DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 04/20/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
The IDS(s) submitted on 07/21/2023 has been considered.
Claims 1, 3-8, 12, 14-19 and 31-46 are pending of which claims 1, 12, 31, and 38 are independent and amended.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 04/20/226 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The examiner had communicated to Applicant representative in the examiner’s interview of 03/23/2026 that the amendment to claim 1 will not overcome the rejection on record and can still be addressed by the disclosures of Go and Go-2. Applicant’s core argument that joint CSI reporting is not taught by the combination of Go and Go-2 and hence surmising the amendment to the independent claims is not taught by the combination of the prior art of record is still not persuasive as explained below.
Applicant in the Remarks, on page 9, paragraph 4, correctly states Go, the primary reference, fails to teach “transmitting an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (ID)”.
Applicant further proceeds correctly states Go-2 was introduced to teach ”transmitting an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (ID)” and cites Go-2’ ‘s paragraphs 265 and 337 as being cited by the examiner to teach the limitation in question. Then Applicant proceeds to state, in the Remarks, in paragraph 1 on page 10, that Go-2 paragraphs 265 and 337 merely describe UE capability information related to panels and none of the listed capabilities are a capability regarding joint CSI reporting for multiple panels.
Then the Applicant concludes, in paragraphs 1 and 2 of page 10 of the Remarks, that given Go-2 fails to teach “a capability regarding joint CSI reporting for multiple panels” then Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose the entire amended limitations in claim 1 and other independent claims reciting “…transmitting an indication of a capability to support joint CSI reporting of at least one downlink metric and at least one uplink metric for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs), wherein the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs in one or more CSI reports;..”
Examiner’s Response: The examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’ reasonings and conclusions.
First, it should be noted with emphasis that the Applicant did not present a single argument against what the examiner previously indicated, in the Office Action mailed on 02/06/2026, the portions of the independent claim 1 taught by the primary reference. This means Go teaches a portion of the unamended claim 1 reciting “…transmitting a joint CSI report including the at least one downlink metric, the at least one uplink metric, and the set of uplink panel IDs associated with the at least one uplink metric”. Hence, Applicant technically agrees with the examiner that Go teaches unequivocally joint CSI report as taught in Applicant’s specification paragraph 27 and it is a joint CSI report because it contains both DL and UL metrics.
Second, Applicant did not argue examiner’s position that Go discloses an indication of a capability to support number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs). Once again, Applicant technically agrees Go teaches an indication of a capability to support number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs).
Hence collectively Go teaches “…transmitting a joint CSI report including the at least one downlink metric, the at least one uplink metric, and the set of uplink panel IDs associated with the at least one uplink metric and an indication of a capability to support number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs)”.
Third, Applicant agrees that Go-2 was introduced to teach ”transmitting an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (ID)” as stated in the Remarks in paragraph 4 of page 9. Applicant argues in the Remarks in the 1st paragraph of page 10 that Go-2 does not teach joint CSI reporting for multiple panels and further the capabilities for Go-2 in paragraphs 265 and 337 are regarding the number of panels.
Applicant while accepting Go-2 was introduced to teach ”transmitting an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (ID)” on the contrary argues what it was not introduced to teach is not taught. Joint CSI reporting is already taught by Go as technically agreed by Applicant as indicated above in item two. Go-2 only needs to show ”transmitting an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (ID)”.
Go-2 shows ”transmitting an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (ID)” in paragraph 265 by stating “…For example, the corresponding UE capability information may include information on the number of activatable panels of the UE, information on the maximum number of panels available for one transmission, information on the number of beams constituting the panel of the UE, and the like.” And in paragraph 337 Go-2 teaches the same thing by stating “…In this case, the UE may report, to the base station, the number of panels (e.g., UTEs) supported by the UE in the form of UE capability information. For example, the UE may report, to the base station, information on a maximum number of panels supportable by the UE for one or more uplink transmissions. The UE may report, to the base station, information on the number of panels simultaneously supported by the UE for uplink transmission.
Now Go-2 ‘s paragraphs 265 and 337 does not show the UE capability info is to support CSI reporting. But examiner pointed in the rejection that the UE capability info is in support for CSI reporting and cited paragraphs 11-13, 22, 28 and paragraphs 465-468 with respect to Fig. 14 and paragraphs 491-495 with respect to Fig. 15. For one reason or another the Applicant has not addressed how these citations do not show UE capability info in support for CSI reporting. Both in Figs. 14 and 15 the UE sends UE capability information on number of panels including the activable maximum panels numbers and panel ids and the BS configures the UE for receiving CSI-RS based on the panels received in the capability info and consequently the UE measures CSI-RS and generates CSI with corresponding panels indicated in the UE capability and hence Go-2 teaches the UE capability info is to support CSI reporting. Go-2 also teaches the UE capability info is to support CSI reporting in paragraphs 35-36.
Also Applicant should note that in paragraph 256, Go-2 states “…Further, the ‘panel’ referred to in the present disclosure may be modified, and interpreted/applied to ‘a plurality of panels’ or ‘panel group’ ”
Fourth, given what is presented above in steps one, two and three it is the position of the examiner that Go teaches joint CSI reporting (see at least paragraph 676) and UE capabilities information related to number of panels and/or groups/sets of panels is sent to the Base Station and the capability info is for panels for Joint CSI reporting (see paragraph 584 where the capability information is related to the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed and the information is also related to proposal 1 wherein proposal 1 is Joint CSI reporting as detailed in paragraphs 482 and 483. )
Hence Go teaches every thing except ”transmitting an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (ID)” and Go-2 as applicant agreed in the Remarks, on page 9 in paragraph 4, teaches the limitation in question except the CSI reporting is not a joint CSI reporting. It is the position the examiner that Go-2 only needs to teach CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (ID) and not joint CSI reporting. The joint CSI reporting of Go can be modified by Go-2 s feature to transmit an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (ID).
Given that it is the position of the examiner that the amended limitation reciting “ transmitting an indication of a capability to support joint CSI reporting of at least one
downlink metric and at least one uplink metric for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs), wherein the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs in one or more CSI reports;…” is fully taught by the combination of Go and Go-2.
In the Remarks on page 10, in paragraphs 3-4, Applicant argues that the examiner had admitted Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose “one joint CSI report” and argues Kung teaches a different joint CSI report related to multiple TRPs.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s conclusion on joint CSI reporting. Independent claim 1 teaches “a joint CSI reporting” and defines precisely what it contains. If dependent claim 3 “one joint CSI reporting” is referring to the independent claim 1 “a joint CSI reporting” then it should have been claimed in claim 3 as “the joint CSI reporting”. Examiner assumed “one joint CSI reporting” not to refer to a joint CSI report as defined in claim 1 but as defined in Applicant’s Fig. 4 in relation to paragraphs 25 and 64. Hence Kung teaches CSI report for multiple TRPs as in Applicant’s Fig. 4. If Applicant is saying one joint CSI report is the same as claim 1 s “a joint CSI report” then claim 3 fails to further limit claim 1 and lack of ambiguity can occur as it is not clear if one joint CSI report in claim 3 is referring to a joint CSI report or not. Hence Go modified by Go-2 still teaches a joint CSI report as defined in claim 1.
In the Remarks, on page 11, in the third paragraph Applicant argues that the rational to modify Go and Go-2 with Kyung’s disclosure is not proper because Go and Go-2 fail to disclose capability regarding CSI reporting.
Examiner Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees on Go and Go-2 failing to disclose capability regarding CSI reporting as Applicant has alleged. Go teaches joint CSI reporting (see at least paragraph 676) and UE capabilities information related to number of panels and/or groups/sets of panels is sent to the Base Station and the capability info is for panels for Joint CSI reporting (see paragraph 584 where the capable information is related to the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed and the information is also related to proposal 1 wherein proposal 1 is Joint CSI reporting as detailed in paragraphs 482 and 483. ). Go-2 s also shows transmitting an indication of the UE capability info to support CSI reporting in paragraphs 265 and 337and support for CSI reporting is in paragraphs 11-13, 22, 28 and paragraphs 465-468 with respect to Fig. 14 and paragraphs 491-495 with respect to Fig. 15.
Hence Applicant’s allegation of Go and Go-2 failing to disclose capability regarding CSI reporting and associated argument is not persuasive and hence Applicant’s conclusion that Kyung cannot be combined with Go and Go-2 based on such allegation is not found to be persuasive.
Regarding claim 5, in the Remarks Applicant argues, in the Remarks on page 12 in the first paragraph, while agreeing Kyung discloses a joint CSI report including multiple CSI reports but argues Kyung fails to describe any capability indicated as a maximum number of uplink panel ids in the CSI reports.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees and Kyung is only introduced to teach simultaneous CSI reports on all serving cells. Go modified by Go-2 has already taught capability indicated as a maximum number of uplink panel ids in the CSI reports as discussed above.
Regarding claim 8, in the Remarks Applicant argues, on page 12 in the second paragraph, while agreeing Oh discloses a number of CPU required for different values of the reportQuantity set but is silent regarding in any uplink metrics.
Examiner’s Response: Examiner respectfully disagrees and Oh teaches for each reportQuantity is set to the CSI report and CSI Report is an uplink metric as CSI is transmitted in the uplink.
Examiner also brings to Applicant’s attention, prior arts that can be applied in the future, and all future amendments should take these prior arts into consideration. The examiner has discussed the relevant prior arts that require Applicant’s attention as shown below.
Examiner’s Note: A) Matsumara et al ( WO2022201551) teaches equivalent disclosure like Go-2. See for example paragraphs 0008 and 0221 reproduced below.
[0008] A terminal according to one aspect of the present disclosure has a transmitting unit that transmits capability information regarding the number of panels, a receiving unit that receives information regarding the resources of a measurement signal, and a control unit that, when reporting measurement results of the measurement signal, controls so that multiple measurement results corresponding to multiple panel IDs are not reported for the same measurement signal resource identifier, and in the report, multiple measurement signal resource identifiers, multiple panel IDs, and multiple measurement results are each associated with each other, and the transmitting unit transmits the report.
[0221] UE capability information may be defined regarding whether or not group-based CSI/beam reporting is supported, with each group corresponding to a panel.
B) Papasakellariou (US20200259625 A1) discloses in paragraphs 164,166 and 203 teaches dependent claim 5 as recited in paragraph 166
[0166] In operation 1210, the UE 116 transmits, to a gNB 102, the capability of the UE 116 to simultaneously transmit a first number of PUCCHs. In response, the UE 116 can receive, from the gNB 102, a configuration to enable simultaneous transmission for a second number, greater than the first number, of PUCCHs. If the UE 116 does not receive the configuration information from the gNB 102, the UE 116 prepares to simultaneously transmit a number of PUCCHs equal to the number for the reported UE capability.
[0203] Various embodiments of the present disclosure provide a CSI report triggered by a DL DCI format. Various embodiments can include a single CSI report or multiple CSI reports. A single CSI report can correspond to a single cell and one set of time, frequency, and/or spatial resources. Multiple CSI reports can correspond to multiple cells or multiple sets of time, frequency, and/or spatial resources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 31, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al (US 20230379843 A1) in view of Go et al ( US 20220166468 A1, hereinafter referred as Go-2).
Regarding clam 1, Go discloses a method of wireless communication (i.e. Figs. 1-29 and in particular Fig. 21), comprising:
transmitting an indication of a capability to support (See paragraph 584 Go disclosing the UE may transmit UE capability information to the BS (S1710) and the BS receives UE capability information. The UE capability information may include UE capability information related to a panel. As an example, the UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed, information on the MPUE category, etc. See Fig. 17 the BS receiving UE capabilities from the UE in S1710. In paragraph 327 Go discloses an ID for a panel may be used for panel selective transmission. See also paragraphs 584, 593, 604, 613, 624, 637 and 652.) joint CSI reporting (see paragraph 584 where the capability information is related to the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed and the information is also related to proposal 1 wherein proposal 1 is Joint CSI reporting as detailed in paragraphs 482 and 483. ) of at least one downlink metric and at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.) for a sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) )(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report),
receiving channel state information (CSI) reference signals (RS) or synchronization signal blocks (SSB); (see paragraph 674 and S2120 where the UE receives downlink reference signals (DL RS) as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and/or synchronization signal blocks (SSB))
measuring CSI metrics based on the CSI-RS or SSB (i.e. based on paragraphs 674 and 676 and Fig. 21 CSI metrics is generated by the UE measuring CSI-RS and SSB), the CSI metrics including at least one downlink metric (per paragraph 676 and proposal 5-1 in paragraph 482 downlink metric is L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB. See also paragraphs 527-532) and at least one uplink metric (See paragraphs 676 in relation to paragraphs 483-484 and 569-571 wherein uplink metric is a PH, Pcmax, and pathloss reference for a preferred UL panel – Figs. 15&16. See paragraphs 524 and 525) for at least one set of uplink panel identifiers (IDs)(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report) ; and
transmitting a joint CSI report including the at least one downlink metric, the at least one uplink metric, and the set of uplink panel IDs associated with the at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.)
Go fails to disclose transmitting an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs), where in the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs in one or more CSI reports.
Go-2 in the same exact endeavor discloses transmitting an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting (See paragraphs 35-36) for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) (See paragraphs 265, 337, 390) and , where in the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs in one or more CSI reports. (See Fig. 14 in relation to paragraphs 465-468 and Fig. 15 in relation to paragraphs 491-495. Also Applicant should note that in paragraph 256, Go-2 states “…Further, the ‘panel’ referred to in the present disclosure may be modified, and interpreted/applied to ‘a plurality of panels’ or ‘panel group’ ”)
(Go-2 in paragraph 265 discloses the UE transmits UE capability information to the BS, wherein the corresponding UE capability information may include information on the number of activatable panels of the UE, information on the maximum number of panels available for one transmission. Specifically in paragraph 372 Go-2 explicitly discloses value of a maximum number of panel IDs supported by a corresponding UE is reported in the form of UE capability information.
Go-2 also discloses in paragraph 337 that the UE may report, to the base station, information on a maximum number of panels supportable by the UE for one or more uplink transmissions. Go-2 also discloses that the UE may report, to the base station, information on the number of panels simultaneously supported by the UE for uplink transmission. Since the transmission is for uplink the panels are uplink panels. Go-2 discloses in paragraphs 337, 390 and 465 that the UE capability info is in support for CSI reporting. See also paragraphs 11-13, 22, 28. See paragraphs 465-468 with respect to Fig. 14 and paragraphs 491-495 with respect to Fig. 15.)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting and then given the well- established teaching of Go-2 ’s techniques for transmitting UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting as taught by Go-2 ’s techniques for transmitting UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, since Go-2 states in paragraphs 35-37 that the modification results in procedures related to the downlink signal can be performed more rapidly and stably and the panel included in the CSI is not limited to a panel according to settings/instruction of a base station, a more optimal panel can be reported according to channel state.
Regarding clam 12, Go discloses a method of wireless communication (i.e. Figs. 1-22 and in particular in Fig. 21), comprising:
receiving an indication of a capability of a User Equipment (UE) to support (See paragraph 584 Go disclosing the UE may transmit UE capability information to the BS (S1710) and the BS receives UE capability information. The UE capability information may include UE capability information related to a panel. As an example, the UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed, information on the MPUE category, etc. See Fig. 17 the BS receiving UE capabilities from the UE in S1710. In paragraph 327 Go discloses an ID for a panel may be used for panel selective transmission. See also paragraphs 584, 593, 604, 613, 624, 637 and 652.) joint CSI reporting (see paragraph 584 where the capability information is related to the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed and the information is also related to proposal 1 wherein proposal 1 is Joint CSI reporting as detailed in paragraphs 482 and 483. ) of at least one downlink metric and at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.) for a sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) )(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report),
configuring the UE (i.e. Fig. 21 S2110 BS configures UE to measure and report) to measure channel state information (CSI) metrics (See Paragraph 674 UE configured to generate CSI metrics based on measurement of DL RS) based on CSI reference signals (RS) or synchronization signal blocks (SSB) (i.e. based on paragraphs 674 and 676 and Fig. 21 CSI metrics is generated by the UE measuring CSI-RS and SSB), the CSI metrics including at least one downlink metric (per paragraph 676 and proposal 5-1 in paragraph 482 downlink metric is L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB. See also paragraphs 527-532) and at least one uplink metric (See paragraphs 676 in relation to paragraphs 483-484 and 569-571 wherein uplink metric is a PH, Pcmax, and pathloss reference for a preferred UL panel – Figs. 15&16. See paragraphs 524 and 525) for at least one set of uplink panel identifiers (IDs)(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report) ;
transmitting the CSI-RS or SSB; (see paragraph 674 and S2120 where the BS transmits to the UE in Fig. 21 downlink reference signals (DL RS) as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and/or synchronization signal blocks (SSB)) and
receiving a joint CSI report including the at least one downlink metric, the at least one uplink metric, and the set of uplink panel IDs associated with the at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.)
Go fails to disclose receiving an indication of a capability of the UE to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs), where in the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs in one or more CSI reports.
Go-2 in the same exact endeavor discloses receiving an indication of a capability the UE to support CSI reporting (See paragraphs 35-36) for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) (See paragraphs 265, 337, 390), where in the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs in one or more CSI reports. (See Fig. 14 in relation to paragraphs 465-468 and Fig. 15 in relation to paragraphs 491-495. Also Applicant should note that in paragraph 256, Go-2 states “…Further, the ‘panel’ referred to in the present disclosure may be modified, and interpreted/applied to ‘a plurality of panels’ or ‘panel group’ ”)
(Go-2 in paragraph 265 discloses the UE transmits UE capability information to the BS, wherein the corresponding UE capability information may include information on the number of activatable panels of the UE, information on the maximum number of panels available for one transmission. Specifically in paragraph 372 Go-2 explicitly discloses value of a maximum number of panel IDs supported by a corresponding UE is reported in the form of UE capability information.
Go-2 also discloses in paragraph 337 that the UE may report, to the base station, information on a maximum number of panels supportable by the UE for one or more uplink transmissions. Go-2 also discloses that the UE may report, to the base station, information on the number of panels simultaneously supported by the UE for uplink transmission. Since the transmission is for uplink the panels are uplink panels. Go-2 discloses in paragraphs 337, 390 and 465 that the UE capability info is in support for CSI reporting. See also paragraphs 11-13, 22, 28. See paragraphs 465-468 with respect to Fig. 14 and paragraphs 491-495 with respect to Fig. 15.)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting and then given the well- established teaching of Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting as taught by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, since Go-2 states in paragraphs 35-37 that the modification results in procedures related to the downlink signal can be performed more rapidly and stably and the panel included in the CSI is not limited to a panel according to settings/instruction of a base station, a more optimal panel can be reported according to channel state.
Regarding claim 31. Go discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 21 UE and detailed in Fig. 26 UE 100), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 26 memory 104) coupled to one or more processors (Fig. 26 processor 102) coupled to are configured to cause the apparatus to:
transmit an indication of a capability to support (See paragraph 584 Go disclosing the UE may transmit UE capability information to the BS (S1710) and the BS receives UE capability information. The UE capability information may include UE capability information related to a panel. As an example, the UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed, information on the MPUE category, etc. See Fig. 17 the BS receiving UE capabilities from the UE in S1710. In paragraph 327 Go discloses an ID for a panel may be used for panel selective transmission. See also paragraphs 584, 593, 604, 613, 624, 637 and 652.) joint CSI reporting (see paragraph 584 where the capability information is related to the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed and the information is also related to proposal 1 wherein proposal 1 is Joint CSI reporting as detailed in paragraphs 482 and 483. ) of at least one downlink metric and at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.) for a sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) )(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report),
receive channel state information (CSI) reference signals (RS) or synchronization signal blocks (SSB); (see paragraph 674 and S2120 where the UE receives downlink reference signals (DL RS) as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and/or synchronization signal blocks (SSB))
measure CSI metrics based on the CSI-RS or SSB (i.e. based on paragraphs 674 and 676 and Fig. 21 CSI metrics is generated by the UE measuring CSI-RS and SSB), the CSI metrics including at least one downlink metric (per paragraph 676 and proposal 5-1 in paragraph 482 downlink metric is L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB. See also paragraphs 527-532) and at least one uplink metric (See paragraphs 676 in relation to paragraphs 483-484 and 569-571 wherein uplink metric is a PH, Pcmax, and pathloss reference for a preferred UL panel – Figs. 15&16. See paragraphs 524 and 525) for at least one set of uplink panel identifiers (IDs)(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report) ; and
transmit a joint CSI report including the at least one downlink metric, the at least one uplink metric, and the set of uplink panel IDs associated with the at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.)
Go fails to disclose transmit an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs), where in the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs in one or more CSI reports.
Go-2 in the same exact endeavor discloses transmit an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting (See paragraphs 35-36) for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) (See paragraphs 265, 337, 390) and , where in the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs in one or more CSI reports. (See Fig. 14 in relation to paragraphs 465-468 and Fig. 15 in relation to paragraphs 491-495. Also Applicant should note that in paragraph 256, Go-2 states “…Further, the ‘panel’ referred to in the present disclosure may be modified, and interpreted/applied to ‘a plurality of panels’ or ‘panel group’ ”)
(Go-2 in paragraph 265 discloses the UE transmits UE capability information to the BS, wherein the corresponding UE capability information may include information on the number of activatable panels of the UE, information on the maximum number of panels available for one transmission. Specifically in paragraph 372 Go-2 explicitly discloses value of a maximum number of panel IDs supported by a corresponding UE is reported in the form of UE capability information.
Go-2 also discloses in paragraph 337 that the UE may report, to the base station, information on a maximum number of panels supportable by the UE for one or more uplink transmissions. Go-2 also discloses that the UE may report, to the base station, information on the number of panels simultaneously supported by the UE for uplink transmission. Since the transmission is for uplink the panels are uplink panels. Go-2 discloses in paragraphs 337, 390 and 465 that the UE capability info is in support for CSI reporting. See also paragraphs 11-13, 22, 28. See paragraphs 465-468 with respect to Fig. 14 and paragraphs 491-495 with respect to Fig. 15.)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting and then given the well- established teaching of Go-2 ’s techniques for transmitting UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting as taught by Go-2 ’s techniques for transmitting UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, since Go-2 states in paragraphs 35-37 that the modification results in procedures related to the downlink signal can be performed more rapidly and stably and the panel included in the CSI is not limited to a panel according to settings/instruction of a base station, a more optimal panel can be reported according to channel state.
Regarding claim 38, Go discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 21 BS and detailed in Fig. 26 UE 200), comprising one or more of memories (Fig. 26 memory 204) coupled to one or more processors (Fig. 26 processor 202) where in the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive an indication of a capability of a User Equipment (UE) to support (See paragraph 584 Go disclosing the UE may transmit UE capability information to the BS (S1710) and the BS receives UE capability information. The UE capability information may include UE capability information related to a panel. As an example, the UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed, information on the MPUE category, etc. See Fig. 17 the BS receiving UE capabilities from the UE in S1710. In paragraph 327 Go discloses an ID for a panel may be used for panel selective transmission. See also paragraphs 584, 593, 604, 613, 624, 637 and 652.) joint CSI reporting (see paragraph 584 where the capability information is related to the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed and the information is also related to proposal 1 wherein proposal 1 is Joint CSI reporting as detailed in paragraphs 482 and 483. ) of at least one downlink metric and at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.) for a sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) )(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report),
configure the UE (i.e. Fig. 21 S2110 BS configures UE to measure and report) to measure channel state information (CSI) metrics (See Paragraph 674 UE configured to generate CSI metrics based on measurement of DL RS) based on CSI reference signals (RS) or synchronization signal blocks (SSB) (i.e. based on paragraphs 674 and 676 and Fig. 21 CSI metrics is generated by the UE measuring CSI-RS and SSB), the CSI metrics including at least one downlink metric (per paragraph 676 and proposal 5-1 in paragraph 482 downlink metric is L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB. See also paragraphs 527-532) and at least one uplink metric (See paragraphs 676 in relation to paragraphs 483-484 and 569-571 wherein uplink metric is a PH, Pcmax, and pathloss reference for a preferred UL panel – Figs. 15&16. See paragraphs 524 and 525) for at least one set of uplink panel identifiers (IDs)(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report) ;
transmit the CSI-RS or SSB; (see paragraph 674 and S2120 where the BS transmits to the UE in Fig. 21 downlink reference signals (DL RS) as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and/or synchronization signal blocks (SSB)) and
receive a joint CSI report including the at least one downlink metric, the at least one uplink metric, and the set of uplink panel IDs associated with the at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.)
Go fails to disclose receive an indication of a capability of the UE to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs), where in the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs in one or more CSI reports.
Go-2 in the same exact endeavor discloses receive an indication of a capability the UE to support CSI reporting (See paragraphs 35-36) for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) (See paragraphs 265, 337, 390), where in the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs in one or more CSI reports. (See Fig. 14 in relation to paragraphs 465-468 and Fig. 15 in relation to paragraphs 491-495. Also Applicant should note that in paragraph 256, Go-2 states “…Further, the ‘panel’ referred to in the present disclosure may be modified, and interpreted/applied to ‘a plurality of panels’ or ‘panel group’ ”)
(Go-2 in paragraph 265 discloses the UE transmits UE capability information to the BS, wherein the corresponding UE capability information may include information on the number of activatable panels of the UE, information on the maximum number of panels available for one transmission. Specifically in paragraph 372 Go-2 explicitly discloses value of a maximum number of panel IDs supported by a corresponding UE is reported in the form of UE capability information.
Go-2 also discloses in paragraph 337 that the UE may report, to the base station, information on a maximum number of panels supportable by the UE for one or more uplink transmissions. Go-2 also discloses that the UE may report, to the base station, information on the number of panels simultaneously supported by the UE for uplink transmission. Since the transmission is for uplink the panels are uplink panels. Go-2 discloses in paragraphs 337, 390 and 465 that the UE capability info is in support for CSI reporting. See also paragraphs 11-13, 22, 28. See paragraphs 465-468 with respect to Fig. 14 and paragraphs 491-495 with respect to Fig. 15.)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting and then given the well- established teaching of Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting as taught by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, since Go-2 states in paragraphs 35-37 that the modification results in procedures related to the downlink signal can be performed more rapidly and stably and the panel included in the CSI is not limited to a panel according to settings/instruction of a base station, a more optimal panel can be reported according to channel state.
Claim(s) 6-8, 17-19, 35,-37, and 42-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go in view of Go-2 and further in view of Oh et al (US20240032057 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Go modified by Go-2 discloses the method of claim 1.
Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose wherein the method comprises determining that at least one CSI processing unit (CPU) is occupied for reporting the at least one uplink metric.
Oh in the same endeavor discloses wherein measuring the CSI metrics based on the CSI-RS or SSB (i.e. see paragraph 290 and Table 24. CSI metrics derived based on measurement of CSI-RS and PBCH/SSB) comprises determining that at least one CSI processing unit (CPU) comprises determining that at least one CSI processing unit (CPU) is occupied for reporting the at least one uplink metric.(See paragraph 345 and table 31 indicating the CSI processing unit (CPU) is occupied for reporting each reportQuantity set to the CSI report and an uplink metric is just another reportQuantity).
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), since Oh states in paragraph 23 that the modification results in allowing the UE to efficiently transmit and receive a reference signal.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 42, claim 42 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Go modified by Go-2 and Oh discloses the method of claim 6, but Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose wherein the CSI processing unit is occupied for the joint CSI report.
Oh in the same endeavor discloses wherein the CSI Processing Unit is occupied for the joint CSI report. (See paragraph 345 and table 31 indicating the CSI processing unit (CPU) is occupied for reporting each reportQuantity set to the CSI report and joint CSI report is just another reportQuantity).
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), since Oh states in paragraph 23 that the modification results in allowing the UE to efficiently transmit and receive a reference signal.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Regarding claim 43, claim 43 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Go modified by Go-2 and Oh discloses the method of claim 6, but Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose wherein a first CSI processing unit is occupied for the at least one downlink metric and a second CSI processing unit is occupied for the at least one uplink metric.
Oh in the same endeavor discloses wherein a first CSI processing unit (Paragraph 346 there are N CSI Processing Unit one can be for uplink and another for downlink) is occupied for the at least one downlink metric and a second CSI processing unit (Paragraph 346 there are N CSI Processing Unit one can be for uplink and another for downlink) is occupied for the at least one uplink metric.(See paragraph 345 and table 31 indicating the CSI processing unit (CPU) required/needed for reporting each reportQuantity set to the CSI report and both uplink and downlink meters of CSI report are just another reportQuantity).
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), since Oh states in paragraph 23 that the modification results in allowing the UE to efficiently transmit and receive a reference signal.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8.
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8.
Regarding claim 44, claim 44 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8.
Regarding claim 45, Go modified by Go-2 and Oh discloses the apparatus of claim 44, but Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose, wherein one CPU is occupied for each of the at least one set of uplink panel IDs.
Oh in the same endeavor discloses , wherein one CPU is occupied for each of the at least one set of uplink panel IDs. (See paragraph 345 and table 31 indicating the CSI processing unit (CPU) required/needed for reporting each reportQuantity set to the CSI report and uplink panel id of CSI report is just another reportQuantity).
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), since Oh states in paragraph 23 that the modification results in allowing the UE to efficiently transmit and receive a reference signal.
Regarding claim 46, claim 46 is rejected in the same scope as claim 45.
Claim(s) 3-5, 14-16, 32-34, and 39-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go in view of Go-2 and further in view of Kyung et al (US20240097762 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Go modified by Go-2 discloses the method of claim 1 including disclosing the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs as set forth above.
Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose one joint CSI report. However Go modified by Go-2 discloses a joint CSI report of at least one downlink metric and at least one uplink metric as set forth in claim 1 and one joint CSI report is interpreted in view of Applicant’s Fig. 4 and paragraphs 25 and 64.
Kyung in the same endeavor discloses one joint CSI report. (See paragraph 21 indicating that the joint CSI may be transmitted to one representative TRP of multiple TRPs. See paragraph 26 indicating that UE 110 may transmit a joint CSI report which includes multiple CSI reports for multiple TRPs using one CSI reporting resource (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH. Specifically in paragraph 28 Kyung indicates UE 110 may transmit a joint CSI report (which may include multiple CSI reports for multiple TRPs) to the multiple TRPs using multiple CSI reporting resources (e.g., PUCCHs and/or PUSCHs). Accordingly, a given joint CSI report may contain the same CSI report for the multiple TRPs.).
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint CSI report, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint CSI report, since Kyung states in paragraph 21 that the modification results in the joint CSI being transmitted to one representative TRP of multiple TRPs. This may be beneficial when the multiple TRPs are coordinating with each other with ideal backhaul.
Regarding claim 4, Go modified by Go-2 discloses the method of claim 1 including disclosing the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs as set forth above.
Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose a single reporting instance that includes multiple CSI reports.
Kyung in the same endeavor discloses a single reporting instance that includes multiple CSI reports. (See paragraph 40 discloses – a single CSI reporting instance containing multiple CSI reports multiplexed…)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint/single CSI report, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint/single CSI report, since Kyung states in paragraph 21 that the modification results in the joint CSI being transmitted to one representative TRP of multiple TRPs. This may be beneficial when the multiple TRPs are coordinating with each other with ideal backhaul.
Regarding claim 5, Go modified by Go-2 discloses the method of claim 1 including disclosing the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs as set forth above.
Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose simultaneous CSI reports on all serving cells.
Kyung in the same endeavor discloses simultaneous CSI reports on all serving cells.(i.e. See abstract and paragraphs 8, 28, 47 and 51 effectively stating in paragraph 51”… generating the CSI report, process 300 may involve processor 212 generating a joint CSI report comprising multiple independent CSI reports for the multiple TRPs. In such cases, in transmitting the CSI report to the one or more of the multiple TRPs, process 300 may involve processor 212 transmitting the joint CSI report to the multiple TRPs using multiple CSI reporting resources, which may include one or more PUCCHs, one or more PUSCHs, or a combination thereof.”)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint/single CSI report, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint/single CSI report, since Kyung states in paragraph 21 that the modification results in the joint CSI being transmitted to one representative TRP of multiple TRPs. This may be beneficial when the multiple TRPs are coordinating with each other with ideal backhaul.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Regarding claim 39, claim 39 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 40, claim 40 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 41, claim 41 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474