DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 37-39 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 20 July 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “electronic control unit”, “user proximity detection unit” and “electrical signaling unit” in claim 1. The examiner draws the reader’s attention to applicant’s drawing Figures 4A-4C and the attendant discussion regarding structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pre-Grant Publication 2020/0114087 to Bauer et al. (Bauer hereinafter).
Regarding claim 20, Bauer teaches an electronic system for a drug delivery device, the electronic system comprising: at least one user interface member (600) configured to be manipulated by a user for performing a dose operation, an electronic control unit (610) configured to control operation of the electronic system, the electronic system having a first state (sleep, see paragraph 147) and a second state (powered on, same paragraph), wherein the electronic system has an increased electrical power consumption in the second state as compared to the first state, wherein the user interface member comprises an exterior operation surface (510) which is arranged to interact with the user for the dose operation, wherein the user interface member comprises a user proximity detection unit (600) configured to generate an electrical signal in response to detecting that the user is close to the exterior operation surface (i.e. activates 626) or touches the exterior operation surface, wherein the user proximity detection unit comprises a movable member (626) arranged to be moved by the user away from an initial (proximal) position relative to the exterior operation surface towards a (distal) operation position before the user reaches the exterior operation surface, wherein the user proximity detection unit further comprises an electrical signaling (620) unit, wherein the user proximity detection unit is configured to provide the electrical signal when the movable member has been moved away from the initial position, and wherein the electronic system is configured such that the electronic control unit switches the electronic system from the first state into the second state in response to the electrical signal (paragraph 143).
Regarding claim 21, Bauer teaches a member interface body (520) having a portion (519) extending into an opening (547) of the exterior operation surface.
Regarding claim 22, Bauer further teaches multiple openings (631) through which the movable body passes, the portions (646) of the movable member extending from a central common main body (638 and/or surrounding ring) which is provided in an interior of the user interface member body.
Regarding claim 23, Bauer teaches a force transfer path (i.e. along 627) which bypasses (i.e. does not pass through) the control unit.
Regarding claim 24, Bauer teaches that a user contact region (upper central surface) of the movable member (626) is elevated relative to the exterior operation surface (see e.g. Fig. 26) and sub-flush in the operation position (in order to contact the switch 620).
Regarding claim 25, Bauer teaches that the electrical signal is generated in response to movement of the movable member relative to the electrical signaling unit, and/or wherein the electrical signaling unit comprises an electrical switch, wherein the electrical switch is arranged to be triggered during the movement from the initial position to the operation position (paragraph 145).
Regarding claim 26, Bauer teaches that a biasing member may be provided (paragraph 144, “a member that is biased proximally such as by springs (not shown)”).
Regarding claim 27, Bauer teaches a delivery surface (510 for interacting with the user for performing a dose delivery operation (paragraph 131).
Regarding claim 28, Bauer teaches that the user interface member (600) is connected to a mechanism member (519, see paragraph 139).
Regarding claim 29, Bauer teaches a first member (510, 547) and a second member (519, 520) which are movable relative to each other to set the dose (paragraph 139).
Regarding claim 30, Bauer teaches a shuttle member (608) and a biasing system (672).
Regarding claim 31, Bauer teaches that the electronic system is configured such that the user interface member (600) is operatively connectable to a mechanism member (510) via a dose operation interface (520) to drive movement of the mechanism member during the dose operation and wherein the electronic system is configured such that, in order to establish the dose operation interface, the exterior operation surface has to be displaced from a first position relative to the mechanism member to a second position relative to the mechanism member, and wherein the shuttle member biasing system is configured to be biased during the movement from the first position to the second position.
Regarding claim 32, Bauer teaches that the electronic system is configured as an add-on module for a drug delivery device.
Regarding claim 33, for a sufficiently small arbitrarily selected area, Bauer teaches the claimed ratio.
Regarding claim 34, Bauer teaches that the movable member is configured to be moved further away from the initial position.
Regarding claim 35, Bauer teaches securement of the signaling unit (620) via the board (610).
Regarding claim 36, Bauer teaches that the movable member (626) is configured and arranged such that before the user touches the exterior surface, at least in order to set a dose.
Conclusion
/PHILIP E STIMPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 17 September 2026