DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments as filed 06/05/2026 have been filed. They do overcome the 102 and 112(b) rejection as previously set forth in non-final office action mailed 03/06/2026. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims, 1, 4-5, and 7-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20220200000-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Mesuda’, in view of (US-20160204473-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lindstrom’
Regarding Claim 1,
Mesuda teaches a manufacturing method of a positive electrode for a lithium secondary battery, the manufacturing method comprising: the positive electrode forming a positive electrode active material layer (Mesuda, “A slurry for a positive electrode mixed material layer was obtained by mixing 100 parts of an active material… further gradually adding NMP,” see [0216]) including a lithium iron phosphate on a current collector (Mesuda, “A positive electrode active material that forms positive electrode active material particles may be …olivine-type lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4)”, see [0139]); and adsorbing an organic solvent into the positive electrode active material layer (Mesuda, “further gradually adding NMP,” see [0216]). wherein the organic solvent comprises one or more of dimethylcarbonate (DMC), diethylcarbonate (DEC), methylethylcarbonate (MEC), ethylmethylcarbonate (EMC), ethylene carbonate (EC) or propylene carbonate (PC) (Mesuda, “The organic solvent used in the electrolyte solution is not specifically limited so long as the supporting electrolyte can dissolve therein. Examples of suitable organic solvents include carbonates such as dimethyl carbonate (DMC), ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), propylene carbonate (PC), butylene carbonate (BC), and methyl ethyl carbonate (EMC); ”, see [0169])
Mesuda does not teach wherein the adsorbing the organic solvent into the positive electrode active material layer is a process of directly spraying the organic solvent onto the positive electrode or sealing the positive electrode with the organic solvent in an airtight container to adsorb the organic solvent .
Lindstrom teaches wherein the adsorbing the organic solvent into the positive electrode active material layer is a process of directly spraying the organic solvent onto the positive electrode or sealing the positive electrode with the organic solvent in an airtight container to adsorb the organic solvent (Lindstrom, “The electrolyte may, in certain embodiments, be applied (e.g. by spraying) to a moving web of the cathode, for example, as a continuous or intermittent spray.”, see [0019]).
Lindstrom teaches that this method allows for the more rapid assembly of battery cells (Lindstrom, “The present inventors have designed a lithium-sulphur cell that can be assembled in an efficient and effective manner. The present inventors have also developed an efficient and effective process for manufacturing a lithium-sulphur cell.”, see [0004]).
Mesuda and Lindstrom are analogous as they are both of the same field of battery cells.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte as taught in Mesuda to be spray coated onto the cathode in order to increase the efficiency of the manufacturing process.
Regarding Claim 4,
Mesuda teaches the manufacturing method of the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the lithium iron phosphate is a compound represented by Formula 1 below:
Li1+aFe1-xMx(PO-4-b)Xb--
Wherein the formula 1, M is one of more elements selected from a group consisting of Al, Mg, Ni, Co, Mn, Ti, Ga, Cu, V, Nb, Ze, Ce, In, Zn, and Y, Z is one or more elements selected from the group consisting of F, S, and N, and each of a,b, and x is -0.5≤a≤ 0.5, 0≤b≤0.1, and 0≤x≤0.5 respectively (Mesuda, “lithium-containing complex oxide of Ni—Co—Al, olivine-type lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4)”, see [0139]).
Regarding Claim 5,
Mesuda teaches the manufacturing method of the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the lithium iron phosphate is LiFePO4 having an olivine crystal structure Mesuda, “lithium-containing complex oxide of Ni—Co—Al, olivine-type lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4)”, see [0139]).’
Regarding Claim 7,
Mesuda teaches the manufacturing method of the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1, wherein the positive electrode active material layer further comprises the binder (Mesuda, “A slurry for a positive electrode mixed material layer was obtained by mixing 100 parts of an active material NMC532 based on a lithium complex oxide of Co—Ni—Mn (LiNi0.5Mn0.3Co0.2O2) as positive electrode active material particles, 3.75 parts in terms of solid content of the conductive material paste produced as described above, and 2.0 parts in terms of solid content of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF)”, see [0216]).
Regarding Claim 8,
Mesuda teaches the manufacturing method of the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 7, wherein the binder comprises one or more of polyvinylidene fluoride styrene butadiene rubber or carboxy methyl cellulose (Mesuda, “A slurry for a positive electrode mixed material layer was obtained by mixing 100 parts of an active material NMC532 based on a lithium complex oxide of Co—Ni—Mn (LiNi0.5Mn0.3Co0.2O2) as positive electrode active material particles, 3.75 parts in terms of solid content of the conductive material paste produced as described above, and 2.0 parts in terms of solid content of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF)”, see [0216]).
Regarding Claim 9,
Mesuda teaches the manufacturing method of the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 7,wherein a binder content with respect to a total weight of the positive electrode active material layer is 5% by weight or less (Mesuda, “A slurry for a positive electrode mixed material layer was obtained by mixing 100 parts of an active material NMC532 based on a lithium complex oxide of Co—Ni—Mn (LiNi0.5Mn0.3Co0.2O2) as positive electrode active material particles, 3.75 parts in terms of solid content of the conductive material paste produced as described above, and 2.0 parts in terms of solid content of polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF)”, see [0216]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20220200000-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Mesuda’, in view of (US-20160204473-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Lindstrom’, in view of (US-20100102270-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Jia’
Regarding Claim 6,
Mesuda does not teach the manufacturing method of the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1, wherein an average particle diameter (D50) of the lithium iron phosphate is 0.5 to 3 µm
Jia teaches a diameter of the lithium iron phosphate of an average particle diameter (D50) of the lithium iron phosphate is 0.5 to 3 µm (see Table 2, D50, Example 1-)
Jia teaches that a small particle sizes are favorable as large particles lead to worse cycling (Jia, “aforementioned method has large particle size, and nonuniform particle size distribution. Therefore, when the aforementioned lithium iron phosphate is used as positive electrode active material, the obtained battery has low initial discharge specific capacity, and poor large-current discharge performance and cycle performance.”, see [0007])
Mesuda and Jia are both of the same field of battery assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode as taught in Mesuda to particle size as taught in Jia in order to improve cycling.
Claims 11-14, and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20220200000-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Mesuda’, in view of (JP-2015060670-A) hereinafter referred to as ‘Saito’
Regarding Claim 11,
Mesuda does not teach wherein the organic solvent is adsorbed in a ratio of 2,000 to 20,000 ppm with respect to a total weight of the positive electrode active material layer.
Saito teaches wherein the organic solvent is adsorbed in a ratio of 2,000 to 20,000 ppm with respect to a total weight of the positive electrode active material layer (Saito, “For example, the porous heat-resistant layer 80 in which the NMP content X satisfies 500 ppm ≦ X ≦ 10000 ppm (particularly 2000 ppm ≦ X ≦ 8000 ppm) is suitable from the viewpoint of achieving both a high internal pressure increase assist effect and manufacturability.”, see pg. 5 par. 2)(Saito, “the NMP in the positive electrode active material layer is adsorbed to the porous heat-resistant layer by heat-treating the battery case containing the electrode body in a temperature range of 60 ° C. or higher, a predetermined amount (for example, 2000 ppm or higher)”, pg. 6 par. 2).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 2,000pm or higher broadly overlaps the claimed range of 2,000 to 20,000 ppm. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Saito teaches that this ppm allows for the indication of a high heat event and allows for ease in manufacturing (Saito, “For example, the porous heat-resistant layer 80 in which the NMP content X satisfies 500 ppm ≦ X ≦ 10000 ppm (particularly 2000 ppm ≦ X ≦ 8000 ppm) is suitable from the viewpoint of achieving both a high internal pressure increase assist effect and manufacturability.”, see see pg. 5 par. 2).
Mesuda and Saito are both of the same field of battery assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode as taught in Mesuda to NMP concentration as taught in Saito in order to indicate a high temperature event and to improve manufacturing.
Regarding Claim 12,
Mesuda teaches a positive electrode for a lithium secondary battery, comprising: a positive electrode current collector; and a positive electrode active material layer comprising a lithium iron phosphate disposed on at least one side of-a the positive electrode current collectors (Mesuda, “A slurry for a positive electrode mixed material layer was obtained by mixing 100 parts of an active material… further gradually adding NMP,” see [0216]) Mesuda, “A positive electrode active material that forms positive electrode active material particles may be …olivine-type lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4)”, see [0139]).
wherein the organic solvent comprises one or more of dimethylcarbonate (DMC), diethylcarbonate (DEC), methylethylcarbonate (MEC), ethylmethylcarbonate (EMC), ethylene carbonate (EC) or propylene carbonate (PC) (Mesuda, “The organic solvent used in the electrolyte solution is not specifically limited so long as the supporting electrolyte can dissolve therein. Examples of suitable organic solvents include carbonates such as dimethyl carbonate (DMC), ethylene carbonate (EC), diethyl carbonate (DEC), propylene carbonate (PC), butylene carbonate (BC), and methyl ethyl carbonate (EMC); ”, see [0169])
Mesuda does not teach electrode active material layer comprises an organic solvent at a ratio of 2,000 to 20,000 ppm with respect to the total weight of the positive electrode active material layer.
Saito teaches wherein the organic solvent is adsorbed in a ratio of 2,000 to 20,000 ppm with respect to a total weight of the positive electrode active material layer (Saito, “For example, the porous heat-resistant layer 80 in which the NMP content X satisfies 500 ppm ≦ X ≦ 10000 ppm (particularly 2000 ppm ≦ X ≦ 8000 ppm) is suitable from the viewpoint of achieving both a high internal pressure increase assist effect and manufacturability.”, see see pg. 5 par. 2 )(Saito, “the NMP in the positive electrode active material layer is adsorbed to the porous heat-resistant layer by heat-treating the battery case containing the electrode body in a temperature range of 60 ° C. or higher, a predetermined amount (for example, 2000 ppm or higher)”,see pg. 6 par. 2).
The examiner takes note of the fact that the prior art range of 2,000pm or higher broadly overlaps the claimed range of 2,000 to 20,000 ppm. Absent any additional and more specific information in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Peterson, 315F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379 (Fed. Cir. 2003). MPEP 2144.05.
Saito teaches that this ppm allows for the indication of a high heat event and allows for ease in manufacturing (Saito, “For example, the porous heat-resistant layer 80 in which the NMP content X satisfies 500 ppm ≦ X ≦ 10000 ppm (particularly 2000 ppm ≦ X ≦ 8000 ppm) is suitable from the viewpoint of achieving both a high internal pressure increase assist effect and manufacturability.”, see see pg. 5 par. 2).
Mesuda and Saito are both of the same field of battery assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode as taught in Mesuda to NMP concentration as taught in Saito in order to indicate a high temperature event and to improve manufacturing.
Regarding Claim 13,
Modified Mesuda teaches the positive electrode for a lithium secondary battery of claim 12, wherein an electrode adhesion strength measured by a 90 degree peel test between the positive electrode active material layer and the current collector is 10 gf/2_cm or more (Mesuda, “A larger value for the positive electrode peel strength indicates that the positive electrode mixed material layer has better adhesiveness and has strong close adherence to the current collector.”, see [0187]) (Mesuda, “SA: Positive electrode peel strength of 35 N/m or more”, see [0188]).
Regarding Claim 14,
Modified Mesuda teaches the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 12, wherein the positive electrode active layer is in direct contact with the positive electrode current collector (Mesuda, “positive electrode web having a positive electrode mixed material layer formed on the current collector.”, see [0218]).
Regarding Claim 16,
Modified Mesuda teaches the lithium secondary battery comprising the positive electrode of claim 12, a negative electrode, a separator interposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, and a non-aqueous electrolyte (Mesuda, “The positive electrode, the negative electrode, and the separator were used to produce a single-layer laminate cell (initial design discharge capacity: equivalent to 30 mAh) and were arranged inside aluminum packing. The aluminum packing was subsequently filled with LiPF6 solution of 1.0 M in concentration (solvent: mixed solvent of ethylene carbonate (EC)/diethyl carbonate (DEC)=3/7 (mass ratio)”, see [0225]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by (US-20220200000-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Mesuda’, in view of (JP-2015060670-A) hereinafter referred to as ‘Saito’ in further view of (US-20100102270-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Jia’
Regarding Claim 15,
Modified Mesuda does not teach the manufacturing method of the positive electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1, wherein an average particle diameter (D50) of the lithium iron phosphate is 0.5 to 3 µm
Jia teaches a diameter of the lithium iron phosphate of an average particle diameter (D50) of the lithium iron phosphate is 0.5 to 3 µm (see Table 2, D50, Example 1-).
Jia teaches that a small particle sizes are favorable as large particles lead to worse cycling (Jia, “aforementioned method has large particle size, and nonuniform particle size distribution. Therefore, when the aforementioned lithium iron phosphate is used as positive electrode active material, the obtained battery has low initial discharge specific capacity, and poor large-current discharge performance and cycle performance.”, see [0007]).
Mesuda and Jia are both of the same field of battery assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cathode as taught in Mesuda to particle size as taught in Jia in order to improve cycling.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/05/2026 have been fully considered.
On pg. 5, the applicant argues:
“Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests the withdrawal of the 102 rejection of independent claim 1. Without conceding the propriety of the Examiner's position, Applicant respectfully notes that the 102 rejection of dependent claims 4-5 and 7-9 are rendered moot at least because of their dependency from one of independent claim 1, which as discussed above distinguish over Mesuda.”
The examiner finds this convincing and withdraws the 102 rejection in view of the amended claim 1.
On pg. the applicant argues:
“In contrast, Joshi teaches lithium-ion battery cathodes that are deposited by E-spray and surface modifying layers deposited by E-spray on a cathode. However, Joshi teaches only 2 examples of such deposit modifying layers, one including LiMn204 and the other including Nafion. Joshi is silent in regards to spraying of an organic solvent as recited in claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests the withdrawal of the rejection of independent claim 1.”
The examiner finds this persuasive, as neither Mesuda nor Joshi teaches spraying of specifically an organic solvent. Therefore, the examiner has added the record the better suited reference of Lindstrom. Lindstrom teaches specifically the spraying of an electrolyte and teaches that this manufacturing process is more efficient. The examiner notes that Mesuda teaches the claimed electrolyte as claimed in claim 1 and 12, not just NMP (Mesuda, see [0169]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrolyte as taught in Mesuda to be sprayed as taught in Lindstrom in order to improve the efficiency of manufacturing.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752