DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the specification contains molecular structures, including but not limited to compound 3-4 that displays a small, pixelated structure where the atom labels are unclear (¶[0156]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (CN109705148A, hereinafter "Zhang"). Note that a machine-generated English translation is relied upon and provided with this office action.
In the pertinent art of organic light-emitting devices, Zhang discloses a display panel comprising an organic light-emitting device containing an organic compound including a specific compound CP008, shown below (description pg 1, 8, claim 10).
Compound CP008 is a compound of general formula 1 in instant claim 1 wherein:
B represents an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group;
B is an unsubstituted naphthalenyl group;
Ar1 and Ar2 are different;
Ar1 is a substituted divalent aromatic hydrocarbon group;
Ar2 is a single bond;
A1 and A2 are different and represent a monovalent group of general formula 2 wherein;
A1 represent general formula 2 wherein;
X1 is N;
X2 – X8 is C;
R2 represent a binding site;
R3 – R8 is H;
represented by general formula 3a;
A2 represent general formula 2 wherein;
X1 – X8 is C;
R1 represent a binding site;
R2 – R8 is H;
represented by general formula 3c;
Therefore, compound CP008 of Zhang anticipates instant claims 1-3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN109705148A, hereinafter "Zhang"), as applied to claims 1-3 described above.
Zhang teaches compound CP008, shown above, that reads on claims 1-3 as described above. Regarding instant claims 4 and 5, Zhang teaches an organic light-emitting device including an ITO anode, first hole transport layer, second hole transport layer, light-emitting layer, first electron transport layer, second electron transport layer, cathode, and a cap layer in that order wherein the cap layer consists of a compound of chemical formula 1 such as compound CP004, CP017, etc. (Description pg 12-14, Table 1). Zhang teaches that the aromatic compounds of claim 10, including compound CP008, have a refractive index greater than or equal to 1.9 between the visible light with wavelengths between 400 – 700 nm when used as the CPL cap layer in OLED devices (claim 11, description pg 7). Zhang teaches the above; however, Zhang is silent on an organic light-emitting device wherein compound CP008 is in the cap layer.
Zhang teaches an anode, a cathode, and a cap layer and the compound is in the cap layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound CP008 in the cap layer with the device structure of anode, first hole transport layer, second hole transport layer, light-emitting layer, first electron transport layer, second electron transport layer, cathode, and a cap layer as Zhang demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
The resulting Modified Device 1 of Zhang reads on instant claims 4-5.
Regarding instant claims 6-7, Zhang teaches an organic light-emitting device with an organic layer, located between the anode and cathode, including a hole transport layer, an electron transport layer, and a light-emitting layer wherein the material of at least one of the cap layer, hole transport layer, electron transport layer, and light-emitting layer is the aromatic ring compound such as CP008 (Description pg 2). Zhang teaches a display panel, which is an electronic device, comprising an organic light-emitting device containing the aromatic compound of Zhang such as CP008 (Description pg 7). However, Zhang is silent on an organic light-emitting device wherein CP008 is included in the organic layer.
Zhang teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the aromatic compound of chemical formula 1 is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound CP008 in the organic layer with the device structure of anode, organic layer, and cathode as Zhang demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Therefore, the Modified Device 2 of Zhang reads on instant claims 6-7.
Conclusion
/L.Q.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789