DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redaelli (EP 0695917 B1) and in view of Su (US 2008/0083240 A1) and further in view of De Ferranti (US 0409182 A).
In regards to claims 1 and 3, Redaelli discloses an air conditioner pipeline (flexible connecting pipeline 15 of air conditioner, see figs. 1-4 and abstract) comprising:
a pipe body (body of element 15 including walls and spaces within, see fig. 3), wherein a flow channel (refrigerant flow pipe portions 17, 22, see figs. 3-4) for a refrigerant to flow (refrigerant flow from heat exchanger 6 to compressor 2, see fig. 4) is formed by an inner side of a pipe wall (pipe portion 17 on the inner side of at least pipe wall 26, see fig. 3) of the pipe body (see figs. 3-4); the pipe wall of the pipe body is provided with at least two conductive parts (plurality of electric cables 27 withing pipe body, see fig. 3) and insulating parts (insulation ribs 29 and/or wall 26); the conductive parts (cables 27) are configured to transmit heat for the spaces of the air conditioner via electrical cables (conduct electrical heating for refrigerant of the air conditioner, see paragraphs 18-20 and claim 3); and the insulating parts (29 and/or 26) are configured to realize insulation between the conductive parts (29 between cables 27, see figs. 3-4; claim 3; and paragraphs 18-19); wherein the pipe wall of the pipe body directly forms the conductive parts as power transmission lines (electric cables 27 formed between the internal and external surfaces of the pipe walls 17 and 26 respectively, see fig. 3); and the conductive parts (cables 27) are made of conductors (claim 5 and col. 2, lines 36-39) and the conductive parts are configured as electricity and heat transmission lines (conduct electrical heating for refrigerant of the air conditioner, see paragraphs 18-20 and claim 3); and the insulating parts (29 and/or 26) are configured to realize insulation between the conductive parts (29 between cables 27, see figs. 3-4; claim 3; and paragraphs 18-19).
However, Redaelli does not explicitly teach power transmission by conductive part.
Su teaches a pipe body (13) with conductive power lines (33) configured to transmit power (see power lines 33 for power transmission, paragraphs 18, 20 and claim 1) to the air conditioner (power lines 33 transmitting power to the air conditioner, see paragraphs 8, 18, 20; claim 1 and fig. 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a power transmitting conductive lines as taught by Su within the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli in order to allow easy, compact and aesthetically pleasing installation of air conditioner by having loose wiring and tubes contained within a small, insulated space of a pipe body to prevent natural or accidental damage to the power cable or fluid flow tubes (see paragraphs 5-6, Su).
Redailli discloses that conductive parts are electric conductors (27, see claim 4); and Su teaches that the conductive parts are configured as power transmission lines (power lines 33, fig. 3, Su).
However, Redaelli does not explicitly teach that the conductors are metallic (for claims 1 and 3).
De Ferranti teaches electrical power transmitting conductors that are made of metal (see page 2, lines 46-49).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided metal power transmitting conductive lines as taught by De Ferranti as electric power transmitting conductors within the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli as modified because metals are good conductors of electric power and offer low resistance to power transmission.
In regards to claim 2, Redaelli as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a partition plate (partition wall 26) arranged on the inner side of the pipe wall of the pipe body (extending between the inner walls of element 15, see fig. 3) and configured to at least partition the flow channel (17, 22) for the refrigerant to flow into a first flow channel (21) and a second flow channel (17), wherein the first flow channel (21) is configured to convey a liquid refrigerant (liquid refrigerant from condenser 7 passing through at least part of channel 21, see fig. 4 and paragraph 14), and the second flow channel (17) is configured to convey a gaseous refrigerant (gaseous refrigerant from evaporator 6, passing through conduit 17, see fig. 4 and paragraphs 13-19).
In regards to claim 10, Redaelli as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches that the length extending directions of the conductive parts (27) and the insulating parts (29, 26) are consistent with a length extending direction of the pipe body (length extending direction of element 15 is same as extending length of 27, 26, 29, see figs. 1-4 and paragraph 15).
In regards to claim 11, Redaelli as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches an air conditioner (air conditioner 1, see figs. 1, 2 and 4), comprising the air conditioner pipeline (15).
Claim 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redaelli in view of Su and De Ferranti as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Jackson (US 9,959,954 B1).
In regards to claim 4, Redaelli as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches that wherein the at least two conductive parts (conductors 27, see fig. 3 and claim 4) comprise a first conductive part (27) and a second conductive part (27) which surround a central axis of the pipe body at intervals (see below annotated fig. 3); the insulating parts (29) are arranged between the first conductive part and the second conductive part (29 between separated 27s, see fig. 3); the first conductive part (27) and the second conductive part (27) are made of metal conductive materials; and the first conductive part (27) is configured as a live wire, and the second conductive part (27) is configured as a live wire.
However, Redaelli does not explicitly teach that the conductors are metallic.
De Ferranti teaches electrical power transmitting conductors that are made of metal (see page 2, lines 46-49).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided metal power transmitting conductive lines as taught by De Ferranti as electric power transmitting conductors within the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli as modified because metals are good conductors of electric power and offer low resistance to power transmission.
Redaelli also does not explicitly teach a neutral wire along with the conductors.
However, Jackson teaches that the assembly of pipe body (100) includes conductor wires (121, 123, 105, see fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 3-21) and a neutral wire (ground conductor 101, see fig. 1 and col. 4, lines 3-21).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided neutral wire as taught by Jackson within the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli as modified in order to protect maintenance personnel, air conditioner pipes and refrigerant transmitting equipment from experiencing electrical shock due to power surges and short circuits.
Claims 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redaelli in view of Su and De Ferranti as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Schmid (DE 102010034066 A1).
In regards to claim 5, Redaelli as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 except a communication part, wherein the insulating parts are around the communication part and the communication part is configured as a communication transmission line to transmit a communication signal.
However, Schmid teaches a pipe wall of the pipe body (12) provided with a communication part (data lines 18, 20); the communication part (data lines 18, 20) and the conductive parts (current lines 20, 18) surround the central axis of the pipe body (see fig. 2) at intervals (see fig. 2); the insulating parts (insulating wall portion 14) are further configured to realize insulation between the communication part (18, 20) and the conductive parts (insulating wall portion 14 between 20 and 18, see fig. 2); and the communication part (18, 20) is configured as a communication transmission line to transmit a communication signal to the air conditioner (see abstract; claim 1 and page 4, paragraphs 1-3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli as modified by providing a communication part, wherein the communication part and the conductive parts surround the central axis of the pipe body at intervals; the insulating parts insulate between the communication part and the conductive parts; and the communication part is configured as a communication transmission line to transmit a communication signal to the air conditioner based on the teachings of Schmid for the advantage of conveniently directing power and data lines of the air conditioner from one location to another without requiring plurality of wiring and tubing harnesses (see page 2, paragraph 2, Schmid).
In regards to claim 6, Redaelli as modified teaches the limitations of claim 5 except that the transmission line is made of metal.
However, De Ferranti teaches electrical power transmitting conductors that are made of metal (see page 2, lines 46-49).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli as modified by providing metal data transmitting conductive lines based on the teachings of De Ferranti because metals are good conductors of electric signals and offer low resistance to power transmission.
Claim 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redaelli in view of Su and De Ferranti as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Schmid (DE 102010034066 A1).
In regards to claim 7, Redaelli as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches that the conductive parts (conductors 27, see fig. 3 and claim 4) comprise a first conductive part (27) and a second conductive part (27), which surround a central axis of the pipe body at intervals (see below annotated fig. 3); the insulating parts (29) include a first insulating part (rib 29 between conductive parts 27, see fig. 3) arranged between the first conductive part and the second conductive part (29 between separated 27s, see fig. 3); and the insulating parts include second and third insulating parts (additional ribs 29, see fig. 3).
However, Redaelli does not explicitly teach a communication part, wherein the additional insulating parts are around the communication part.
Schmid teaches a pipe wall of the pipe body (12) provided with a communication part (data lines 18, 20); the communication part (data lines 18, 20) and the conductive parts (current lines 20, 18) surround the central axis of the pipe body (see fig. 2) at intervals (see fig. 2); the insulating parts (insulating wall portion 14) are further configured to realize insulation between the communication part (18, 20) and the conductive parts (insulating wall portion 14 between 20 and 18, see fig. 2); and the communication part (18, 20) is configured as a communication transmission line to transmit a communication signal to the air conditioner (see abstract; claim 1 and page 4, paragraphs 1-3); wherein, the insulating parts comprise a first insulating part, a second insulating part and a third insulating part (see below annotated fig. 2); the first insulating part (see below annotated fig. 2) is arranged between the first conductive part (18) and the second conductive part (see insulating part between electrodes 18, below annotated fig. 2); the second insulating part (see below annotated fig. 2) is arranged between the first conductive part (18) and the communication part (insulating part between 18 and 20, see below annotated fig. 2); and the third insulating part (see below annotated fig. 2) is arranged between the second conductive part (additional conductive parts 18) and the communication part (see below annotated fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli as modified by providing a communication part, wherein the communication part and the conductive parts surround the central axis of the pipe body at intervals; the insulating parts insulate between the communication part and the conductive parts; and second and third insulating parts, wherein the first insulating part is arranged between the first conductive part and the second conductive part; the second insulating part is arranged between the first conductive part and the communication part; and the third insulating part is arranged between the second conductive part and the communication part based on the teachings of Schmid for the advantage of conveniently directing power and data lines of the air conditioner from one location to another while protecting the communication and conducting lines from coming in contact with each other and without requiring plurality of wiring and tubing harnesses (see page 2, paragraph 2, Schmid).
Claims 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redaelli in view of Su and De Ferranti as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Whitney et al. (US 5484300 A).
In regards to claims 8 and 9, Redaelli as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 except that the conductive parts comprise copper metal and the conductive parts and insulating parts are integrally extruded.
However, Whitney teaches conductive material is made of copper metal (see claims 6 and 11); and the tubular conductor enclosures (162) of the electrical conductors (166) are extruded (see col. 6, lines 14-19).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided copper metal conductive parts that are integrally extruded based on the teachings of Whitney to the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli as modified because copper metal is a good conductor of electric signals and offers low resistance to power transmission.
It would have also been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have produced the conductive parts and the insulating parts by the method of integrally extruding the metal conductive and insulating materials because even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP 2113).
Claims 1, 3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redaelli (EP 0695917 B1) and in view of Su (US 2008/0083240 A1) and further in view of De Ferranti (US 0409182 A) and Schmid (DE 102010034066 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 3, Redaelli discloses an air conditioner pipeline (flexible connecting pipeline 15 of air conditioner, see figs. 1-4 and abstract) comprising:
a pipe body (body of element 15 including walls and spaces within, see fig. 3), wherein a flow channel (refrigerant flow pipe portions 17, 22, see figs. 3-4) for a refrigerant to flow (refrigerant flow from heat exchanger 6 to compressor 2, see fig. 4) is formed by an inner side of a pipe wall (pipe portion 17 on the inner side of at least pipe wall 26, see fig. 3) of the pipe body (see figs. 3-4); the pipe wall of the pipe body is provided with at least two conductive parts (plurality of electric cables 27 withing pipe body, see fig. 3) and insulating parts (insulation ribs 29 and/or wall 26); the conductive parts (cables 27) are configured to transmit heat for the spaces of the air conditioner via electrical cables (conduct electrical heating for refrigerant of the air conditioner, see paragraphs 18-20 and claim 3); and the insulating parts (29 and/or 26) are configured to realize insulation between the conductive parts (29 between cables 27, see figs. 3-4; claim 3; and paragraphs 18-19); wherein the pipe wall of the pipe body directly forms the conductive parts as power transmission lines (electric cables 27 formed between the internal and external surfaces of the pipe walls 17 and 26 respectively, see fig. 3); and the conductive parts (cables 27) are made of conductors (claim 5 and col. 2, lines 36-39) and the conductive parts are configured as electricity and heat transmission lines (conduct electrical heating for refrigerant of the air conditioner, see paragraphs 18-20 and claim 3); and the insulating parts (29 and/or 26) are configured to realize insulation between the conductive parts (29 between cables 27, see figs. 3-4; claim 3; and paragraphs 18-19); wherein
the conductive parts (conductors 27, see fig. 3 and claim 4) comprise a first conductive part (27) and a second conductive part (27), which surround a central axis of the pipe body at intervals (see below annotated fig. 3); the insulating parts (29) include a first insulating part (rib 29 between conductive parts 27, see fig. 3) arranged between the first conductive part and the second conductive part (29 between separated 27s, see fig. 3); and the insulating parts include second and third insulating parts (additional ribs 29, see fig. 3).
However, Redaelli does not explicitly teach power transmission by conductive part.
Su teaches a pipe body (13) with conductive power lines (33) configured to transmit power (see power lines 33 for power transmission, paragraphs 18, 20 and claim 1) to the air conditioner (power lines 33 transmitting power to the air conditioner, see paragraphs 8, 18, 20; claim 1 and fig. 5).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a power transmitting conductive lines as taught by Su within the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli in order to allow easy, compact and aesthetically pleasing installation of air conditioner by having loose wiring and tubes contained within a small, insulated space of a pipe body to prevent natural or accidental damage to the power cable or fluid flow tubes (see paragraphs 5-6, Su).
Redailli discloses that conductive parts are electric conductors (27, see claim 4); and Su teaches that the conductive parts are configured as power transmission lines (power lines 33, fig. 3, Su).
Redaelli also does not explicitly teach that the conductors are metallic (for claim 3).
De Ferranti teaches electrical power transmitting conductors that are made of metal (see page 2, lines 46-49).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided metal power transmitting conductive lines as taught by De Ferranti as electric power transmitting conductors within the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli as modified because metals are good conductors of electric power and offer low resistance to power transmission.
Redaelli also does not explicitly teach that the pipe wall forms conductive parts.
However, Schmid teaches a pipe wall of the pipe body (12) provided with a communication part (data lines 18, 20); the communication part (data lines 18, 20) and the conductive parts (current lines 20, 18), wherein the pipe wall directly forms the conductive parts (see below annotated fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli as modified by providing the pipe wall such that the pipe wall directly forms the conductive part based on the teachings of Schmid in order to insulate the conductive parts with the walls of the pipe wall to increase heat transfer efficiency while reducing the size of the pipe.
In regards to claim 7, Redaelli as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches that the conductive parts (conductors 27, see fig. 3 and claim 4) comprise a first conductive part (27) and a second conductive part (27), which surround a central axis of the pipe body at intervals (see below annotated fig. 3); the insulating parts (29) include a first insulating part (rib 29 between conductive parts 27, see fig. 3) arranged between the first conductive part and the second conductive part (29 between separated 27s, see fig. 3); and the insulating parts include second and third insulating parts (additional ribs 29, see fig. 3).
However, Redaelli does not explicitly teach a communication part, wherein the additional insulating parts are around the communication part.
Schmid teaches a pipe wall of the pipe body (12) provided with a communication part (data lines 18, 20); the communication part (data lines 18, 20) and the conductive parts (current lines 20, 18) surround the central axis of the pipe body (see fig. 2) at intervals (see fig. 2); the insulating parts (insulating wall portion 14) are further configured to realize insulation between the communication part (18, 20) and the conductive parts (insulating wall portion 14 between 20 and 18, see fig. 2); and the communication part (18, 20) is configured as a communication transmission line to transmit a communication signal to the air conditioner (see abstract; claim 1 and page 4, paragraphs 1-3); wherein, the insulating parts comprise a first insulating part, a second insulating part and a third insulating part (see below annotated fig. 2); the first insulating part (see below annotated fig. 2) is arranged between the first conductive part (18) and the second conductive part (see insulating part between electrodes 18, below annotated fig. 2); the second insulating part (see below annotated fig. 2) is arranged between the first conductive part (18) and the communication part (insulating part between 18 and 20, see below annotated fig. 2); and the third insulating part (see below annotated fig. 2) is arranged between the second conductive part (additional conductive parts 18) and the communication part (see below annotated fig. 2).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the pipe body of the air conditioner pipeline of Redaelli as modified by providing a communication part, wherein the communication part and the conductive parts surround the central axis of the pipe body at intervals; the insulating parts insulate between the communication part and the conductive parts; and second and third insulating parts, wherein the first insulating part is arranged between the first conductive part and the second conductive part; the second insulating part is arranged between the first conductive part and the communication part; and the third insulating part is arranged between the second conductive part and the communication part based on the teachings of Schmid for the advantage of conveniently directing power and data lines of the air conditioner from one location to another while protecting the communication and conducting lines from coming in contact with each other and without requiring plurality of wiring and tubing harnesses (see page 2, paragraph 2, Schmid).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "Schmid teaches conductive parts (18, 20) as part of the inner wall 14, which would require the inner wall to be thickened and increase diameter of the pipe; however, in this application, pipe wall directly forms the power transmission line," examiner rejects the amended claims in view of Redaelli in view of Su and Schmid because Schmid teaches conductor lines (18, 20) as part of the walls and directly formed within the cavities of the pipe walls (see fig. 2, Schmid). The claims require a pipe wall within includes two conductive parts within the wall, which form part of the wall; and which Schmid discloses in figure 2 (conductors 18, 20 forming part of pipe wall 14, fig. 2). In addition, the instant application does not disclose size and strength of the conductors with respect to the pipe wall and the effects of change in size of the conductor with respect to the sizer of the pipe wall.
In response to applicant's argument, "cited prior art does no teach thermal coupling because thermal coupling arises due to integrated conductive parts within pipe walls," examiner maintains the rejection of claims and points out that Schmid teaches integration of conductors (18, 20) within the walls of the pipe (14, fig. 2); therefore, Schmid would contain the thermal coupling benefit inherent to the pipe structures, where pipe wall includes conductors.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763