DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 23, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura (JP 2009197733 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses an ammonia manufacturing apparatus comprising: an ammonia synthesis unit synthesizing ammonia under a chemical reaction using hydrogen and nitrogen as a raw material gas in a reactor (173); and a heat storage unit (parabolic trough type collector, 160) including a heating medium (water vapor), wherein the heat storage unit can supply heat from the heating medium to the ammonia synthesis unit when an amount of the raw material gas supplied to the ammonia synthesis unit increases (see Abstract; figure 7; and paragraphs 0121-0124).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura disclose an apparatus further comprising a hydrogen production unit (171) producing at least a part of the hydrogen supplied to the ammonia synthesis unit by electrolysis of water, wherein the hydrogen production unit uses renewable energy as at least a part of an energy source for the electrolysis (see Abstract; figures 1-7; and paragraphs 0019-0129), since the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting and since Nakamura discloses that when hydrogen is obtained without using a relatively high temperature heat source, that is, for example, by electrolysis of water, electric power, particularly electric power obtained by using solar thermal energy obtained in step (a), or synthesized ammonia It is possible to use electric power obtained by using as fuel (see paragraph 0108).
Regarding claims 3-7, Nakamura discloses an apparatus wherein the ammonia synthesis unit (reactor, 173) includes a heating medium-raw material gas heat exchanger, through piping (179), capable of supplying heat from the heating medium to the raw material gas; wherein the ammonia synthesis unit (173) includes: a heating medium-produced gas heat exchanger, through piping (179), capable of supplying heat from the heating medium to a produced gas obtained on an outlet side of the reactor (173); and a produced gas-raw material gas heat exchanger capable of supplying heat from the produced gas passing through the heating medium-produced gas heat exchanger to the raw material gas; wherein heat can be stored in the heating medium using the produced gas obtained on the outlet side of the reactor (173); wherein heat can be stored in the heating medium using surplus power generated by renewable energy; and wherein heat can be stored in the heating medium using exhaust heat of a gas turbine using hydrogen as fuel.
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura disclose an apparatus further comprising a hydrogen production unit (171) producing at least a part of the hydrogen supplied to the ammonia synthesis unit by electrolysis of water, wherein the heating medium (molten salt, in pipe (178)) can be used as a heating source for the electrolysis (see Abstract; figures 1-7; and paragraphs 0019-0129), since the use of the apparatus isn't limiting or the material the apparatus acts upon isn't limiting and since Nakamura discloses that when hydrogen is obtained without using a relatively high temperature heat source, that is, for example, by electrolysis of water, electric power, particularly electric power obtained by using solar thermal energy obtained in step (a), or synthesized ammonia It is possible to use electric power obtained by using as fuel (see paragraph 0108).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (JP 2009197733 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ostuni et al. (US 9,463,983 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura discloses an apparatus further comprising an air separation device using cryogenic separation as a nitrogen supply unit (air cryogenic separator, 172) supplying the nitrogen to the ammonia synthesis unit (see figure 7 and paragraph 0124).
Nakamura fails to disclose an air separation device using temperature swing adsorption (TSA) as a nitrogen supply unit supplying the nitrogen to the ammonia synthesis unit, wherein the heating medium can be used as a heating source of the air separation device.
Ostuni et al. discloses a nitrogen current (4) is preferably obtained by separation from an air flow (12), more preferably with a technique chosen between: molecular sieves; pressure swing adsorption (PSA); vacuum pressure swing adsorption (VPSA); temperature swing adsorption (TSA); a process based on membranes; a process of cryogenic separation (see figure 1 and column5, lines 28-35).
Because these two separation device (a cryogenic separator and a TSA type or molecular sieve) were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a TSA type or molecular sieve for a cryogenic separator.
Conclusion
NATASHA E. YOUNG
Examiner
Art Unit 1774
/NATASHA E YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774