DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Karner (US 2019/0036178 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Karner discloses an apparatus comprising: a battery pack 200 comprising cells 100 and sensor pads 120 attached to an external surface of the cells (see Figure 2A and paragraph 34); a battery control system that can measure and operate based off of voltage (paragraphs 41 and 117). The cells are in parallel (paragraph 31). The recitation “having resistance values which vary according to an applied pressure” is piezoresistivity and considered a fundamental property and intrinsic to Karner.
Regarding claim 2, Karner discloses each sensing pad a first wire connected to the positive terminal and a second wire connected to the negative terminal (paragraph 36).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, the Office considers the claimed recitation to be fundamental property (piezoresistivity) and intrinsic to Karner.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Karner discloses that the control system can compare actual cell voltage measurement data with theoretical calculated voltage data and provide a notice or take action if the two differ by a predetermined amount (paragraph 121).
Regarding claim 8, Karner discloses an apparatus comprising: a battery pack 200 comprising cells 100 and sensor pads 120 attached to an external surface of the cells (see Figure 2A and paragraph 34); a battery control system that can measure and operate based off of voltage (paragraphs 41 and 117). The cells are in parallel (paragraph 31). Karner discloses each sensing pad a first wire connected to the positive terminal and a second wire connected to the negative terminal (paragraph 36). The recitation “having resistance values which vary according to an applied pressure” is piezoresistivity and considered a fundamental property and intrinsic to Karner.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the Office considers the claimed recitation to be fundamental property (piezoresistivity) and intrinsic to Karner.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Laramie (US 2023/00118071 A1).
Laramie discloses an apparatus comprising: a battery pack 100 comprising cells 110 and sensor pads 130 attached to an external surface of the cells (see Figure 4 and paragraphs 53 & 54); a battery control system that can measure and operate based off of voltage (paragraph 58). The sensors are piezoelectric (paragraph 88) which has the claimed properties.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karner as applied to claims 2 and 8 above, respectively, and further in view of Cho (US 2017/0179542 A1).
Karner does not disclose how the wires are fixed. Cho—in an invention for a battery with voltage sensors and BMS—discloses adhesive coated onto the sensor and its wires so as to fix the elements to the battery module thereby providing an aesthetically pleasing appearance to the battery module, preventing the increase of cost due to the use of the adhesive or the adhesive tape, and improving tact time through the simple and uniform manufacturing process of pushing the voltage sensing wires from above to fix the voltage sensing wires (paragraph 18). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to coat the sensor and wires of Karner with adhesive for the advantages disclosed in Cho.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725