DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on 11/04/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
The IDS(s) submitted on 07/21/2023 has been considered.
Claims 1, 3-8, 12, 14-19 and 31-44 are pending of which claims 1, 12, 31, and 38 are independent.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Given the fact that claim 1 was amended with the limitations of cancelled claim 2 previously indicated allowable if rewritten independently, the expectation was claim 1 will be allowed provided an update search did not reveal any new prior art. However, an update search has revealed a prior art, Go et al ( US 20220166468 A1, hereinafter referred as Go-2). Go-2 teaches the amended limitation as shown below.
The examiner approached Applicant’s representative, Kyle Pendergrass (57403), on 11/12/2025, to further amend the independent claims to overcome Go-2 disclosure. Applicant representative responded on the spot that the Applicant preferred a second non-final office action and will not consider further amending the claims. Hence the instant office action has been made second non-final.
Examiner also brings to Applicant’s attention, prior arts that can be applied in the future, and all future amendments should take these prior arts into consideration. The examiner has discussed the relevant prior arts that require Applicant’s attention in the Conclusion section of the instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, 31, and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go et al (US 20230379843 A1) in view of Go et al ( US 20220166468 A1, hereinafter referred as Go-2).
Regarding clam 1, Go discloses a method of wireless communication (i.e. Figs. 1-29 and in particular Fig. 21), comprising:
receiving channel state information (CSI) reference signals (RS) or synchronization signal blocks (SSB); (see paragraph 674 and S2120 where the UE receives downlink reference signals (DL RS) as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and/or synchronization signal blocks (SSB))
measuring CSI metrics based on the CSI-RS or SSB (i.e. based on paragraphs 674 and 676 and Fig. 21 CSI metrics is generated by the UE measuring CSI-RS and SSB), the CSI metrics including at least one downlink metric (per paragraph 676 and proposal 5-1 in paragraph 482 downlink metric is L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB. See also paragraphs 527-532) and at least one uplink metric (See paragraphs 676 in relation to paragraphs 483-484 and 569-571 wherein uplink metric is a PH, Pcmax, and pathloss reference for a preferred UL panel – Figs. 15&16. See paragraphs 524 and 525) for at least one set of uplink panel identifiers (IDs)(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report) ; and
transmitting a joint CSI report including the at least one downlink metric, the at least one uplink metric, and the set of uplink panel IDs associated with the at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.)
Go discloses receiving an indication of a capability to support number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) (See paragraph 584 Go disclosing the UE may transmit UE capability information to the BS (S1710) and the BS receives UE capability information. The UE capability information may include UE capability information related to a panel. As an example, the UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed, information on the MPUE category, etc. See Fig. 17 the BS receiving UE capabilities from the UE in S1710. In paragraph 327 Go discloses an ID for a panel may be used for panel selective transmission. See also paragraphs 584, 593, 604, 613, 624, 637 and 652.)
Go fails to disclose transmitting an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs).
Go-2 in the same exact endeavor discloses transmitting an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs).
(Go-2 in paragraph 265 discloses the UE transmits UE capability information to the BS, wherein the corresponding UE capability information may include information on the number of activatable panels of the UE, information on the maximum number of panels available for one transmission. Specifically in paragraph 372 Go-2 explicitly discloses value of a maximum number of panel IDs supported by a corresponding UE is reported in the form of UE capability information.
Go-2 also discloses in paragraph 337 that the UE may report, to the base station, information on a maximum number of panels supportable by the UE for one or more uplink transmissions. Go-2 also discloses that the UE may report, to the base station, information on the number of panels simultaneously supported by the UE for uplink transmission. Since the transmission is for uplink the panels are uplink panels. Go-2 discloses in paragraphs 337, 390 and 465 that the UE capability info is in support for CSI reporting. See also paragraphs 11-13, 22, 28. See paragraphs 465-468 with respect to Fig. 14 and paragraphs 491-495 with respect to Fig. 15.)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting and then given the well- established teaching of Go-2 ’s techniques for transmitting UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting as taught by Go-2 ’s techniques for transmitting UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, since Go-2 states in paragraphs 35-37 that the modification results in procedures related to the downlink signal can be performed more rapidly and stably and the panel included in the CSI is not limited to a panel according to settings/instruction of a base station, a more optimal panel can be reported according to channel state.
Regarding clam 12, Go discloses a method of wireless communication (i.e. Figs. 1-22 and in particular in Fig. 21), comprising:
configuring a user equipment (UE) (i.e. Fig. 21 S2110 BS configures UE to measure and report) to measure channel state information (CSI) metrics (See Paragraph 674 UE configured to generate CSI metrics based on measurement of DL RS) based on CSI reference signals (RS) or synchronization signal blocks (SSB) (i.e. based on paragraphs 674 and 676 and Fig. 21 CSI metrics is generated by the UE measuring CSI-RS and SSB), the CSI metrics including at least one downlink metric (per paragraph 676 and proposal 5-1 in paragraph 482 downlink metric is L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB. See also paragraphs 527-532) and at least one uplink metric (See paragraphs 676 in relation to paragraphs 483-484 and 569-571 wherein uplink metric is a PH, Pcmax, and pathloss reference for a preferred UL panel – Figs. 15&16. See paragraphs 524 and 525) for at least one set of uplink panel identifiers (IDs)(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report) ;
transmitting the CSI-RS or SSB; (see paragraph 674 and S2120 where the BS transmits to the UE in Fig. 21 downlink reference signals (DL RS) as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and/or synchronization signal blocks (SSB)) and
receiving a joint CSI report including the at least one downlink metric, the at least one uplink metric, and the set of uplink panel IDs associated with the at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.)
Go discloses receiving an indication of a capability to support number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) (See paragraph 584 Go disclosing the UE may transmit UE capability information to the BS (S1710) and the BS receives UE capability information. The UE capability information may include UE capability information related to a panel. As an example, the UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed, information on the MPUE category, etc. See Fig. 17 the BS receiving UE capabilities from the UE in S1710. In paragraph 327 Go discloses an ID for a panel may be used for panel selective transmission. See also paragraphs 584, 593, 604, 613, 624, 637 and 652.)
Go fails to disclose receiving an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs).
Go-2 in the same exact endeavor discloses receiving an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs).
(Go-2 in paragraph 265 discloses the UE transmits UE capability information to the BS, wherein the corresponding UE capability information may include information on the number of activatable panels of the UE, information on the maximum number of panels available for one transmission. Specifically in paragraph 372 Go-2 explicitly discloses value of a maximum number of panel IDs supported by a corresponding UE is reported in the form of UE capability information.
Go-2 also discloses in paragraph 337 that the UE may report, to the base station, information on a maximum number of panels supportable by the UE for one or more uplink transmissions. Go-2 also discloses that the UE may report, to the base station, information on the number of panels simultaneously supported by the UE for uplink transmission. Since the transmission is for uplink the panels are uplink panels. Go-2 discloses in paragraphs 337, 390 and 465 that the UE capability info is in support for CSI reporting. See also paragraphs 11-13, 22, 28. See paragraphs 465-468 with respect to Fig. 14 and paragraphs 491-495 with respect to Fig. 15.)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting and then given the well- established teaching of Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting as taught by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, since Go-2 states in paragraphs 35-37 that the modification results in procedures related to the downlink signal can be performed more rapidly and stably and the panel included in the CSI is not limited to a panel according to settings/instruction of a base station, a more optimal panel can be reported according to channel state.
Regarding claim 31. Go discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 21 UE and detailed in Fig. 26 UE 100), comprising: one or more memories (Fig. 26 memory 104) coupled to one or more processors (Fig. 26 processor 102) coupled to are configured to cause the apparatus to:
receive channel state information (CSI) reference signals (RS) or synchronization signal blocks (SSB); (see paragraph 674 and S2120 where the UE receives downlink reference signals (DL RS) as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and/or synchronization signal blocks (SSB))
measure CSI metrics based on the CSI-RS or SSB (i.e. based on paragraphs 674 and 676 and Fig. 21 CSI metrics is generated by the UE measuring CSI-RS and SSB), the CSI metrics including at least one downlink metric (per paragraph 676 and proposal 5-1 in paragraph 482 downlink metric is L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB. See also paragraphs 527-532) and at least one uplink metric (See paragraphs 676 in relation to paragraphs 483-484 and 569-571 wherein uplink metric is a PH, Pcmax, and pathloss reference for a preferred UL panel – Figs. 15&16. See paragraphs 524 and 525) for at least one set of uplink panel identifiers (IDs)(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report) ; and
transmit a joint CSI report including the at least one downlink metric, the at least one uplink metric, and the set of uplink panel IDs associated with the at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.)
Go discloses receiving an indication of a capability to support number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) (See paragraph 584 Go disclosing the UE may transmit UE capability information to the BS (S1710) and the BS receives UE capability information. The UE capability information may include UE capability information related to a panel. As an example, the UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed, information on the MPUE category, etc. See Fig. 17 the BS receiving UE capabilities from the UE in S1710. In paragraph 327 Go discloses an ID for a panel may be used for panel selective transmission. See also paragraphs 584, 593, 604, 613, 624, 637 and 652.)
Go fails to disclose transmit an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs).
Go-2 in the same exact endeavor discloses transmit an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs).
(Go-2 in paragraph 265 discloses the UE transmits UE capability information to the BS, wherein the corresponding UE capability information may include information on the number of activatable panels of the UE, information on the maximum number of panels available for one transmission. Specifically in paragraph 372 Go-2 explicitly discloses value of a maximum number of panel IDs supported by a corresponding UE is reported in the form of UE capability information.
Go-2 also discloses in paragraph 337 that the UE may report, to the base station, information on a maximum number of panels supportable by the UE for one or more uplink transmissions. Go-2 also discloses that the UE may report, to the base station, information on the number of panels simultaneously supported by the UE for uplink transmission. Since the transmission is for uplink the panels are uplink panels. Go-2 discloses in paragraphs 337, 390 and 465 that the UE capability info is in support for CSI reporting. See also paragraphs 11-13, 22, 28. See paragraphs 465-468 with respect to Fig. 14 and paragraphs 491-495 with respect to Fig. 15.)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting and then given the well- established teaching of Go-2 ’s techniques for transmitng UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting as taught by Go-2 ’s techniques for transmitting UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, since Go-2 states in paragraphs 35-37 that the modification results in procedures related to the downlink signal can be performed more rapidly and stably and the panel included in the CSI is not limited to a panel according to settings/instruction of a base station, a more optimal panel can be reported according to channel state.
Regarding claim 38, Go discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 21 BS and detailed in Fig. 26 UE 200), comprising one or more of memories (Fig. 26 memory 204) coupled to one or more processors (Fig. 26 processor 202) where in the one or more processors are configured to cause the apparatus to:
configure a user equipment (UE) (i.e. Fig. 21 S2110 BS configures UE to measure and report) to measure channel state information (CSI) metrics (See Paragraph 674 UE configured to generate CSI metrics based on measurement of DL RS) based on CSI reference signals (RS) or synchronization signal blocks (SSB) (i.e. based on paragraphs 674 and 676 and Fig. 21 CSI metrics is generated by the UE measuring CSI-RS and SSB), the CSI metrics including at least one downlink metric (per paragraph 676 and proposal 5-1 in paragraph 482 downlink metric is L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB. See also paragraphs 527-532) and at least one uplink metric (See paragraphs 676 in relation to paragraphs 483-484 and 569-571 wherein uplink metric is a PH, Pcmax, and pathloss reference for a preferred UL panel – Figs. 15&16. See paragraphs 524 and 525) for at least one set of uplink panel identifiers (IDs)(i.e. per paragraphs 494 and 676 the reported preferred set of uplink panel id is explicitly included in the CSI report) ;
transmit the CSI-RS or SSB; (see paragraph 674 and S2120 where the BS transmits to the UE in Fig. 21 downlink reference signals (DL RS) as channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) and/or synchronization signal blocks (SSB)) and
receive a joint CSI report including the at least one downlink metric, the at least one uplink metric, and the set of uplink panel IDs associated with the at least one uplink metric.(See Fig. 21 S2130 beam reporting and in paragraph 676 it is disclosed beam reporting can be a channel state information (CSI) report and include and L1-RSRP and L1-SINR of DL RS wherein DL RS being CSI-RS and SSB is the downlink metrics and the uplink metrics include PH, PCmax, pathloss reference and include information (e.g., explicit panel ID/implicit panel ID) for a preferred UL panel/non-preferred UL panel determined based on the proposal 5-1. Further per paragraph 569 UL metrics can be a list of (DL) RS IDs which cannot be configured/indicated with a reference RS for UL beam or/and a pathloss reference RS for calculating a pathloss compensation value due to the MPE issue. Finally per paragraph 570 the CSI report includes a list of (non-preferred) panel IDs which cannot be configured/indicated for UL channel/RS transmission usage due to the MPE issue.)
Go discloses receiving an indication of a capability to support number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs) (See paragraph 584 Go disclosing the UE may transmit UE capability information to the BS (S1710) and the BS receives UE capability information. The UE capability information may include UE capability information related to a panel. As an example, the UE capability information may include the number of panels (groups) which may be supported by the UE, information indicating whether multi-panel based simultaneous transmission may be performed, information on the MPUE category, etc. See Fig. 17 the BS receiving UE capabilities from the UE in S1710. In paragraph 327 Go discloses an ID for a panel may be used for panel selective transmission. See also paragraphs 584, 593, 604, 613, 624, 637 and 652.)
Go fails to disclose receiving an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs).
Go-2 in the same exact endeavor discloses receiving an indication of a capability to support CSI reporting for a maximum number of sets of uplink panel identifiers (IDs).
(Go-2 in paragraph 265 discloses the UE transmits UE capability information to the BS, wherein the corresponding UE capability information may include information on the number of activatable panels of the UE, information on the maximum number of panels available for one transmission. Specifically in paragraph 372 Go-2 explicitly discloses value of a maximum number of panel IDs supported by a corresponding UE is reported in the form of UE capability information.
Go-2 also discloses in paragraph 337 that the UE may report, to the base station, information on a maximum number of panels supportable by the UE for one or more uplink transmissions. Go-2 also discloses that the UE may report, to the base station, information on the number of panels simultaneously supported by the UE for uplink transmission. Since the transmission is for uplink the panels are uplink panels. Go-2 discloses in paragraphs 337, 390 and 465 that the UE capability info is in support for CSI reporting. See also paragraphs 11-13, 22, 28. See paragraphs 465-468 with respect to Fig. 14 and paragraphs 491-495 with respect to Fig. 15.)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting and then given the well- established teaching of Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting as taught by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels, since Go-2 states in paragraphs 35-37 that the modification results in procedures related to the downlink signal can be performed more rapidly and stably and the panel included in the CSI is not limited to a panel according to settings/instruction of a base station, a more optimal panel can be reported according to channel state.
Claim(s) 6-8, 17-19, 35,-37, and 42-44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go in view of Go-2 and further in view of Oh et al (US20240032057 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Go modified by Go-2 discloses the method of claim 1.
Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose wherein the method comprises determining that at least one CSI processing unit (CPU) is occupied for reporting the at least one uplink metric.
Oh in the same endeavor discloses wherein measuring the CSI metrics based on the CSI-RS or SSB (i.e. see paragraph 290 and Table 24. CSI metrics derived based on measurement of CSI-RS and PBCH/SSB) comprises determining that at least one CSI processing unit (CPU) comprises determining that at least one CSI processing unit (CPU) is occupied for reporting the at least one uplink metric.(See paragraph 345 and table 31 indicating the CSI processing unit (CPU) is occupied for reporting each reportQuantity set to the CSI report and an uplink metric is just another reportQuantity).
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), since Oh states in paragraph 23 that the modification results in allowing the UE to efficiently transmit and receive a reference signal.
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 35, claim 35 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 42, claim 42 is rejected in the same scope as claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Go modified by Go-2 and Oh discloses the method of claim 6, but Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose wherein the CSI processing unit is occupied for the joint CSI report.
Oh in the same endeavor discloses wherein the CSI Processing Unit is occupied for the joint CSI report. (See paragraph 345 and table 31 indicating the CSI processing unit (CPU) is occupied for reporting each reportQuantity set to the CSI report and joint CSI report is just another reportQuantity).
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), since Oh states in paragraph 23 that the modification results in allowing the UE to efficiently transmit and receive a reference signal.
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Regarding claim 36, claim 36 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Regarding claim 43, claim 43 is rejected in the same scope as claim 7.
Regarding claim 8, Go modified by Go-2 and Oh discloses the method of claim 6, but Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose wherein a first CSI processing unit is occupied for the at least one downlink metric and a second CSI processing unit is occupied for the at least one uplink metric.
Oh in the same endeavor discloses wherein a first CSI processing unit (Paragraph 346 there are N CSI Processing Unit one can be for uplink and another for downlink) is occupied for the at least one downlink metric and a second CSI processing unit (Paragraph 346 there are N CSI Processing Unit one can be for uplink and another for downlink) is occupied for the at least one uplink metric.(See paragraph 345 and table 31 indicating the CSI processing unit (CPU) required/needed for reporting each reportQuantity set to the CSI report and both uplink and downlink meters of CSI report are just another reportQuantity).
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Oh ’s techniques for determining CSI processing unit (CPU), since Oh states in paragraph 23 that the modification results in allowing the UE to efficiently transmit and receive a reference signal.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8.
Regarding claim 37, claim 37 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8.
Regarding claim 44, claim 44 is rejected in the same scope as claim 8.
Claim(s) 3-5, 14-16, 32-34, and 39-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Go in view of Go-2 and further in view of Kyung et al (US20240097762 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Go modified by Go-2 discloses the method of claim 1 including disclosing the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs as set forth above.
Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose one joint CSI report.
Kyung in the same endeavor discloses one joint CSI report. (See paragraph 21 indicating that the joint CSI may be transmitted to one representative TRP of multiple TRPs. See paragraph 26 indicating that UE 110 may transmit a joint CSI report which includes multiple CSI reports for multiple TRPs using one CSI reporting resource (e.g., PUCCH or PUSCH. Specifically in paragraph 28 Kyung indicates UE 110 may transmit a joint CSI report (which may include multiple CSI reports for multiple TRPs) to the multiple TRPs using multiple CSI reporting resources (e.g., PUCCHs and/or PUSCHs). Accordingly, a given joint CSI report may contain the same CSI report for the multiple TRPs.).
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint CSI report, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint CSI report, since Kyung states in paragraph 21 that the modification results in the joint CSI being transmitted to one representative TRP of multiple TRPs. This may be beneficial when the multiple TRPs are coordinating with each other with ideal backhaul.
Regarding claim 4, Go modified by Go-2 discloses the method of claim 1 including disclosing the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs as set forth above.
Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose a single reporting instance that includes multiple CSI reports.
Kyung in the same endeavor discloses a single reporting instance that includes multiple CSI reports. (See paragraph 40 discloses – a single CSI reporting instance containing multiple CSI reports multiplexed…)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint/single CSI report, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint/single CSI report, since Kyung states in paragraph 21 that the modification results in the joint CSI being transmitted to one representative TRP of multiple TRPs. This may be beneficial when the multiple TRPs are coordinating with each other with ideal backhaul.
Regarding claim 5, Go modified by Go-2 discloses the method of claim 1 including disclosing the capability is a maximum number of sets of uplink panel IDs as set forth above.
Go modified by Go-2 fails to disclose simultaneous CSI reports on all serving cells.
Kyung in the same endeavor discloses simultaneous CSI reports on all serving cells.(i.e. See abstract and paragraphs 8, 28, 47 and 51 effectively stating in paragraph 51”… generating the CSI report, process 300 may involve processor 212 generating a joint CSI report comprising multiple independent CSI reports for the multiple TRPs. In such cases, in transmitting the CSI report to the one or more of the multiple TRPs, process 300 may involve processor 212 transmitting the joint CSI report to the multiple TRPs using multiple CSI reporting resources, which may include one or more PUCCHs, one or more PUSCHs, or a combination thereof.”)
In view of the above, having Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels and then given the well- established teaching of Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint/single CSI report, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to further modify Go’s beam reporting including CSI reporting modified by Go-2 ’s techniques for receiving UE capability information related to a plurality of panels as taught by Kyung ’s techniques for transmitting joint/single CSI report, since Kyung states in paragraph 21 that the modification results in the joint CSI being transmitted to one representative TRP of multiple TRPs. This may be beneficial when the multiple TRPs are coordinating with each other with ideal backhaul.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 16, claim 16 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Regarding claim 32, claim 32 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 33, claim 33 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 34, claim 34 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Regarding claim 39, claim 39 is rejected in the same scope as claim 3.
Regarding claim 40, claim 40 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
Regarding claim 41, claim 41 is rejected in the same scope as claim 5.
Conclusion
Examiner’s Note: A) Matsumara et al ( WO2022201551) teaches equivalent disclosure like Go-2. See for example paragraphs 0008 and 0221 reproduced below.
[0008] A terminal according to one aspect of the present disclosure has a transmitting unit that transmits capability information regarding the number of panels, a receiving unit that receives information regarding the resources of a measurement signal, and a control unit that, when reporting measurement results of the measurement signal, controls so that multiple measurement results corresponding to multiple panel IDs are not reported for the same measurement signal resource identifier, and in the report, multiple measurement signal resource identifiers, multiple panel IDs, and multiple measurement results are each associated with each other, and the transmitting unit transmits the report.
[0221] UE capability information may be defined regarding whether or not group-based CSI/beam reporting is supported, with each group corresponding to a panel.
B) Papasakellariou (US20200259625 A1) discloses in paragraphs 164,166 and 203 teaches dependent claim 5 as recited in paragraph 166
[0166] In operation 1210, the UE 116 transmits, to a gNB 102, the capability of the UE 116 to simultaneously transmit a first number of PUCCHs. In response, the UE 116 can receive, from the gNB 102, a configuration to enable simultaneous transmission for a second number, greater than the first number, of PUCCHs. If the UE 116 does not receive the configuration information from the gNB 102, the UE 116 prepares to simultaneously transmit a number of PUCCHs equal to the number for the reported UE capability.
[0203] Various embodiments of the present disclosure provide a CSI report triggered by a DL DCI format. Various embodiments can include a single CSI report or multiple CSI reports. A single CSI report can correspond to a single cell and one set of time, frequency, and/or spatial resources. Multiple CSI reports can correspond to multiple cells or multiple sets of time, frequency, and/or spatial resources.
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474