DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of receipt of Information Disclosure Statement(s) (PTO-1449) filed 1/18/2024. An initialed copy is attached to this Office Action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-17 in the reply filed on 2/24/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claim 1 in Group I and claim 18 in Group II each include similar limitations. Therefore these features can be regarding as the same technical features between Groups I and II. Therefore the two groups of claims do not lack unity of invention, and there would not be a serious burden for the examination. This is found persuasive and claims 18-20 have been rejoined and are examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liyuan Liu (CN 10903719), hereinafter ‘719.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, ‘719 discloses, in figures 2 and 3, a display substrate (1 display panel) (paragraph 60), comprising: a base substrate (10, substrate base plate) (paragraph 60); and a circuit structure layer (21, pixel circuit region) (paragraph 73) and an electronic paper film sequentially (25 or 220, light emitting layer) disposed on the base substrate (10, substrate base plate) (paragraph 77 and figures 2-4), wherein: the circuit structure layer comprises: a plurality of first signal lines (11, first signal lines) extending along a first direction (row direction) (paragraph 61); a plurality of second signal lines (12, second signal lines) extending along a second direction (column direction); a plurality of drive units (211, driving units) (paragraph 77); and at least one near field communication coil, wherein the first direction is intersected with the second direction (paragraph 72 and figure 3); the plurality of first signal lines and the plurality of second signal lines are intersected to form a plurality of sub-pixel areas (43, sub-pixel regions) (paragraphs 13-14 and 61-62); the drive units are located in the sub-pixel area (43, sub-pixel regions) and electrically connected with the first signal lines and the second signal lines (figure 6), and the drive units are configured to control display patterns of the electronic paper film corresponding to the sub-pixel areas (paragraphs 62, 73, and 78); and the near field communication coil comprises at least one first communication line (gate line) extending along the first direction and at least one second communication line (data line) extending along the second direction (figure 3 and paragraphs 20 and 72), wherein the at least one first communication line is electrically connected with the at least one second communication line (paragraph 72). Further regarding claim 18, ‘719 discloses wherein the drive units (211, driving units) of the circuit structure is configured to control the display patterns of the electronic paper film corresponding to the sub-pixel areas (paragraphs 74-75 and 82).
Regarding claim 2, ‘719 discloses, in figures 2 and 3, wherein at least one first signal line (11, first signal lines) is adjacent to the first communication line (gate lines) in the second direction, and at least one second signal line (12, second signal lines) is adjacent to the second communication line (data lines) in the first direction (see annotated figure 3 below).
Regarding claim 3, ‘719 discloses, in figures 2 and 3, wherein at least one sub-pixel area (43, sub-pixel regions) is spaced between two adjacent first communication lines (gate lines) in the second direction and at least one sub-pixel area (shown in annotated figure 3 above) is spaced between two adjacent second communication lines (data lines) in the first direction (see figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 4, ‘719 discloses, in figures 2 and 3, wherein the at least one first communication line is located on a side of the at least one second communication line close to the base substrate; the plurality of first signal lines are located on a side of the plurality of second signal lines close to the base substrate (see figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 5, ‘719 discloses, in figures 2 and 3, wherein the at least one second communication line and the plurality of second signal lines are in a same layer (see figure 3 above and paragraphs 18 and 73).
Regarding claim 6, ‘719 discloses, in figures 2 and 3, wherein the at least one first communication line and the plurality of first signal lines are in a same layer (see figure 3 above and paragraphs 18 and 73).
Regarding claim 7, ‘719 discloses, in figures 2 and 3, wherein the at least one first communication line is located on a side of the plurality of first signal lines away from the base substrate (figure 3 above).
Regarding claim 16, ‘719 discloses, in figures 2 and 3, wherein the electronic paper film is configured to display using incident light from a side of the base substrate (paragraphs 60, 66, and 70).
Regarding claim 17, ‘719 discloses, in figure 11, a display device (500, display device), comprising a display substrate according to claim 1 (paragraph 102).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8-15 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, in conjunction with all the other claimed limitation, a display substrate having all the claimed features of applicant's instant invention, specifically including: in claim 8, wherein the at least one first communication line comprises a plurality of first sub-communication line segments extending along the first direction and sequentially arranged, two adjacent first sub-communication line segments are electrically connected by a first connection electrode located on a side of the first sub-communication line segment away from the base substrate; in claim 9, wherein the base substrate comprises: at least one near field communication area and at least one non-near field communication area, wherein the at least one near field communication coil is located within the at least one near field communication area, and the at least one non-near field communication area is provided with at least one first dummy communication line extending along the first direction and at least one second dummy communication line extending along the second direction; the first communication line is disconnected from the first dummy communication line, and the second communication line is disconnected from the second dummy communication line; in claim 10, wherein the circuit structure layer further comprises: a plurality of touch signal lines and a plurality of touch electrodes; the plurality of touch signal lines extend along the second direction, and at least one ouch signal line is electrically connected with the plurality of touch electrodes electrically connected with each other and spaced apart; in claim 19, forming the circuit structure layer on the base substrate comprises: forming a first conductive layer, a first insulation layer, a semiconductor layer, a first transparent conductive layer, a second conductive layer, a second insulation layer, a third insulation layer, and a second transparent conductive layer on the base substrate sequentially; the first conductive layer at least comprises: the plurality of first signal lines, gates of transistors of the drive units; the semiconductor layer at least comprises: active layers of the transistors of the drive units; the first transparent conductive layer comprises: a plurality of touch electrodes; the second conductive layer at least comprises: the plurality of second signal lines, the at least one second communication line and a plurality of touch signal lines, first electrodes and second electrodes of the transistors of the drive units; and the second transparent conductive layer at least comprises: a plurality of pixel electrodes of the drive units, as set forth in the claims.
Liyuan Liu, hereinafter ‘719 disclose first and second signals (11 and 12, first and second signal lines) and first and second communications lines (data and gate lines) intersecting with one another. However, ‘719 is silent as to the plurality of sub-communication lines and the first and second dummy lines.
Conclusion
/BRANDI N THOMAS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872