according to claim 1, wherein the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe are parallel (Fig. 2 see #25 parallel to #27). Mueller (US 5167274) lacks teaching wherein the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe are at a same height in the buffer compartment. Bracegirdle et al. (US 4784216) teaches a hopper (Fig. 2 #102) wherein the inlet pipe (Fig. 2 #48) and the outlet pipe (Fig. 2 #58) are at a same height in the buffer compartment (Fig. 2 see #48, 58 at a same height). Bracegirdle et al (US 4784216) explains that the hopper is constructed to enable the relatively easy removal and/or replacement of all of the hollow heat exchange plate assemblies as a unit, and the inlet and outlet manifolds can have flanges of a conventional structure to allow for the easy removal of the hollow heat exchange plate assemblies (Col. 13 lines 14-23). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller (US 5167274) to include wherein the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe are at a same height in the buffer compartment as taught by Bracegirdle et al. (US 4784216) in order to enable easier removal or replacement of the cooling plate-like elements. Regarding claim 6 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches the hopper according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of cooling plate-like elements are made of stainless steel (Col. 8 lines 67-68). Regarding claim 10 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches a method for operating a hopper (Fig. 1 #2, 4, 5) according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), comprising steps of: a) activating a cooling effect of the plurality of the cooling plate-like elements (Fig. 3 #3, Col. 5 lines 27-42); b) providing solid particles to the top end of the hopper (Col. 3 lines 14-16, Col. 4 lines 33-37); and c) dispensing cooled solid particles via the opening of the bottom end of the hopper (Col. 3 lines 6-10, Col. 4 lines 35-37). Regarding claim 11 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein step a) comprises providing a cooling liquid to the cooling plate-like elements (Col. 5 lines 27-42) and wherein a relative humidity of air in contact with the solid particles at a temperature equal to a temperature of the cooling liquid is lower than a critical relative humidity of the solid particles to be cooled (Col. 7 lines 43-47). Regarding claim 14 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches a method for revamping a hopper (Fig. 1 #2, 4, 5) comprising a buffer compartment defined by side walls (Fig. 1 #8, 9, 10), a top end comprising an opening (Fig. 1 see top end of #4 with opening) adapted for receiving solid particles (Col. 3 lines 14-16, Col. 4 lines 33-37), and a bottom end comprising an opening (Fig. 1 see bottom end of #5 with opening) adapted for dispensing the solid particles from the buffer compartment (Col. 3 lines 6-10, Col. 4 lines 35-37), the method comprising steps of: a) providing an assembly comprising a plurality of cooling plate-like elements (Fig. 2 #3) fluidly connected to an inlet pipe (Fig. 2 #25, Col. 5 lines 27-31) for a cooling liquid and an outlet pipe (Fig. 2 #27) for a cooling liquid, wherein the plurality of cooling plate-like elements are parallel with each other (Fig. 2 see #3 parallel with each other) and the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe are located on a same side of the cooling plate-like elements (Fig. 2 see #25, 27 located on same side of #3); b) placing the assembly provided in step a) in the buffer compartment of the hopper (Fig. 2 see #3 placed in #2), such that the outlet pipe (Fig. 2 #27) is above the cooling plate-like elements (Fig. 2 see #27 above #3); and c) connecting the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe of the assembly to a cooling liquid circuit (Col. 5 lines 27-42). Mueller (US 5167274) lacks teaching placing the assembly provided in step a) in the buffer compartment of the hopper, such that the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe are above the cooling plate-like elements. Bracegirdle et al. (US 4784216) teaches a method for revamping a hopper (Fig. 2 #102) the method comprising steps of: placing the assembly provided in step a) (Fig. 2 see assembly of #180) in the buffer compartment of the hopper (Fig. 2 #102), such that the inlet pipe (Fig. 2 #48) and the outlet pipe (Fig. 2 #58) are above the cooling plate-like elements (Fig. 2 see #48, 58 above #180). Bracegirdle et al (US 4784216) explains that the hopper is constructed to enable the relatively easy removal and/or replacement of all of the hollow heat exchange plate assemblies as a unit, and the inlet and outlet manifolds can have flanges of a conventional structure to allow for the easy removal of the hollow heat exchange plate assemblies (Col. 13 lines 14-23). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller (US 5167274) to include placing the assembly provided in step a) in the buffer compartment of the hopper, such that the inlet pipe and the outlet pipe are above the cooling plate-like elements as taught by Bracegirdle et al. (US 4784216) in order to enable easier removal or replacement of the cooling plate-like elements . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (US 5167274) in view of Bracegirdle et al. (US 4784216) and further in view of legal precedent . Regarding claim 4 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches the hopper according to claim 1, wherein an area of the top end (Fig. 1 area of top end of #4) is larger than an area of the opening of the bottom end (Fig. 8 see adjustable opening of bottom end of #5). Mueller (US 5167274) lacks teaching wherein an area of the top end is 5 to 20 times larger than an area of the opening of the bottom end. Mueller (US 5167274) explains that the amount and the rate of the discharge may be controlled by controlling the position of the swinging sections in the discharge hopper (Col. 8 lines 10-15). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller (US 5167274) to include wherein an area of the top end is 5 to 20 times larger than an area of the opening of the bottom end in order to control the rate of material discharge relative to the feed rate of material, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Regarding claim 7 , Mueller (US 5167274) lacks teaching the hopper according to claim 1, wherein the hopper has a cooling capacity of 10 to 20 °C at a flow of 10 to 15 t/h. Mueller (US 5167274) teaches wherein the hopper has a cooling capacity of 22 °C at a flow of 22.54 t/h (Col. 9 lines 9-20). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller (US 5167274) to include wherein the hopper has a cooling capacity of 10 to 20 °C at a flow of 10 to 15 t/h in order to provide the required cooling capacity for a particular application, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Regarding claim 15 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches the hopper according to claim 4, wherein the area of the top end (Fig. 1 area of top end of #4) is larger than the area of the opening of the bottom end (Fig. 8 see adjustable opening of bottom end of #5). Mueller (US 5167274) lacks teaching wherein the area of the top end is 7 to 15 times larger than the area of the opening of the bottom end. Mueller (US 5167274) explains that the amount and the rate of the discharge may be controlled by controlling the position of the swinging sections in the discharge hopper (Col. 8 lines 10-15). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller (US 5167274) to include wherein an area of the top end is 7 to 15 times larger than an area of the opening of the bottom end in order to control the rate of material discharge relative to the feed rate of material, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8-9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller (US 5167274) in view of Bracegirdle et al. (US 4784216) and further in view of Niks et al. (US 4219589) . Regarding claim 8 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches a system comprising a sequence of the hopper according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above). Mueller (US 5167274) explains that in the production of particulate fertilizers, it is necessary to cool the particulates to avoid undesirable phenomena such as caking (Col. 1 lines 10-22). Mueller (US 5167274) lacks teaching a sequence of a fluidized bed granulator, the hopper according to claim 1, and a crusher, wherein the hopper is configured to feed the solid particles to the crusher, a first means for transporting particles from the granulator to the hopper, and a second means for transporting solid particles from the crusher. Niks et al. (US 4219589) teaches a sequence of a fluidized bed granulator (Fig. 1 #1), a hopper (Fig. 1 #29, Col. 5 lines 40-47), and a crusher (Fig. 1 #30), wherein the hopper is configured to feed the solid particles to the crusher (Col. 5 lines 45-47), a first means for transporting particles from the granulator to the hopper (Col. 5 lines 25-46), and a second means for transporting solid particles from the crusher (Col. 5 lines 45-52). Niks et al. (US 4219589) explains that this sequence provides a process for the production of urea granules having a desired size, a good sphericity and a smooth closed surface, a high crushing strength, a great resistance to impact and a slight tendency of forming fly dust through abrasion, so that they are suitable for pneumatic transportation and remain free flowing even after prolonged storage, have excellent chemical composition, are excellently suitable for technical uses, and form an excellent substrate for the production of slow-release urea (Col. 1 lines 49-62). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller (US 5167274) to include a sequence of a fluidized bed granulator, the hopper according to claim 1, and a crusher, wherein the hopper is configured to feed the solid particles to the crusher, a first means for transporting particles from the granulator to the hopper, and a second means for transporting solid particles from the crusher as taught by Niks et al. (US 4219589) in order to produce fertilizer granules with desired properties including a desired size and high crushing strength, which are suitable for pneumatic transportation and remain free flowing even after prolonged storage. Regarding claim 9 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches the system according to claim 8 comprising a screening device for limiting a size of the particles fed to the hopper (Col. 9 lines 12-14). Regarding claim 12 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the hopper is operated in a system for producing solid particles, further comprising steps of: c) activating the cooling effect of the plurality of the cooling plate-like elements (Col. 5 lines 27-42). Mueller (US 5167274) explains that in the production of particulate fertilizers, it is necessary to cool the particulates to avoid undesirable phenomena such as caking (Col. 1 lines 10-22). Mueller (US 5167274) lacks teaching wherein the hopper is operated in a system for producing solid particles in a fluidized bed granulator, further comprising steps of: a) directing a melt to a granulator, the melt comprising one or more selected from a group of urea, ammonium salt, nitrate salt, and/or mixtures thereof; b) granulating the melt in the granulator thereby obtaining on-specs solid particles, undersized solid particles and oversized solid particles; d) directing the oversized solid particles to the hopper; and e) dispensing the cooled oversized solid particles from the hopper to a crusher, thereby obtaining undersized solid particles. Niks et al. (US 4219589) teaches a method for operating a hopper (Fig. 1 #29, Col. 1 lines 4-9), wherein the hopper is operated in a system for producing solid particles in a fluidized bed granulator (Fig. 1 #1, Col. 4 lines 60-66), further comprising steps of: a) directing a melt to a granulator (Col. 5 lines 8-13), the melt comprising one or more selected from a group of urea (Col. 5 lines 12-13), ammonium salt, nitrate salt, and/or mixtures thereof; b) granulating the melt in the granulator thereby obtaining on-specs solid particles, undersized solid particles and oversized solid particles (Col. 5 lines 35-40); c) activating the cooling effect (Col. 5 lines 40-47); d) directing the oversized solid particles to the hopper (Col. 5 lines 45-47); and e) dispensing the cooled oversized solid particles from the hopper to a crusher (Fig. 1 #30, Col. 5 lines 45-47), thereby obtaining undersized solid particles (Col. 5 lines 45-49). Niks et al. (US 4219589) explains that this method provides a process for the production of urea granules having a desired size, a good sphericity and a smooth closed surface, a high crushing strength, a great resistance to impact and a slight tendency of forming fly dust through abrasion, so that they are suitable for pneumatic transportation and remain free flowing even after prolonged storage, have excellent chemical composition, are excellently suitable for technical uses, and form an excellent substrate for the production of slow-release urea (Col. 1 lines 49-62). Niks et al. (US 4219589) states that the fraction of oversized granules separated in the sieving device is transported after cooling to a crusher in which this fraction is crushed to the same size as, or smaller sizes than, those of the undersize fraction (Col. 5 lines 45-49). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller (US 5167274) to include wherein the hopper is operated in a system for producing solid particles in a fluidized bed granulator, further comprising steps of: a) directing a melt to a granulator, the melt comprising one or more selected from a group of urea, ammonium salt, nitrate salt, and/or mixtures thereof; b) granulating the melt in the granulator thereby obtaining on-specs solid particles, undersized solid particles and oversized solid particles; d) directing the oversized solid particles to the hopper; and e) dispensing the cooled oversized solid particles from the hopper to a crusher, thereby obtaining undersized solid particles as taught by Niks et al. (US 4219589) in order to produce fertilizer granules with desired properties including a desired size and high crushing strength, which are suitable for pneumatic transportation and remain free flowing even after prolonged storage. Regarding claim 13 , Mueller (US 5167274) teaches a method for production of solid particles using a hopper according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), said method comprising steps of: a) activating a cooling effect of the plurality of the cooling plate-like elements of said hopper (Fig. 3 #3, Col. 5 lines 27-42); b) providing solid particles to the top end of said hopper in a continuous or intermittent manner (Col. 3 lines 14-16, Col. 4 lines 33-37); and c) dispensing cooled solid particles via the opening of the bottom end of said hopper in a continuous or intermittent manner (Col. 3 lines 6-10, Col. 4 lines 35-37). Mueller (US 5167274) explains that in the production of particulate fertilizers, it is necessary to cool the particulates to avoid undesirable phenomena such as caking (Col. 1 lines 10-22). Mueller (US 5167274) lacks teaching said method comprising steps of: d) dispensing the cooled solid particles from the hopper to a crusher to reduce a particle size of the solid particles, and e) separating and directing any undersized solid particles obtained from the crusher to a granulator, wherein said solid particles provided in b) are obtained by the steps of: i) directing a melt to the granulator, the melt comprising one or more selected from a group of urea, ammonium salt, nitrate salt, and/or mixtures thereof; ii) granulating the melt in the granulator thereby obtaining particles in a fluidized bed granulator, iii) separating the obtained particles based on predetermined size ranges into fractions of on-specs solid particles, undersized solid particles and oversized solid particles; and iv) directing any oversized solid particles obtained to said hopper as said solid particles of step b. Niks et al. (US 4219589) teaches method for production of solid particles using a hopper (Fig. 1 #29, Col. 1 lines 4-9), said method comprising steps of: a) activating a cooling effect of said hopper (Col. 4 lines 30-34); b) providing solid particles to the hopper in a continuous or intermittent manner (Col. 5 lines 40-54); c) dispensing cooled solid particles from said hopper in a continuous or intermittent manner (Col. 5 lines 45-54); d) dispensing the cooled solid particles from the hopper (Fig. 1 #29) to a crusher (Fig. 1 #30, Col. 5 lines 45-47) to reduce a particle size of the solid particles (Col. 5 lines 45-49), and e) separating and directing any undersized solid particles obtained from the crusher (Fig. 1 #30) to a granulator (Fig. 1 #1, Col. 5 lines 49-52), wherein said solid particles provided in b) are obtained by the steps of: i) directing a melt to the granulator (Col. 5 lines 8-13), the melt comprising one or more selected from a group of urea (Col. 5 lines 12-13), ammonium salt, nitrate salt, and/or mixtures thereof; ii) granulating the melt in the granulator thereby obtaining particles in a fluidized bed granulator (Col. 5 lines 2-18), iii) separating the obtained particles based on predetermined size ranges into fractions of on-specs solid particles, undersized solid particles and oversized solid particles (Col. 5 lines 35-40); and iv) directing any oversized solid particles obtained to said hopper as said solid particles of step b (Col. 5 lines 45-47). Niks et al. (US 4219589) explains that this method provides a process for the production of urea granules having a desired size, a good sphericity and a smooth closed surface, a high crushing strength, a great resistance to impact and a slight tendency of forming fly dust through abrasion, so that they are suitable for pneumatic transportation and remain free flowing even after prolonged storage, have excellent chemical composition, are excellently suitable for technical uses, and form an excellent substrate for the production of slow-release urea (Col. 1 lines 49-62). Niks et al. (US 4219589) states that the fraction of oversized granules separated in the sieving device is transported after cooling to a crusher in which this fraction is crushed to the same size as, or smaller sizes than, those of the undersize fraction (Col. 5 lines 45-49). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mueller (US 5167274) to include d) dispensing the cooled solid particles from the hopper to a crusher to reduce a particle size of the solid particles, and e) separating and directing any undersized solid particles obtained from the crusher to a granulator, wherein said solid particles provided in b) are obtained by the steps of: i) directing a melt to the granulator, the melt comprising one or more selected from a group of urea, ammonium salt, nitrate salt, and/or mixtures thereof; ii) granulating the melt in the granulator thereby obtaining particles in a fluidized bed granulator, iii) separating the obtained particles based on predetermined size ranges into fractions of on-specs solid particles, undersized solid particles and oversized solid particles; and iv) directing any oversized solid particles obtained to said hopper as said solid particles of step b as taught by Niks et al. (US 4219589) in order to produce fertilizer granules with desired properties including a desired size and high crushing strength, which are suitable for pneumatic transportation and remain free flowing even after prolonged storage. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Molly K Devine whose telephone number is (571)270-7205. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 7:00-4:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael McCullough can be reached at (571) 272-7805. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MOLLY K DEVINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 2 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 3 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 4 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 5 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 6 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 7 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 8 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 9 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 10 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 11 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 12 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 13 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 14 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 15 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 16 Art Unit: 3653 Application/Control Number: 18/273,396 Page 17 Art Unit: 3653