DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 9, 15-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 9 and 20, recite “wherein the polymer…is further reacted with an acyl compound…” However, claims 1, and 20 recite that the polymer is reacted with a (meth)acrylic anhydride, which contains two acyl groups already. Thus, it is unclear if the “acyl compound” is a different acyl compound or if the (meth)acrylic anhydride may also meet the acyl compound. For examination purposes, the claims are interpreted to be met by the (meth)acrylic anhydride.
Claims 15-18 are dependent claims which fail to alleviate the issues above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10, and 13, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12-22 of copending Application No. 18/683,593 (App. No. 18/683,593).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because App. No. 18/683,593 teaches each and every component and reads upon the claims in an anticipatory manner.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 10, and 13, App. No. 18/683,593 teaches a method of producing a resin comprising reacting a compound of formula (2)
(i.e. (meth)acrylic anhydride), with a raw resin having constituent units in group (4)
, in the presence of a basic compound, (See claims 12-18), wherein the basic compound is a potassium carbonate, rubidium carbonate or cesium carbonate (claim 21), wherein the raw resin has a Mn of 400-4000 and a Mw of 400-16000 (claim 19).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-9, 13, 14, 18, 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 110437439 A to Zhong et al. (hereinafter Zhong).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7-9, 13, 14, 18, 19, Zhong teaches an alkenyl terminate polyphenylene ether having the formula
. (page 1-2). The above is obtained by washing a double-ended hydroxylpolyphenylene ether having the formula
, wherein m and n are 0-5, R1-R5 are hydrogens or alkyl groups, with an alkaline aqueous solution, then subjecting the above to an end-capping reaction with an alkylating agent (page 2), wherein the alkaline aqueous solution contains potassium carbonate and the alkaline aqueous solution is used in a mass ratio amount of 1 : (5-100) to double-ended hydroxylpolyphenylene solution (page 4), and the solvent is toluene (Example 1), which meets the claimed aromatic hydrocarbon solvent of claim 8. The above is then mixed with methacrylate anhydride to the double-ended hydroxylpolyphenylene solution in a molar ratio of 1.3:1 (Example 1, page 5-6), which meets the ratio of claim 6. Zhong further teaches the alkaline aqueous solution specifically used is 40 mL of a 2mol/L potassium carbonate solution (Example 2, page 6). The above results in an alkenyl functionality polymer of 1.91, (See Example 1 of Table 1). Zhong also teaches using an alkaline aqueous solution effectively reduces monomer residue which greatly reduces the adverse reaction between the anhydride and residual monomers during the end-capping process, resulting in higher end-capping efficiency. (page 9-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110628013 A to Zhou et al. (hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10-14, Zhou teaches a bifunctional phosphorous-containing polyphenyl ether obtained by reacting a phosphorus-containing diphenol having the formula
,
, wherein m and n is 0 to 50, and R1-R4 are hydrogen or alkyl gourps (page 3), with a functional compound (page 3), in the presence of an acid-binding agent wherein the acid-binding agent is preferably potassium carbonate in a molar ratio of acid-binding agent to functional compound of 1:1 to 3:1 (page 4 and 7), resulting in the final formula
,
. (page 7). Specifically, in the example 8, a phosphorous-containing dihydroxypolyphenyl ether (hydroxyl content 0.065 mol) in a solvent of toluene, is reacted with methacrylic anhydride (0.0975 mol) (See example 8, page 10), wherein the phosphorous-containing dihydroxypolyphenyl ether has an average molecular weight of 3056, with a hydroxyl group mass of 1.10%, and 1.97 mol of OH per mol of polyphenyl ether, (page 9, Example 4), which correlates to ~1551.3 g/eq OH, and meets the polymer cited in claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 10-12, 14.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to react example 8 of Zhou in the presence of potassium carbonate because Zhou teaches the reaction with the functional group occurs in the presence of an acid-binding agent wherein the acid-binding agent is preferably potassium carbonate in a molar ratio of acid-binding agent to functional compound of 1:1 to 3:1 (page 4 and 7). (“The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination.” See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claims 3, 9, 15-20, Zhou teaches that the methacrylic anhydride is continuously added by dripping into the reaction mixture. (Example 8). The above methacrylic anhydride also meets the claimed “acyl compound” and as it is further dripped into the reaction, this meets the “further” reaction with an acyl compound.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-16, 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0367647 A1 to Li et al. (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, 9-11, 13, 15-16, 18, Li teaches the chemical equation 4
, wherein the reaction occurs in the presence of an alkaline catalyst, wherein examples of the alkaline catalyst include potassium carbonate (para 33-34). Specifically, in embodiment 11, the 1 g of PPO bisphenol oligomer III has a Mn of 3845g/mol, a Mw of 5149 g/mol, is reacted with 0.4998 g of methacrylic anhydride with 0.01 g of alkaline catalyst (sodium acetate) in a solution of dimethylacetamide (DMac) (para 58). The above PPO bisphenol oligomer III has 2 OH groups per polymer chain and thus, has a hydroxy value of 1922.5 g/OH eq, which meets claims 4-5.
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use potassium carbonate as the alkaline catalyst of embodiment 11 of Li because Li teaches the suitable examples of the alkaline catalyst include potassium carbonate (para 33-34). (“The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination.” See MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766