DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 07/24/2023 and 03/13/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7, 9-19) and Species 1 (Figs.1-5) in the reply filed on 07/10/2026 is acknowledge. Group II (claim 20) and Species 2 (Fig.6), Species 3 (Figs.7-8), Species 4 (Figs.9-10), Species 5 (Figs.11-12), Species 6 (Fig.13), Species 7 (Par.0071) are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7, 9-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the base” in multiple places in claim 1. This should be changed to “the disk-shaped base” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 2).
Claims 2-7, 9-19 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the base” in line 3. This should be changed to “the disk-shaped base” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 1 (line 2).
Claims 9-10, 12, 15 are objected by virtue of their dependence on claim 2.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “an outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body” in line 2. Claim 9 depends on claim 2. It is understood that the limitation “an outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body” recited in claim 9 refer to “an outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body” recited in claim 2. Therefore, the limitation “an outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body” recited in claim 9 should be changed to “[[an]] the outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body” to properly refer to the corresponding limitation recited previously in claim 2 (line 2).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinma et al. Embodiment Fig.7 (WO 2019008889 A1, Translation is attached) in view of Shinma et al. Embodiment Fig.4 (WO 2019008889 A1, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 1, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 discloses a heater (as shown in Shinma Fig.7) comprising:
a disk-shaped base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7) (Shinma discloses disk-shaped substrate mounting table 210 because Shinma Translated Document on page 5 – first line discloses: “a disk-like substrate mounting table” and first paragraph of the Translated Claims on page 7 discloses: “A ceramic disk-shaped portion having a mounting surface configured to mount the semiconductor substrate on the upper surface”);
a plurality of heating bodies (central heating circuit 211, intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213; Shinma Fig.7) disposed in the base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7) (Shinma Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 2 discloses: “For example, FIG. 7 shows an example in which the substrate mounting surface 210a is concentrically divided into three regions in the substrate mounting table 210 of another specific example. That is, the central heating circuit 211 is embedded in the central region of the substrate mounting surface 210a. An intermediate heating circuit 212 is embedded in the annular intermediate area around it. An outer peripheral heating circuit 213 is embedded in an annular outer peripheral area on the outermost peripheral side.”);
a plurality of terminals (three pairs of terminal portions 211a, 212a, 213a; Shinma Fig.7) each connected to a corresponding one of the plurality of heating bodies (central heating circuit 211, intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213; Shinma Fig.7); and
a cylindrical member (cylindrical support 220, Shinma Fig.7) attached to the base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7),
wherein the base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7) has
a first surface (substrate mounting surface 210a, Shinma Fig.7) on which a heating target (semiconductor substrate W, Shinma Fig.7) is placed, and
a second surface (bottom surface of the substrate mounting table 210, Shinma annotated Fig.7 below) opposite to the first surface (substrate mounting surface 210a, Shinma Fig.7),
wherein the plurality of heating bodies (central heating circuit 211, intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213; Shinma Fig.7) include
an inside heating body (central heating circuit 211, Shinma Fig.7) disposed in a region including a center of the base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7) (Shinma Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 2 discloses: “For example, FIG. 7 shows an example in which the substrate mounting surface 210a is concentrically divided into three regions in the substrate mounting table 210 of another specific example. That is, the central heating circuit 211 is embedded in the central region of the substrate mounting surface 210a. An intermediate heating circuit 212 is embedded in the annular intermediate area around it. An outer peripheral heating circuit 213 is embedded in an annular outer peripheral area on the outermost peripheral side.”), and
a plurality of outside heating bodies (intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213; Shinma Fig.7) disposed outside of the inside heating body (central heating circuit 211, Shinma Fig.7) to be concentric with the base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7) (Shinma Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 2 discloses: “For example, FIG. 7 shows an example in which the substrate mounting surface 210a is concentrically divided into three regions in the substrate mounting table 210 of another specific example. That is, the central heating circuit 211 is embedded in the central region of the substrate mounting surface 210a. An intermediate heating circuit 212 is embedded in the annular intermediate area around it. An outer peripheral heating circuit 213 is embedded in an annular outer peripheral area on the outermost peripheral side.”),
wherein the inside heating body (central heating circuit 211, Shinma Fig.7) and the plurality of outside heating bodies (intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213; Shinma Fig.7) are disposed to be spaced from each other in a thickness direction of the base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7) (Shinma Fig.7 shows that the central heating circuit 211, the intermediate heating circuit 212, and the outer peripheral heating circuit 213 are disposed to be spaced from each other in a thickness direction of substrate mounting table 210),
wherein the inside heating body (central heating circuit 211, Shinma Fig.7) is disposed at a first layer (first layer is where the central heating circuit 211 is located, Shinma annotated Fig.7 below) located closest to the first surface (substrate mounting surface 210a, Shinma Fig.7) in the thickness direction of the base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7),
wherein the plurality of outside heating bodies (intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213; Shinma Fig.7) include
a first outside heating body (intermediate heating circuit 212, Shinma Fig.7) disposed at a second layer (second layer is where the intermediate heating circuit 212 is located, Shinma annotated Fig.7 below) adjacent to the first layer (first layer is where the central heating circuit 211 is located, Shinma annotated Fig.7 below) in the thickness direction of the base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7), and
a second outside heating body (outer peripheral heating circuit 213, Shinma Fig.7) disposed at a third layer (third layer is where the outer peripheral heating circuit 213 is located, Shinma annotated Fig.7 below) located closer than the second layer (second layer is where the intermediate heating circuit 212 is located, Shinma annotated Fig.7 below) to the second surface (bottom surface of the substrate mounting table 210, Shinma annotated Fig.7 below) in the thickness direction of the base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7),
wherein the plurality of terminals (three pairs of terminal portions 211a, 212a, 213a; Shinma Fig.7) include a first terminal (terminal portion 211a, Shinma Fig.7), a second terminal (terminal portion 212a, Shinma Fig.7), and a third terminal (terminal portion 213a, Shinma Fig.7) concentrically disposed in order from a center side of the base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7) (Shinma Fig.7 shows that terminal portion 211a, terminal portion 212a, and terminal portion 213a concentrically disposed in order from a center side of the substrate mounting table 210),
wherein the first terminal (terminal portion 211a, Shinma Fig.7) is connected to the inside heating body (central heating circuit 211, Shinma Fig.7),
wherein the cylindrical member (cylindrical support 220, Shinma Fig.7) is attached to the second surface (bottom surface of the substrate mounting table 210, Shinma annotated Fig.7 below) to surround the plurality of terminals (three pairs of terminal portions 211a, 212a, 213a; Shinma Fig.7) in a plan view of the heater (heater, Shinma annotated Fig.7 below) from the first surface (substrate mounting surface 210a, Shinma Fig.7).
Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second terminal is connected to the second outside heating body
Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches a heater. Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 further teaches that a terminal connected to a lower heating circuit is positioned radially inward of a terminal connected to a higher heating circuit in a thickness direction of the base. Specifically, terminal 111a connected to lower central heating circuit 111 is positioned inward of terminal 112a connected to higher outer heating circuit 112.
Additionally, Shinma further teaches that positioning and routing terminals so as to avoid interference with other heating circuits reduces the need to create spaces in the heating-circuit pattern and improves temperature uniformity.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Shinma Embodiment Fig.7, by positioning terminal portion 213a, connected to the lowest heating circuit 213, radially inward of terminal portion 212a, connected to the intermediate heating circuit 212, such that terminal potion 213a is closer to terminal portion 211a than terminal portion 212a is to terminal portion 211a, as taught/suggested by Shinma Embodiment Fig.4, in order to provide increased routing clearance, avoid interference between terminal structures and the overlying heating circuits, and maintain a more uniform heating pattern.
Regarding claim 2, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and also teaches:
wherein, in the plan view of the heater (heater as shown in Shinma Fig.7) from the first surface (substrate mounting surface 210a, Shinma Fig.7), an outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body (central heating circuit 211, Shinma Fig.7) is located outside of an inscribed circle centered at the center of the base (substrate mounting table 210, Shinma Fig.7) and formed by the third terminal (terminal portion 213a, Shinma Fig.7) (since Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 is modified to position terminal portion 213a, connected to the lowest heating circuit 213, radially inward of terminal portion 212a, connected to the intermediate heating circuit 212, such that terminal potion 213a is closer to terminal portion 211a than terminal portion 212a is to terminal portion 211a, as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1; thus, in combination, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches in the plan view of the heater from the substrate mounting surface 210a, an outer peripheral contour line of the central heating circuit 211 is located outside of an inscribed circle centered at the center of the substrate mounting table 210 and formed by the modified location of the terminal portion 213a, as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above.).
Regarding claim 4, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 also discloses:
wherein at least one of the plurality of outside heating bodies (intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213; Shinma Fig.7) is formed by a plurality of heating body segments divided in a circumferential direction (as shown in Shinma Figs.7-8) (Shinma Figs.7-8 show that at least one of intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213 is formed by a plurality of heating body segments divided in a circumferential direction).
Regarding claim 10, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 also discloses:
wherein at least one of the plurality of outside heating bodies (intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213; Shinma Fig.7) is formed by a plurality of heating body segments divided in a circumferential direction (as shown in Shinma Figs.7-8) (Shinma Figs.7-8 show that at least one of intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213 is formed by a plurality of heating body segments divided in a circumferential direction).
Claims 3, 9, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinma et al. Embodiment Fig.7 (WO 2019008889 A1, Translation is attached) in view of Shinma et al. Embodiment Fig.4 (WO 2019008889 A1, Translation is attached), and further in view of Shinma et al. Embodiment Fig.1 (WO 2019008889 A1, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 3, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein, in the plan view of the heater from the first surface, an outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body is located outside of an inner peripheral contour line of the cylindrical member.
Shinma Embodiment Fig.1 teaches a heater (as shown in Shinma Fig.1):
wherein, in the plan view of the heater (heater, as shown in Shinma Fig.1) from the first surface (substrate mounting surface 10a, Shinma Fig.1), an outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body (central heating circuit 11, Shinma Fig.1) is located outside of an inner peripheral contour line of the cylindrical member (cylindrical support 20, Shinma Fig.1) (Shinma Fig.1 shows that outer peripheral contour line of the central heating circuit 11 is located outside of an inner peripheral contour line of the cylindrical support 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4, by adding the teaching of in the plan view of the heater from the first surface, an outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body is located outside of an inner peripheral contour line of the cylindrical member, as taught by Shinma Embodiment Fig.1, in order to place the thermally affected region adjacent the support to plate interface within the independently controlled central heating zone, thereby permitting the central heater to compensate for the thermal influence of the support and providing a smoother radial temperature transition between the central and intermediate regions, resulting in improved temperature uniformity across the substrate mounting surface.
Regarding claim 9, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein, in the plan view of the heater from the first surface, an outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body is located outside of an inner peripheral contour line of the cylindrical member.
Shinma Embodiment Fig.1 teaches a heater (as shown in Shinma Fig.1):
wherein, in the plan view of the heater (heater, as shown in Shinma Fig.1) from the first surface (substrate mounting surface 10a, Shinma Fig.1), an outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body (central heating circuit 11, Shinma Fig.1) is located outside of an inner peripheral contour line of the cylindrical member (cylindrical support 20, Shinma Fig.1) (Shinma Fig.1 shows that outer peripheral contour line of the central heating circuit 11 is located outside of an inner peripheral contour line of the cylindrical support 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4, by adding the teaching of in the plan view of the heater from the first surface, an outer peripheral contour line of the inside heating body is located outside of an inner peripheral contour line of the cylindrical member, as taught by Shinma Embodiment Fig.1, in order to place the thermally affected region adjacent the support to plate interface within the independently controlled central heating zone, thereby permitting the central heater to compensate for the thermal influence of the support and providing a smoother radial temperature transition between the central and intermediate regions, resulting in improved temperature uniformity across the substrate mounting surface.
Regarding claim 11, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 and Shinma Embodiment Fig.1 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 3, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 also discloses:
wherein at least one of the plurality of outside heating bodies (intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213; Shinma Fig.7) is formed by a plurality of heating body segments divided in a circumferential direction (as shown in Shinma Figs.7-8) (Shinma Figs.7-8 show that at least one of intermediate heating circuit 212, outer peripheral heating circuit 213 is formed by a plurality of heating body segments divided in a circumferential direction).
Claims 7, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinma et al. Embodiment Fig.7 (WO 2019008889 A1, Translation is attached) in view of Shinma et al. Embodiment Fig.4 (WO 2019008889 A1, Translation is attached), and further in view of Kariya (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0195441 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body, and
wherein an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm.
Kariya teaches a heater (Kariya Abstract):
wherein each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body (Kariya Par.0031 teaches heating body 2 is metal foil), and
wherein an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm (Kariya Par.0028 teaches: “The thickness of the non-sintering metal foil or the electrically conductive ceramic thin film is desirable to be 10-50 μm, preferably 10-20 μm.”, therefore, Kariya teaches the an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is inside of the claimed range.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4, by making each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body, and an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm, as taught by Kariya, in order to provide heating bodies having a more uniform thickness and reduced variation in electrical resistance. Thus, the modification would provide more consistent heat generation from the respective independently controlled heating circuits and thereby assist in maintaining the temperature uniformity of the heater.
Regarding claim 15, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body, and
wherein an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm.
Kariya teaches a heater (Kariya Abstract):
wherein each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body (Kariya Par.0031 teaches heating body 2 is metal foil), and
wherein an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm (Kariya Par.0028 teaches: “The thickness of the non-sintering metal foil or the electrically conductive ceramic thin film is desirable to be 10-50 μm, preferably 10-20 μm.”, therefore, Kariya teaches the an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is inside of the claimed range.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4, by making each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body, and an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm, as taught by Kariya, in order to provide heating bodies having a more uniform thickness and reduced variation in electrical resistance. Thus, the modification would provide more consistent heat generation from the respective independently controlled heating circuits and thereby assist in maintaining the temperature uniformity of the heater.
Regarding claim 17, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 4, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body, and
wherein an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm.
Kariya teaches a heater (Kariya Abstract):
wherein each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body (Kariya Par.0031 teaches heating body 2 is metal foil), and
wherein an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm (Kariya Par.0028 teaches: “The thickness of the non-sintering metal foil or the electrically conductive ceramic thin film is desirable to be 10-50 μm, preferably 10-20 μm.”, therefore, Kariya teaches the an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is inside of the claimed range.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4, by making each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body, and an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm, as taught by Kariya, in order to provide heating bodies having a more uniform thickness and reduced variation in electrical resistance. Thus, the modification would provide more consistent heat generation from the respective independently controlled heating circuits and thereby assist in maintaining the temperature uniformity of the heater.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinma et al. Embodiment Fig.7 (WO 2019008889 A1, Translation is attached) in view of Shinma et al. Embodiment Fig.4 (WO 2019008889 A1, Translation is attached), Shinma et al. Embodiment Fig.1 (WO 2019008889 A1, Translation is attached), and further in view of Kariya (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0195441 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 and Shinma Embodiment Fig.1 teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 3, but does not explicitly disclose:
wherein each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body, and
wherein an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm.
Kariya teaches a heater (Kariya Abstract):
wherein each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body (Kariya Par.0031 teaches heating body 2 is metal foil), and
wherein an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm (Kariya Par.0028 teaches: “The thickness of the non-sintering metal foil or the electrically conductive ceramic thin film is desirable to be 10-50 μm, preferably 10-20 μm.”, therefore, Kariya teaches the an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is inside of the claimed range.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heater of Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 and Shinma Embodiment Fig.1, by making each of the plurality of heating bodies is a foil-shaped body, and an average thickness of each of the plurality of heating bodies is 1 μm to 500 μm, as taught by Kariya, in order to provide heating bodies having a more uniform thickness and reduced variation in electrical resistance. Thus, the modification would provide more consistent heat generation from the respective independently controlled heating circuits and thereby assist in maintaining the temperature uniformity of the heater.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 12-14, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 1; however, Applicant’s claim 5 also encompasses an invention that the prior art does not disclose, teach, or otherwise render obvious. More specifically, Applicant’s claim 5 recites:
“wherein the second terminal includes a tip portion protruding from a surface of the second outside heating body closer to the first surface toward the first surface, wherein a length of the tip portion in a protruding direction of the tip portion is smaller than an interlayer distance, and wherein the interlayer distance is a length between the surface of the second outside heating body closer to the first surface and a surface of the inside heating body closer to the second surface”
Within the context of Applicant’s claimed invention as a whole, these limitations do not appear to be disclosed, taught, nor otherwise rendered obvious by the prior art(s), alone, or in combination.
Accordingly, claim 5 would be allowed if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 6, 18-19 would be allowed by virtue of their dependence on claim 5 if claim 5 is rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 2; however, Applicant’s claim 12 also encompasses an invention that the prior art does not disclose, teach, or otherwise render obvious. More specifically, Applicant’s claim 12 recites:
“wherein the second terminal includes a tip portion protruding from a surface of the second outside heating body closer to the first surface toward the first surface, wherein a length of the tip portion in a protruding direction of the tip portion is smaller than an interlayer distance, and wherein the interlayer distance is a length between the surface of the second outside heating body closer to the first surface and a surface of the inside heating body closer to the second surface”
Within the context of Applicant’s claimed invention as a whole, these limitations do not appear to be disclosed, taught, nor otherwise rendered obvious by the prior art(s), alone, or in combination.
Accordingly, claim 12 would be allowed if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 13, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 and Shinma Embodiment Fig.1 teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 3; however, Applicant’s claim 13 also encompasses an invention that the prior art does not disclose, teach, or otherwise render obvious. More specifically, Applicant’s claim 13 recites:
“wherein the second terminal includes a tip portion protruding from a surface of the second outside heating body closer to the first surface toward the first surface, wherein a length of the tip portion in a protruding direction of the tip portion is smaller than an interlayer distance, and wherein the interlayer distance is a length between the surface of the second outside heating body closer to the first surface and a surface of the inside heating body closer to the second surface”
Within the context of Applicant’s claimed invention as a whole, these limitations do not appear to be disclosed, taught, nor otherwise rendered obvious by the prior art(s), alone, or in combination.
Accordingly, claim 13 would be allowed if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 14, Shinma Embodiment Fig.7 in view of Shinma Embodiment Fig.4 teaches the apparatus as set forth in claim 4; however, Applicant’s claim 14 also encompasses an invention that the prior art does not disclose, teach, or otherwise render obvious. More specifically, Applicant’s claim 14 recites:
“wherein the second terminal includes a tip portion protruding from a surface of the second outside heating body closer to the first surface toward the first surface, wherein a length of the tip portion in a protruding direction of the tip portion is smaller than an interlayer distance, and wherein the interlayer distance is a length between the surface of the second outside heating body closer to the first surface and a surface of the inside heating body closer to the second surface”
Within the context of Applicant’s claimed invention as a whole, these limitations do not appear to be disclosed, taught, nor otherwise rendered obvious by the prior art(s), alone, or in combination.
Accordingly, claim 14 would be allowed if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Ishikawa et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,347,521 B2) discloses a heating member including a ceramic substrate having a structure in which a plurality of ceramic layers are laminated together; a resistance heat-generating element embedded in the ceramic substrate; an electricity supply element disposed on a surface of the ceramic substrate; and an electricity supply path embedded in the ceramic substrate and electrically connecting the resistance heat-generating element and the electricity supply element.
Maeda et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0218885 A1) discloses a wafer support in which a plasma generation electrode and a heater electrode are embedded in a ceramic base having a wafer placement surface successively in named order from the side closer to the wafer placement surface in a state spaced from each other, and in which a wiring member for the plasma generation electrode and a wiring member for the heater electrode are laid to extend to the outside of the ceramic base from a surface of the ceramic base on the side opposite to the wafer placement surface.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 09/19/2026