DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 12/03/2025, claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, and 11 have been amended, claims 3 and 9 are cancelled, and new claims 12-21 are added. Claims 1, 2, 4-8, and 10-21 are pending and under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 7, lines 4-5, the phrase may be amended as “a second rigid portion on which the forward cliff sensor is mounted, and a first flexible portion connecting …”
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a drive system … configured to move the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus” in claims 1, 8, and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 8, 13-15, 17, 18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munich et al. (US 2020/0375429, hereinafter Munich), in view of Scholten et al. (US 2018/0078106, cited on 11/15/2023 IDS, hereinafter Scholten) and Luo (CN 108185896A).
Regarding claim 1, Munich discloses an autonomous surface cleaning apparatus (fig. 3B, robot 100) comprising:
a body (see annotated Munich fig. 3B below);
a drive system (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) under the corresponding interpretation set forth above. The drive system 1002 comprises a pair of differentially drive wheels 1016 that partially project from the bottom of the body 1001 (p. 8:24-25)) carried by the body and configured to move the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus across a surface (¶ 0055-56, a drive system 110 includes one or more drive wheels. The drive system is operable to propel the robot across a floor surface);
a cleaning assembly disposed at a front of the body and projecting forward beyond a front surface of the body, the cleaning assembly having a generally planar front surface and first and second side surfaces that extend rearward from opposite ends of the front surface (see annotated Munich fig. 3A below and ¶ 0058, a cleaning system 116 is disposed at a front of the body; annotated Munich fig. 3B below, the cleaning system has a planar front surface and first and second side surfaces);
a first forward proximity sensor disposed at the front surface of the cleaning assembly adjacent to a first front corner of the cleaning assembly (see annotated Munich fig. 3B below);
a second forward proximity sensor being disposed at the front surface of the cleaning assembly adjacent to a second front corner of the cleaning assembly (see annotated Munich fig. 3B below);
a first forward cliff sensor disposed at a bottom surface of cleaning assembly adjacent to the first front corner of the cleaning assembly (see annotated Munch fig. 3A below);
a second forward cliff sensor disposed at a bottom surface of cleaning assembly adjacent to the second front corner of the cleaning assembly (see annotated Munch fig. 3A below); but does not disclose a first sensor circuit board and a second sensor circuit board.
Scholten teaches, in an analogous autonomous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a first sensor circuit board and a second sensor circuit board (Scholten, ¶ 0055, the robot cleaner comprises two bump sensors 108 in a form of bumper switch modules and each switch module comprises a printed circuit board 110. Scholten teaches the cleaner can have two sensor circuit boards for two sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Munich to provide the first and second sensor circuit boards as taught by Scholten in order to control each sensor accurately.
However, Munich as modified by Scholten does not disclose the first forward proximity sensor and the first forward cliff sensor are mounted to the first sensor circuit board, and the second forward proximity sensor and the second forward cliff sensor are mounted to the second sensor circuit board.
Luo teaches, in an analogous autonomous surface cleaning apparatus, the first forward proximity sensor and the first forward cliff sensor are mounted to the first sensor circuit board, and the second forward proximity sensor and the second forward cliff sensor are mounted to the second sensor circuit board (Luo English translation, p. 19:3-6, an autonomous cleaner comprises a plurality of infrared sensors, and the plurality of sensors are connected with a main control circuit board. Thus, Luo teaches multiple sensors can be mounted to a single circuit board. A set of forward proximity sensor and cliff sensor can be mounted to a first sensor circuit board and another set of forward proximity sensor and cliff sensor can be mounted to a second sensor circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit board of Munich as modified by Scholten to mount the multiple sensors as taught by Luo so that a small number of circuits boards can be utilized when a device such as a robot cleaner has a small space to contain electrical components.
Annotated Munich Fig. 3A
Annotated Munich Fig. 3B
Regarding claim 2, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, and further comprising:
a first side proximity sensor disposed at the first side surface of the cleaning assembly adjacent to the first front corner of the cleaning assembly (see annotated Munich figs. 3A and 3B above); and
a second side proximity sensor disposed at the second side surface of the cleaning assembly adjacent to the second front corner of the cleaning assembly (see annotated Munich figs. 3A and 3B above; ¶ 0068, an obstacle following sensor [corresponds to the recited second side proximity sensor] on a side surface 152).
Regarding claim 4, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein the first side proximity sensor is mounted to the first sensor circuit board, and wherein the second side proximity sensor is mounted to the second sensor circuit board (Scholten, ¶ 0055, the robot cleaner comprises two bump sensors 108 in a form of bumper switch modules and each switch module comprises a printed circuit board 110. Scholten teaches the cleaner can have two sensor circuit boards for two sensors; Luo English translation, p. 19:3-6, an autonomous cleaner comprises a plurality of infrared sensors, and the plurality of sensors are connected with a main control circuit board. Thus, Luo teaches a sensor can be mounted to a single circuit board. A set of side proximity sensor can be mounted to a first sensor circuit board and another set of side proximity sensor can be mounted to a second sensor circuit board).
Regarding claim 17, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the first and second forward proximity sensors are angled inwardly towards a longitudinal axis of the cleaning assembly (Scholten, figs. 16-17, an autonomous vacuum cleaner 10 comprises time-of-flight sensors 200 [correspond to the recited first and second forward proximity sensors]. The sensors 200 are aligned inwardly toward a longitudinal axis (dotted line shown in fig. 16) of the cleaner 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the forward proximity sensors of Munich to align them inwardly as taught by Scholten. It forms overlapping fields of view with concentration of light signals emitted by the sensors and it improves the ability of the cleaner to determine a position and detect an object (Scholten ¶ 0094, 0098).
Regarding claim 18, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second sensor circuit boards are flat (Luo, fig. 1, a circuit board 106 is flat; Scholten, ¶ 0055, the robot cleaner comprises two bump sensors 108 in a form of bumper switch modules and each switch module comprises a printed circuit board 110. Scholten teaches the cleaner can have two sensor circuit boards for two sensors. Therefore, the first and second sensor circuit boards can be flat).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second sensor circuit boards to provide the flat circuit boards as taught by Luo so that the circuit board occupies a small space in a small electrical device for space efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Munich discloses an autonomous surface cleaning apparatus (fig. 3B, robot 100) comprising:
a body (see annotated Munich fig. 3B above);
a drive system (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) under the corresponding interpretation set forth above. The drive system 1002 comprises a pair of differentially drive wheels 1016 that partially project from the bottom of the body 1001 (p. 8:24-25)) carried by the body and configured to move the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus across a surface (¶ 0055-56, a drive system 110 includes one or more drive wheels. The drive system is operable to propel the robot across a floor surface);
a cleaning assembly disposed at a front of the body and projecting forward beyond a front surface of the body, the cleaning assembly having a generally planar front surface and first and second side surfaces that extend rearward from opposite ends of the front surface (see annotated Munich fig. 3A above and ¶ 0058, a cleaning system 116 is disposed at a front of the body; annotated Munich fig. 3B above, the cleaning system has a planar front surface and first and second side surfaces);
a first forward sensor assembly disposed at a first front corner of the cleaning assembly, the first forward sensor assembly comprising a first forward proximity sensor, a first side proximity sensor, and a first forward cliff sensor (annotated Munich figs. 3A and 3B above and ¶ 0067-68, a proximity sensor 136b [corresponds to the recited first forward proximity sensor], an obstacle following sensor 141 [corresponds to the recited first side proximity sensor] on a side surface 150 and one of cliff sensors 134 form a first forward sensor assembly), the first forward proximity sensor, the first side proximity sensor, and the first forward cliff sensor each being arranged on a different surface of the cleaning assembly (see annotated Munich figs. 3A and 3B above, the proximity sensor 136b, an obstacle following sensor 141, and the cliff sensor 134 are arranged on different surfaces of the cleaning system); and
a second forward sensor assembly disposed at a second front corner of the cleaning assembly, the second forward sensor assembly comprising a second forward proximity sensor, a second side proximity sensor, and a second forward cliff sensor (annotated Munich figs. 3A and 3B above and ¶ 0067-68, a proximity sensor 136c [corresponds to the recited first forward proximity sensor], an obstacle following sensor [corresponds to the recited second side proximity sensor] on a side surface 152, and one of cliff sensors 134 for a second forward sensor assembly), the second forward proximity sensor, the second side proximity sensor, and the second forward cliff sensor each being arranged on a different surface of the cleaning assembly (see annotated Munich figs. 3A and 3B above, the proximity sensor 136c, the obstacle following sensor, and the cliff sensor 134 are arranged on different surfaces of the cleaning system), but does not disclose a first sensor circuit board and a second sensor circuit board.
Scholten teaches, in an analogous autonomous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a first sensor circuit board and a second sensor circuit board (Scholten, ¶ 0055, the robot cleaner comprises two bump sensors 108 in a form of bumper switch modules and each switch module comprises a printed circuit board 110. Scholten teaches the cleaner can have two sensor circuit boards for two sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Munich to provide the first and second sensor circuit boards as taught by Scholten in order to control each sensor accurately.
However, Munich as modified by Scholten does not disclose the first forward proximity sensor, the first side proximity sensor, and the first forward cliff sensor each being arranged on the first sensor circuit board, and the second forward proximity sensor, the second side proximity sensor, and the second forward cliff sensor each being arranged on the second sensor circuit board.
Luo teaches, in an analogous autonomous surface cleaning apparatus, the first forward proximity sensor, the first side proximity sensor, and the first forward cliff sensor each being arranged on the first sensor circuit board, and the second forward proximity sensor, the second side proximity sensor, and the second forward cliff sensor each being arranged on the second sensor circuit board (Luo English translation, p. 19:3-6, an autonomous cleaner comprises a plurality of infrared sensors, and the plurality of sensors are connected with a main control circuit board. Thus, Luo teaches multiple sensors can be mounted to a single circuit board. A set of forward proximity sensor, side proximity sensor, and cliff sensor can be mounted to a first sensor circuit board and another set of forward proximity sensor, side proximity sensor, and cliff sensor can be mounted to a second sensor circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit board of Munich as modified by Scholten to mount the multiple sensors as taught by Luo so that a small number of circuits boards can be utilized when a device such as a robot cleaner has a small space to contain electrical components.
Regarding claim 13, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein the first and second forward proximity sensors are angled inwardly towards a longitudinal axis of the cleaning assembly (Scholten, figs. 16-17, an autonomous vacuum cleaner 10 comprises time-of-flight sensors 200 [correspond to the recited first and second forward proximity sensors]. The sensors 200 are aligned inwardly toward a longitudinal axis (dotted line shown in fig. 16) of the cleaner 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the forward proximity sensors of Munich to align them inwardly as taught by Scholten. It forms overlapping fields of view with concentration of light signals emitted by the sensors and it improves the ability of the cleaner to determine a position and detect an object (Scholten ¶ 0094, 0098).
Regarding claim 14, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein the first forward proximity sensor is disposed at the front surface of the cleaning assembly, wherein the first side proximity sensor is disposed at the first side surface of the cleaning assembly, wherein the first forward cliff sensor is disposed at a bottom surface of the cleaning assembly (see annotated Munich figs. 3A and 3B above),
wherein the second forward proximity sensor is disposed at the front surface of the cleaning assembly, wherein the second side proximity sensor is disposed at the second side surface of the cleaning assembly, wherein the second forward cliff sensor is disposed at the bottom surface of the cleaning assembly (see annotated Munich figs. 3A and 3B above; ¶ 0068, an obstacle following sensor [corresponds to the recited second side proximity sensor] on a side surface 152).
Regarding claim 15, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, wherein each of the first and second sensor circuit boards are flat (Luo, fig. 1, a circuit board 106 is flat; Scholten, ¶ 0055, the robot cleaner comprises two bump sensors 108 in a form of bumper switch modules and each switch module comprises a printed circuit board 110. Scholten teaches the cleaner can have two sensor circuit boards for two sensors. Therefore, the first and second sensor circuit boards can be flat).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first and second sensor circuit boards to provide the flat circuit boards as taught by Luo so that the circuit board occupies a small space in a small electrical device for space efficiency.
Regarding claim 21, Munich discloses an autonomous surface cleaning apparatus (fig. 3B, robot 100) comprising:
a body (see annotated Munich fig. 3B above);
a drive system (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) under the corresponding interpretation set forth above. The drive system 1002 comprises a pair of differentially drive wheels 1016 that partially project from the bottom of the body 1001 (p. 8:24-25)) carried by the body and configured to move the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus across a surface (¶ 0055-56, a drive system 110 includes one or more drive wheels. The drive system is operable to propel the robot across a floor surface);
a cleaning assembly disposed at a front of the body and projecting forward beyond a front surface of the body, the cleaning assembly having a generally planar front surface and first and second side surfaces that extend rearward from opposite ends of the front surface (see annotated Munich fig. 3A above and ¶ 0058, a cleaning system 116 is disposed at a front of the body; annotated Munich fig. 3B above, the cleaning system has a planar front surface and first and second side surfaces);
a first forward proximity sensor disposed at the front surface of the cleaning assembly adjacent to a first front corner of the cleaning assembly; a first side proximity sensor disposed at the first side surface of the cleaning assembly adjacent to the first front corner of the cleaning assembly (annotated Munich figs. 3A and 3B below and ¶ 0067-68, the proximity sensor 136b [corresponds to the recited first forward proximity sensor] is disposed at the front surface of the cleaning system 116 at the first corner, and the obstacle following sensor 141 [corresponds to the recited first side proximity sensor] is disposed at the first side surface of the cleaning system 116 at the first corner);
a second forward proximity sensor being disposed at the front surface of the cleaning assembly adjacent to a second front corner of the cleaning assembly; a second side proximity sensor disposed at the second side surface of the cleaning assembly adjacent to the second front corner of the cleaning assembly (annotated Munich figs. 3A and 3B below and ¶ 0067-68, the proximity sensor 136c [corresponds to the recited second forward proximity sensor] is disposed at the front surface of the cleaning system 116 at the second corner, and the obstacle following sensor 141 [corresponds to the recited second side proximity sensor] is disposed at the second side surface of the cleaning system 116 at the second corner); but does not disclose a first sensor circuit board and a second sensor circuit board.
Scholten teaches, in an analogous autonomous surface cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a first sensor circuit board and a second sensor circuit board (Scholten, ¶ 0055, the robot cleaner comprises two bump sensors 108 in a form of bumper switch modules and each switch module comprises a printed circuit board 110. Scholten teaches the cleaner can have two sensor circuit boards for two sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Munich to provide the first and second sensor circuit boards as taught by Scholten in order to control each sensor accurately.
However, Munich as modified by Scholten does not disclose the first forward proximity sensor and the first side proximity sensor are mounted to the first sensor circuit board, and the second forward proximity sensor and the second side proximity sensor are mounted to the second sensor circuit board.
Luo teaches, in an analogous autonomous surface cleaning apparatus, the first forward proximity sensor and the first side proximity sensor are mounted to the first sensor circuit board, and the second forward proximity sensor and the second side proximity sensor are mounted to the second sensor circuit board (Luo English translation, p. 19:3-6, an autonomous cleaner comprises a plurality of infrared sensors, and the plurality of sensors are connected with a main control circuit board. Thus, Luo teaches multiple sensors can be mounted to a single circuit board. A set of forward proximity sensor and side proximity sensor can be mounted to a first sensor circuit board and another set of forward proximity sensor and side proximity sensor can be mounted to a second sensor circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit board of Munich as modified by Scholten to mount the multiple sensors as taught by Luo so that a small number of circuits boards can be utilized when a device such as a robot cleaner has a small space to contain electrical components.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munich in view of Scholten and Luo, as applied to claims 1 and 8 above respectively, and in further view of Wang et al. (CN 107518851A, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 5, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board are rigid-flex circuit boards.
Wang teaches, in an electrical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board are rigid-flex circuit boards (Wang English translation, p. 12:24-34, Wang discloses a dishwasher comprising a plurality of sensors or sensing electrodes. The sensors are embedded on a rigid-flex circuit board. Wang teaches the sensor circuit boards of the cleaner robot can be rigid-flex circuit boards).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit boards of Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo to replace them with the rigid-flex circuit boards as taught by Wang. The rigid-flex circuit board allows sensor is installed on various shaped receptacle surface, and it makes the use of the circuit board to be more flexible and convenient (Wang English translation, p. 12:33-34).
Regarding claim 10, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, but does not disclose each of the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board comprise a single rigid-flex circuit board.
Wang teaches, in an electrical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, each of the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board comprise a single rigid-flex circuit board (Wang English translation, p. 12:24-34, Wang discloses a dishwasher comprising a plurality of sensors or sensing electrodes. The sensors are embedded on a rigid-flex circuit board. Wang teaches each of the sensor circuit boards of the cleaner robot can be a rigid-flex circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit boards of Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo to replace them with the rigid-flex circuit boards as taught by Wang. The rigid-flex circuit board allows sensor is installed on various shaped receptacle surface, and it makes the use of the circuit board to be more flexible and convenient (Wang English translation, p. 12:33-34).
Claims 6, 11, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munich in view of Scholten and Luo, as applied to claims 1 and 8 above respectively, and in further view of Liou et al. (WO 2020006149A2, hereinafter Liou).
Regarding claim 6, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose a first circuit board frame on which the first sensor circuit board is mounted, the first circuit board frame being arranged to hold the first sensor circuit board in a fixed arrangement, and a second circuit board frame on which the second sensor circuit board is mounted, the second circuit board frame being arranged to hold the second sensor circuit board in a fixed arrangement.
Liou teaches, in an electrical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, a first circuit board frame on which the first sensor circuit board is mounted, the first circuit board frame being arranged to hold the first sensor circuit board in a fixed arrangement, and a second circuit board frame on which the second sensor circuit board is mounted, the second circuit board frame being arranged to hold the second sensor circuit board in a fixed arrangement (¶ 0036-38, Liou discloses two electronics boards are mounted in a frame, or a single rigid-flex circuit board representing the both electronics boards can be mounted to the frame. Thus, Liou teaches the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board can be mounted on the first circuit board frame and the second circuit board frame respectively to be fixed in an electrical device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus Munich as modified by Scholten, Luo, and Wang to provide the circuit board frame as taught by Liou. The frame allows to hold multiple circuit boards and it helps increasing space utilization in an electrical device (Liou ¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 20, Munich as modified by Scholten, Luo, and Liou teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 6, but does not disclose the first circuit board frame is mounted adjacent to the first front corner of the cleaning assembly, and wherein the second circuit board frame is mounted adjacent to the second front corner of the cleaning assembly.
Scholten teaches a robot cleaner comprises a circuit board connected with sensors (¶ 0055), and Liou teaches, as discussed in the rejection of claim 6 above, the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board can be mounted on the first circuit board frame and the second circuit board frame respectively to be fixed in an electrical device because Liou discloses mounting electronics boards in a frame (¶ 0036-38). Thus, Scholten and Liou teaches the robot cleaner comprising the first and second circuit board frames without teaching locations of them.
However, specification of the instant application does not explain why the first and second circuit board frames need to be mounted adjacent to the first and second front corners of the cleaning assembly respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus of Munich as modified by Scholten, Luo, and Liou to locate the first and second circuit board frames adjacent to the first and second front corners of the cleaning assembly respectively because it may require less wiring from the sensors to the frames to use space efficiently within the robot cleaner. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Regarding claim 11, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 8, but does not disclose each of the first forward sensor assembly and the second forward sensor assembly further comprise a circuit board frame that is arranged to hold the respective circuit board in a fixed arrangement.
Liou teaches, in an electrical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, each of the first forward sensor assembly and the second forward sensor assembly further comprise a circuit board frame that is arranged to hold the respective circuit board in a fixed arrangement (¶ 0036-38, Liou discloses two electronics boards are mounted in a frame, or a single rigid-flex circuit board representing the both electronics boards can be mounted to the frame. Thus, Liou teaches the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board can be mounted on the first circuit board frame and the second circuit board frame respectively to be fixed in an electrical device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface cleaning apparatus of Munich as modified by Luo and Wang to provide the circuit board frame as taught by Liou. The frame allows to hold multiple circuit boards and it helps increasing space utilization in an electrical device (Liou ¶ 0009).
Regarding claim 12, Munich as modified by Scholten, Luo, and Liou teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 11, but does not disclose the circuit board frame of the first forward sensor assembly is mounted adjacent to the first front corner of the cleaning assembly, and wherein the circuit board frame of the second forward sensor assembly is mounted adjacent to the second front corner of the cleaning assembly.
Scholten teaches a robot cleaner comprises a circuit board connected with sensors (¶ 0055), Lou teaches multiple sensors can be mounted to a single circuit board (Luo English translation, p. 19:3-6), and Liou teaches, as discussed in the rejection of claim 11 above, the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board can be mounted on the first circuit board frame and the second circuit board frame respectively to be fixed in an electrical device because Liou discloses mounting electronics boards in a frame (¶ 0036-38). Thus, Scholten, Luo, and Liou teaches the robot cleaner comprising the first and second circuit board frames of the first and second forward sensor assemblies without teaching locations of them.
However, specification of the instant application does not explain why the first and second circuit board frames need to be mounted adjacent to the first and second front corners of the cleaning assembly respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus of Munich as modified by Scholten, Luo, and Liou to locate the first and second circuit board frames adjacent to the first and second front corners of the cleaning assembly respectively because it may require less wiring from the sensors to the frames to use space efficiently within the robot cleaner. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claims 7, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munich in view of Scholten and Luo, as applied to claims 1, 8, and 2 above respectively, and in further view of Sakai (JP 2014060903A).
Regarding claim 7, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose each of the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board comprise a first rigid portion on which the forward proximity sensor is mounted, a second rigid portion on which the forward cliff sensor is mounted, a first flexible portion connecting the first rigid portion to the second rigid portion.
Sakai teaches, in an electrical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, each of the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board comprise a first rigid portion on which the forward proximity sensor is mounted, a second rigid portion on which the forward cliff sensor is mounted, a first flexible portion connecting the first rigid portion to the second rigid portion (Sakai English translation, p. 4:33-37 and 5:15-22 and fig. 3, a circuit board comprises three rigid parts 81, 82, 83 and two flexible parts 91, 92. The flexible part 91 connects the two adjacent rigid portions 81, 82 and the flexible part 92 connects the two adjacent rigid portions 82, 83. A plurality of circuits boards are laminated to the rigid parts 81, 82, 83 of the circuit board. Examiner notes specification of the instant application does not explain whether there is particular reason for mounting the forward proximity sensor to the first rigid portion and the forward cliff sensor to the second rigid portion. It appears any sensor can be mounted to any rigid portion of the circuit board. Thus, Sakai teaches any recited sensor can be mounted to any two rigid parts of the rigid-flex circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit board of Munich as modified by Scholten, Luo, and Wang to provide the recited rigid portions and flexible portions as taught by Sakai. It helps increasing space utilization within an electrical device.
Regarding claims 16 and 19, Munich as modified by Scholten and Luo teaches the autonomous surface cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claims 8 and 2 respectively, but does not disclose each of the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board comprise a first rigid portion on which the forward proximity sensor is mounted, a second rigid portion on which the forward cliff sensor is mounted, a third rigid portion on which the side proximity sensor is mounted, a first flexible portion connecting the first rigid portion to the second rigid portion, and a second flexible portion connecting the second rigid portion to the third rigid portion.
Sakai teaches, in an electrical device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, each of the first sensor circuit board and the second sensor circuit board comprise a first rigid portion on which the forward proximity sensor is mounted, a second rigid portion on which the forward cliff sensor is mounted, a third rigid portion on which the side proximity sensor is mounted, a first flexible portion connecting the first rigid portion to the second rigid portion, and a second flexible portion connecting the second rigid portion to the third rigid portion (Sakai English translation, p. 4:33-37 and 5:15-22 and fig. 3, a circuit board comprises three rigid parts 81, 82, 83 and two flexible parts 91, 92. The flexible part 91 connects the two adjacent rigid portions 81, 82 and the flexible part 92 connects the two adjacent rigid portions 82, 83. A plurality of circuits boards are laminated to the rigid parts 81, 82, 83 of the circuit board. Examiner notes specification of the instant application does not explain whether there is particular reason for mounting the forward proximity sensor to the first rigid portion, the forward cliff sensor to the second rigid portion, and the side proximity sensor to the third rigid portion. It appears any sensor can be mounted to any rigid portion of the circuit board. Thus, Sakai teaches any recited sensor can be mounted to any of three rigid parts 81, 82, 83 of the rigid-flex circuit board).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the circuit board of Munich as modified by Scholten, Luo, and Wang to provide the recited rigid portions and flexible portions as taught by Sakai. It helps increasing space utilization within an electrical device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Luo does not teach different kinds of sensors (forward proximity, side proximity, forward cliff sensors) disposed at different locations of the cleaning robot are mounted to a sensor circuit board. Applicant asserts Luo teaches one kind of sensors (infrared sensors) disposed at the same location are mounted to a sensor circuit board and that is different from the cleaning apparatus of the instant application. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In teaching different kinds of sensors disposed at different locations of the cleaning robot wherein the sensors disposed on a first side of the cleaning robot are mounted to a first sensor circuit board and the other sensors disposed on a second side of the cleaning robot are mounted to a second sensor circuit board, first Munich discloses a pair of forward proximity sensors at a front surface, a pair of side proximity sensors at side surfaces, and a pair of forward cliff sensors at a bottom surface of the cleaning robot (figs. 3A and 3B). However, Munich does not disclose the sensors are mounted to circuit boards designated for the sensors. Instead, Munich discloses an electrical circuitry 106 including a controller, memory storage element, and a sensor system with one or more electrical sensors. Although the electrical circuitry 106 of Munich can function as the sensor circuit board, it may not be the circuit board only for the sensors. Therefore, Scholten is combined to teach the printed circuit boards 110. Scholten discloses two bump sensors 108 and each sensor is mounted to each circuit board 110 (fig. 3 and ¶ 0055). Therefore, Scholten teaches the use of two sensor circuit boards for mounting two sensors. However, each of Scholten’s circuit board is used to mount a single sensor. Then, Luo teaches multiple sensors are mounted to a circuit board. Luo discloses an autonomous cleaner comprising a plurality of infrared sensors, and the plurality of the infrared sensors are connected with a main control circuit board (Luo English translation, p. 19:3-6). Therefore, combination of Luo with Munich and Scholten teaches two sets (first side and second side) of sensors disposed at different surfaces of the cleaner can be mounted with two sensor circuit boards (first side and second side).
Examiner notes that Luo is cited to teach that a single sensor circuit board can be connected with multiple sensors. Regarding the sensors at different surfaces of the cleaning robot, Munich teaches the recited claim limitations.
For the reasons above, the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723