DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in reply to the amendment filed on March 24, 2026. Claims 1, 15 and 29 have been amended. No additional claims have been added. Claims 11, 16, 18, 19 and 25 have been cancelled. Claim interpretation previously made under 35 USC 112(f) has been removed. The previous 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection has been overcome however a new rejection is provided herewith and is discussed in greater detail below. Claims 1-10, 12-15, 17 and 20-24 are currently pending and have been fully examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 12-15, 17 and 20-24 are Finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Any remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency to a rejected base claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the smooth internal surface" in Line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In order to expedite prosecution, the examiner has interpreted the limitation above as actually disclosing “a smooth internal surface”. However, further clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim 1 also discloses, “an internal surface” in Line 19. It is unclear if the recitation of “an internal surface” is the same “internal surface” as the previously disclosed “smooth internal surface” or if it is another internal surface. In other words, how internal surfaces are being claimed? Further clarification is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-15, 17, 20-22 and 24 are Finally rejected As Best Understood under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruessmann et al. (5495782) in view of More et al. (4982626), Junkers (2010/0270048), Koppenhoefer (WO 2015127408, previously cited), Shaw et al. (2006/0053981) and Kanack et al. (2016/0363510).
In reference to claim 1, As Best Understood, Ruessmann et al. disclose an apparatus for transmitting torque and tightening or loosening threaded fasteners (Figure 2), the apparatus comprising:
a housing (110) having a driving assembly (formed from 114, 115, 113 and 111) and a cylinder assembly (formed from 128, 127), a ratchet mechanism (115) being arranged in the driving assembly which is further associated and drivable by the cylinder assembly, wherein the cylinder assembly further comprises:
a piston assembly (formed from 128/127) reciprocating movable along a piston axis (i.e. the axis along 128); and
an end cap assembly having a safety ring (123) and a hydraulic cylinder assembly (formed from 120), the hydraulic cylinder assembly including:
an end cap (122) at a first end (i.e. upper end in Figure 2) and an opening (142) having an adjacent internally threaded surface (see internal threads engaged with external thread of 123) at a second end that accepts a piston (again formed from 127/128) and threadedly engages with the safety ring, the safety ring being configured to retain a piston (127/128) of a hydraulically driven torque tool for tightening and/or loosening of threaded fasteners, wherein the safety ring having:
an externally threaded surface (outer threads of 123); and
an internal surface (see bold line in the figure below) including a retaining lip (see figure below) at one end which extends inwardly.
Ruessmann et al. lack,
the internally threaded surface at the second end is recessed from a smooth internal surface of the hydraulic cylinder assembly to accept the safety ring such that the smooth internal surface of the safety ring and the smooth internal surface of the hydraulic cylinder assembly form a sleeve which allows movement of the piston throughout;
a dual reaction assembly,
an auto-release safety reaction pawl assembly,
a quick coupler with thread lock assembly; and
a cycle counter assembly.
However, More et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a hydraulic torque wrench (see Title), comprising a hydraulic cylinder assembly (16) including an internally threaded surface at a second end (i.e. left end in Figure below) and which is recessed (see figure below) from a smooth internal surface (i.e. inner surface, see figure below) of the hydraulic cylinder assembly to accept a safety ring (see figure below) such that a smooth internal surface of the safety ring (inner surface thereof) and the smooth internal surface of the hydraulic cylinder assembly form a sleeve (see figure below) which allows movement of the piston (i.e. portions 18 and 20) throughout.
[AltContent: textbox (Sleeve)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (Safety ring)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Smooth internal surface)][AltContent: textbox (Internally threaded surface)][AltContent: textbox (Recessed)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the internally threaded surface of the hydraulic cylinder assembly, of Ruessmann et al., with the known technique of providing an internally threaded surface of a hydraulic cylinder assembly that is recessed from a smooth internal surface of the hydraulic cylinder, as taught by More et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that more effectively mounts a slidable piston in a hydraulic cylinder assembly in a conventional manner (Column2, Lines 65-66).
Next, Junkers teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a hydraulic tool with a dual reaction assembly (602, paragraph 68 and Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the device, of Ruessmann et al., with the known technique of providing the dual reaction assembly, as taught by Junkers, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that can be used with commercially available and custom manufactured reaction fixtures with or in replacement (paragraph 68).
Next, Koppenhoefer teaches that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a hydraulic tool with an auto-release safety reaction pawl assembly (“ARPA”, see Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the device, of Ruessmann et al., with the known technique of providing the auto-release safety reaction pawl assembly, as taught by Koppenhoefer, and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that enhances belting efficiency, increases torque accuracy and maximizes operator safety (see Abstract).
In addition, Shaw et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a hydraulic tool with a quick coupler (54) with thread lock assembly (at 54 or 58, Figure 2 and paragraphs 28 and 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the device, of Ruessmann et al., with the known technique of providing the quick coupler with thread lock assembly, as taught by Shaw et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device providing a means to supply and extract hydraulic fluid through the housing (see paragraph 45).
Finally, Kanack et al. et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a hydraulic tool (see Title) with a cycle counter assembly (i.e. processor 100 that detects, “The extension and retraction of the piston 30 in the cylinder 26 is referred to as a pressure cycle (or a cycle)” and that “…can monitor, log, and/or communicate various tool parameters that can be used for confirmation of correct tool performance, detection of a malfunctioning tool, and determination of a need or desire for service… a total number of cycles performed by the tool,”, see paragraphs 49 and 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the device, of Ruessmann et al., with the known technique of providing the cycle counter assembly, as taught by Kanack et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that provides parameters that can be used for confirmation of correct tool performance, detection of a malfunctioning tool, and determination of a need or desire for service (paragraph 72).
In reference to claim 2, Ruessmann et al. disclose further comprises a ratchet (113) connected with a driving element (114) and the ratchet is turnable about a turning force axis (Figure 2).
In reference to claim 3, Ruessmann et al. disclose that the ratchet receives a first turning force acting about the turning force axis in one direction during operation of the apparatus, further the first turning force turns a deep well hex socket attached to the driving element, which turns a fastener (Column 3, Line 65-Column 4, Line 7).
In reference to claim 4, Ruessmann et al. disclose the claimed invention as previously mentioned above, but lack,
an uniswivel fluid assembly configured to inject hydraulic fluid into sleeve.
However, Shaw et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a hydraulic tool with a uniswivel fluid assembly (56) configured to inject hydraulic fluid into sleeve (Figure 2 and paragraphs 28 and 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the device, of Ruessmann et al., with the known technique of providing the quick coupler with thread lock assembly, as taught by Shaw et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device providing a means to supply and extract hydraulic fluid through the housing (see paragraph 45).
In reference to claim 5, Ruessmann et al. disclose that the piston assembly has a first end (127) formed as the piston and a second end is formed as a piston rod (128).
In reference to claim 6, Ruessmann et al. disclose that the cylinder assembly further includes a plurality of components such as, but not limited to, 0-rings, seals (124 and 126), retaining rings (136), and/or any foregoing combination.
In reference to claim 7, Ruessmann et al. disclose that the end cap assembly further comprises a cylindrical housing (120) defining a coaxial hydraulic cylinder (or sleeve, i.e. at 121) within (Figure 2).
In reference to claim 8, Ruessmann et al. disclose that the cylindrical housing has an end wall (or cap, i.e. at the inner surface of 122) at a first end and an opening (142) at a second end that accepts piston.
In reference to claim 9, Ruessmann et al. disclose that the safety ring being threadedly engageable with adjacent opening (Figure 2).
In reference to claim 10, Ruessmann et al. disclose that the adjacent opening of sleeve are internal threads to receive external threads of the safety ring (Figure 2).
In reference to claim 12, Ruessmann et al. disclose that the internal surface including the retaining lip prevent the piston assembly from being separated from the end cap assembly, (because at least the upper portion of 123 as seen in Figure 2 will block the lower portion of 127, Figure 2).
In reference to claim 13, Ruessmann et al. disclose that an outer edge (lower edge of opening 142, in Figure 2) of the retaining lip co-terminates with opening (depending on how much the threads are tightened or loosened) when assembled (Figure 2).
In reference to claim 14, the examiner notes that this claim recites Intended Use (see bold portion below) and since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus form a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Since, Ruessmann et al. has met all of the structural limitations of the claims, the end cap assembly will similarly serve as a hydraulic piston eject safety assembly intended to identify the failure of the apparatus owing to a material fault or overuse/fatigue, which causes the housing to fracture, further portions of the piston assembly, end cap assembly, and/or housing are disengaged from, slip out of, and/or ejected from the apparatus when the housing fractures.
In reference to claim 15, modified Ruessmann et al. disclose a leakage prevention assembly including one or more O-rings (paragraph 46 of Shaw et al. see), seals (at 124 and 126 in Ruessmann et al.), retaining rings (123 in Ruessmann et al.), or any combination thereof mounted and sealed within the cylinder assembly and housing (see Figure 1 of in Ruessmann et al.) to prevent hydraulic fluid from leaking at the opening.
In reference to claim 17, the examiner notes that this claim recites Intended Use (see bold portion below) and since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus form a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647. Since, Ruessmann et al. has met all of the structural limitations of the claims, when the apparatus fails, the safety ring prevents the piston from being detached from the end cap assembly by drawing the piston with the end cap assembly, and a component of the drive assembly is suited to grab the piston, preventing and/or substantially slowing any projection thereof.
In reference to claim 20, Junkers discloses that the dual reaction assembly is configured to allow the user to configure the apparatus for co-axial and/or rear reaction fixtures (paragraph 68).
In reference to claim 21, Koppenhoefer discloses that the auto-release safety reaction pawl assembly has been employed to improve safety and bolting operations by eliminating the need for the operator to flip a lever to unlock the apparatus when tightening or loosening threaded fasteners (see Abstract).
In reference to claim 22, Kanack et al. disclose that the cycle counter assembly is incorporated in the apparatus to track the apparatus usage and allow users to schedule preventative maintenance and calibration (paragraphs 71, 73 and 77).
In reference to claim 24, modified Ruessmann et al. disclose further comprising a fastener (nut 131, as taught by Junkers, paragraph 31), a socket (111, as taught by Junkers, paragraph 31), a driver (113 of Ruessmann et al.) and/or one or more reaction fixtures (120, as taught by Junkers, paragraph 33).
Claim 23, is Finally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruessmann et al. (5495782) in view of More et al. (4982626), Junkers (2010/0270048), Koppenhoefer (WO 2015127408, previously cited), Shaw et al. (2006/0053981), Kanack et al. (2016/0363510) and Guenter et al. (WO 2012123284, previously cited).
In reference to claim 23, modified Ruessmann et al. disclose the claimed invention as previously mentioned above and Kanack et al. further disclose a sensing device (i.e. pressure sensor 68) for determining a cycle of a piston (see paragraph 49), but lack,
a sensing device to measure each advance and retract stroke of the piston.
However, Guenter et al. teach that it is old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a sensing device (i.e. hall sensor 32) that measures each advance and retract stroke of the piston (see following portions of translation; “The determination of the instantaneous position of the piston with the travel of the piston is made possible in a simple way to determine the reaching of the end position of the piston and to end the load stroke…The end position of the piston 13 can be determined by determining the instantaneous position of the piston 13 over the travel of the piston during the load stroke… According to one embodiment of the invention, it is provided that the final pitch of the piston is detected by a sensor. A sensor, the final pitch of the piston can be determined very accurately. The detection over a sensor may alternatively or additionally to the detection of the end position via the travel of the piston. Although the sensor on the Kolbenzyünderantrieb biids a higher effort and a higher susceptibility to external influences, but also means a higher accuracy of the method according to the invention. Depending on which type of rotatable parts the method according to the invention is used, the provision of a sensor on the piston-cylinder drive can therefore be advantageous. The sensor may be an electronic sensor, an optical sensor or a Hall sensor. The sensor can be used, for example, as a limit switch.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the pressure sensor for determining the piston cycle, of modified Ruessmann et al., with the known technique of providing the sensing device (i.e. hall sensor) that measures each advance and retract stroke of a piston, as taught by Guenter et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that more effectively (i.e. with a higher accuracy) determines instantaneous position of the piston over the travel of the piston during the load stroke.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed March 24, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-22, 24 and 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with Ruessmann et al. (5495782) in view of More et al. (4982626), Junkers (2010/0270048), Koppenhoefer (WO 2015127408, previously cited), Shaw et al. (2006/0053981), Kanack et al. (2016/0363510) and Guenter et al. (WO 2012123284, previously cited).
Applicant contends that, “Ruessmann, as relied upon for the end cap / safety ring structure, does not disclose that recessed-thread / smooth-sleeve relationship. At most, the cited art shows a threaded retaining arrangement near the cylinder opening. But that is not enough. The present claim requires that the threaded portion be recessed relative to the smooth internal cylinder surface so that, once assembled, the safety ring and cylinder assembly together define the sleeve along which the piston moves. The rejection does not persuasively identify that structure in the applied art, nor does it explain how the cited reference's threaded retainer arrangement inherently or expressly yields the claimed recessed internal threading and continuous smooth sleeve relationship now recited in claim 1.”
However, as discussed in the rejection above, More et al. teach of providing a hydraulic cylinder assembly (16) with an internally threaded surface at a second end (i.e. left end in Figure below) that is recessed (see figure below) from a smooth internal surface thereby meeting the limitations of the claims.
Applicant contends that, “Cycle Counter Assembly Still Not Adequately Shown.”
However, as discussed in the rejection above, Kanack et al. teach of providing the cycle counter assembly (i.e. processor 100 that detects, “The extension and retraction of the piston 30 in the cylinder 26 is referred to as a pressure cycle (or a cycle)” and that “…can monitor, log, and/or communicate various tool parameters that can be used for confirmation of correct tool performance, detection of a malfunctioning tool, and determination of a need or desire for service… a total number of cycles performed by the tool,”, see paragraphs 49 and 72) thereby meeting the limitations of the claims.
Applicant contends that, “Claim 23 Separately Patentable.”
However, as discussed in the rejection above, Kanack et al. disclose a sensing device (i.e. pressure sensor 68) for determining a cycle of a piston (see paragraph 49). Next, Guenter et al. teach of providing a sensing device (i.e. hall sensor 32) that measures each advance and retract stroke of the piston. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the pressure sensor for determining the piston cycle, of modified Ruessmann et al., with the known technique of providing the sensing device (i.e. hall sensor) that measures each advance and retract stroke of a piston, as taught by Guenter et al., and the results would have been predictable. In this situation, one could provide a more advantageous and versatile device that more effectively (i.e. with a higher accuracy) determines instantaneous position of the piston over the travel of the piston during the load stroke. Thus, the combination as a whole meet the limitation of the claim. Finally, the examiner also notes that even the applicant discloses that “Any suitable sensing device may be used” for the cycle counter (see paragraph 58).
Finally, in response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). In the rejection above, the examiner has provided clear motivation directly taken from each teaching reference and thus does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Specifically, applicant further defined the internal threaded surface at the second end in claim 1.
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT J SCRUGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723