Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 12-15 in the reply filed on 03/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that prosecution of all current claims simultaneously will not present a serious burden on the examiner because the groups of claims are linked by the concept of a leaf assembly used in water treatment. This is not found persuasive because as indicated in the restriction requirement office action there is a lack of unity because the groups do not share technical feature of leaf or mesh. The invention of group III (claims 12-15) is directed to an apparaus/system that can be used in assembling a leaf for filtration, however, the claims do not require a leaf.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/10/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the reference characters, sheet numbers, and view numbers must be oriented in the same direction as the view so as to avoid having to rotate the sheet. The labels “Figure 9a” and “Figure 9b” are not oriented in the same direction as the view.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Reference numeral “33” indicated in Figure 9b is not present in the specification.
Figures 9a and 9b includes shaded areas in the background resulting in hiding the lead lines of numerals making it unclear which parts of the figures are being referred to by the numerals 314, 318, 330, 331, and 335. Refer 37 CFR 1.84(l), (m) and (q).
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 12 recites two components, “a” and “b”, of a system. After the phrase “a glue applicator;”, there should be “and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation “wherein said glue applicator applies at least one glue layer in about one second to about 5 seconds” is indefinite because it recites method steps of using the apparatus of claim 12. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Regarding claim 15, the limitation “wherein said system assembles a leaf every 30 to 60 seconds” is indefinite because it recites method steps of using the apparatus of claim 12. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori et al. (JP 2002-102659, refer English translation for claim mapping).
Regarding claim 12, Kanamori teaches a system (refer fig. 1) (the limitation “for assembling a leaf for filtration” is intended use of the system/apparatus without imparting additional structure), comprising:
a. a glue application station (refer the station with adhesive application gun 27); said glue application station comprising: a glue applicator (27); and
b. a leaf fold station (refer station with folding means 15); said leaf fold station comprising: a gripper pin (refer 13a).
Kanamori does not teach that the leaf folding station comprising a pair of gripper pins. However, court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (refer In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). Providing one gripper pin or a plurality of gripper pins in the leaf folding station of Kanamori would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, Kanamori teaches limitations of claim 12 as set forth above. Kanamori further teaches that the fold station further comprises at least one crimping piston and at least one crimping block (refer fig. 10 disclosing creasing means 65 comprising cylinder devices 68,69 facilitating film press 66 to move downward to press membrane fold).
Regarding claim 14, Kanamori teaches limitations of claim 12 as set forth above. Kanamori teaches the system comprising a glue applicator (27). Kanamori further teaches that the adhesive application gun 27 is controlled by a scanning unit 30 capable of moving the gun 27 three-dimensionally (refer page 5/last paragraph). Optimizing speed of glue applicator would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation in order to achieve optimum application of glue. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori et al. (JP 2002-102659, refer English translation for claim mapping), in view of Adams et al. (CN1627978A, refer English translation for claim mapping).
Regarding claim 14, Kanamori teaches limitations of claim 12 as set forth above. Kanamori teaches the system comprising a glue applicator (27). Kanamori further teaches that the adhesive application gun 27 is controlled by a scanning unit 30 capable of moving the gun 27 three-dimensionally (refer page 5/last paragraph). Optimizing speed of glue applicator would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation in order to achieve optimum application of glue. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Adams disclosing glue application in manufacturing of filter screen where glue patterns can be controlled by appropriate sieve or net moving speed and/or the running speed and/or direction of appropriate control nozzle (Refer page 14-2nd paragraph). Adams establishes that net moving speed and/or the running speed and/or direction of appropriate control nozzle can be adjusted/optimized for glue patterns. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Optimizing speed of glue applicator would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation in order to achieve optimum application of glue.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanamori et al. (JP 2002-102659, refer English translation for claim mapping), in view of Jeong et al. (KR 102110073, refer English translation for claim mapping).
Regarding claim 15, Kanamori teaches limitations of claim 12 as set forth above. Kanamori does not teach that the system assembles a leaf every 30 to 60 seconds.
Jeong teaches an automated manufacturing system and method for a reverse osmosis filter module. To this end after cutting the base tricot fabric provided in-line, a leaf element modularized with a reverse osmosis membrane, space, and tricoat is stacked at the correct position on the base tricot, and a series of processes such as adhesive application, core tube rolling and subsequent leaf element stacking is automatically, interlinkedly performed (refer abstract). Jeong discloses that the automated system provides consistent quality, increase quality, minimize facility space, increase productivity, and increase staff efficiency (Refer page 2, last paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to automate the system of Kanamori to increase productivity as taught by Jeong. Optimizing the automated system to increase leaf production rate would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KR 20160037584 teaches a device and a system for manufacturing leaf element by interposing a mesh member (or a spacer) between reverse osmosis membrane sheets and automatically folding the reverse osmosis membrane sheets, and can improve productivity in a production process of the reverse osmosis filter module by automatically rolling and winding a carrier where the leaf element is stacked in order (abstract).
KR 102124211 teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a reverse osmosis filter module. The apparatus includes: a pre-alignment part configured to feed leaves in the form of sheets supplied from the outside and arrange the leaves on the front, rear, left, and right sides; an automatic stack part configured to support a tricot stack body including a plurality sheets of tricots, receive the leaves delivered from the pre-alignment part and insert the received leaf between the tricots, and form a stack body of a structure in which the tricots and the leaves are alternately stacked; and a rolling part configured to feed the stack body stacked in the automatic stack pat and wind the stack body on a hollow pipe type core tube (abstract).
/PRANAV N PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777