DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 10/27/2025.
3. This Office Action is made Final.
4. Claims 1-13 are pending.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amendment filed on 10/27/2025 have been fully considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection set forth herein with at least one new reference as necessitated by amendment.
2. In light of Applicant’s submission of updated drawing, the objection to the drawing is withdrawn herein.
3. In light of Applicant’s submission of updated title to the specification, the objection to the title is withdrawn herein.
4. In light of Applicant’s amendment, the 35 USC 112b rejection is withdrawn herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. US 20180139725 hereafter Takeda in view of SEO et al. US 20220225371 hereafter Seo.
As to Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses a terminal [User Terminal-20/NB (narrowband) Terminal] comprising [Fig. 13, Section 0087: The NB-IoT UEs are terminals using a narrow band which is narrower than the minimum system bandwidth]:
a processor [Processor-1001/Control Section-401] that configures [Figs. 12-13, Sections 0130, 0147: The user terminal is comprised of a control section-401. A user terminal formed as a computer apparatus that includes a central processing apparatus/processor-1001] bandwidth resources narrower than a normal minimum unit when a specific condition is met [Sections 0008, 0087, 0140: NB-IoT terminals reduce unnecessary signals and power when techniques applied limited to using a narrower band than the minimum system bandwidth due to bandwidth limitation. The NB-IoT UEs limited to using a narrow band which is narrower than the minimum system bandwidth. The mapping section maps the uplink signals to radio resources based on instructions (i.e. specific conditions) from the control section-401];
and a transceiver [Communication apparatus-1004] that performs reception operation including [Fig. 13, Sections 0147, 0152: A user terminal includes a communication apparatus-1004. The communication apparatus 1004 is hardware (transmitting/receiving device), for example, transmitting/receiving antennas, and so on implemented by the communication apparatus-1004] monitoring on the bandwidth resources configured [Figs. 1-2, Sections 0046, 0061, 0083: Based on UE-specific information, an NB (narrowband)-IoT terminal determines/detects the resource pool. The NB-IoT terminal monitors DL resource pool/downlink control information (DCI) of narrowband. The system bandwidth configured with minimum and maximum frequency are configured in both downlink and uplink];
Takeda does not explicitly state wherein the specific condition includes at least one of the following: a specified period of time elapses in which instruction to send or receive data is not received, instruction to enter a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) state is received, instruction is received after the terminal enters the DRX state, and the terminal enters an IDLE state.
However, Seo teaches wherein the specific condition includes at least one of the following: a specified period of time elapses in which instruction to send or receive data is not received, instruction to enter a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) state is received, instruction is received after the terminal enters the DRX state, and the terminal enters an IDLE state [Sections 0046, 0175, 0254, 0268, 0305: The wireless communication technology implemented in the wireless device include a narrowband Internet of Things for low-power communication, NB-IoT technology. Specifically, the UE is instructed/configured to switch to a dormant state (i.e. IDLE state). Discontinuous reception (DRX) refers to an operation mode in which a UE configured for DRX can reduce power consumption by discontinuously receiving a DL signal. A UE receive idle mode DRX configuration information from a base station. Further, DRX is configured through higher layer signaling, the UE perform the DRX operation in the idle mode or the connected mode].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to NB-IoT (narrowband) terminals are user terminals having the functions or capability to process/configure bandwidth resources narrower than the normal minimum based on instruction (i.e. condition) so as to reduce unnecessary signals or power with the teaching of Seo relating to the specific condition includes instruction or DRX configuration received by UE to enter idle/dormant mode/state. By combining the method/systems, the UE can perform DRX operations and reduce bandwidth resources in order to save/reduce power.
As to Claim 2. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the specific condition further includes receiving a notification from a base station related to allocation of the bandwidth resources narrower than a normal minimum unit [Figs. 1 (Diagram to illustrate narrow band which is narrower than the minimum system band/1.4 MHz see 0028), Figs. 2, 10, Sections 0061, 0109, 0115: The NB-IoT terminal monitors DL resource pool/downlink control information (DCI) of narrowband. The mapping section-303 (of base station, see 0104) allocate signals to narrow bands and transmit these to the user terminals; the M-PDCCH to be transmitted in narrow bands (NB) is narrower than the minimum system bandwidth (1.4 MHz) supported. The mapping section-303 maps the downlink signals narrowband radio resources (for example, maximum 1 resource blocks) based on instructions].
As to Claim 3. (Previously Presented) Takeda discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the bandwidth narrower than the normal minimum unit is less than one resource block or one or more subcarriers [Figs. 5B, 7, Sections 0068, 0071, 0088: Example relates to downlink transmission in particular, performs DL resource allocation for frequency band that is narrower than 1 PRB (Physical Resource Block or Resource Block); in other words, this is a technology to support downlink transmission of smaller (i.e. less than) granularity than 1 PRB. Therefore, it is possible to support resource allocation in a band that is even narrower than 1 PRB. Each narrow frequency bands mapped to subcarriers].
As to Claim 4. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor [Figs. 12-13, Sections 0130, 0147: The user terminal is comprised of a control section-401. A user terminal formed as a computer apparatus that includes a central processing apparatus/processor-1001]
Although Takeda discloses the examples/embodiments in this description may be applied to Ultra-WideBand (0162) it does not explicitly state switches from the configured narrower bandwidth resources to wider bandwidth resources when other condition is satisfied.
However, Seo teaches switches from the configured narrower bandwidth resources to wider bandwidth resources when other condition is satisfied [Sections 0128, 0140, 0199: NR supports wide region/carrier bandwidth. The base station set at least one DL/UL BWP for a UE associated with a wideband and activate at a specific time by RRC signaling or the like; further, switching to another configured DL/UL BWP indicated by RRC signaling or switching to a DL/UL BWP performed when a timer value expires based on a timer. When the network wants to operate a UE in a wider BWP than the default BWP (i.e. narrow bwp), the network can move the BWP in the normal mode through the conventional BWP switching procedure].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda in which a NB (narrowband) UE/Terminal includes a processor/control unit and can operate in a wideband system with the teaching of Seo relating to the base station instructing by RRC signaling for the UE to switch the configured narrow bandwidth/BWP to wide BWP based on a timer. By combining the method/systems, the UE of Takeda can switch/change or select from narrowband to wideband resources for communication without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 5. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses the terminal according to claim 1, further comprising a transceiver [Fig. 13, Sections 0147, 0152: A user terminal includes a communication apparatus-1004 (i.e. transceiver). The communication apparatus 1004 is hardware (transmitting/receiving device), for example, transmitting/receiving antennas, and so on implemented by the communication apparatus-1004]
Although Takeda discloses a user/terminal capable of operating or communicating using bandwidth resources narrower than the normal minimum unit it does not explicitly state that transmits capability information to a base station related to capability of configuring bandwidth resources narrower than the normal minimum unit.
However, Seo teaches that transmits capability information to a base station related to capability of configuring bandwidth resources narrower than the normal minimum unit [Sections 0098, 0139, 0199, 0264: The MME and the network (i.e. base station) has access of the UE capability information of the UE. Alternatively, UEs may have different capabilities, a base station may instruct a UE to operate only in a partial (i.e. smaller) bandwidth rather than the entire bandwidth. When the network wants to operate a UE in a narrower BWP, the network perform conventional BWP switching procedure. A UE may use DRX to reduce power consumption through a narrowband PDCCH].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to NB-IoT terminals are user terminals having the functions or capability to transmit/receive in a narrower band than the minimum system bandwidth and using narrowband radio resources with the teaching of Seo relating to network/base station accessing/receiving UE capability information for operating with partial or narrower bandwidth/bwp. By combining the methods/systems, the UE can transmit capability information to the base station to indicate its capability of operation including a narrower band than the minimum system bandwidth thereby enabling the UE to reduce power consumption.
As to Claim 6. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses a base station [i.e. Radio Base Station-10] comprising [Fig. 13, Abstract: The present invention is designed so that communication can be reduced when the band is limited to a narrower band than the minimum system bandwidth and a user terminal transmits and receives signals to and from a radio base station]:
a processor [Processor-1001] that [Fig. 13, Sections 0147, 0149: A radio base station may be formed as a computer apparatus that includes a central processing apparatus/processor-1001. The central processing apparatus-1001 control the whole computer and includes a control apparatus] allocates bandwidth resources narrower than a normal minimum unit to a terminal when a specific condition is met [Sections 0087, 0109, 0115, 0140: The NB-IoT UEs limited to using a narrow band which is narrower than the minimum system bandwidth. The mapping section-303 (of base station, see 0104) allocate signals to narrow bands and transmit these to the user terminals; controls downlink PDCCH to be transmitted in narrow bands; this narrow band (NB) is narrower than the minimum system bandwidth (1.4 MHz) supported. The mapping section-303 maps the downlink signals narrowband radio resources (for example, maximum 1 resource blocks) based on instructions (i.e. specific conditions)];
and a transceiver [Communication apparatus-1004] that transmits [Fig. 13, Sections 0147, 0152: A radio base station includes a communication apparatus-1004. The communication apparatus 1004 is hardware (transmitting/receiving device), for example, transmitting/receiving antennas, and so on implemented by the communication apparatus-1004]
a notification [i.e. DCI/downlink signal/PDCCH] related to allocation of the narrower bandwidth resources to the terminal [Figs. 1 (Diagram to illustrate narrow band which is narrower than the minimum system band/1.4 MHz see 0028), Figs. 2-4, 10, Sections 0061, 0071, 0109, 0115: The NB-IoT terminal monitors DL resource pool/downlink control information (DCI) of narrowband. It is possible to perform DL resource allocation in a narrower frequency band than 1 PRB and support resource allocation in a band that is even narrower than 1 PRB. The mapping section-303 (of base station, see 0104) allocate signals to narrow bands and transmit these to the user terminals; the M-PDCCH to be transmitted in narrow bands (NB) is narrower than the minimum system bandwidth (1.4 MHz) supported. The mapping section-303 maps the downlink signals narrowband radio resources (for example, maximum 1 resource blocks) based on instructions];
Takeda does not explicitly state wherein the specific condition includes at least one of the following: a specified period of time elapses in which instruction to send or receive data is not transmitted, instruction for a terminal to enter a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) state is transmitted, instruction is transmitted after the terminal enters the DRX state, and the terminal enters an IDLE state.
However, Seo teaches wherein the specific condition includes at least one of the following: a specified period of time elapses in which instruction to send or receive data is not transmitted, instruction for a terminal to enter a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) state is transmitted, instruction is transmitted after the terminal enters the DRX state, and the terminal enters an IDLE state [Sections 0046, 0175, 0254, 0268, 0305: The wireless communication technology implemented in the wireless device include a narrowband Internet of Things for low-power communication, NB-IoT technology. Specifically, the UE is instructed/configured to switch to a dormant state (i.e. IDLE state). Discontinuous reception (DRX) refers to an operation mode in which a UE configured for DRX can reduce power consumption by discontinuously receiving a DL signal. A UE receive idle mode DRX configuration information from a base station. Further, DRX is configured through higher layer signaling, the UE perform the DRX operation in the idle mode or the connected mode].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to NB-IoT (narrowband) terminals are user terminals having the functions or capability to process/configure bandwidth resources narrower than the normal minimum based on instruction (i.e. condition) so as to reduce unnecessary signals or power with the teaching of Seo relating to the specific condition includes instruction or DRX configuration received by UE to enter idle/dormant mode/state. By combining the method/systems, the UE can perform DRX operations and reduce bandwidth resources in order to save/reduce power.
As to Claim 7. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses a communication method of a terminal [User Terminal-20/NB (narrowband) Terminal], comprising [Fig. 13, Section 0087: The NB-IoT UEs are terminals using a narrow band which is narrower than the minimum system bandwidth]:
configuring bandwidth resources narrower than a normal minimum unit when a specific
condition is met [Sections 0008, 0087, 0140: NB-IoT terminals reduce unnecessary signals and power when techniques applied limited to using a narrower band than the minimum system bandwidth due to bandwidth limitation. The NB-IoT UEs limited to using a narrow band which is narrower than the minimum system bandwidth. The mapping section maps the uplink signals to radio resources based on instructions (i.e. specific conditions) from the control section-401];
and performing reception [Communication apparatus-1004] operations including monitoring on the bandwidth resources configured [Figs. 1-2, 13, Sections 0046, 0061, 0083: Based on UE-specific information, an NB (narrowband)-IoT terminal determines/detects the resource pool. The NB-IoT terminal monitors DL resource pool/downlink control information (DCI) of narrowband. The system bandwidth configured with minimum and maximum frequency are configured in both downlink and uplink];
Takeda does not explicitly state wherein the specific condition includes at least one of the following: a specified period of time elapses in which instruction to send or receive data is not received by the terminal, instruction to enter a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) state is received by the terminal, instruction is received after the terminal enters the DRX state, and the terminal enters an IDLE state.
However, Seo teaches wherein the specific condition includes at least one of the following: a specified period of time elapses in which instruction to send or receive data is not received by the terminal, instruction to enter a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) state is received by the terminal, instruction is received after the terminal enters the DRX state, and the terminal enters an IDLE state [Sections 0046, 0175, 0254, 0268, 0305: The wireless communication technology implemented in the wireless device include a narrowband Internet of Things for low-power communication, NB-IoT technology. Specifically, the UE is instructed/configured to switch to a dormant state (i.e. IDLE state). Discontinuous reception (DRX) refers to an operation mode in which a UE configured for DRX can reduce power consumption by discontinuously receiving a DL signal. A UE receive idle mode DRX configuration information from a base station. Further, DRX is configured through higher layer signaling, the UE perform the DRX operation in the idle mode or the connected mode].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to NB-IoT (narrowband) terminals are user terminals having the functions or capability to process/configure bandwidth resources narrower than the normal minimum based on instruction (i.e. condition) so as to reduce unnecessary signals or power with the teaching of Seo relating to the specific condition includes instruction or DRX configuration received by UE to enter idle/dormant mode/state. By combining the method/systems, the UE can perform DRX operations and reduce bandwidth resources in order to save/reduce power.
As to Claim 8. (Currently Amended) Takeda discloses a communication method of a base station [i.e. Radio Base Station-10], comprising [Fig. 13, Abstract: The present invention is designed so that communication can be reduced when the band is limited to a narrower band than the minimum system bandwidth and a user terminal transmits and receives signals to and from a radio base station]:
allocating bandwidth resources narrower than a normal minimum unit to a terminal when a specific condition is met [Sections 0087, 0109, 0115, 0140: The NB-IoT UEs limited to using a narrow band which is narrower than the minimum system bandwidth. The mapping section-303 (of base station, see 0104) allocate signals to narrow bands and transmit these to the user terminals; controls downlink PDCCH to be transmitted in narrow bands; this narrow band (NB) is narrower than the minimum system bandwidth (1.4 MHz) supported. The mapping section-303 maps the downlink signals narrowband radio resources (for example, maximum 1 resource blocks) based on instructions (i.e. specific conditions)];
and transmitting a notification [i.e. DCI/downlink signal/PDCCH] related to allocation of the narrower bandwidth resources to the terminal [Figs. 1 (Diagram to illustrate narrow band which is narrower than the minimum system band/1.4 MHz see 0028), Figs. 2-4, 10, Sections 0061, 0071, 0109, 0115: The NB-IoT terminal monitors DL resource pool/downlink control information (DCI) of narrowband. It is possible to perform DL resource allocation in a narrower frequency band than 1 PRB and support resource allocation in a band that is even narrower than 1 PRB. The mapping section-303 (of base station, see 0104) allocate signals to narrow bands and transmit these to the user terminals; the M-PDCCH to be transmitted in narrow bands (NB) is narrower than the minimum system bandwidth (1.4 MHz) supported. The mapping section-303 maps the downlink signals narrowband radio resources (for example, maximum 1 resource blocks) based on instructions],
Takeda does not explicitly state wherein the specific condition includes at least one of the following: a specified period of time elapses in which instruction to send or receive data is not transmitted by the base station, instruction for a terminal to enter a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) state is transmitted by the base station, instruction is transmitted after the terminal enters the DRX state, and the terminal enters an IDLE state.
However, Seo teaches wherein the specific condition includes at least one of the following: a specified period of time elapses in which instruction to send or receive data is not transmitted by the base station, instruction for a terminal to enter a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) state is transmitted by the base station, instruction is transmitted after the terminal enters the DRX state, and the terminal enters an IDLE state [Sections 0046, 0175, 0254, 0268, 0305: The wireless communication technology implemented in the wireless device include a narrowband Internet of Things for low-power communication, NB-IoT technology. Specifically, the UE is instructed/configured to switch to a dormant state (i.e. IDLE state). Discontinuous reception (DRX) refers to an operation mode in which a UE configured for DRX can reduce power consumption by discontinuously receiving a DL signal. A UE receive idle mode DRX configuration information from a base station. Further, DRX is configured through higher layer signaling, the UE perform the DRX operation in the idle mode or the connected mode].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date to have combined the method of Takeda relating to NB-IoT (narrowband) terminals are user terminals having the functions or capability to process/configure bandwidth resources narrower than the normal minimum based on instruction (i.e. condition) so as to reduce unnecessary signals or power with the teaching of Seo relating to the specific condition includes instruction or DRX configuration received by UE to enter idle/dormant mode/state. By combining the method/systems, the UE can perform DRX operations and reduce bandwidth resources in order to save/reduce power.
As to Claim 9. (Previously Presented) The terminal according to claim 2, wherein the bandwidth narrower than the normal minimum unit is less than one resource block or one or more subcarriers [See Claim 3 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 10. (Currently Amended) The terminal according to claim 3, wherein the processor switches from the configured narrower bandwidth resources to wider bandwidth resources when
other condition is satisfied [See Claim 4 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 11. (Currently Amended) The terminal according to claim 2, further comprising a
transceiver that transmits capability information to a base station related to capability of
configuring bandwidth resources narrower than the normal minimum unit [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 12. (Currently Amended) The terminal according to claim 3, further comprising a
transceiver that transmits capability information to a base station related to capability of
configuring bandwidth resources narrower than the normal minimum unit [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 13. (Currently Amended) The terminal according to claim 4, further comprising a transmission unit that transmits capability information to a base station related to capability of
configuring bandwidth resources narrower than the normal minimum unit [See Claim 5 rejection because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
January 30, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477