DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15, 17-21, 23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Long Ye et al. “Effective regeneration of high-performance anode material recycled from the whole electrodes in spent lithium-ion batteries via a simplified approach”, in view of “Jeon et al, Large-Scale Production of Edge-Selectively Functionalized Graphene Nanoplatelets via Ball Milling and Their Use as Metal-Free Electrocatalysts for Oxygen Reduction Reaction”.
Regarding Claim 1, Long discloses a method for producing graphene from spent lithium-ion batteries (abstract, simplified process to recycle both cathode (LiCoO2) and anode (graphite) in the spent LIBs), the method comprising: applying an acid leaching solution to an anode of a lithium-ion battery to produce expanded graphite (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material. .. oxidation-intercalation ...expansion process, i.e., produce expanded graphite; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph, waste graphite went through calcination process with the protection of Ar atmosphere, when the heating rate was 5 C min-1 and temperature was kept at 700 C for 1 h to remove the organic. Then, 5 g graphite, 20 ml H2SO4 (oxidation reagent), i.e., an acid leaching solution, 10 ml H3PO4 and 4 g KMnO4 (intercalation reagents) were mixed at room temperature carefully and reacted for 45 min. Next, the oxidized graphite was washed by a large quantity of deionized water, and it was dried through the freeze-drying process. And then, the muffle furnace was preheated to 1000 C before the oxidized graphite was put into this high temperature environment, in which the expansion process was finished in 3-10 s. After the intense reaction, the EG was obtained and collected for further experiment); applying a hydrothermal process to the expanded graphite to produce purified graphite (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material. .. expansion process ... solvothermal; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph, the leachate and EG were combined by solvothermal method. Specifically, 0.01 g EG was dispersed in 50 ml absolute ethyl alcohol by 1 h ultrasonic. Then, 2 ml leachate was successively added with another 1 h ultrasonic. Next, the pH of solution was adjusted to 7 by 6 molL-1 NaOH solution with continuous agitation. And then, the solution was transferred into 100 ml autoclave and reacted at 160 C for 12 h; abstract; highly purified graphite).
Long fails to explicitly disclose subjecting the purified graphite to a shear mixing process contemporaneously combined with a hydrogen passivation process to produce dispersed graphene.
Jeon teaches producing graphene form graphite (abstract). The reference teaches subjecting a purified graphite to a shear mixing process contemporaneously combined with a hydrogen passivation process to produce dispersed graphene (abstract, dry ball milling graphite in the presence of hydrogen ... upon exposure to air moisture, the resultant hydrogen- (HGnP) ... functionalized GnPs readily dispersed into various polar solvents, including neutral water).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include subjecting a purified graphite to a shear mixing process contemporaneously combined with a hydrogen passivation process to produce dispersed graphene as taught by Jeon, for the benefit of producing highly purified graphite (Long; abstract) further processed using ball milling in the presence of hydrogen to form dispersed graphene to provide large scale and low cost production of graphene particles (Jeon; abstract; page B, column 1, second paragraph; page G, column 1, third paragraph).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Long discloses that the acid leaching solution is configured to remove chemical impurities from the expanded graphite (page 732, column 1, fourth paragraph, the valuable metal resources (Li and Co) are extracted through reduction-acid leaching with high efficiency).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Long discloses that the chemical impurities include one or more of cobalt, nickel, manganese, copper, sulfur, and aluminum (page 732, column 1, fourth paragraph, the valuable metal resources (Li and Co) are extracted through reduction-acid leaching with high efficiency).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Long discloses that the expanded graphite is characterized by a graphene plane layer spacing that is swollen and/or extended (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material. .. oxidation-intercalation ... expansion process, i.e., produce expanded graphite; page 728, figure 3a, as seen in figure 3a peak (002) of expanded graphite is shifted, i.e., a graphene plane layer spacing that is extended, comparted to peak (002) of Graphite-2H).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Long discloses that the hydrothermal process includes an application of a sodium hydroxide solution to the expanded graphite (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material. .. expansion process ... solvothermal; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph, the leachate and EG were combined by solvothermal method. Specifically, 0.01 g EG was dispersed in 50 ml absolute ethyl alcohol by 1 h ultrasonic. Then, 2 ml leachate was successively added with another 1 h ultrasonic. Next, the pH of solution was adjusted to 7 by 6 molL-1 NaOH solution with continuous agitation. Then, the solution was transferred into 100 ml autoclave and reacted at 160 C for 12 h; abstract; highly purified graphite).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Long discloses that the graphene plane layers of the purified graphite are further expanded after being exposed to the sodium hydroxide solution (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material. .. expansion process ... solvothermal; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph, the leachate and EG were combined by solvothermal method. Specifically, 0.01 g EG was dispersed in 50 ml absolute ethyl alcohol by 1 h ultrasonic. Then, 2 ml leachate was successively added with another 1 h ultrasonic. Next, the pH of solution was adjusted to 7 by 6 moll "-1 NaOH solution with continuous agitation. And then, the solution was transferred into 100 ml autoclave and reacted at 160 C for 12 h, i.e., it would be inherent that further soaking in Na OH would further expand graphite).
Regarding Claim 9, modified Long discloses that the purified graphite is devoid of organic binder and aluminum after the application of the sodium hydroxide solution (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material. .. expansion process ... solvothermal; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph, the leachate and EG were combined by solvothermal method. Specifically, 0.01 g EG was dispersed in 50 ml absolute ethyl alcohol by 1 h ultrasonic. Then, 2 ml leachate was successively added with another 1 h ultrasonic. Next, the pH of solution was adjusted to 7 by 6 molL-1 NaOH solution with continuous agitation. And then, the solution was transferred into 100 ml autoclave and reacted at 160 C for 12 h; abstract; highly purified graphite; page 728, column 1, first paragraph, the main metals are precipitated to form metal oxides, leaving the Li element alone, i.e., devoid of aluminum, in the solution like purified, which makes it easily extracted by further treatment; page 726, column 1, first paragraph, generally, the waste graphite is purified through the healing process to remove the organic components. After that, the purified graphite basically caters the criterion of regenerating material with unique properties).
Regarding Claim 11, Long fails to explicitly disclose wherein the shear mixing process exfoliates the purified graphite.
Jeon in the field of producing graphene form graphite (abstract) teaches wherein the shear mixing process exfoliates the purified graphite (abstract, dry ball milling graphite in the presence of hydrogen ... upon exposure to air moisture, the resultant hydrogen- (HGnP) ... functionalized GnPs readily dispersed into various polar solvents, including neutral water; page D, column 1, second paragraph, a high degree of exfoliation ... the ball-milling process involves not only mechanochemically cracking and edge-selectively functionalizing graphite but also delaminating graphite).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include wherein the shear mixing process exfoliates the purified graphite as taught by Jeon, for the benefit of producing highly purified graphite (Long; abstract) further processed using ball milling in the presence of hydrogen to form dispersed graphene to provide large scale and low cost production of graphene particles (Jeon; abstract; page B, column 1, second paragraph; page G, column 1, third paragraph).
Regarding Claim 12, Long fails to explicitly disclose wherein the hydrogen passivation process is combined with the shear mixing process by applying a hydrogen gas flow to the purified graphite during the shear mixing process.
Jeon in the field of producing graphene form graphite (abstract) teaches wherein the hydrogen passivation process is combined with the shear mixing process by applying a hydrogen gas flow to the purified graphite during the shear mixing process (abstract, dry ball milling graphite in the presence of hydrogen, i.e., a hydrogen gas flow ... upon exposure to air moisture, the resultant hydrogen- (HGnP) ... functionalized GnPs readily dispersed into various polar solvents, including neutral water).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include wherein the hydrogen passivation process is combined with the shear mixing process by applying a hydrogen gas flow to the purified graphite during the shear mixing process as taught by Jeon, for the benefit of producing highly purified graphite (Long; abstract) further processed using ball milling in the presence of hydrogen to form dispersed graphene to provide large scale and low cost production of graphene particles (Jeon; abstract; page B, column 1, second paragraph; page G, column 1, third paragraph).
Regarding Claim 13, Long fails to explicitly disclose wherein each of graphene quality, graphene conversion rate, and graphene production efficiency is improved by the hydrogen passivation process.
Jeon in the field of producing graphene form graphite (abstract) teaches herein each of graphene quality, graphene conversion rate, and graphene production efficiency is improved by the hydrogen passivation process (abstract, dry ball milling graphite in the presence of hydrogen ... upon exposure to air moisture, the resultant hydrogen- (HGnP) ... functionalized GnPs readily dispersed into various polar solvents, including neutral water; page B, column 1, second paragraph, highly dispersible, i.e., graphene quality improved, in various polar solvents, leading to a large-scale production, i.e., graphene production efficiency is improved, of EFGnPs; page B, column 1, third paragraph, the methodology used in this study is a low-cost, high-yield, i.e., graphene conversion rate is improved, versatile approach to the mass production of GnPs).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include herein each of graphene quality, graphene conversion rate, and graphene production efficiency is improved by the hydrogen passivation process as taught by Jeon, for the benefit of producing highly purified graphite (Long; abstract) further processed using ball milling in the presence of hydrogen to form dispersed graphene to provide large scale and low cost production of graphene particles (Jeon; abstract; page B, column 1, second paragraph; page G, column 1, third paragraph).
Regarding Claim 14, Long fails to explicitly disclose wherein the hydrogen passivation process prevents graphene agglomeration.
Jeon in the field of producing graphene form graphite (abstract) teaches wherein the hydrogen passivation process prevents graphene agglomeration (abstract, dry ball milling graphite in the presence of hydrogen, i.e., a hydrogen gas flow ... upon exposure to air moisture, the resultant hydrogen- (HGnP) ... functionalized GnPs readily dispersed into various polar solvents, including neutral water; page D, column 2, second paragraph, as a result, EFGnPs can disperse well in most protic and polar aprotic solvents, including neutral water (Figure S10a-d). Among all 16 tested solvents, polar aprotic solvents (e.g., DMAc, DMF, and NMP) were found to be good solvents for dispersing EFGnPs into stable dispersions, i.e., prevents graphene agglomeration, with concentrations higher than 0.1 mg/ml.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include wherein the hydrogen passivation process prevents graphene agglomeration as taught by Jeon, for the benefit of producing highly purified graphite (Long; abstract) further processed using ball milling in the presence of hydrogen to form dispersed graphene to provide large scale and low cost production of graphene particles (Jeon; abstract; page B, column 1, second paragraph; page G, column 1, third paragraph).
Regarding Claim 15, Long discloses a method for producing graphene from spent lithium-ion batteries (abstract, simplified process to recycle both cathode (LiCoO2) and anode (graphite) in the spent LIBs), the method comprising: applying an acid leaching solution to an anode of a lithium-ion battery to produce expanded graphite (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material. .. oxidation-intercalation... expansion process, i.e., produce expanded graphite; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph, waste graphite went through calcination process with the protection of Ar atmosphere, when the healing rate was 5 C min"-1 and temperature was kept at 700 C for 1 h to remove the organic. Then, 5 g graphite, 20 ml H2SO4 (oxidation reagent), i.e., an acid leaching solution, 10 ml H3PO4 and 4 g KMnO4 (intercalation reagents) were mixed at room temperature carefully and reacted for 45 min. Next, the oxidized graphite was washed by a large quantity of deionized water, and it was dried through the freeze-drying process. Then, the muffle furnace was preheated to 1000 C before the oxidized graphite was put into this high temperature environment, in which the expansion process was finished in 3-10 s. After the intense reaction, the EG was obtained and collected for further experiment); applying a hydrothermal process to the expanded graphite to produce purified graphite (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material. .. expansion process... solvothermal; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph, the leachate and EG were combined by solvothermal method. Specifically, 0.01 g EG was dispersed in 50 ml absolute ethyl alcohol by 1 h ultrasonic. Then, 2 ml leachate was successively added with another 1 h ultrasonic. Next, the pH of solution was adjusted to 7 by 6 molL-1 NaOH solution with continuous agitation. And then, the solution was transferred into 100 ml autoclave and reacted at 160 C for 12 h; abstract; highly purified graphite);.
Long fails to explicitly disclose subjecting the purified graphite to a shear mixing process to produce dispersed graphene.
Jeon in the field of producing graphene form graphite (abstract) teaches subjecting a purified graphite to a shear mixing process to produce dispersed graphene (abstract, dry ball milling graphite in the presence of hydrogen... upon exposure to air moisture, the resultant hydrogen- (HGnP)... functionalized GnPs readily dispersed into various polar solvents, including neutral water).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include subjecting a purified graphite to a shear mixing process to produce dispersed graphene as taught by Jeon, for the benefit of producing highly purified graphite (Long; abstract) further processed using ball milling in the presence of hydrogen to form dispersed graphene to provide large scale and low cost production of graphene particles (Jeon; abstract; page B, column 1, second paragraph; page G, column 1, third paragraph).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Long discloses the method of claim 15 wherein the acid leaching solution is configured to remove chemical impurities from the expanded graphite (page 732, column 1, fourth paragraph, the valuable metal resources (Li and Co) are extracted through reduction-acid leaching with high efficiency).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Long discloses that the chemical impurities include one or more of cobalt, nickel, manganese, copper, sulfur, and aluminum (page 732, column 1, fourth paragraph, the valuable metal resources (Li and Co) are extracted through reduction-acid leaching with high efficiency).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Long discloses that the expanded graphite is characterized by a graphene plane layer spacing that is swollen and/or extended (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material. .. oxidation-intercalation... expansion process, i.e., produce expanded graphite; page 728, figure 3a, as seen in figure 3a peak (002) of expanded graphite is shifted, i.e., a graphene plane layer spacing that is extended, comparted to peak (002) of Graphite-2H).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Long discloses that the hydrothermal process includes an application of a sodium hydroxide solution to the expanded graphite (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material. .. expansion process... solvothermal; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph, the leachate and EG were combined by solvothermal method. Specifically, 0.01 g EG was dispersed in 50 ml absolute ethyl alcohol by 1 h ultrasonic. Then, 2 ml leachate was successively added with another 1 h ultrasonic. Next, the pH of solution was adjusted to 7 by 6 molL-1 NaOH solution with continuous agitation. And then, the solution was transferred into 100 ml autoclave and reacted at 160 C for 12 h; abstract; highly purified graphite).
Regarding Claim 21, modified Long discloses that the graphene plane layers of the purified graphite are further expanded after being exposed to the sodium hydroxide solution (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material... expansion process... solvothermal; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph, the leachate and EG were combined by solvothermal method. Specifically, 0.01 g EG was dispersed in 50 ml absolute ethyl alcohol by 1 h ultrasonic. Then, 2 ml leachate was successively added with another 1 h ultrasonic. Next, the pH of solution was adjusted to 7 by 6 molL-1 NaOH solution with continuous agitation. And then, the solution was transferred into 100 ml autoclave and reacted at 160 C for 12 h, i.e., it would be inherent that further soaking in NaOH would further expand graphite).
Regarding Claim 23, modified Long discloses that the purified graphite is devoid of organic binder and aluminum after the application of the sodium hydroxide solution (page 728, figure 2, anode waste material. .. expansion process... solvothermal; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph, the leachate and EG were combined by solvothermal method. Specifically, 0.01 g EG was dispersed in 50 ml absolute ethyl alcohol by 1 h ultrasonic. Then, 2 ml leachate was successively added with another 1 h ultrasonic. Next, the pH of solution was adjusted to 7 by 6 molL-1 NaOH solution with continuous agitation. And then, the solution was transferred into 100 ml autoclave and reacted at 160 C for 12 h; abstract; highly purified graphite; page 728, column 1, first paragraph, the main metals are precipitated to form metal oxides, leaving the Li element alone, i.e., devoid of aluminum, in the solution like purified, which makes it easily extracted by further treatment; page 726, column 1, first paragraph, generally, the waste graphite is purified through the heating process to remove the organic components. After that, the purified graphite basically caters the criterion of regenerating material with unique properties).
Regarding Claim 25, Long fails to explicitly disclose wherein the shear mixing process exfoliates the purified graphite.
Jeon in the field of producing graphene form graphite (abstract) teaches wherein the shear mixing process exfoliates the purified graphite (abstract, dry ball milling graphite in the presence of hydrogen... upon exposure to air moisture, the resultant hydrogen- (HGnP)... functionalized GnPs readily dispersed into various polar solvents, including neutral water; page D, column 1, second paragraph, a high degree of exfoliation... the ball-milling process involves not only mechanochemically cracking and edge-selectively functionalizing graphite but also delaminating graphite).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include wherein the shear mixing process exfoliates the purified graphite as taught by Jeon, for the benefit of producing highly purified graphite (Long; abstract) further processed using ball milling in the presence of hydrogen to form dispersed graphene to provide large scale and low cost production of graphene particles (Jeon; abstract; page B, column 1, second paragraph; page G, column 1, third paragraph).
Claim(s) 2 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long Ye et al. “Effective regeneration of high-performance anode material recycled from the whole electrodes in spent lithium-ion batteries via a simplified approach”, in view of “Jeon et al, Large-Scale Production of Edge-Selectively Functionalized Graphene Nanoplatelets via Ball Milling and Their Use as Metal-Free Electrocatalysts for Oxygen Reduction Reaction” as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15, 17-21, 23, and 25 above, and further in view of Ma et al. “High-Performance Graphite Recovered from Spent Lithium-Ion Batteries”.
Regarding Claim 2, Long fails to explicitly disclose wherein the acid leaching solution includes a hydrogen peroxide solution and a sulfuric acid solution. Ma in the field of recycling graphite anode material from spent lithium-ion batteries (abstract) teaches wherein an acid leaching solution includes a hydrogen peroxide solution and a sulfuric acid solution (page 19735, column 1, first paragraph, the UG is leached by sulfuric acid and hydrogen peroxide)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include wherein an acid leaching solution includes a hydrogen peroxide solution and a sulfuric acid solution as taught by Ma, for the benefit of treating graphite with H2SO4 (Long; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph) further comprising hydrogen peroxide to further expand graphite and efficiently recover and recycle graphite anode materials (Ma; abstract; page 19735, column 1, first paragraph).
Regarding Claim 16, Long fails to explicitly disclose wherein the acid leaching solution includes a hydrogen peroxide solution and a sulfuric acid solution. Ma in the field of recycling graphite anode material from spent lithium-ion batteries (abstract) teaches wherein an acid leaching solution includes a hydrogen peroxide solution and a sulfuric acid solution (page 19735, column 1, first paragraph, the UG is leached by sulfuric acid and hydrogen peroxide)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include wherein an acid leaching solution includes a hydrogen peroxide solution and a sulfuric acid solution as taught by Ma, for the benefit of treating graphite with H2SO4 (Long; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph) further comprising hydrogen peroxide to further expand graphite and efficiently recover and recycle graphite anode materials (Ma; abstract; page 19735, column 1, first paragraph).
Claim(s) 8 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long Ye et al. “Effective regeneration of high-performance anode material recycled from the whole electrodes in spent lithium-ion batteries via a simplified approach”, in view of “Jeon et al, Large-Scale Production of Edge-Selectively Functionalized Graphene Nanoplatelets via Ball Milling and Their Use as Metal-Free Electrocatalysts for Oxygen Reduction Reaction” as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15, 17-21, 23, and 25 above, and further in view of SUN et al. “Comparison of reduction products from graphite oxide and graphene oxide for anode applications in lithium-ion batteries and sodium-ion batteries”.
Regarding Claim 8, Long fails to explicitly disclose wherein the graphene plane layers include an averaged-spacing of 0.374 nanometers.
Sun in the field producing graphene from graphite (abstract) teaches wherein graphene plane layers include an averaged-spacing of 0.374 nanometers (abstract, hydrazine-reduced graphite oxide and graphene oxide were synthesized to compare their performances as anode materials in lithium-ion batteries and sodium-ion batteries. Reduced graphite oxide inherits the layer structure of graphite, with an average spacing between neighboring layers (d-spacing) of 0.374 nm).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include wherein graphene plane layers include an averaged-spacing of 0.374 nanometers as taught by Sun, for the benefit of treating graphite with NaOH (Long; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph) to expand d-spacing of to 0.374 nm suitable for use in lithium-ion batteries (Sun; abstract; paragraphs [0039], [0046]).
Regarding Claim 22, Long fails to explicitly disclose wherein the graphene plane layers include an averaged-spacing of 0.374 nanometers.
Sun in the field producing graphene from graphite (abstract) teaches wherein graphene plane layers include an averaged-spacing of 0.374 nanometers (abstract, hydrazine-reduced graphite oxide and graphene oxide were synthesized to compare their performances as anode materials in lithium-ion batteries and sodium-ion batteries. Reduced graphite oxide inherits the layer structure of graphite, with an average spacing between neighboring layers (d-spacing) of 0.374 nm).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include wherein graphene plane layers include an averaged-spacing of 0.374 nanometers as taught by Sun, for the benefit of treating graphite with NaOH (Long; page 726, column 2, fifth paragraph) to expand d-spacing of to 0.374 nm suitable for use in lithium-ion batteries (Sun; abstract; paragraphs [0039], [0046]).
Claim(s) 10 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long Ye et al. “Effective regeneration of high-performance anode material recycled from the whole electrodes in spent lithium-ion batteries via a simplified approach”, in view of “Jeon et al, Large-Scale Production of Edge-Selectively Functionalized Graphene Nanoplatelets via Ball Milling and Their Use as Metal-Free Electrocatalysts for Oxygen Reduction Reaction” as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15, 17-21, 23, and 25 above, and further in view of CN103693638.
Regarding Claim 10, Long fails to explicitly disclose purified graphite powder.
CN’3638 relates to producing graphene from graphite (abstract) teaches purified graphite powder (paragraph [0012], graphite powder; paragraph [0017], pure graphite).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include purified graphite powder as taught by CN’3638, for the benefit of purifying graphite (Long; abstract) produced as graphite powder (CN’3638; abstract; paragraphs [0012], [0017]) that can be conveniently further processed and stored.
Regarding Claim 24, modified Long discloses the method of claim 20 wherein the purified graphite (abstract, purified graphite). Long fails to explicitly disclose purified graphite powder.
CN’3638 relates to producing graphene from graphite (abstract) teaches purified graphite powder (paragraph [0012], graphite powder; paragraph [0017], pure graphite).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Long to include purified graphite powder as taught by Institute, for the benefit of purifying graphite (Long; abstract) produced as graphite powder (Institute; abstract; paragraphs [0012], [0017]) that can be conveniently further processed and stored.
Conclusion
/SYED T IQBAL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736