Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 7, filed 03/31/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11-13 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Koura (US 20160095487 A1) in view of Ota (US 20110197389)
Applicant's arguments filed 03/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument regarding the various benefits to the claimed device compared to the devices such as the one described by Koura, these benefits are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ota (US 20110197389).
Regarding Claim 1, Ota discloses A vacuum cleaner for cleaning a surface, the vacuum cleaner comprising a battery unit for powering the vacuum cleaner (See Para [0010] where Ota discloses that the battery arrangement can be used for any type of cordless power tool including a vacuum cleaner), the battery unit comprising:
a plurality of serially connected battery cells (10, See Para [0085] “The two low-voltage battery packs 10 attached to the adapter 300 are connected in series to the positive electrode output terminal 224a and the negative electrode output terminal 224b of the connector 220.”);
battery management electronics (18) operatively coupled to the battery cells (See Para [0053] “Each low-voltage battery pack 10 comprises five battery cells 16 connected in series and a battery controller 18, preferably a microprocessor.”);
first enclosure and a second enclosure (See both battery pack enclosures 10 in Fig. 15) provided on opposite sides of a central axis of the vacuum cleaner (central axis being the longitudinal direction bisecting the handle), each of the first enclosure and the second enclosure comprising:
a portion of the plurality of battery cells, and a portion of the battery management electronics operatively coupled to the respective portion of the plurality of the battery cells (See Para [0053] cited above, discussing each enclosure 10 having a plurality of battery cells 16 and a controller 18), and
a link strap (300, see Fig. 15) electronically connecting the portion of the battery management electronics of the first enclosure to the portion of the battery management electronics of the second enclosure (See Para [0085] cited above discussing the battery packs being connected in series, additionally See Para [0093] discussing the processor of the cleaner device connected to each of the microprocessors 18 via the adapter 300, additionally see Fig. 12 showing the battery management electronics 18, connected to each other when connected via 200)
Regarding Claim 20, Ota as modified discloses wherein the battery unit is removeably coupled to the vacuum cleaner (See Fig. 15 showing the batteries detached from the link strap and the link strap detached from the device, also see Para [0083] and [0084] discussing the battery packs and link strap being removably attached to the device.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koura (US 20160095487 A1) in view of Ota (US 20110197389).
Regarding Claim 1, Koura discloses:
A vacuum cleaner (1) for cleaning a surface, the vacuum cleaner comprising a battery unit (3) for powering the vacuum cleaner, the battery unit comprising:
a plurality of serially connected battery cells (60); and
battery management electronics operatively coupled to the battery cells (See Para [0045] “Furthermore, in addition to the battery cells 60, a thermistor (not shown) may be provided inside the case 31 and the thermistor may detect the temperature of a fuse, the battery cells 60, etc. within the battery pack 3, all of which are electrically connected to a control circuit board 65 provided inside the coupling part 32. One or more control devices 66, such as a microcontroller, a power FET, etc., is/are mounted on the control circuit board 65, and are designed to detect the temperature, the voltage, the electric current, etc. of the battery cells 60 and/or to control the supply of current from the battery cells 60 to the electrically-powered components of the robot 1.”);
a first and second enclosure (See Fig. 5 showing two enclosures 31) provided on opposite sides of a central axis of the vacuum cleaner (See Fig. 5 showing the two enclosures (31) on either side of the rear-front axis of the cleaner), each of the first and the second enclosure comprising:
a portion of the plurality of battery cells, and a portion of the battery management electronics operatively coupled to the respective portion of the plurality of the battery cells (See Para [0057] “In addition or in the alternative, each of the batteries (battery packs) 3 preferably comprises the case 31, the battery cells 60 built into (installed in) the case 31, the terminals 63 for discharging, and the control circuit board 65, which is built into the case 31 and monitors for any discharge errors.”)
a link strap (terminal block 39) interconnecting the portions of the battery management electronics (See Para [0046] indicating 39 connects the two enclosures and their respective battery management electronics to controller 45 “The terminal block 39 may also include signal terminals (plates) that contact the corresponding signal terminals 64 of the battery pack 3 in embodiments in which the controller 45 of the robot 1 communicates with the microcontroller 66 of the battery pack 3, e.g., to communicate that the charge of one or both of the battery packs 3 has been depleted and the battery pack(s) 3 must be recharged” );
and suggests but does not explicitly disclose the link strap electronically connecting the portion of the battery management electronics of the first enclosure to the portion of the battery management electronics of the second enclosure (as noted above, 39 connects the two enclosures and their respective battery management electronics to a controller, but does not necessary connect the two to each other).
However, Ota discloses a link strap (300, see Fig. 15) electronically connecting the portion of the battery management electronics of the first enclosure to the portion of the battery management electronics of the second enclosure (See Para [0085] cited above discussing the battery packs being connected in series, additionally See Para [0093] discussing the processor of the cleaner device connected to each of the microprocessors 18 via the adapter 300, additionally see Fig. 12 showing the battery management electronics 18, connected to each other when connected via 300).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the link strap of Koura such that the battery enclosures are in direct communication with each other as doing so would be a matter of connecting the battery enclosures in parallel, Which Ota teaches is advantageous for the purposes of preventing the over-discharging and overheating of individual battery cells as discussed in Para [0011].
Regarding Claim 2, Koura as modified discloses wherein the battery management electronics are configured to supply power and convey data through the link strap (See Para [0046] “Between each pair of guide rails 38, 38, a terminal block 39 is provided so as to face upward and comprises the plus and minus terminals (plates) 40, 40 that are inserted into (disposed within) the corresponding slits 34 of the coupling part 32 when the corresponding battery pack 3 is inserted into the mounting part 28. The terminal block 39 may also include signal terminals (plates) that contact the corresponding signal terminals 64 of the battery pack 3 in embodiments in which the controller 45 of the robot 1 communicates with the microcontroller 66 of the battery pack 3, e.g., to communicate that the charge of one or both of the battery packs 3 has been depleted and the battery pack(s) 3 must be recharged.”).
Regarding Claim 3, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein each portion of the battery management electronics comprises at least one temperature sensor for measuring a temperature of at least one of the battery cells in the respective first or second enclosure (See Para [0045] “Furthermore, in addition to the battery cells 60, a thermistor (not shown) may be provided inside the case 31 and the thermistor may detect the temperature of a fuse, the battery cells 60, etc. within the battery pack 3, all of which are electrically connected to a control circuit board 65 provided inside the coupling part 32.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and in addition discloses wherein each portion of the battery management electronics further comprises a thermal protection circuit, operatively coupled to the at least one temperature sensor and configured to prevent overheating of at least one of the battery cells (See Para [0045] “One or more control devices 66, such as a microcontroller, a power FET, etc., is/are mounted on the control circuit board 65, and are designed to detect the temperature, the voltage, the electric current, etc. of the battery cells 60 and/or to control the supply of current from the battery cells 60 to the electrically-powered components of the robot 1. The control circuit (e.g., microprocessor) is further designed to stop discharging of the battery calls 60 by operating (opening or disconnecting) the power FET if an abnormality is detected during the discharging. The cell temperature information can be externally output via the connector 35.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein each portion of the battery management electronics comprises at least one fuse or a charger connection detection circuit (See Para [0045] “Furthermore, in addition to the battery cells 60, a thermistor (not shown) may be provided inside the case 31 and the thermistor may detect the temperature of a fuse,”).
Regarding Claim 7, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the first and second enclosures are provided substantially symmetrically on either side of the central axis (See Fig. 5 and Para [0042] “Referring now to FIGS. 5-7, two mounting parts 28, 28 for respectively holding the two batteries (battery packs) 3 are formed (defined) in/on the main-body part 2 on the left and right of the motor box 24, and rearward of the housing part 8a. The mounting parts 28 each have a bottomed hole shape (blind hole shape), such that they are open in the upward direction. The mounting parts 28 are disposed symmetrically (e.g., mirror symmetrically) on the left and right of a centerline extending in the front-rear direction of the main-body part 2.”).
Regarding Claim 8, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the first and second enclosures comprise an equal number of the battery cells (See Fig. 5 referring to both enclosures via numeral 31 and further see Para [0044] “Referring to FIGS. 8 and 16, multiple (e.g., seven) rechargeable battery cells 60 are held by a cell holder 61 inside a case (lower side case) 31 having an oblong box shape and are connected in series by a plurality of lead plates 62 that connect opposite poles of the battery cells 60 to one another in a known manner.”).
Regarding claim 9, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the first and second enclosures comprise battery cells of the same type (See Fig. 5 referring to both enclosures via numeral 31 and further see Para [0044] “Referring to FIGS. 8 and 16, multiple (e.g., seven) rechargeable battery cells 60 are held by a cell holder 61 inside a case (lower side case) 31 having an oblong box shape and are connected in series by a plurality of lead plates 62 that connect opposite poles of the battery cells 60 to one another in a known manner.”).
Regarding Claim 10, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and suggests but does not explicitly disclose wherein the battery unit comprises more than two enclosures, each enclosure comprising a portion of the plurality of battery cells and a portion of the battery management electronics operatively coupled to the portion of the plurality of the battery cells, the battery unit further comprising at least one additional link strap interconnecting the portions of the battery management electronics comprised in two of the more than two enclosures (See Para [0074] “In all of the above-described embodiments and modified examples, two batteries (battery packs) 3 are utilized. However, in other aspects of the present teachings, it is also possible to use only one or three or more batteries (battery packs), as long as it/they is/are arranged with good left and right balance. In addition, the present teachings are equally applicable to robots in which the travel direction is the reverse of the above-described embodiments and modified examples.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cleaner of Koura such that the battery unit comprises more than two enclosures, each enclosure comprising a portion of the plurality of battery cells and a portion of the battery management electronics operatively coupled to the portion of the plurality of the battery cells, the battery unit further comprising at least one additional link strap interconnecting the portions of the battery management electronics comprised in two of the more than two enclosures, as doing so has been suggested by Koura and would be a simple matter of duplication of parts it has been held that a duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. See MPEP 2144.04 VI B.
Regarding Claim 11, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the vacuum cleaner is an autonomous robotic vacuum cleaner (See Para [0073] “In this manner, the dust-collecting robot 1A according to the above-mentioned modified example, which does not utilize a dust-collection motor (suction fan), likewise can use the batteries 3 designed for a power tool as the power supply. Consequently, there is no need to prepare (design, manufacture) batteries that differ by model, versatility is improved, and costs and the time and labor of battery management are not incurred.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 11 and in addition discloses further comprising a rotatable brush bar (16) for agitating the floor surface, wherein the central axis of the vacuum cleaner is defined as a line crossing a geometric centre of the brush bar and of the vacuum cleaner (See Figure 3 of Koura showing the brush bar extending across the cleaner in the right left direction, with the central axis being perpendicular to the axis in the front rear direction through the center of the brush bar).
Regarding Claim 13, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 12 and in addition discloses further comprising at least three support members (wheels 5 and casters 30 form 4 support members), wherein the at least three support members are wheels and/or tracks, for supporting the vacuum cleaner on a floor surface, and wherein the enclosures are positioned in such a way that a centre of mass of the vacuum cleaner is located in a central position between the support members (See Para [0055] “Furthermore, because the castors 30 are provided in a left-right symmetrical manner as was discussed above, the dust-collecting robot 1 can travel (move along the floor) stably via the left and right castors 30 even if the center of gravity of the main-body part 2 shifts because only one of the batteries 3 is mounted (installed).” Indicating the center of mass or gravity would be along the rear front axis between the castors and the wheels).
Claim(s) 6, 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koura (US 20160095487 A1) in view of Ota (US 20110197389) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Kaneko (US 20190305263 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the portion of the battery management electronics in the first enclosure is part of a master module and the portion of the battery management electronics in the second enclosure is part of a slave module and wherein only the master module comprises a data connector for enabling a direct data connection to a vacuum cleaner control unit that is not part of the battery unit.
However, Kaneko discloses a system comprising a plurality of batteries, wherein each has a battery control (analogous to the battery management electronics, See Para [0008] “wherein each of the plurality of battery packs comprises: one or a plurality of batteries; an acquiring unit that acquires physical quantities of the one or the plurality of batteries; a calculation unit that calculates battery state information which is information on a state of the one or the plurality of batteries based on the acquired physical quantities; and a communication unit that communicates with another battery pack”) wherein one of the battery packs is a master battery pack (See Para [0008] “any battery pack of the plurality of battery packs is set as a master battery pack and a battery pack other than the master battery pack is set as a slave battery pack, and the slave battery pack transmits the calculated battery state information to the master battery pack, and the master battery pack calculates integrated battery information which is integrated information of the plurality of battery packs based on each battery state information of the plurality of battery packs.”), wherein the master battery pack communicates with a central control unit (See Para [0021] “Among the plurality of battery packs, the master battery pack MP is the battery pack which communicates with a vehicle control unit (VCU: Vehicle Control Unit) 2.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the battery control system of Koura to utilize a master slave battery management system as it is a known equivalent in the art for controlling a plurality of battery packs and would not change the operation of the device (See MPEP 2144.06 II), and also allows for easy expandability in design as disclosed in the abstract of Kaneko (Abstract “Provided is a battery system having high expandability. Each battery pack included in a battery system (1) acquires physical quantities of one or more batteries. Battery state information is calculated based on the acquired physical quantities. Then, each battery pack communicates with another battery pack. One battery pack is set as a master battery pack MP. Another battery pack other than the master battery pack (MP) is set as a slave battery pack (SP). The slave battery pack (SP) transmits the battery state information to the master battery pack (MP). The master battery pack (MP) calculates integrated battery information based on the battery state information of each battery pack.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition suggests wherein the link strap (39) comprises at least one data cable (signal terminals described in para [0046], cited below) for enabling communication of data between the portion of the battery management electronics of the first enclosure to the portion of the battery management electronics of the second enclosure (See Para [0046] “The robot may be designed to be alternately powered by a plurality of battery packs. In such embodiments, the continuous run (usage) time may be increased, and the frequency of charging is reduced, thereby increasing convenience of operation. In addition, stability while running (traveling along the floor) is achieved. The terminal block 39 may also include signal terminals (plates) that contact the corresponding signal terminals 64 of the battery pack 3 in embodiments in which the controller 45 of the robot 1 communicates with the microcontroller 66 of the battery pack 3, e.g., to communicate that the charge of one or both of the battery packs 3 has been depleted and the battery pack(s) 3 must be recharged.”).
But does not specifically disclose wherein the data cable is a cable.
However, Kaneko discloses a set of battery packs utilizing a data cable in order to enable communication of data between the portion of the battery management electronics of the first enclosure to the portion of the battery management electronics of the second enclosure (See Claim 1 of Kaneko “wherein each of the plurality of battery packs further comprises a first communication wire between the vehicle control unit of the vehicle and the master battery pack; and a second communication wire between the master battery pack and the slave battery pack,”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the signal terminal connections utilized by Koura with a cable connection as disclose by Kaneko as the two are utilized for the same purpose in allowing communication with between battery packs and a controller. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding Claim 16, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 15 and suggests but does not explicitly disclose wherein the link strap further comprises at least one power cable (plus minus terminals described in Para [0046] cited above in rejection of claim 15 for electronically coupling the portion of the plurality of battery cells of the first enclosure to the portion of the plurality of battery cells of the second enclosure (Both enclosures are connected to power the functions of the cleaner for the purposes of increasing runtime (See Para [0014] “The robot may be designed to be alternately powered by a plurality of battery packs. In such embodiments, the continuous run (usage) time may be increased, and the frequency of charging is reduced, thereby increasing convenience of operation. In addition, stability while running (traveling along the floor) is achieved.”).
Kaneko discloses a pack of batteries connected in parallel (See Para [0017] “As shown in FIG. 1, a plurality of battery packs 3-1 to 3-3 are connected in parallel to a load L in the battery system 1 in order to secure a predetermined battery capacity. In the battery system 1 shown in FIG. 1,”) and further discloses that connecting batteries in parallel is done to increase capacity (See Para [0002] “A plurality of battery packs is connected in parallel to a load in order to secure battery capacity corresponding to the electric vehicle. When it is desired to further increase the battery capacity, additional battery packs are connected in parallel (hereinafter referred to as “parallel expansion”).”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the enclosures of Koura as modified to include a power cable to wire the batteries in series in order to increase the overall energy capacity of the cleaner, allowing for a loner runtime between charging as advantageously described in Koura Para [0014].
Regarding Claim 17, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 15 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the portion of the battery management electronics in the first enclosure is part of a master module and the portion of the battery management electronics in the second enclosure is part of a slave module and wherein only the master module comprises a data connector for enabling a direct data connection to a vacuum cleaner control unit that is not part of the battery unit.
However, Kaneko discloses a set of battery packs utilizing wherein one battery pack is a master battery pack and the remaining battery packs are slave battery packs, where only the master battery pack is connected to the device to be powered by the batteries (See Claim 1 of Kaneko “wherein each of the plurality of battery packs further comprises a first communication wire between the vehicle control unit of the vehicle and the master battery pack; and a second communication wire between the master battery pack and the slave battery pack,”)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the battery control system of Koura to utilize a master slave battery management system as it is a known equivalent in the art for controlling a plurality of battery packs and would not change the operation of the device (See MPEP 2144.06 II), and also allows for easy expandability in design as disclosed in the abstract of Kaneko (Abstract “Provided is a battery system having high expandability. Each battery pack included in a battery system (1) acquires physical quantities of one or more batteries. Battery state information is calculated based on the acquired physical quantities. Then, each battery pack communicates with another battery pack. One battery pack is set as a master battery pack MP. Another battery pack other than the master battery pack (MP) is set as a slave battery pack (SP). The slave battery pack (SP) transmits the battery state information to the master battery pack (MP). The master battery pack (MP) calculates integrated battery information based on the battery state information of each battery pack.”).
Regarding Claim 18, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 16 and in addition discloses wherein the at least one power cable (terminal plates as modified in claim 16) couples the portion of the plurality of battery cells of the first enclosure to the portion of the plurality of battery cells of the second enclosure (as modified in claim 16 above, the enclosures are coupled) via a circuit board (micro controller 66) of each of the first and the second enclosures (See Para [0045] of Koura “One or more control devices 66, such as a microcontroller, a power FET, etc., is/are mounted on the control circuit board 65, and are designed to detect the temperature, the voltage, the electric current, etc. of the battery cells 60 and/or to control the supply of current from the battery cells 60 to the electrically-powered components of the robot 1.”).
Regarding Claim 19, Koura as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 16 and in addition discloses wherein the at least one power cable couples the portion of the plurality of battery cells of the first enclosure to the portion of the plurality of battery cells of the second enclosure via direct connection to at least one of the battery cells of each of the first and the second enclosures (As modified in claim 16, both enclosures are directly connected via series connection, See Kaneko Para [0017] “As shown in FIG. 1, a plurality of battery packs 3-1 to 3-3 are connected in parallel to a load L in the battery system 1 in order to secure a predetermined battery capacity. In the battery system 1 shown in FIG. 1,”).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koura (US 20160095487 A1) in view of Ota (US 20110197389) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Burlington (WO 0038255 A1)
Regarding Claim 14, Koura discloses all the limitations of claim 11 but does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the enclosures further comprises an exhaust for releasing cleaned air from a main working airflow of the vacuum cleaner.
However, Burlington discloses a similar battery pack arrangement in a cleaner (See Fig. 3) wherein the battery packs enclosures (10) further comprise an exhaust (38) for releasing cleaned air from a main working airflow of the vacuum cleaner (See Page 11 Line 8-11 “The inlet port 38 is also automatically aligned with the opening of the duct 186. The connector point 181 is connected, within the cleaner 10, to the motor and fan unit, to the brush bar motor 28, to the motors for the driven wheels 104, and to the sensors 140 and control software so that all powered components of the cleaner 10 are able to take their power from the battery pack 10.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the enclosures of Koura to include an exhaust for releasing cleaned air from a main working airflow of the vacuum cleaner as doing so would allow for exhaust air of the cleaner to cool the battery pack as advantageously suggested by Burlington (See Paragraph starting on Page 4 Line 24 of Burlington discussing the cooling of the battery pack via the flow space from 38-40, 40a-40d).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723