Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 21 November, 2025 is acknowledged and has been entered.
Claim interpretation regarding “a display control unit” and “a reception unit” is no longer invoked in view of the Applicant’s amendment to the claim(s).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks filed 21 November, 2025 has been fully considered but is moot in view of a new ground of rejection necessitated by the Applicant’s amendment to the claim(s).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a target value display part configured to display a target value” in claims 1, 9, and 14-15; “a detection angle display part configured to display the installation angle” in claims 1-2, 9-10; “a determination result display part configured to display a determination result” in claims 1, 9, 12; “an installation position information display part configured to display installation position information” in claims 7-8, and 15-16; “a target position information display part configured to display target position information” in claims 7 and 15; “an installation height display part configured to display an installation height” in claims 14-15.
“a target value display part configured to display a target value” in claims 1, 9, and 14-15 corresponds to an assistance screen [Specification 0078]; “a detection angle display part configured to display the installation angle” in claims 1-2, 9-10 corresponds to an assistance screen [Specification 0068]; “a determination result display part configured to display a determination result” in claims 1, 9, 12 corresponds to an assistance screen [Specification 0068]; “an installation position information display part configured to display installation position information” in claims 7-8, and 15-16 corresponds to an assistance screen [Specification 0068]; “a target position information display part configured to display target position information” in claims 7 and 15 corresponds to an assistance screen [Specification 0068]; “an installation height display part configured to display an installation height” in claims 14-15 corresponds to an assistance screen [Specification 0068].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolph et al. (US 2023/0049866 A1 previously cited “RUDOLPH”), in view of Searcy et al. (US 6,556,166 B1 newly cited “SEARCY”).
Regarding claim 1, RUDOLPH discloses (Examiner’s note: What RUDOLPH does not disclose is ) a radar installation angle adjustment assistance apparatus comprising:
a display device (a display 135 [0029])
and a display control circuit configured to cause the display device to display an assistance screen for assisting adjustment of an installation angle (outputs of controller 130 may be representations of processed radar data that can be displayed by the display 135 for presentation to one or more users [0031]); (providing operational control of the radar system 100 such as for installation and calibration purposes [0034]) of an infrastructure radar (radar system 100 can be securely attached (e.g., fixed) to a structure 108 [0038]) configured to detect an object present in a target area through transmission and reception of a radio wave (a radar device may include transmitter circuitry 105 and receiver circuitry 120 [0029])
wherein the assistance screen includes
a target value display part configured to display a target value of the installation angle of the infrastructure radar (a user may be able to visualize and configure a radar tracking zone in order to select settings/ values for installation parameters for a radar device [0016])
a detection angle display part configured to display the installation angle of the infrastructure radar detected by an angle sensor configured to detect the installation angle (the radar may be equipped with an inclinometer, compass, altimeter, global positioning system (GPS) chip, and various other sensor devices such that the radar knows and is aware of its current orientation including pointing angles, mounting height, and coordinate position [0016]); (the radar may communicate current installation orientation to a user or a user device for display to the user [0017])
and a determination result display part configured to display a determination result of determination as to whether or not an angle difference between the target value displayed in the target value display part and the installation angle displayed in the detection angle display part is included in a predetermined set range (the controller 130 may determine a present tilt angle of the radar system 100 and compare the present tilt angle against a desired tilt angle of the installation parameters to determine a deviation with respect to the horizon line [0046]); (when a particular deviation is determined, the controller may play the corresponding audio sample to instruct a user how to remedy the deviation [0019])
the user may be able to view the deviation and use such as feedback to align the radar system 100 with the installation parameters [0047])
and also causes the assistance screen to display and update a corrective instruction for adjustment of the infrastructure radar the radar may provide audible feedback such as audible signals (e.g., from a speaker embedded in the radar, installed on the radar, or otherwise coupled to the radar) via the coordinating device. A controller may have access to preset audio samples that correspond to instructions for remedying deviations encountered during installation. When a particular deviation is determined, the controller may play the corresponding audio sample to instruct a user how to remedy the deviation. For example, an audio output may indicate to “adjust heading angle by rotating counterclockwise by 15 degrees” or “adjust tilt angle by tilting up 30 degrees.” Various other devices may be used to provide feedback. For example, a camera coupled to the radar may be used to detect a horizon line to which a tilt angle of the radar may be compared, and feedback for any deviation in the tilt angle may be provided to the user via the coordinating device. Feedback related to the installation deviation may also be reported through various means of communication such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, etc. to an application viewable by the user on the user device, such as a mobile device (e.g., cell phone, tablet, etc.) for example [0019]); (the user may have an application installed on a user device which may receive real time installation feedback as the user is installing the radar system 100 and present such feedback to the user on a display of the user interface to assist the user in installing the radar system 100 [0035])
In a same or similar field of endeavor, SEARCY relates to a method of measuring elevational misalignment of an automotive radar sensor. Specifically, SEARCY teaches that if the misalignment is within the specified tolerance band, no adjustment of the antenna 16 is required; if the misalignment is outside the tolerance band, the alignment of the antenna 16 may be adjusted without making any further measurements, or in closed-loop fashion to bring the measured misalignment within the tolerance band or to zero [col. 3, lines 10-16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of RUDOLPH to include the teachings of SEARCY, because doing so would improve the radar system’s precision to achieve proper alignment, as recognized by SEARCY.
Regarding claim 2, RUDOLPH/ SEARCY discloses the radar installation angle adjustment assistance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the installation angle includes at least one of a horizontal angle, a depression angle, and a roll angle of the infrastructure radar, and the display control circuit causes at least one of the horizontal angle, the depression angle, and the roll angle of the infrastructure radar, to be displayed in the detection angle display part (a radar system 100 (e.g., controller 130) may receive installation parameters associated with an installation of the radar system 100. The installation parameters may include a desired tilt angle (e.g., rotation in a vertical plane), a desired heading angle (e.g., rotation in a horizontal plane), a desired mounting height from a ground level or other designated reference level, and/or a desired coordinate position (e.g., geographic coordinates such as latitude, longitude, and elevation) of a radar device of the radar system 100 [RUDOLPH 0041]).
Regarding claim 3, RUDOLPH/ SEARCY discloses the radar installation angle adjustment assistance apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the angle based on the angle difference includes an angle for correcting at least one of the horizontal angle, the depression angle, and the roll angle of the infrastructure radar (a radar system 100 (e.g., controller 130) may receive installation parameters associated with an installation of the radar system 100. The installation parameters may include a desired tilt angle (e.g., rotation in a vertical plane), a desired heading angle (e.g., rotation in a horizontal plane), a desired mounting height from a ground level or other designated reference level, and/or a desired coordinate position (e.g., geographic coordinates such as latitude, longitude, and elevation) of a radar device of the radar system 100 [RUDOLPH 0041], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 2), and the display control circuit causes the angle for correcting at least one of the horizontal angle, the depression angle, and the roll angle of the infrastructure radar, to be displayed on the assistance screen (the user may be able to view the deviation and use such as feedback to align the radar system 100 with the installation parameters [RUDOLPH 0047], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, RUDOLPH/ SEARCY discloses the radar installation angle adjustment assistance apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the assistance screen further includes an installation height display part configured to display an installation height of the infrastructure radar, and the display control circuit causes the target value of the installation angle calculated based on the installation height displayed in the installation height display part, to be displayed in the target value display part (a radar system 100 (e.g., controller 130) may receive installation parameters associated with an installation of the radar system 100. The installation parameters may include a desired tilt angle (e.g., rotation in a vertical plane), a desired heading angle (e.g., rotation in a horizontal plane), a desired mounting height from a ground level or other designated reference level, and/or a desired coordinate position (e.g., geographic coordinates such as latitude, longitude, and elevation) of a radar device of the radar system 100 [RUDOLPH 0041]).
Regarding claim 7, RUDOLPH/ SEARCY discloses the radar installation angle adjustment assistance apparatus according to claim 6, wherein the assistance screen further includes an installation position information display part configured to display installation position information indicating an installation position of the infrastructure radar (the radar may be equipped with an inclinometer, compass, altimeter, global positioning system (GPS) chip, and various other sensor devices such that the radar knows and is aware of its current orientation including pointing angles, mounting height, and coordinate position [RUDOLPH 0016]), and a target position information display part configured to display target position information indicating a target value of a radio wave application position of the infrastructure radar (the radar may be equipped with an inclinometer, compass, altimeter, global positioning system (GPS) chip, and various other sensor devices such that the radar knows and is aware of its current orientation including pointing angles, mounting height, and coordinate position [RUDOLPH 0016]), and the display control circuit causes the target value of the installation angle calculated based on the installation position information displayed in the installation position information display part, the target position information displayed in the target position information display part, and the installation height displayed in the installation height display part, to be displayed in the target value display part (a radar system 100 (e.g., controller 130) may receive installation parameters associated with an installation of the radar system 100. The installation parameters may include a desired tilt angle (e.g., rotation in a vertical plane), a desired heading angle (e.g., rotation in a horizontal plane), a desired mounting height from a ground level or other designated reference level, and/or a desired coordinate position (e.g., geographic coordinates such as latitude, longitude, and elevation) of a radar device of the radar system 100 [RUDOLPH 0041], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 6).
Regarding claim 8, RUDOLPH/ SEARCY discloses the radar installation angle adjustment assistance apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the display control circuit causes the installation position information indicating a position of the infrastructure radar detected by a position sensor configured to detect the position, to be displayed in the installation position information display part (the radar may be equipped with an inclinometer, compass, altimeter, global positioning system (GPS) chip, and various other sensor devices such that the radar knows and is aware of its current orientation including pointing angles, mounting height, and coordinate position [RUDOLPH 0016], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 7).
Regarding claim 9, RUDOLPH discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (a machine-readable medium 140 [0029]) having, stored therein, a computer program for causing a computer including a display device (a display 135 [0029]), to execute a process of assisting adjustment of an installation angle of an infrastructure radar configured to detect an object present in a target area through transmission and reception of a radio wave (a radar device may include transmitter circuitry 105 and receiver circuitry 120 [0029]), the process comprising:
causing the computer to cause the display device to display an assistance screen for assisting adjustment of the installation angle (outputs of controller 130 may be representations of processed radar data that can be displayed by the display 135 for presentation to one or more users [0031]); (providing operational control of the radar system 100 such as for installation and calibration purposes [0034]) of the infrastructure radar (radar system 100 can be securely attached (e.g., fixed) to a structure 108 [0038])
wherein the assistance screen includes
a target value display part configured to display a target value of the installation angle of the infrastructure radar (a user may be able to visualize and configure a radar tracking zone in order to select settings/ values for installation parameters for a radar device [0016])
a detection angle display part configured to display the installation angle of the infrastructure radar detected by an angle sensor configured to detect the installation angle (the radar may communicate current installation orientation to a user or a user device for display to the user [0017])
and a determination result display part configured to display a determination result of the controller 130 may determine a present tilt angle of the radar system 100 and compare the present tilt angle against a desired tilt angle of the installation parameters to determine a deviation with respect to the horizon line [0046])
the user may be able to view the deviation and use such as feedback to align the radar system 100 with the installation parameters [0047])
and the assistance screen is caused to display and update a corrective instruction for adjustment of the infrastructure radar the radar may provide audible feedback such as audible signals (e.g., from a speaker embedded in the radar, installed on the radar, or otherwise coupled to the radar) via the coordinating device. A controller may have access to preset audio samples that correspond to instructions for remedying deviations encountered during installation. When a particular deviation is determined, the controller may play the corresponding audio sample to instruct a user how to remedy the deviation. For example, an audio output may indicate to “adjust heading angle by rotating counterclockwise by 15 degrees” or “adjust tilt angle by tilting up 30 degrees.” Various other devices may be used to provide feedback. For example, a camera coupled to the radar may be used to detect a horizon line to which a tilt angle of the radar may be compared, and feedback for any deviation in the tilt angle may be provided to the user via the coordinating device. Feedback related to the installation deviation may also be reported through various means of communication such as Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, etc. to an application viewable by the user on the user device, such as a mobile device (e.g., cell phone, tablet, etc.) for example [0019]); (the user may have an application installed on a user device which may receive real time installation feedback as the user is installing the radar system 100 and present such feedback to the user on a display of the user interface to assist the user in installing the radar system 100 [0035])
In a same or similar field of endeavor, SEARCY teaches that if the misalignment is within the specified tolerance band, no adjustment of the antenna 16 is required; if the misalignment is outside the tolerance band, the alignment of the antenna 16 may be adjusted without making any further measurements, or in closed-loop fashion to bring the measured misalignment within the tolerance band or to zero [col. 3, lines 10-16].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of RUDOLPH to include the teachings of SEARCY, because doing so would improve the radar system’s precision to achieve proper alignment, as recognized by SEARCY.
Claims 10-11 correspond to respective claims 2-3 sufficiently in scope and therefore are similarly rejected.
Claim 14-16 correspond to respective claims 6-8 sufficiently in scope and therefore are similarly rejected.
Claim(s) 4-5 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RUDOLPH, in view of SEARCY, and further in view of Bai et al. (US 6,020,844 previously cited “BAI”).
Regarding claim 4, RUDOLPH/ SEARCY discloses the radar installation angle adjustment assistance apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a reception circuit configured to receive angle data indicating an angle detected by the angle sensor (LED devices may provide visual feedback and speakers may provide audible feedback. In some instances, the coordinating device 116 may be a mobile user device that has a screen display and is capable of receiving installation feedback from the radar system 100 to display for the user as another form of visual feedback. The user device may also have speakers capable of providing audio instructions based on installation feedback [RUDOLPH 0037]), wherein the display control circuit updates display of the angle based on the angle difference every time the angle data is received by the reception circuit (dynamic updates of any deviation and further instructions may be transmitted to the user device as feedback (e.g., close to instantaneous feedback) during an installation process [RUDOLPH 0047]).
However, RUDOLPH/ SEARCY does not disclose that the display control unit further switches display in the determination result display part from the angle based on the angle difference to positive information indicating that the angle difference is included in the predetermined set range, when the angle difference has changed so as to be included in the set range.
In a same or similar field of endeavor, BAI teaches that depending on the position of reflection, a light emitting photodiode for specified color is lit and so it is decided whether the photodiode 50 for green luminescence is lit. If the photodiode 50 for green luminescence is lit, the present mount position is determined to be an optimal adjusting position of the antenna 1 and the antenna 1 is rigidly tightened at that position in step S65. On the other hand, when the photodiode 50 for green luminescence is not lit but the photodiode for red or yellow luminescence is lit, the mount angle of the antenna 1 is again adjusted in step S66. In this manner, the offset adjustment of the antenna 1 can be carried out in accordance with the second embodiment of the car on-board radar axis adjusting method [col. 8, lines 32-42].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of RUDOLPH to include the teachings of BAI, because doing so would enable visual feedback for improving accuracy of the radar system, as recognized by BAI.
Regarding claim 5, RUDOLPH/ SEARCY/ BAI discloses the radar installation angle adjustment assistance apparatus according to claim 4, wherein a display color for displaying the angle based on the angle difference and a display color for displaying the positive information are different from each other (depending on the position of reflection, a light emitting photodiode for specified color is lit [BAI col. 8, line 32], cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 4); (the radar system 100 may provide visual feedback for a user during installation. The coordinating device may include light-emitting diodes (LEDs) and be disposed (e.g., on the radar system) such that the LEDs are visible to the user during installation of the radar. A controller of the LEDs may activate the LEDs upon receiving a deviation between a current orientation of the radar and a desired orientation of the radar and then illuminate the LEDs in such a way to indicate how the radar needs to be adjusted (e.g., tilted up, down, left, right, etc.) to align the radar with the desired orientation. In some cases, LEDs that emit different colors and/or different light intensities may be utilized alternatively or in addition to selecting different ones of the LEDs to activate/inactivate [RUDOLPH 0018]).
Claims 12-13 correspond to respective claims 4-5 sufficiently in scope and therefore are similarly rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hailey R Le/Examiner, Art Unit 3648 February 12, 2026
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648