DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 2-6, 13, 17, 21 and 23 have been canceled. Claims 1, 7-12, 14-16, 18-20, 22 and 24 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 7-12, 14-16, 18-20, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation, "wherein before acquiring the device image of the target device, the method further comprises at least one of: establishing …; and establishing …" The meaning of this limitation is unclear i.e., it is unclear what it means for the method to comprise an operation before the acquiring operation. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the above limitation as meaning that the establishing operations are performed before the acquiring of the device image.
Claim 22 corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Dependent claims 7-12, 14-16, 18-20 and 24 are rejected for failing to the cure the deficiencies of parent claim 1.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-10, 14-16, 18-20, 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang (US 2018/0348885) in view of Van De Sluis (US 2021/0397840) and further in view of Hall (US 2019/0003196) and further in view of Stoyles (US 2020/0192622).
Regarding claim 1, Tang teaches a device control method, comprising:
acquiring a scene image of a target space (Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0030-0031, 0054, 0055], cameras e.g., depth cameras, can obtain an image of a scene);
acquiring a target scene type matching a target object in the scene image, wherein the target scene type is identification information for characterizing scene features (Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0030-0031, 0050-0051, 0054, 0055, 0003, 0005-0006], the system can extract a scene geometry from the scene e.g., the locations of all elements and people/users in the scene; the system identifies various objects in the scene e.g., faces, bodies, inanimate objects etc.; the system further determines the location and nature of each element e.g., for fixtures, furniture and human beings; as noted in [0005], for example, a hand of a user may be identified and monitored, and a gesture may be detected);
acquiring a target device associated with the target object shown in the scene image (Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0054, 0055, 0071, 0077, 0078, 0070], the system can determine a device to control to perform an action in accordance with the scene, geometry, user activity and/or user desire/intent; for example, a multimedia system 405, which is in the scene, can be made to radiate sound at a volume level that changes based on the user's proximity to the system e.g., see Figs. 4a, 4b, 9a, 9b, [0070-0071], 0050, 0051); and
controlling the target device according to a device control strategy (Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0054, 0055, 0071, 0077, 0078, 0070], the system can determine a device to control to perform an action in accordance with the scene, geometry, user activity and/or user desire/intent; for example, a multimedia system 405, which is in the scene, can be made to radiate sound at a volume level that changes based on the user's proximity to the system e.g., see Figs. 4a, 4b, 9a, 9b, [0070-0071], 0050, 0051]; see also [0054], device can be controlled to direct video, optimize audio performance, control room conditions such as lighting, shading or temperature or any other suitable action);
wherein the controlling the target device according to a device control strategy comprises:
acquiring a device control strategy corresponding to the target scene type; and
controlling the at least one target device to switch from a current operation state to a target operation state according to the device control strategy (Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0054, 0055, 0071, 0077, 0078, 0070], the system can determine a device to control to perform an action in accordance with the scene, geometry, user activity and/or user desire/intent; for example, a multimedia system 405, which is in the scene, can be made to radiate sound at a volume level that changes based on the user's proximity to the system e.g., see Figs. 4a, 4b, 9a, 9b, [0070-0071], 0050, 0051]; see also [0054], device can be controlled to direct video, optimize audio performance, control room conditions such as lighting, shading or temperature or any other suitable action; see also [0054], the above sensor data is used to build a 3d model of a room, and the 3d model is used to determine appropriate actions e.g., a device control strategy; for example, lighting, shading or temperature in the room may be controlled; see also [0057-0058], for example, the system may identify a speaker and other elements in the room, and based on acoustical analysis of the room, adjust volume or spectral balance of the speaker; alternatively, light-based adjustments may be made e.g., a device monitor might be tilted in response to detection of light paths in the room; inherently, if the operation of a device is adjusted, it is being switched from some kind of current operational state to a new operational state);
wherein the controlling the target device according to the device control strategy further
comprises:
acquiring a device image of the target device (Figs. 4a, 4b, [0050-0051, 0055], the system can obtain an image of a scene including multiple elements, including a device e.g., device 405);
determining a device identification of the target device (Figs. 9a, 9b, [0070-0071], the system can control the device 405 to radiate sound and change its volume based on its perceived distance to a user; inherently, the system has identified the device); and
sending a control instruction to the target device to control the target device ([0043], a server may receive information regarding activities or scene geometry, and send processed data e.g., commands, to a local system/device to implement a response; see also claim 1, a control device that acquires and analyzes a scene image may adjust output of another device; these both require that a command be sent to the device; for example, see [0070-0071], in which volume of a media device 405 can be controlled in response; ; see also [0054], device can be controlled to direct video, optimize audio performance, control room conditions such as lighting, shading or temperature or any other suitable action); or
the controlling the target device according to the device control strategy further comprises:
acquiring a device image feature of the target device; acquiring a corresponding relationship between device image features and device identifications;
determining a device identification of the target device according to the corresponding relationship between device image features and device identifications;
sending a control instruction carrying the device identification to the target device to control the target device (due to the use of the "or" connector, this section is not required by the claim; also, the corresponding remarks above and below relating to the controlling of the target device apply to these features as well).
However, Tang does not expressly disclose wherein the controlling the target device according to the device control strategy further comprises: acquiring a corresponding relationship between device images and device identifications; determining a device identification of the target device according to the corresponding relationship between device images and device identifications; wherein before acquiring the device image of the target device, the method further comprises at least one of: establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device images; and establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device image features; wherein the establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device images comprises: acquiring the device image of the device; identifying a device type of the device; and establishing the corresponding relationship between the device image and the device identification; wherein the establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device image features comprises: acquiring the device image of the device; acquiring the device image feature of the device from information about the device image; identifying the device type of the device; and establishing the corresponding relationship between device image features and the device identification; the control instruction carrying the device identification; acquiring the device identification of the device type through a device discovery command.
In the same field of endeavor, Van de Sluis teaches
wherein the controlling the target device according to the device control strategy further
comprises: acquiring a corresponding relationship between device images and device identifications ([0026, 0023, 0065, 0051, 0070], the system can use training images of a scene including multiple devices; the system can then associate devices with respective identifiers of those devices);
determining a device identification of the target device according to the corresponding relationship between device images and device identifications (Abstract, [0051, 0057, 0071-0073, 0076-0080, 0081], the system can analyze an image with controllable devices, and then select an identifier associated with one of the devices; the device can then be controlled; [0068-0069, 0053, 0055], for example, the scene may have two devices e.g., lighting devices, and the device to be controlled may be the one that a user is looking at or has given attention to);
wherein before acquiring the device image of the target device (Van de Sluis Abstract, [0051, 0057, 0071-0073, 0076-0080, 0081], the system can analyze an image with controllable devices, and then select an identifier associated with one of the devices; the device can then be controlled; [0068-0069, 0053, 0055], for example, the scene may have two devices e.g., lighting devices, and the device to be controlled may be the one that a user is looking at or has given attention to),
the method further comprises at least one of:
establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device images; and
establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device image features (Van de Sluis [0026, 0023, 0065, 0051, 0070], the system can use training images of a scene including multiple devices; the system can then associate devices with respective identifiers of those devices);
wherein the establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device images comprises:
acquiring the device image of the device;
identifying a device type of the device (Van de Sluis [0023, 0026], during a training phase, a system can connect to a device to determine what light effects are currently being rendered by a particular controllable lighting device; the system does this so that it is better able to recognize such light effects and the device in an image in the future; Van de Sluis [0026, 0023, 0065, 0051, 0070], the system can use training images of a scene including multiple devices e.g., devices having the lighting effects described above; the system can then associate devices with respective identifiers of those devices); and
establishing the corresponding relationship between the device image and the device identification (Van de Sluis [0026, 0023, 0065, 0051, 0070], the system can use training images of a scene including multiple devices; the system can then associate devices with respective identifiers of those devices);
wherein the establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device image features comprises:
acquiring the device image of the device;
acquiring the device image feature of the device from information about the device image;
identifying the device type of the device; and
establishing the corresponding relationship between device image features and the device identification (Van de Sluis [0023, 0026], during a training phase, a system can connect to a device to determine what light effects are currently being rendered by a particular controllable lighting device; the system does this so that it is better able to recognize such light effects and the device in an image in the future; Van de Sluis [0026, 0023, 0065, 0051, 0070], the system can use training images of a scene including multiple devices e.g., devices having the lighting effects described above; the system can then associate devices with respective identifiers of those devices; note that the claim only requires one of the two above establishing operations indicated in the claimed Markush group).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the controlling the target device according to the device control strategy further comprises: acquiring a corresponding relationship between device images and device identifications; determining a device identification of the target device according to the corresponding relationship between device images and device identifications; wherein before acquiring the device image of the target device, the method further comprises at least one of: establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device images; and establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device image features; wherein the establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device images comprises: acquiring the device image of the device; identifying a device type of the device; and establishing the corresponding relationship between the device image and the device identification; wherein the establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device image features comprises: acquiring the device image of the device; acquiring the device image feature of the device from information about the device image; identifying the device type of the device; and establishing the corresponding relationship between device image features and the device identification as suggested in Van De Sluis into Tang because Tang and Van De Sluis pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Tang and Van de Sluis pertain to systems that capture images of a scene with devices and control a particular device in an image. Both Tang and Van de Sluis contemplate detecting a user's orientation/gaze e.g., see Tang [0064, 67-0068] and using that determine to a user's intent or focus. In Van de Sluis, for example, a device to control can be selected based on the user's actions or orientation, as captured by a camera. To facilitate such selection, Van de Sluis teaches training the system to associate device identifiers with device images. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Tang, to allow identification and control of devices based on user actions, as captured by a camera e.g., see Van de Sluis Abstract, [0026, 0023, 0065, 0051, 0057, 0070-0073, 0076-000, 0081].
However, the combination of Tang and Van De Sluis does not expressly disclose the control instruction carrying the device identification; acquiring the device identification of the device type through a device discovery command.
In the same field of endeavor, Hall teaches the control instruction carrying the device identification ([0029], it is known, when sending a command instruction to a target device, to include in the command instruction identification for which the command is intended.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the control instruction carrying the device identification as suggested in Hall into Tang and Van de Sluis because Tang and Hall pertain to analogous fields of technology. Both Tang and Hall pertain to transmitting commands to control a target device. In Hall, the command instruction may include identification of the intended device. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Tang to facilitate recognition of the intended target device in the system and for the command e.g., see Hall [0029].
However, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis and Hall does not expressly disclose acquiring the device identification of the device type through a device discovery command.
In the same field of endeavor, Stoyles teaches acquiring the device identification of the device type through a device discovery command ([0054], it is known, for a user device to broadcast an inquiry e.g., discovery, to multiple devices, and to receive device identification information e.g., see Stoyles [0054].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated acquiring the device identification of the device type through a device discovery command as suggested in Stoyles into Tang, Van De Sluis and Hall, because Tang/Van De Sluis and Stoyles pertain to analogous fields of technology. Tang/Van De Sluis pertains to a system that selectively controls devices e.g., a multimedia system, based on detected conditions and a captured image e.g., a user being seen as in close proximity the multimedia system. Tang/Van De Sluis further teaches using training images of a scene with multiple devices, which allows the system to associate an image of a device with the identification information of the device. Stoyles also pertains to a system that communicates with multiple devices, where the device needs to obtain the identification information of each device. In Stoyles, the system broadcasts a discovery command/inquiry, and in response receives the identification information of each device. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Tang/Van De Sluis, so that identification information could be obtained for each device e.g., see Stoyles [0054].
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches
wherein the controlling the target device according to a device control strategy comprises:
acquiring a device spatial position of the target device (Tang Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0030-0031, 0054, 0055], the system can extract a scene geometry from the scene e.g., the locations of all elements and people/users in the scene; the scene can be interpreted to determine user activity and user intent/desire);
acquiring a corresponding relationship between device spatial positions and device identifications (Van De Sluis [0026, 0023, 0065, 0051, 0070], the system can use training images of a scene including multiple devices; the system can then associate devices with respective identifiers of those devices);
determining a device identification of the target device (Tang Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0054, 0055, 0071, 0077, 0078, 0070], the system can determine a device to control to perform an action in accordance with the scene, geometry, user activity and/or user desire/intent; for example, a multimedia system 405, which is in the scene, can be made to radiate sound at a volume level that changes based on the user's proximity to the system e.g., see Figs. 4a, 4b, 9a, 9b, [0070-0071], 0050, 0051); and
sending a control instruction to the target device to control the target device (Tang [0043], a server may receive information regarding activities or scene geometry, and send processed data e.g., commands, to a local system/device to implement a response; see also claim 1, a control device that acquires and analyzes a scene image may adjust output of another device; these both require that a command be sent to the device; for example, see [0070-0071], in which volume of a media device 405 can be controlled in response; ; see also [0054], device can be controlled to direct video, optimize audio performance, control room conditions such as lighting, shading or temperature or any other suitable action);
the determining the device identification of the target device according to the corresponding relationship between device spatial positions and device identifications (Van De Sluis Abstract, [0051, 0057, 0071-0073, 0076-0080, 0081], the system can analyze an image with controllable devices, and then select an identifier associated with one of the devices; the device can then be controlled; [0068-0069, 0053, 0055], for example, the scene may have two devices e.g., lighting devices, and the device to be controlled may be the one that a user is looking at or has given attention to);
the control instruction carrying the device identification (Hall [0029], it is known, when sending a command instruction to a target device, to include in the command instruction identification for which the command is intended.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches wherein before acquiring the device spatial position of the target device (Van de Sluis Abstract, [0051, 0057, 0071-0073, 0076-0080, 0081], the system can analyze an image with controllable devices, and then select an identifier associated with one of the devices; the device can then be controlled; [0068-0069, 0053, 0055], for example, the scene may have two devices e.g., lighting devices, and the device to be controlled may be the one that a user is looking at or has given attention to), the method further comprises:
acquiring device spatial positions of devices; and
establishing the corresponding relationship between device identifications and device spatial positions (Van de Sluis [0026, 0023, 0065, 0051, 0070], the system can use training images of a scene including multiple devices; the system can then associate devices with respective identifiers of those devices).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches wherein the acquiring device spatial positions of devices comprises:
acquiring the device spatial positions of the devices according to a horizontal position and a vertical position of an image acquisition device as well as positions of the devices in an image (Tang Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0030-0031, 0054, 0055], cameras e.g., depth cameras, can obtain an image of a scene, inherently, the images that a camera captures are in accordance with the horizontal and vertical positions of the camera, and with the positions of devices in the captured image; see also Van de Sluis Figs. 2-4, the image that the camera system captures of a scene is affected by the position of the camera system).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches
wherein the acquiring a target device associated with the target object shown in the scene image comprises:
identifying at least one candidate device associated with the target object in the scene image; and
screening out at least one target device satisfying a device control condition from the at least one candidate device (Van De Sluis [0073, 0076, 0077-0081], the system may determine that multiple device identifiers are associated with an object in the image e.g., an object that should be controlled; the system applies criteria e.g., the device that is closest to a reference point. Those do not meet the criteria are removed from consideration).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches
wherein the acquiring a target scene type matching a target object in the scene image comprises:
identifying objects in the scene image;
when an object is identified as the target object, performing a scene identification on the scene image to obtain the scene type; and
taking the scene type as the target scene type (Tang Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0030-0031, 0054, 0055], the system can extract a scene geometry from the scene e.g., the locations of all elements and people/users in the scene; the scene can be interpreted to determine user activity and user intent/desire; Tang Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0054, 0055, 0071, 0077, 0078, 0070], the system can identify a user and a device to control to perform an action in accordance with the scene, geometry, user activity and/or user desire/intent; for example, a multimedia system 405, which is in the scene, can be made to radiate sound at a volume level that changes based on the user's proximity to the system e.g., see Figs. 4a, 4b, 9a, 9b, [0070-0071], 0050, 0051).
Regarding claim 15, he combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches
wherein the acquiring a target scene type matching a target object in the scene image comprises:
performing a scene identification on the scene image to obtain the scene type;
identifying objects in the scene image; and
when an object is identified as the target object, taking the scene type as the target scene type (Tang Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0030-0031, 0054, 0055], the system can extract a scene geometry from the scene e.g., the locations of all elements and people/users in the scene; the scene can be interpreted to determine user activity and user intent/desire; Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0054, 0055, 0071, 0077, 0078, 0070], the system can identify a user and a device to control to perform an action in accordance with the scene, geometry, user activity and/or user desire/intent; for example, a multimedia system 405, which is in the scene, can be made to radiate sound at a volume level that changes based on the user's proximity to the system e.g., see Figs. 4a, 4b, 9a, 9b, [0070-0071], 0050, 0051).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches wherein the performing a scene identification on the scene image comprises at least one of:
inputting the scene image into a scene identification model for identification, and obtaining the scene type of the scene image or
inputting a user posture feature in the scene image into a posture identification model for
identification, and obtaining the scene type corresponding to a current posture of a character (Tang Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0030-0031, 0054, 0055], the system can extract a scene geometry from the scene image e.g., the locations of all elements and people/users in the scene; the scene can be interpreted to determine user activity and user intent/desire; the above process can be considered a model; Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0054, 0055, 0071, 0077, 0078, 0070], the system can identify a user and a device to control to perform an action in accordance with the scene, geometry, user activity and/or user desire/intent; for example, a multimedia system 405, which is in the scene, can be made to radiate sound at a volume level that changes based on the user's proximity to the system e.g., see Figs. 4a, 4b, 9a, 9b, [0070-0071], 0050, 0051; Tang also teaches analyzing a user's gestures and orientation e.g., see Figs. 13-16, [0086-0088]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches wherein the object being identified as the target object comprises:
identifying objects contained in the scene image; and
when there are at least two objects, taking an object with a highest priority as the target object (Tang Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0030-0031, 0054, 0055], the system can extract a scene geometry from the scene image e.g., the locations of all elements and people/users in the scene; the scene can be interpreted to determine user activity and user intent/desire; Figs. 4a, 4b, Abstract, [0054, 0055, 0071, 0077, 0078, 0070], the system can identify a user and a device to control to perform an action in accordance with the scene, geometry, user activity and/or user desire/intent; for example, a multimedia system 405, which is in the scene, can be made to radiate sound at a volume level that changes based on the user's proximity to the system e.g., see Figs. 4a, 4b, 9a, 9b, [0070-0071], 0050, 0051; thus, given the above, the system identifies at least a user and a multimedia system; however, the user i.e., the user's activity and intentions/desires, take priority and determine what operations or devices are selected).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches
wherein before acquiring a scene image of a target space, the method further comprises:
receiving a usage state notification message sent by a user through a device; and
in response to the usage state notification message, triggering an execution process of device control (Tang [0082], at some point, a user may communicate with the system using a microphone or voice assistant device; the system then engages in an execution process e.g., attempts to understand the utterance or follow commands; naturally, such speech may occur at some point before the system capture an image of a scene, as described in connection with claim 1; see also [0070-0071], the system may capture multiple images, to determine the repeated movement of the user and change the operation of the system accordingly; any movement is a message sent by the user via a camera/sensor and received by a processor/system; see also [0084-0085, 0089, 0092]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches
wherein the acquiring a scene image of a target space comprises:
acquiring the scene image of the target space from an image acquisition device in the target space (Tang Figs. 4a, 4b, [0050-0051], the system 405 may detect the scene using, for example, a depth camera; it is also in the scene, as indicated in the figures; multiple sensors may also be used); or
obtaining the scene image by shooting the target space (Tang [0050-0053], cameras may capture images of the scene).
Regarding claim 22, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches a computing processing device, comprising:
a memory storing with computer readable codes; and
one or more processors, wherein when the computer readable codes are executed by the one or more processors (Tang Fig. 1, [0038-0039] describe a memory and processor; see also [0043-0044], which describe a server that can perform the operations of the invention).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches a non-transient computer-readable medium storing a computer program of the device control method (Tang Fig. 1, [0038-0039] describe a memory and processor; see also [0043-0044], which describe a server that can perform the operations of the invention).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles, as applied in claim 10, and further in view of Arora (US 2015/0215382).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches
wherein the screening out at least one target device satisfying a device control condition from the at least one candidate device comprises:
calculating a spatial distance between each candidate device and a reference point in the scene image; and
taking the candidate device having the spatial distance less than a first threshold as the target device (Van de Sluis [0073, 0076, 0077-0081], the system may determine that multiple device identifiers are associated with an object in the image e.g., an object that should be controlled; the system applies criteria e.g., the device that is closest to a reference point. Those do not meet the criteria are removed from consideration).
However, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles does not expressly disclose the reference point is the target object.
In the same field of endeavor, Arora teaches the reference point is the target object (Figs. 3A, 3B, [0016, 0034-0035, 0039], the system detects a user as the user moves around a home with multiple audio playback devices; the system detects which device the user is currently closest to, and transfers audio playback to that device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the reference point is the target object as suggested in Arora into Tang, Van de Sluis, Hall and Stoyles because Tang/Van de Sluis and Arora pertain to analogous fields of technology. Tang/Van De Sluis teaches a system in which a system monitors movements and actions of a user, and controls a device based on an inference regarding the needs of the user. In Tang/Van De Sluis, multiple devices may be viewed through a sensor or camera, and the system may select a particular device for control as the most appropriate based on whether it is the closest device to a reference point. Arora also pertains to a system that monitors a user and controls a device for the benefit of the user and based on an inference as to the user's intention or desires. In Arora, the system may select the device that is closest to the user, so that the playback of desired audio at the device can be more easily heard. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Tang/Van De Sluis, so that the system could also select devices to optimize the audio experience for a user e.g., see Arora Figs. 3A, 3B, [0016, 0034-0035, 0039].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. The combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles also teaches wherein the screening out at least one target device satisfying the device control condition from the at least one candidate device comprises:
calculating a spatial distance between each candidate device and a reference point the target object in the scene image; and
taking a candidate device that is turned off and has a distance to the target object less than a second threshold as the target device (Van de Sluis [0073, 0076, 0077-0081], the system may determine that multiple device identifiers are associated with an object in the image e.g., an object that should be controlled; the system applies criteria e.g., the device that is closest to a reference point. Those do not meet the criteria are removed from consideration).
However, the combination of Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles does not expressly disclose the candidate device that is turned off; the reference point is the target object.
In the same field of endeavor, Arora teaches
the candidate device that is turned off;
the reference point is the target object (Figs. 3A, 3B, [0016, 0034-0035, 0039], the system detects a user as the user moves around a home with multiple audio playback devices; the system detects which device the user is currently closest to, and transfers audio playback to that device; the speaker device was off i.e., not being utilized or playing, prior to having audio playback transferred to it).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the candidate device that is turned off; the reference point is the target object as suggested in Arora into Tang, Van de Sluis, Hall and Stoyles because Tang/Van de Sluis and Arora pertain to analogous fields of technology. Tang/Van De Sluis teaches a system in which a system monitors movements and actions of a user, and controls a device based on an inference regarding the needs of the user. In Tang/Van De Sluis, multiple devices may be viewed through a sensor or camera, and the system may select a particular device for control as the most appropriate based on whether it is the closest device to a reference point. Arora also pertains to a system that monitors a user and controls a device for the benefit of the user and based on an inference as to the user's intention or desires. In Arora, the system may select the device that is closest to the user, so that the playback of desired audio at the device can be more easily heard. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Tang/Van De Sluis, so that the system could also select devices to optimize the audio experience for a user e.g., see Arora Figs. 3A, 3B, [0016, 0034-0035, 0039].
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant's amendments to claims 1 and 22.
Regarding independent claims 1 and 22, the Applicant alleges that the cited prior art does not teach the amended limitation of "acquiring the device identification of the device type through a device discovery command." Examiner has therefore rejected claims 1 and 22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall and Stoyles. Applicant's remarks are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Applicant further alleges that claims 7-12, 14-16, 18-20 and 24 are allowable in view of their dependency on claim 1. Claims 7-12, 14-16, 18-20 and 24 are rejected as being taught by Tang, Van De Sluis, Hall, Stoyles and/or Arora.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tyagi (US 2018/0232553) teaches a scanning device sending a signal to each of multiple electronic devices; the electronic devices go into a particular mode, whereby each device presents a signal e.g., a visual indicia, an RF signal etc.; the scanning device can then read the signal and sense, detect and identify each device; the unique identification of each device is then associated with a network interface identifier and stored in memory e.g., see Tyagi [0030-0034].
/ERIC J YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118