DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 16-19, 21, 22, 28, and 30 are pending for this Office Action. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 16-19, 21, 22, and 30 in the reply filed on 02/19/2026 is acknowledged. Claim 28 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 10, 13, 14, 16-19, 21, 22, and 30 are under consideration for this Office Action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 6, 10, 13, 14, 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al ( DE 102018105115 A1 , Google Patent translation used for citation ) . Claim 1 : Wang discloses an electrochemical cell (see e.g. abstract) comprising: a first electrode (see e.g. #52 on Fig 6) ; a membrane (see e.g. #50 on Fig 5) ; and a plurality of interconnecting layers positioned between the first electrode and the membrane (see e.g. #58 on Fig 6) , wherein the plurality of interconnecting layers comprise a local interconnecting layer positioned adjacent to the membrane (see e.g. #14 on Fig 3 and Fig 6) and a global interconnecting layer positioned adjacent to the first electrode (see e.g. #10 on Fig 3 and Fig 6) , wherein the global interconnecting layer provides flow field channels for fluid flow in and out of the electrochemical cell (see e.g. page 29, paragraph starting with “In other words”) , wherein patterned lines or line segments of the global interconnecting layer have diameters or widths as measured along a plane of the global interconnecting layer that is greater than diameters or widths of patterned lines or line segments of the local interconnecting layer as measured along a plane of the local interconnecting layer (see e.g. Fig 3 , and page 29, paragraph starting with “In other words” ; page 42 ), wherein the plurality of interconnecting layers provides a vertical conduction in a direction extending along an axis running between the first electrode and the membrane (see e.g. Fig 6 and page 29, paragraph starting with “In other words”) . Claim 6 : Wang discloses that the local interconnecting layer of the plurality of interconnecting layers comprises a substrate (see e.g. #14 on Fig 3 and Fig 5) that is coated with an oxidation-resistant composition (see e.g . #42 on Fig 5; page 30, paragraph starting with “Furthermore, it is advantageous”) . Claim 10 : Wang discloses that the local interconnecting layer of the plurality of interconnecting layers comprises an oxidation-resistant metal (see e.g. page 31, paragraph starting with “The carrier”). Claim 13 : Wang discloses that the patterned lines of the local interconnecting layer extend in a same direction (see e.g. #14 on Fig 3) , ) , wherein the diameters or the widths of the line segments of the material in the local interconnecting layer is in a range of 10 microns (0.01 mm, see e.g. see e.g. page 42, paragraph starting with “carrier element layer 14”) , and wherein the local interconnecting layer comprises openings between adjacent segments of the material in a range of 30 microns as measured along the plane of the local interconnecting layer (0.03 mm, see e.g. see e.g. page 42, paragraph starting with “carrier element layer 14”) . Claim 14 : Wang discloses that the local interconnecting layer comprises a mesh or web pattern of material having openings in the local interconnecting layer between connected line segments of the material (see e.g. #14 on Fig 3; page 42, paragraph starting with “carrier element layer 14) , wherein the diameters or the widths of the line segments of the material in the local interconnecting layer is in a range of 10 microns (0.01 mm, see e.g. see e.g. page 42, paragraph starting with “carrier element layer 14”) , and wherein the local interconnecting layer comprises openings between adjacent segments of the material in a range of 30 microns as measured along the plane of the local interconnecting layer (0.03 mm, see e.g. see e.g. page 42, paragraph starting with “carrier element layer 14”) . Claim 19 : Wang discloses that the plurality of interconnecting layers further comprises a mid-level interconnecting layer positioned between the local interconnecting layer and the global interconnecting layer (see e.g. #12 on Fig 3). Claim 21 : Wang discloses that the local interconnecting layer, the mid-level interconnecting layer, and the global interconnecting layer each comprises patterned lines of material (see e.g. Fig 3) , wherein the diameters or the widths of the patterned lines of the global interconnecting layer as measured along the plane of the global interconnecting layer are greater than diameters or widths of the patterned lines of the mid-level interconnecting layer as measured along a plane of the mid-level interconnecting layer, and wherein the diameters or the widths of the patterned lines of the mid-level interconnecting layer are greater than the diameters or the widths of the patterned lines of the local interconnecting layer as measured along the plane of the local interconnecting layer (see e.g. page 42) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/ 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness . This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a ) (1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Wang. Claim 30 : The limitations claiming that “ the electrochemical cell is configured to operate with 200 mV or less of pure resistive loss when operating at a current density of at least 3 Amps/cm 2 ” describes a property of the cell. The instant specification does not state that this property comes from any unclaimed structure not already claimed in in claim 30 or claim 1. Therefore, Wang would also have this property because Wang discloses all of the positively recited structure of the claim even if it is not explicitly taught. Alternatively , it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that Wang has substantially similar properties as the instant invention, including the above limitations, because Wang discloses all of the positively recited structure of the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 Claim(s) 4, 7, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang. Claim 4 : Wang discloses that the local interconnecting layer of the plurality of interconnecting layers comprises an oxidation-resistant metal, and wherein the oxidation-resistant metal can comprise titanium (see e.g. page 31, paragraph starting with “The carrier”). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select titanium from the list of Wang because KSR rationale E states that it is obvious to choose ‘ from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success ’ and MPEP § 2144.07 states ‘ The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) ’. Claim 7 : Wang discloses that the oxidation-resistant composition can be Pt . It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select platinum from the list of Wang because KSR rationale E states that it is obvious to choose ‘ from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success ’ and MPEP § 2144.07 states ‘ The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) ’. Claim 22 : Wang discloses that the diameters or the widths of the patterned lines of the mid-level interconnecting layer are in a range of 10 microns to 1 mm as measured along a plane of the mid-level interconnecting layer (see e.g. page 42, paragraph starting with “The dimensions”) , and wherein the global interconnecting layer comprises openings between adjacent lines of the material in a range of 50 microns to 12 mm as measured along the plane of the mid- level interconnecting layer (see e.g. page 42, paragraph staring with “The dimensions”), overlapping the claimed range. Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Yakumaru et al ( US 20180187319 A1 ). Claim 16 : Wang discloses that different mesh structures can be used to change the porosity of the layers (see e.g. page 29, paragraph starting with “In other words”). Wang does not explicitly teach that the patterned lines or the line segments of the local interconnecting layer extend in a first direction, and wherein the patterned lines or the line segments of the global interconnecting layer extend in a second direction different from the first direction. Yakumaru discloses an electrochemical cell comprising a plurality of interconnecting layers (see e.g. abstract and Fig 3), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a)I). The interconnecting layers of Yakumaru have a “different arrangement patterns” to yield an arbitrary gas flow to improve gas diffusivity (see e.g. [0052]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the cell of Wang so that the patterned lines or the line segments of the local interconnecting layer extend in a first direction, and wherein the patterned lines or the line segments of the global interconnecting layer extend in a second direction different from the first direction as taught in Yakumaru to improve gas diffusivity. Claim 17 : Wang in view of Yakumaru teaches that the diameters or the widths of the patterned lines or the line segments of the global interconnecting layer are 1mm as m easured along the plane of the global interconnecting layer (see e.g. page 42, paragraph starting with “The dimensions”) , and wherein the global interconnecting layer comprises openings between adjacent lines of material in a range of 6 mm as measured along the plane of the local interconnecting layer (see e.g. page 42, paragraph starting with “The dimensions”). Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Wang et al ( US 20170141415 A1 , refe r r ed to as Joos herein). Claim 18 : Wang does not explicitly teach that the global interconnecting layer of the plurality of interconnecting layers comprises a single metallic structure (see e.g. Fig 2) Wang does not explicitly teach that the global interconnecting layer has a plurality of fins extending in the direction of the axis running between the first electrode and the membrane, and wherein the fins provide the flow field channels for the electrochemical cell. Joos teaches an electrochemical cell having interconnecting layers (see e.g. abstract), making it analogous art (see MPEP § 2141.01(a)I). The layer of Joos comprises a plurality of fins (“ridges”) extending in the direction of the axis running between the first electrode and the membrane, and wherein the fins provide the flow field channels for the electrochemical cell (see e.g. abstract and Fig 3) which yields a flow field with “minimal constraints provided by the gas flow field” that “also help the membrane withstand transmembrane pressure differential reversals or fluctuations” (see e.g. [0008]. Therefore, Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the cell of Wang so that the global interconnecting layer has a plurality of fins extending in the direction of the axis running between the first electrode and the membrane, and wherein the fins provide the flow field channels for the electrochemical cel l as taught i n Joos because this configuration which yields a flow field with minimal constraints provided by the gas flow field that also help the membrane withstand transmembrane pressure differential reversals or fluctuations. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ALEXANDER W KEELING whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-9961 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Luan Van can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-8521 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALEXANDER W KEELING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795