DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/013387 filed on 01/21/2022, which claims priority to the provisional application No. 63/140,667 filed on 01/22/2021.
Acknowledgement
3. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of the application on July 20, 2023. Claims 1-19 are pending. This communication is considered fully responsive and sets forth below.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. Acknowledgment is made of Applicant’s submission of information disclosure statement (IDS), dated on July 20, 2023, January 29, 2024, November 5, 2024, July 30, 2025, and September 3, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Examiner's Notes
5. Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 17, it recites, “The wireless communication method of claim 16, wherein DCI triggers one or more A-SRS resource sets.”
Claim 17 depends from claim 16 that recites, “The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein the DCI is in DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2.”
The term “DCI” as indicated in italics in claim 17 seems refer back to the term “the DCI” in claim 16. If this is true, it is suggested to amend the term to “the DCI”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 2-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding claim 2, it recites, “The wireless communication method of claim 1, wherein if the DCI is received in a slot n, then configuring the aperiodic SRS transmission in an available slot n + t.”
Claim 2 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites, “A wireless communication method, comprising:
receiving, via downlink control information (DCI) or higher layer signaling, configuration information including a parameter; and
configuring aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (A-SRS) transmission based on the parameter.”
Claim 1 is a method claim that includes receiving and configuring steps.
For receiving step, it includes “receiving, via downlink control information (DCI) or higher layer signaling, configuration information…” It includes an optional element “downlink control information (DCI).”
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the optional element does not narrow the claim because it can always be omitted. In re Johnston, 435 f.3d 1381, 1384 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
Consequently, claim 2 is rejected since there is a lack of antecedent basis for the usage of the term “the DCI.”
Same rationale applies to the usage of the term “the DCI” in claim 16.
Regarding claim 6, it recites, “6. The wireless communication method of claim 2, wherein if t is not configured by the higher layer signaling, then t is configured by the DCI.”
Claim 5 recites “5. The wireless communication method of claim 2, wherein if t is not configured by the higher layer signaling, then t is assumed to be 0.”
The examiner rejects the usage of the term “then t is configured by the DCI” as indicated in italics in claim 6, since it appears contradictory to the ending term “then t is assumed to be 0” in claim 5.
Consequently, claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for not particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 3-5 and 7-15 are rejected since they all depend from claim 2.
Claim 17 is rejected since it depends from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2020/0204293).
Regarding claim 1, Kim et al. teach the wireless communication method (paragraph [0178] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the method performed by the terminal, e.g., the terminal illustrated in FIG. 11, in the prior art teaches this preamble), comprising:
receiving, via downlink control information (DCI) or higher layer signaling, configuration information including a parameter (paragraphs [0071] lines 1-10 & [0115] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the time domain resource allocation information/parameter, e.g., k.sub.0, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a parameter;”
in fact, the terminal receiving, via DCI, configuration information including the time domain resource allocation information/parameter, e.g., k.sub.0, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receiving, via downlink control information (DCI) or higher layer signaling, configuration information including a parameter” in the instant application); and
configuring aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (A-SRS) transmission based on the parameter (paragraphs [0137] lines 1-13 & [0146] lines 1-3; Examiner’s Notes: the transmission of an aperiodic SRS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (A-SRS);”
in fact, configuring for the transmission of an aperiodic SRS based on the time domain resource allocation information/parameter, e.g., k.sub.0, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “configuring aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (A-SRS) transmission based on the parameter” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 16, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein the DCI is in DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2 (paragraph [0062] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the DCI format, e.g., a fallback DCI format, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the DCI is in DCI format 0_1 or DCI format 0_2” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 18, Kim et al. teach the terminal (paragraph [0178] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the terminal, e.g., the terminal illustrated in FIG. 11, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “terminal” in the instant application), comprising:
a receiver (paragraph [0178] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the terminal receiver 1102 in the terminal illustrated in FIG. 11, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a receiver” in the instant application) that
receives, via downlink control information (DCI) or higher layer signaling, configuration information including a parameter (paragraphs [0071] lines 1-10 & [0115] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the time domain resource allocation information/parameter, e.g., k.sub.0, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a parameter;”
in fact, the terminal receiving, via DCI, configuration information including the time domain resource allocation information/parameter, e.g., k.sub.0, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receives, via downlink control information (DCI) or higher layer signaling, configuration information including a parameter” in the instant application); and
a processor (paragraph [0178] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the terminal processor 1101 in the terminal illustrated in FIG. 11, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a processor” in the instant application) that
configures aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (A-SRS) transmission based on the parameter (paragraphs [0137] lines 1-13 & [0146] lines 1-3; Examiner’s Notes: the transmission of an aperiodic SRS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (A-SRS);”
in fact, configuring for the transmission of an aperiodic SRS based on the time domain resource allocation information/parameter, e.g., k.sub.0, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “configures aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (A-SRS) transmission based on the parameter” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 19, Kim et al. teach the wireless communication system (paragraph [0178] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the communication system performed by the terminal/base station in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wireless communication system” in the instant application), comprising:
a terminal (paragraph [0178] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the terminal, e.g., the terminal illustrated in FIG. 11, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “terminal” in the instant application) comprising:
a receiver (paragraph [0178] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the terminal receiver 1102 in the terminal illustrated in FIG. 11, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a receiver” in the instant application) that
receives, via downlink control information (DCI) or higher layer signaling, configuration information including a parameter (paragraphs [0071] lines 1-10 & [0115] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the time domain resource allocation information/parameter, e.g., k.sub.0, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a parameter;”
in fact, the terminal receiving, via DCI, configuration information including the time domain resource allocation information/parameter, e.g., k.sub.0, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “receives, via downlink control information (DCI) or higher layer signaling, configuration information including a parameter” in the instant application); and
a processor (paragraph [0178] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the terminal processor 1101 in the terminal illustrated in FIG. 11, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a processor” in the instant application) that
configures aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (A-SRS) transmission based on the parameter (paragraphs [0137] lines 1-13 & [0146] lines 1-3; Examiner’s Notes: the transmission of an aperiodic SRS in the prior art teaches the limitation of “aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (A-SRS);”
in fact, configuring for the transmission of an aperiodic SRS based on the time domain resource allocation information/parameter, e.g., k.sub.0, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “configures aperiodic Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (A-SRS) transmission based on the parameter” in the instant application); and
a base station (paragraph [0178] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the base station, e.g., the base station illustrated in FIG. 12, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a base station” in the instant application) comprising:
a transmitter (paragraph [0178] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: the base station transmitter 1203 in the base station illustrated in FIG. 12, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a transmitter” in the instant application) that
transmits the configuration information (paragraph [0115] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the base station transmitting the configuration information in the prior art teaches the limitation of “transmits the configuration information” in the instant application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 2-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0204293) in view of Yokomakura et al. (US 2023/0388076).
Regarding claim 2, Kim et al. teach the wireless communication method without explicitly teaching wherein if the DCI is received in a slot n, then configuring the aperiodic SRS transmission in an available slot n + t.
Yokomakura et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein if the DCI is received in a slot n, then configuring the aperiodic SRS transmission in an available slot n + t (paragraph [0203] lines 1-18; Examiner’s Notes: the slot offset in the prior art teaches the limitation of “t;”
in fact, receiving the DCI in a slot and configuring the aperiodic SRS in the slot including a slot offset in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein if the DCI is received in a slot n, then configuring the aperiodic SRS transmission in an available slot n + t” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Yokomakura et al. in the system of Kim et al.
The motivation for implementing wherein if the DCI is received in a slot n, then configuring the aperiodic SRS transmission in an available slot n + t, is to further enhance the mechanism for a UE to receive information to configure more than one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set for aperiodic SRS transmission, wherein a configuration of each of the configured SRS resource sets includes a slot offset for the aperiodic SRS transmission and an SRS request field in the DCI indicates one from the activated SRS resource set.
Regarding claim 3, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein t is configured by an offset parameter signaled by the higher layer signaling (paragraph [0164] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: scheduling/signaling the slot offset value through the higher-layer signaling in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein t is configured by an offset parameter signaled by the higher layer signaling” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 4, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein the offset configures a single value for t (paragraph [0164] lines 1-12; Examiner’s Notes: configuring the minimum slot offset value in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the offset configures a single value for t” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 5, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, configuring the offset by the higher-layer signaling (paragraph [0164] lines 1-12). Kim et al. teach the claimed invention except for assuming the offset t to be 0.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to assume the offset t to be 0, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the value/size of an offset. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 6, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein if t is not configured by the higher layer signaling, then t is configured by the DCI (paragraph [0148] lines 1-7; Examiner’s Notes: the DCI configuring the value, e.g., a slot offset value, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein if t is not configured by the higher layer signaling, then t is configured by the DCI” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 7, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein the offset configures a list of values for t (paragraph [0164] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: configuring the values, e.g., from a minimum slot offset value to a maximum slot offset value, in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein the offset configures a list of values for t” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 8, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein a value of t is selected from the list of values for t by the DCI (paragraph [0164] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: selecting a value for the values, e.g., from a minimum slot offset value to a maximum slot offset value, by the DCI in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein a value of t is selected from the list of values for t by the DCI” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 9, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, selecting the offset by the DCI (paragraph [0164] lines 1-12). Kim et al. teach the claimed invention except for assuming the offset t to be 0.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to assume the offset t to be 0, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the value/size of an offset. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 10, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein a second offset parameter is signaled by the higher layer signaling and the offset and the second offset are configured as one or more combinations (paragraph [0164] lines 1-8; Examiner’s Notes: the offset k.sub.0 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “the offset;” the offset k.sub.2 in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a second offset parameter;”
In fact, signaling and configuring the offset k.sub.2 by the higher-layer signaling in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein a second offset parameter is signaled by the higher layer signaling and the offset and the second offset are configured as one or more combinations” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 11, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein a combination of the one or more combinations is selected using the DCI (paragraph [0166] lines 1-13; Examiner’s Notes: selecting k+n slot by the DCI in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein a combination of the one or more combinations is selected using the DCI” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 12, Yokomakura et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein t is configured for a plurality of A-SRS resources triggered simultaneously by the DCI (paragraph [0203] lines 1-18; Examiner’s Notes: the SRS resource set for aperiodic SRS transmission in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a plurality of A-SRS resources;”
in fact, configuring the slot offset for aperiodic SRS resource set by the DCI in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein t is configured for a plurality of A-SRS resources triggered simultaneously by the DCI” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 13, Yokomakura et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein t is configured separately for each of a plurality of A-SRS resources for the configured A-SRS transmission (paragraph [0203] lines 9-18; Examiner’s Notes: each of the configured aperiodic SRS resource set in the prior art teaches the limitation of “each of a plurality of A-SRS resources;”
in fact, configuring a slot offset for each of the configured aperiodic SRS resource set in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein t is configured separately for each of a plurality of A-SRS resources for the configured A-SRS transmission” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein t is configured by association with a code point of the DCI (paragraph [0127] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the time point regards to the DCI in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a code point of the DCI;”
In fact, configuring the slot offset associated with the time point regards to the DCI in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein t is configured by association with a code point of the DCI” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 15, Kim et al. further teach the wireless communication method, wherein t is configured explicitly using a DCI field in the DCI (paragraph [0127] lines 1-9; Examiner’s Notes: the configurable field in the DCI in the prior art teaches the limitation of “a DCI field in the DCI;”
In fact, configuring the slot offset using the configurable field in the DCI in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein t is configured explicitly using a DCI field in the DCI” in the instant application).
Regarding claim 17, Kim et al. teach the wireless communication method without explicitly teaching wherein DCI triggers one or more A- SRS resource sets.
Yokomakura et al. from the same or similar field of endeavor teach implementing fairness of the method, wherein DCI triggers one or more A-SRS resource sets (paragraph [0203] lines 1-18; Examiner’s Notes: the SRS resource set for aperiodic SRS transmission in the prior art teaches the limitation of “one or more A-SRS resource sets;”
in fact, the DCI indicating/triggering the SRS resource set for aperiodic SRS transmission in the slot including a slot offset in the prior art teaches the limitation of “wherein DCI triggers one or more A-SRS resource sets” in the instant application).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in art to implement the method of Yokomakura et al. in the system of Kim et al.
The motivation for implementing wherein DCI triggers one or more A-SRS resource sets, is to further enhance the mechanism for a UE to receive information to configure more than one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set for aperiodic SRS transmission, wherein a configuration of each of the configured SRS resource sets includes a slot offset for the aperiodic SRS transmission and an SRS request field in the DCI indicates one from the activated SRS resource set.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Amerga et al. (US 2013/0294318) is generally directed to various aspects of the method for transmitting a downlink signal at a base station in a wireless communication system includes generating a user equipment (UE)-specific reference signal sequence and mapping the generated sequence to resource elements (REs) predetermined according to antenna port groups;
Ying et al. (US 2018/0279327) is cited for the UE that includes receiving circuitry configured to receive a radio resource control message including first information used for indicating a periodicity, wherein the receiving circuitry is also configured to receive on a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), downlink control information (DCI) with CRC scrambled by a first Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI), the DCI including information indicating a time domain resource.
/WEI ZHAO/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2473