DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been considered for examination.
With regard to the claim interpretation under 112(f), Applicant’s amendments have been fully considered. For the rationales discussed in the office action dated 03/09/2026 (see e.g., pages 2-3), the 112(f) claim interpretation are maintained.
With regard to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 04/28/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for receiving …”, “means for determining … ”, and “means for obtaining …”, and “means for transmitting …”, as recited in claim 36.
Regarding the limitations, “means for receiving …” and “means for transmitting …”, it appears that the following are corresponding structures described in the specification: see, “transceiver 202” in FIG. 2 and ¶0051.
Regarding the limitations, “means for determining …” and “means for obtaining …”, it appears that the following are corresponding structures described in the specification: see, processor 212 in FIG. 2 and ¶0049.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim(s) is/are directed to a signal per se, claimed as such wave forms.
Claim 35 recites, “A computer readable medium having instructions stored therein that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors, either individually or in any combination, to:” (lines 1-3).
The specification states in paragraph [0034], “[b]y way of example, and not limitation, such computer-readable media may comprise a random-access memory (RAM), a read-only memory (ROM), an electrically erasable programmable ROM (EEPROM), optical disk storage, magnetic disk storage, other magnetic storage devices, combinations of the aforementioned types of computer-readable media, or any other medium that may be used to store computer executable code in the form of instructions or data structures that may be accessed by a computer.” (Emphasis added.)
The specification further states in paragraph [0050], “the memory 316 may be configured to store data used herein and/or local versions of applications 375 or the PLRS component 146, and/or one or more subcomponents of the PLRS component 146 being executed by at least one processor 312. The memory 316 may include any type of computer-readable medium usable by a computer or at least one processor 312, such as random access memory (RAM), read only memory (ROM), tapes, magnetic discs, optical discs, volatile memory, non-volatile memory, and any combination thereof. In an aspect, for example, the memory 316 may be a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores one or more computer-executable codes defining the PLRS component 146 and/or one or more of the subcomponents, and/or data associated therewith, when the base station 105 is operating at least one processor 312 to execute the PLRS component 146 and/or one or more of the subcomponents.” (Emphasis added.)
Further, there is no explicit description on relationship between the claimed “computer readable medium” and “ROM”, “RAM”, and “memory 316]” disclosed in the specification.
Thus, the applicant fails inclusively and specifically provide antecedent basic to limit the specific statutory embodiments, “computer readable storage medium” belongs to the intrinsic non-statutory embodiments such as carrier signal, radio wave, light wave, and transmission medium/media.
Note that signal claims are not directed to a process since they do not cover an act or series of acts. No part of the signal is a mechanical “device” or “part.” A propagating electromagnetic signal is not a “machine” as that term is used in § 101. Signals, standing alone, are not “manufacture[s]” under the meaning of that term in § 101. A signal comprising a fluctuation in electric potential or in electromagnetic fields is not a “chemical union,” nor a gas, fluid, powder, or solid. Signals are not “composition[s] of matter.” Thus, a transitory, propagating signal is not a “process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Those four categories define the explicit scope and reach of subject matter patentable under 35 U.S.C. § 101; thus, such a signal cannot be patentable subject matter. (see In re Nuijten, 500 F. 3d 1346 1356 n.7 (Fed. Cir 2007).
In view of the above analysis, claim 35 is ineligible for patent protection as failing to be limited to embodiments which fall within a statutory category.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-10, 12, 14, 21, 24-25, 27-30, 32 and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al (US Publication No. 2023/0362665)1 in view of Liu et al (US Publication No. 2023/0397193).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao discloses, a method of wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0028, a method performed by UE], comprising:
receiving, from a base station, a transmission configuration information (TCI) state configuration for a uplink (UL) transmission [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, the step 210 of selecting a TCI state from one or more TCI states of one or more CORESETs (i.e., TCI state configuration) in the active BWP in a scheduled serving cell and step 220 of determining a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission; further see ¶0021, the CORESET is transmitted from different TRPs/base station; note that the UE receives the one or more CORESETs including one or more TCI states for uplink signal transmission], wherein the TCI state configuration includes a . . . TCI state applicable to the UL transmission [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, the one or more CORESETs includes one or more TCI states applicable to the UL transmission];
determining a pathloss reference signal (PLRS) is not explicitly indicated by the . . . TCI state configuration [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0028, the uplink signal may be an SRS signal, or a dedicated PUCCH signal without a configured pathloss RS (note: no pathloss RS is explicitly configured anywhere including in the TCI state or the CORESETs including the TCI state)];
obtaining a default PLRS in response to the PLRS not being explicitly indicated by the . . . TCI state configuration [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0028, enabling the UE to apply a default pathloss RS for an uplink resource transmission in response to the uplink signal is an SRS signal, or a dedicated PUCCH signal without a configured pathloss RS]; and
transmitting, to the base station, the UL transmission [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, determining the default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission (note that the UL transmitting is implicit) with UL power control information based on the default PLRS; [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0026, the transmitting power of the uplink signal is calculated based on the default pathloss RS].
Although Xiao discloses, “receiving, from a base station, a transmission configuration information (TCI) state configuration applicable to the UL transmission” as set forth above, Xiao does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), wherein the TCI state included in the TCI state configuration is modified to be “unified TCI state”, recited as “the TCI state configuration includes a unified TCI state applicable to the UL transmission, determining a pathloss reference signal (PLRS) is not explicitly indicated by the unified TCI state configuration, and obtaining a default PLRS in response to the PLRS not being explicitly indicated by the unified TCI state.
However, Liu discloses, the TCI state configuration includes a unified TCI state applicable to the UL transmission [¶0007, the aim of the present invention is to provide a unified TCI framework for both DL and UL. In addition, the beam-specific power control for UL signal is also considered in the unified TCI framework and ¶0057, in the unified TCI framework proposed by the present invention, the TCI state activation/deactivation MAC CE is enhanced to support both DL beam indication and UL beam indication; further see ¶0068, PathlossReferenceRS (PL-RS) associated with the TCI state indicated by TCI state ID n field].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Xiao with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Liu to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Liu into the system of Xiao would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., enabling consistent spatial assumptions across downlink and uplink transmissions, reducing signal and configuration complexity, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 4, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Xiao discloses, setting a quasi co-location (QCL) reference signal (RS) of the TCI state configuration as the default PLRS [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, step 220 of determining a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the TCI state].
Regarding claim 5, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 4 as set forth above.
Xiao discloses, selecting an RS resource index having a periodic [see ¶0027 regarding “periodic”, the RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD for determining the default pathloss RS is a periodic reference signal] RS with QCL information in the TCI state configuration [¶0037, TCI state #10 is selected for determining the default pathloss RS for a PUSCH #0 signal transmission. The transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; note that selecting of the RS resource index is required to determine the default pathloss RS]; and setting an RS associated with the RS resource index as the default PLRS [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, step 220 of determining a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the TCI state; further see ¶0037, the transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; note that the periodic RS resource with QCL-type-D associated with the RS resource index is determined as the default pathloss RS].
Regarding claim 7, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Xiao discloses, setting a quasi co-location (QCL) reference signal (RS) of a control resource set (CORESET) as the default PLRS [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, step 220 of determining a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the TCI state; further see ¶0025, the TCI state is selected from one or more TCI states of one or more CORESETs].
Regarding claim 8, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 7 and particularly, “wherein setting the QCL RS of the CORESET as the default PLRS” as set forth above.
Xiao discloses, selecting an RS resource index having a periodic [see ¶0027 regarding “periodic”, the RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD for determining the default pathloss RS is a periodic reference signal] RS resource with QCL information having a CORESET [see ¶0037 regarding “having a CORESET”, the CORESET having the lowest ID is CORESET #0, the TCI state having the lowest ID of CORESET #0 is TCI state #10] with a predetermined index [¶0037, TCI state #10 is selected for determining the default pathloss RS for a PUSCH #0 signal transmission. The transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; note that selecting of the RS resource index is required to determine the default pathloss RS]; and setting an RS associated with the RS resource index as the default PLRS [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, step 220 of determining a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the TCI state; further see ¶0037, the transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; note that the periodic RS resource with QCL-type-D associated with the RS resource index is determined as the default pathloss RS].
Regarding claim 9, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 1 and particularly, “wherein obtaining the default PLRS” as set forth above.
Xiao discloses, setting a quasi co-location (QCL) reference signal (RS) of an active TCI state [see ¶0036 regarding “active TCI state”, FIG. 4 illustrates an example for selecting a TCI state according to the method 300. In this example, threes CORESETs are configured in the active BWP and the Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) activates the one or more TCI states for each CORESET. TCI state #10 and TCI state #15 are activated for CORESET #0] of the TCI state configuration as the default PLRS [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, step 220 of determining a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the TCI state].
Regarding claim 10, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 9 and particularly, “wherein setting the QCL RS as the default PLRS” as set forth above.
Xiao discloses, selecting an RS resource index having a periodic [see ¶0027 regarding “periodic”, the RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD for determining the default pathloss RS is a periodic reference signal] RS with QCL information [¶0037, TCI state #10 is selected for determining the default pathloss RS for a PUSCH #0 signal transmission. The transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; note that selecting of the RS resource index is required to determine the default pathloss RS] in the active TCI state [see ¶0036 regarding “active TCI state”, FIG. 4 illustrates an example for selecting a TCI state according to the method 300. In this example, threes CORESETs are configured in the active BWP and the Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) activates the one or more TCI states for each CORESET. TCI state #10 and TCI state #15 are activated for CORESET #0]; and
setting an RS associated with the RS resource index as the default PLRS [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, step 220 of determining a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the TCI state; further see ¶0037, the transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; note that the periodic RS resource with QCL-type-D associated with the RS resource index is determined as the default pathloss RS].
Regarding claim 12, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Xiao discloses, wherein the default PLRS is obtained is in response to one or more of: the base station indicates an application of the default PLRS via an enablement flag [¶0028, the uplink signal may be an SRS signal, or a dedicated PUCCH signal without a configured pathloss RS but with higher layer parameters that enable a UE to apply a default pathloss RS for an uplink resource transmission].
Regarding claim 14, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Xiao discloses, wherein the UL transmission is a physical UL share channel (PUSCH) [¶0029, the uplink signal may be a PUSCH signal scheduled by DCI format 0_0], and wherein the method further comprises:
prioritizing the default PLRS based on: the default PLRS being associated with a quasi co-located assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a predetermined index [¶0037, the transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; further see ¶0025, the TCI state is selected from one or more TCI states of one or more CORESETs];
wherein the UL transmission is a sounding RS [¶0028, the uplink signal may be an
SRS signal], and wherein the method further comprises:
prioritizing the default PLRS based on: the default PLRS being associated with a quasi co-located assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a predetermined index [¶0037, the transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; further see ¶0025, the TCI state is selected from one or more TCI states of one or more CORESETs]; and
wherein the UL transmission is a physical UL control channel (PUCCH) [¶0028, the uplink signal may be a dedicated PUCCH signal], and wherein the method further comprises:
prioritizing the default PLRS based on: the default PLRS being associated with a quasi co-located assumption of a control resource set (CORESET) with a predetermined index [¶0037, the transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; further see ¶0025, the TCI state is selected from one or more TCI states of one or more CORESETs].
Regarding claim 21, Xiao discloses, an apparatus for wireless communications [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0028, UE], comprising:
at least one processor [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0047, processor 720; note that every UE has at least one processor] ; and
memory coupled with the at least one processor, the memory including instructions executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to perform action(s) [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0047, a non-transitory computer-readable medium 730 having stored thereon computer-executable instructions; note that every UE has at least one memory storing instructions executable by the processor to perform action(s)].
Since claim 21 recites similar features without further additional features, claim 21 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 4.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 5.
Regarding claim 27, claim 27 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 7.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 8.
Regarding claim 29, claim 29 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 9.
Regarding claim 30, claim 30 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 10.
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 12.
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 14.
Regarding claim 35, Xiao discloses, a computer readable medium having instructions stored therein that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors, either individually or in any combination, to perform action(s) [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0047, non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions; note that every UE has at least one memory storing instructions executable by the processor to perform action(s)]:
Since claim 35 recites similar features without further additional features, claim 35 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 36, Xiao discloses, an apparatus for wireless communications [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0028, UE], comprising:
means for receiving . . . [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0047, receiving circuitry 710];
means for determining . . . [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0047, processor 720];
means for obtaining . . . [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0047, processor 720]; and
means for transmitting . . . [FIG. 7; its related descriptions; ¶0047, transmitting circuitry 740].
Since claim 36 recites similar features without further additional features, claim 36 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 37, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 1 and particularly, “the unified TCI state” as set forth above.
Xiao further discloses, wherein the TCI state comprises an UL TCI state providing a reference for determining a UL spatial transmit filter [¶0025, FIG. 2 illustrates an exemplary method 200 for selecting a TCI state. As shown in FIG. 2, the method 200 may include the step 210 of selecting a TCI state from one or more TCI states of one or more CORESETs in the active BWP in a scheduled serving cell, and a step 220 of determining a default spatial relation and/or a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the TCI state; note that the selected TCI state is used to determine the spatial relation for an uplink transmission and therefore provides the claimed UL spatial reference] for at least one of physical UL shared channel (PUSCH) transmissions, physical UL control channel (PUCCH) transmissions, or sounding reference signal (SRS) transmissions [¶0028, the uplink signal may be an SRS signal, or a dedicated PUCCH signal without a configured spatial relation] in a serving cell [¶00225, in a scheduled serving cell].
Claims 2-3, 6, 11, 22-23, 26 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al (US Publication No. 2023/0362665) in view of Liu et al (US Publication No. 2023/0397193) and further in view of Farag et al (US Publication No. 2022/0232573)2
Regarding claim 2, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Xiao discloses, setting a periodic [see ¶0057 regarding “periodic”, the RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD for determining the default pathloss RS is a periodic reference signal] . . . reference signal (RS) . . . as the default PLRS [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, step 220 of determining a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the TCI state], Xiao in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Farag discloses, a periodic reference signal is modified to be a periodic downlink reference signal associated with a source RS [¶0162, if the source RS of QCL-Type D or spatial relation is a DL periodic RS (e.g., synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB) or non-zero power channel state information-reference signal (NZP CSI-RS)), the pathloss RS is the source RS of QCL Type D or spatial relation associated with the TCI state] see also e.g., page 23 of US Provisional App. No. 63/138,205.
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Xiao in view of Liu with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Farag to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Farag into the system of Xiao in view of Liu would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensuring accurate channel estimation and beam management to improve downlink reliability and reduce signaling overhead in a wireless network, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 3, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 1 as set forth above.
Although Xiao discloses, setting a periodic [see ¶0057 regarding “periodic”, the RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD for determining the default pathloss RS is a periodic reference signal] . . . reference signal (RS) . . .as the default PLRS [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, step 220 of determining a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the TCI state], Xiao in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Farag discloses, a periodic reference signal is modified to be a periodic channel state information (CSI) reference signal associated with a source RS [¶0162, if the source RS of QCL-Type D or spatial relation is a DL periodic RS (e.g., synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB) or non-zero power channel state information-reference signal (NZP CSI-RS)), the pathloss RS is the source RS of QCL Type D or spatial relation associated with the TCI state] see also e.g., page 23 of US Provisional App. No. 63/138,205.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Farag in the system of Xiao in view of Liu for similar rationales set forth above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 6, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 4 and particularly, “wherein setting the QCL RS as the default PLRS” as set forth above.
Although Xiao discloses, selecting an RS resource index having a periodic [see ¶0027 regarding “periodic”, the RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD for determining the default pathloss RS is a periodic reference signal] . . . RS index that is quasi co-located with the RS resource index [¶0037, TCI state #10 is selected for determining the default pathloss RS for a PUSCH #0 signal transmission. The transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; note that selecting of the RS resource index is required to determine the default pathloss RS]; and
setting an RS associated with the RS resource index as the default PLRS [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, step 220 of determining a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the TCI state; further see ¶0037, the transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; note that the periodic RS resource with QCL-type-D associated with the RS resource index is determined as the default pathloss RS], Xiao in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Farag discloses, a periodic reference signal is modified to be a periodic channel state information (CSI) reference signal [¶0162, if the source RS of QCL-Type D or spatial relation is a DL periodic RS (e.g., synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB) or non-zero power channel state information-reference signal (NZP CSI-RS)), the pathloss RS is the source RS of QCL Type D or spatial relation associated with the TCI state] see also e.g., page 23 of US Provisional App. No. 63/138,205.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Farag in the system of Xiao in view of Liu for similar rationales set forth above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 9 and particularly, “wherein setting the QCL RS as the default PLRS” as set forth above.
Although Xiao discloses, selecting an RS resource index associated with the active TCI state [see ¶0036 regarding “active TCI state”, FIG. 4 illustrates an example for selecting a TCI state according to the method 300. In this example, threes CORESETs are configured in the active BWP and the Medium Access Control-Control Element (MAC-CE) activates the one or more TCI states for each CORESET. TCI state #10 and TCI state #15 are activated for CORESET #0] and having a periodic [see ¶0027 regarding “periodic”, the RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD for determining the default pathloss RS is a periodic reference signal] . . .RS index that is quasi co-located with the RS resource index [¶0037, TCI state #10 is selected for determining the default pathloss RS for a PUSCH #0 signal transmission. The transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; note that selecting of the RS resource index is required to determine the default pathloss RS]; and setting an RS associated with the RS resource index as the default PLRS [FIG. 2; its related descriptions; ¶0025, step 220 of determining a default pathloss RS for an uplink signal transmission by an RS with Quasi Co-Location TypeD corresponding to the TCI state; further see ¶0037, the transmission power of the PUSCH #0 is determined by the default pathloss RS with a reference to an RS resource index qd providing a periodic RS resource with “QCL-Type-D” in the TCI state #10; note that the periodic RS resource with QCL-type-D associated with the RS resource index is determined as the default pathloss RS], Xiao in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Farag discloses, a periodic reference signal is modified to be a periodic channel state information (CSI) reference signal [¶0162, if the source RS of QCL-Type D or spatial relation is a DL periodic RS (e.g., synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) block (SSB) or non-zero power channel state information-reference signal (NZP CSI-RS)), the pathloss RS is the source RS of QCL Type D or spatial relation associated with the TCI state] see also e.g., page 23 of US Provisional App. No. 63/138,205.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Farag in the system of Xiao in view of Liu for similar rationales set forth above in claim 2.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 23, claim 23 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 3.
Regarding claim 26, claim 26 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 6.
Regarding claim 31, claim 31 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 11.
Claims 13 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao et al (US Publication No. 2023/0362665) in view of Liu et al (US Publication No. 2023/0397193) and further in view of Matsumura et al (US Publication No. 2023/0080431).
Regarding claim 13, Xiao in view of Liu discloses, the method of claim 12 as set forth above.
Xiao in view of Liu does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized limitations), but Matsumura discloses, wherein the predetermined number of PLRSs is four [¶0115, the maximum number of pathloss RSs configurable by the RRC may be 4, 8, 16, 64, or the like].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the above-mentioned feature(s) as taught by Matsumura in the system of Xiao in view of Liu in order to provide the system with enhanced flexibility in selecting the number of PTRSs based on the capability of user equipment [e.g., ¶0115 of Matsumura].
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al (US Publication No. 2022/0303788 A1) [FIG. 6 and its related descriptions].
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 Since Xiao is relying on PCT publication (WO 2022/027302) (see attached) to claim a priority date 08/08/2020, Xiao is qualified as a prior art under 102(a)(2) for the instant application with the effective filing date 02/03/2021.
2 Farag claims priority of US Provisional Application No. 63/138,205 filed on 01/15/2021, thus Farag is qualified as a prior art under 102(a)(2) for the instant application with the effective filing date 02/03/2021.