DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s species election of uracil DNA glycosylase in the reply filed on 04/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 depends on claim 1 and adds a limitation describing the abasic site formed as recited in claim 1. Such description simply reiterates what such abasic site formed by action of glycosylase is, without adding any structural differences to such site of claim 1. Therefore, claim 2 does not further limit claim 1.
Claim 9 depends on claim 1 and adds additional steps to step 1 of claim 1, such steps are designing a specific modification site and selecting a non-canonical base, and synthesizing the DNA. Such steps are inherent to step 1 of claim 1, because in order to synthesize a DNA strand carrying a non-canonical base, such base has to be selected and DNA strand has to be synthesized. Therefore, claim 9 does not further limit claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lhomme et al (Biopolymers, 1999, vol.52, pages 65-83).
Concerning claims 1-3, 7-9 Lhomme disclose that DNA glycosylases remove modified or abnormal bases in DNA leading to formation of abasic sites in their place (see page 65, Figures 2 and 7). Lhomme disclose a variety of glycosylases such as uracil DNA glycosylase, which removes uracil residue, wherein such non-canonical base is introduced by solid phase synthesis (see second column on page 66) after designing and selecting the base (see second column on page 66). Further Lhomme disclose that abasic site formed after action of glycosylase is reactive with alkoxyamines (see first column on page 68) such as methoxyamine to form a stable oxime ether (see second column on page 70).
Thus, Lhomme disclose all the steps of instant claim 1, anticipating it. It is noted that preamble of the claim as “method of modifying DNA” is not given patentable weight, therefore it does not need to be taught in prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lhomme et al (Biopolymers, 1999, vol.52, pages 65-83) as applied to claims 1-3, 7-9, and in further view Schaar et al (WO 95/17203, December 1994) and Karp et al (Molecular Tools for Screening Biodiversity, 1998, Chapter 4.2, pages 1-482. Note, because of the size of the document only the copy of first 124 pages is provided).
Lhomme teach that DNA glycosylases remove modified or abnormal bases in DNA leading to formation of abasic sites in their place (see page 65, Figures 2 and 7). Lhomme teach a variety of glycosylases such as uracil DNA glycosylase, which removes uracil residue, wherein such non-canonical base is introduced by solid phase synthesis (see second column on page 66) after designing and selecting the base (see second column on page 66). Other glycosylases are fpg, which removes 8-oxoguanine residue, or alkA, which removes alkylated adenine moieties (see second column on page 71). Further Lhomme teach that abasic site formed after action of glycosylase is reactive with alkoxyamines (see first column on page 68) such as methoxyamine to form a stable oxime ether (see second column on page 70).
Lhomme do not specifically teach using multiple different or same non-canonical bases and different or same glycosylases in the same DNA strand as in instant claims, or separating DNA strand by ethanol precipitation, or desalting DNA strand using desalting column.
Schaar teach separating DNA strand after reaction with glycosylase by ethanol precipitation (see lines 18-26 on page 45).
Karp teach DNA purification using desalting column (see page 59).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify DNA using glycosylases and oxyamine compounds based on teachings of Lhomme, Schaar and Karp, arriving at instant invention. One of the ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Lhomme teach a variety of glycosylases which are capable of removing specific non-canonical bases in DNA strands, leading to formation of abasic sites, which easily react with oxyamines. One of the art would be motivated to include such same or different non-canonical bases in DNA to be affected by the same or different specific glycosylases to modify DNA based on teachings of Lhomme, because they teach such modifications. Further Schaar and Karp teach specific further steps in DNA purification, which are well known in the art, which can be used in such method of DNA modification.
Conclusion
/EKATERINA POLIAKOVA-GEORGANTAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1637