DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
The Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 1/27/2026. The objection to the Drawings is withdrawn in light of the amendments. Claim 2 is cancelled. Accordingly, Claims 1 and 3-12 are pending for consideration in this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 1/27/2026. These drawings are Figure 1 and Figure 3.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A first driving member in Claim 1
The first driving member 820 is a turbine. Applicant Specification, 0062.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding Claim 1, applicant has added the limitation “the compressor is directly connected to the gas storage reservoir” to claim 1. The term directly is understood to mean connection between two elements or the interaction relationship between two elements without an intermediate element. In Figure 1 a first valve 610 on pipeline 361 sits between gas storage reservoir 100 and first compressor 310. Paragraphs 0070 and 0073 of the originally filed specification describe where first valve 610 is closed and opened during storing and releasing of energy. There is nothing in the originally filed claims, specification or drawings to support this newly added limitation. Thus, the newly added limitation is deemed to be NEW MATTER.
Claims 2-12 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claims 1 and 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation “directly” is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite.
The terms “directly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Thus, as used to qualify the relationship between the compressor to the gas storage reservoir and the relationship between the condenser and the liquid storage tank, the term renders the same indeterminate and the claim (and all claims depending therefrom) indefinite with regard to the scope of protection sought thereby.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation “the compressor is directly connected to the gas storage reservoir” renders the claim unclear.
In particular, the claim recites more than one compressor where “at least two compression energy storage members, each compression energy storage member comprises a compressor” therefore the claim is unclear to which compressor connects to the gas storage reservoir.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as - - one of the compressors is directly connected to the gas storage reservoir - - for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The listing of claims will replace all prior versions and listings of claims in the application:
Claims 1, 3-5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadacini (US20230175418A1) in view of Zhang (CN102305206A)
Regarding Claim 1, Spadacini, in light of indefiniteness, teaches a multi-stage compression energy storage device configured to convert thermal energy to mechanical energy based on CO2 gas-liquid phase transition [energy generation and storage plant 1 that operates with a working fluid of carbon dioxide; 0189], the multi-stage compression energy storage device comprising:
a gas storage reservoir [casing 5, Figure 5] configured to store gaseous carbon dioxide [where casing 5 contains the working fluid at atmospheric pressure; 0193], a volume of the gas storage reservoir being variable [where casing 5 preferably defined by a pressure-balloon made of flexible material; 0193], and a pressure difference between an air pressure in the gas storage reservoir and an outside atmosphere being less than 1000Pa [where the casing 5 maintains working fluid at atmospheric pressure or substantially atmospheric pressure; 0193];
a liquid storage tank [a tank 9, Figure 5] configured to store liquid carbon dioxide [where tank 9 stores working fluid in liquid phase; 0215];
an energy storage assembly configured to store energy and provided between the gas storage reservoir and the liquid storage tank [heat exchanger 10, compressor 3, and intercooling heat exchangers of compressor 3, Figure 5], wherein the energy storage assembly comprises a condenser [secondary heat exchanger 10, Figure 5] and at least two compression energy storage members [compressor 3, Figure 5], each compression energy storage member comprises a compressor [where compressor 3 has three compressor stages 3, Figure 5; 0234] and an energy storage heat exchanger [intercooling heat exchangers 322 coupled to compressor 3, Figure 5; 0235], the compressor is connected to the gas storage reservoir [at 3a, Figure 5] and is configured to compress the carbon dioxide flowing from the gas storage reservoir [where intercooling heat exchangers 322 are coupled to compressor 3, Figure 5; 0235], the condenser is connected to the liquid storage tank [where secondary heat exchanger 10 is between the primary heat exchanger and tank 9 in line 12a and 12b, Figure 5; 0233], and the condenser is configured to condense the carbon dioxide flowing from the compressor [where the secondary heat exchanger 10, works as a cooler; 0215; where tank stores working fluid from the outlet of compressor 3b in liquid phase, Figure 5; 0215];
an energy releasing assembly provided between the gas storage reservoir and the liquid storage tank [heat exchanger 220, expander 2 and heat exchanger 13, Figure 5] and comprising an evaporator [where heat exchanger 220 receives heat; 0202] and at least one expansion energy releasing member [turbine 2 and heat exchanger 13, Figure 5], wherein the expansion energy releasing member comprises an energy releasing heat exchanger [heat exchanger 13, Figure 5] and an expander [turbine 2, Figure 5], the evaporator is configured to evaporate the carbon dioxide [0202], and the expander is configured to release energy [where generator 4 and driven machine 200 are rotated by the turbine 2 under expansion; 0224, where the embodiment of Figure 1 discussed in 0224 shares the main elements of the embodiment of Figure 5; 0232];
a heat exchange assembly [secondary circuit 20, Figure 5] connected to the energy storage heat exchanger [where the secondary storage chamber 200 is connected, by means of a respective circuit 210, to inter-coolers 322 coupled to the compressor 3, Figure 5; 0235] and the energy releasing heat exchanger [where the secondary storage chamber 200 is connected, by means of a respective circuit 210, to the additional heat exchanger 13, Figure 5; 0235], wherein the energy storage heat exchanger is configured to temporarily store the energy generated by the energy storage assembly into the heat exchange assembly, and the energy releasing heat exchanger is configured to receive the energy temporarily stored by the heat exchange assembly [where storage chamber 200 is for the hot secondary fluid accumulated after having removed heat from the working fluid in the charge configuration/phase of the apparatus/process and for the cold secondary fluid accumulated after having transferred heat to the working fluid in the discharge configuration/phase of the apparatus/process; 0235]; and
Spadacini does not teach a driving assembly comprising an energy input member and a first driving member, wherein the energy input member absorbs external heat energy to drive the first driving member to work, and the first driving member is configured to drive the compressor of each compression energy storage member to work.
However, Zhang teaches a compressor [compressor 1, Figure 4] with a driving assembly [a power device based on the Rankine cycle; 0019] comprising an energy input member [evaporator 4, Figure 4] wherein the energy input member absorbs external heat energy to drive the first driving member [turbine 2, Figure 4] to work [where the circulating working fluid 7 flows through evaporator 4 and absorbs heat from external heat source 8, and the steam expands and does work in turbine 2, Figure 4; 0019] where the first driving member is configured to drive the compressor of each compression energy storage member to work [where the turbine 2 and compressor 1 are connected via a gear linkage device 3; 0017], where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing an environmentally friendly source of power through reusing industrial exhaust or a natural heat source [Zhang, 0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Liu to have a driving assembly comprising an energy input member wherein the energy input member absorbs external heat energy to drive the first driving member to work in view of the teachings of Zhang where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing an environmentally friendly source of power through reusing industrial exhaust or a natural heat source [Zhang, 0006 ].
Regarding Claim 3, Spadacini, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the compressors of the plurality of compression energy storage members [three stage compressor 3, Figure 5] are distributed along an axial direction of an output shaft [where compressor stages 3 share the shaft of motor 4a, Figure 5] of the first driving member [refer to Zhang as applied to claim 1 above].
Regarding Claim 4, Spadacini, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and does not teach where the driving assembly further comprises a driving circulation cooler and a driving circulation pump; the energy input member, the first driving member, the driving circulation cooler, and the driving circulation pump form a driving circulation circuit, a driving medium is provided in the driving circulation circuit, the driving circulation pump is configured to drive the driving medium to circulate in the driving circulation circuit, the driving medium absorbs the external heat energy through the energy input member and drives the first driving member to work, the driving circulation cooler is configured to cool the driving medium flowing out of the first driving member.
However, Zhang teaches a compressor device [compressor 1, Figure 4] with a the driving assembly [a power device based on the Rankine cycle; 0019] comprising a driving circulation cooler [condenser 5, Figure 4] and a driving circulation pump [circulating pump 6, Figure 4]; the energy input member [where evaporator 4 absorbs heat from external heat source 8, Figure 4; 0019], the first driving member [turbine 2, Figure 4], the driving circulation cooler and the driving circulation pump form a driving circulation circuit [0019], driving medium is provided in the driving circulation circuit [circulating medium 7, Figure 4;0019], the driving circulation pump is configured to drive the driving medium to circulate in the driving circulation circuit [where circulating working fluid 7 returns to pump 6 for each new cycle, Figure 4; 0019], the driving medium absorbs the external heat energy through the energy input member and drives the first driving member to work [where the circulating working fluid 7 flows through evaporator 4 and absorbs heat from external heat source 8, and the steam expands and does work in turbine 2, Figure 4; 0019], the driving circulation cooler is configured to cool the driving medium flowing out of the first driving member [where the steam from doing work releases heat to the cooling tower 9 through condenser 5 into liquid, Figure 4; 0019]. where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable i.e., providing an environmentally friendly source of power through reusing industrial exhaust or a natural heat source [Zhang,0006].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the driving assembly further comprises a driving circulation cooler and a driving circulation pump; the energy input member, the first driving member, the driving circulation cooler, and the driving circulation pump form a driving circulation circuit, driving medium is provided in the driving circulation circuit, the driving circulation pump is configured to drive the driving medium to circulate in the driving circulation circuit, the driving medium absorbs the external heat energy through the energy input member and drives the first driving member to work, the driving circulation cooler is configured to cool the driving medium flowing out of the first driving member in view of the teachings of Zhang where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., providing an environmentally friendly source of power through reusing industrial exhaust or a natural heat source [Zhang, 0006].
Regarding Claim 5, Spadacini, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the energy storage assembly comprises a first compressor [at inlet 3a of compressor 3, Figure 5], a first energy storage heat exchanger [annotated Figure 5], a second compressor [annotated Figure 5], and a second energy storage heat exchanger [annotated Figure 5], the first compressor is connected to the gas storage reservoir [via 6a, Figure 5], the first energy storage heat exchanger is connected to the first compressor [where the first energy storage heat exchanger is between the first compressor and second compressor, annotated Figure 5], the second compressor is connected to the first energy storage heat exchanger [where the first energy storage heat exchanger is between the first compressor and second compressor, annotated Figure 5], and the second energy storage heat exchanger is connected to the second compressor [where the first energy storage heat exchanger is between the second compressor and third compressor, annotated Figure 5], the condenser [secondary heat exchanger 10, Figure 5] is connected to the second energy storage heat exchanger [via secondary circuit 20, Figure 5], and the liquid storage tank [tank 9, Figure 5] is connected to the condenser [where the secondary heat exchanger 10 is operatively active between the primary heat exchanger 7 and the tank 9, or in said tank 9, and is configured to operate on the stored working fluid or in charge phase in the tank 9, Figure 5; 0198].
Regarding Claim 12, Spadacini, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the gas storage reservoir [casing 5, Figure 5] is a flexible gas film storage reservoir [where casing 5 preferably defined by a pressure-balloon made of flexible material, for example made of PVC coated polyester fabric; 0193].
Claims 6, 7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadacini (US20230175418A1) in view of Zhang (CN102305206A) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Liu et al. (CN112325497B)
Regarding Claim 6, Spadacini, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches wherein the energy releasing assembly comprises a first expander [turbine 2, Figure 5], a second expander [where in a further embodiment an auxiliary expander 2’ is placed, Figure 12; 0247], a first energy releasing heat exchanger [heat exchanger 13, Figure 5], and an energy releasing cooler [recuperator 400, Figure 5] is connected to the liquid storage tank [via 8b, Figure 5], the first energy releasing heat exchanger is connected to the evaporator [via expander 2 and recuperator 400, Figure 5], the first expander is connected to the first energy releasing heat exchanger [via recuperator 400, Figure 5], the energy releasing cooler is connected to the second expander [via 8b, Figure 12], the gas storage reservoir [casing 5, Figure 5] is connected to the energy releasing cooler [via 6b, Figure 5], and the energy releasing cooler is configured to cool the carbon dioxide in the gas storage reservoir [in line 8b upstream casing 5, Figure 12] but Spadacini as modified does not teach a second energy releasing heat exchanger, the second energy releasing heat exchanger is connected to the first expander, the second expander is connected to the second energy releasing heat exchanger.
However, Liu teaches a liquefied carbon dioxide energy storage system and applications thereof [n0001] where a first expander [expander 12, Figure 2], a second expander [expander 14, Figure 2], a first energy releasing heat exchanger [first heater 10, Figure 2], a second energy releasing heat exchanger [second heater 13, Figure 2], and an energy releasing cooler [cold storage device 15, Figure 2], and the evaporator [heater 24, Figure 2; 0020] is connected to the liquid storage tank [the outlet of second liquid carbon dioxide storage tank 27 is connected to the second inlet of the fourth heater 24, Figure 2; 0033], the first energy releasing heat exchanger is connected to the evaporator [where the second inlet of the first heater 10 is connected to the second outlet of the heater 24, Figure 2; 0035], the first expander is connected to the first energy releasing heat exchanger [where the second outlet of the first heater 10 is connected to the inlet of the second expander 12; 0035], the second energy releasing heat exchanger is connected to the first expander [where the outlet of the second expander 12 is connected to the second inlet of the second heater 13, Figure 2; 0035], the second expander is connected to the second energy releasing heat exchanger [where the inlet of the third expander 14 is connected to the second outlet of the second heater 13, Figure 2; 0033], the energy releasing cooler is connected to the second expander [through first expander 11, third cooler 20, and radiator 9, Figure 2], the gas storage reservoir [the first liquid carbon dioxide storage tank 17, Figure 2; refer to the intended use rejection as applied in claim 1 above] is connected to the energy releasing cooler [where the first outlet of the device 15 is connected to the inlet of the first liquid carbon dioxide storage tank 17, Figure 2; 0033], and the energy releasing cooler [cold storage device 15, Figure 2] is configured to cool the carbon dioxide in the gas storage reservoir [where the first outlet of the device 15 is connected to the inlet of the first liquid carbon dioxide storage tank 17, and the outlet of the first liquid carbon dioxide storage tank 17 is connected to the second inlet of the cold storage device 15 through the throttle valve 16, Figure 2; 0033] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, inter-turbine heat exchange in a multi stage turbine, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., improving work output by reheating working fluid between turbine stages
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have a second energy releasing heat exchanger, the second energy releasing heat exchanger is connected to the first expander, the second expander is connected to the second energy releasing heat exchanger in view of the teachings of Liu where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., improving work output by reheating working fluid between turbine stages
Regarding Claim 7, Spadacini, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 6 and further teaches wherein the energy releasing cooler [recuperator 400, Figure 5] is connected to the evaporator [via expander 2, Figure 5].
Regarding Claim 9, Spadacini, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the heat exchange assembly comprises a cold storage tank and a heat storage tank [a secondary storage chamber 200, for the hot secondary fluid accumulated after having removed heat from the working fluid in the charge configuration/phase of the apparatus/process and for the cold secondary fluid accumulated after having transferred heat to the working fluid in the discharge configuration/phase of the apparatus/process, Figure 5; 0235], and a heat exchanging medium is provided in the cold storage tank and the heat storage tank [a secondary fluid that circulates through a radiator 23; 0235], the cold storage tank and the heat storage tank form a heat exchanging circuit [secondary circuit 20, Figure 12] between the energy storage assembly and the energy releasing assembly [first energy storage heat exchanger, second energy storage heat exchanger, secondary heat exchanger 10 and heat exchanger 13, annotated Figure 5], the heat exchanging medium is capable of flowing in the heat exchanging circuit [secondary storage chamber 200 is also coupled to a radiator 23 placed on a recirculation duct of secondary fluid, Figure 5; 0235], but does not teach the storage chamber such that when the heat exchanging medium flows from the cold storage tank to the heat storage tank, the heat exchanging medium is capable of storing a part of the energy generated by the energy storage assembly, and when the heat exchanging medium flows from the heat storage tank to the cold storage tank, the stored energy is transferred to the energy releasing assembly.
However, Liu teaches a liquefied carbon dioxide energy storage system and applications thereof [n0001] where when the heat exchanging medium flows from the cold storage tank [cold tank 7, Figure 2] to the heat storage tank [hot tank 6, Figure 2], the heat exchanging medium is capable of storing a part of the energy generated by the energy storage assembly [where the energy storage process includes the heat storage medium in the cold tank of storage device and a recovering compression heat stored in the hot tank; 0040], and when the heat exchanging medium flows from the heat storage tank to the cold storage tank [where after releasing heat, the heat storage medium water is stored in a cold tank for; 0050], the stored energy is transferred to the energy releasing assembly [where the energy release process includes using the heat stored in hot tank in energy storage device to heat carbon dioxide at the inlet of the expanders; 0040] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, a separate hot and cold tank, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., improving efficiency by permitting simultaneous storage of hot and cold secondary fluid
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have that when the heat exchanging medium flows from the cold storage tank to the heat storage tank, the heat exchanging medium is capable of storing a part of the energy generated by the energy storage assembly, and when the heat exchanging medium flows from the heat storage tank to the cold storage tank, the stored energy is transferred to the energy releasing assembly in view of the teachings of Liu where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., improving efficiency by permitting simultaneous storage of hot and cold secondary fluid
Regarding Claim 10, Spadacini, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 9 and further teaches where the heat exchange assembly further comprises a heat exchange medium cooler [radiator 23; 0235] configured to cool the heat exchanging medium entering the cold storage tank [where radiator 23 cools the secondary fluid during the night; 0235 ], and does not teach where the heat exchange medium cooler is connected to the evaporator.
However, Liu teaches a liquefied carbon dioxide energy storage system and applications thereof [n0001] where the heat exchange assembly [a first energy storage device A, Figure 2] further comprises a heat exchange medium cooler [first heater 10, Figure 2] configured to cool the heat exchanging medium entering the cold storage tank [where after releasing heat, the heat storage medium water is stored in a cold tank; 0050], and the heat exchange medium cooler is connected to the evaporator [heater 24, Figure 2] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique, regenerative heat exchange, to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., improving thermal efficiency by repurposing heat loss in another part of the system
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the heat exchange medium cooler is connected to the evaporator in view of the teachings of Liu where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., improving thermal efficiency by repurposing heat loss in another part of the system
Regarding Claim 11, Spadacini, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 9 and does not teach where an auxiliary heating member [radiator 23; where radiator 23 heats the secondary fluid during the day. 0235] is provided between the cold storage tank and the heat storage tank [secondary storage chamber 200, refer to Liu as applied to the rejection of claim 9 above], and a part of the heat exchanging medium is capable of flowing into the heat storage tank after being heated by the auxiliary heating member [via the recirculation duct, Figure 5; 0235].
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadacini (US20230175418A1) in view of Zhang (CN102305206A) as applied to claim 1 above and in further view of Huang et al. (CN110645098A).
Regarding Claim 8, Spadacini, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the evaporator [heat exchanger 220, Figure 5] is connected [via 8b, Figure 5] to the condenser [secondary heat exchanger 10, Figure 5] but does not teach wherein the energy releasing assembly further comprises a throttle expansion valve provided between the liquid storage tank and the evaporator, the throttle expansion valve is configured to depressurize the carbon dioxide flowing out of the liquid storage tank.
However, Huang teaches a carbon dioxide energy storage system [0002] where the energy releasing assembly [0049;0050] comprises a throttle expansion valve [throttling valve 1, Figure 2] provided between the liquid storage tank [supercritical carbon dioxide storage tank 2-3, Figure 2] and the evaporator [heat exchanger 2, Figure 2], the throttle expansion valve is configured to depressurize the carbon dioxide flowing out of the liquid storage tank [where the supercritical carbon dioxide is depressurized to the energy release pressure through throttle valve 1; 0050], and the evaporator is connected to the condenser [heat exchanger 1, Figure 2] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable, i.e., increasing work capacity by depressurizing before heating and expanding in the turbine [Huang, 0050].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of the combined teachings to have where the energy releasing assembly further comprises a throttle expansion valve provided between the liquid storage tank and the evaporator, the throttle expansion valve is configured to depressurize the carbon dioxide flowing out of the liquid storage tank, and the evaporator is connected to the condenser in view of the teachings of Huang where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., increasing work capacity by depressurizing before heating and expanding in the turbine [Huang, 0050].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 1/27/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant does not separately argue the rejection of claims 3-12 except for their dependence upon Claim 1. Accordingly, the rejections of record are considered proper and remain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Crawford (US4765143A) discusses a plant for generating power, particularly electrical power, employing CO2 as the working fluid and more particularly to such a plant having high capacity as a result of including a large reservoir of CO2 at the triple point thereof.
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763