Priority
The instant application claims priority as follows:
Receipt of claim amendments and arguments filed on January 9, 2026 is acknowledged. Variables in the claims have been amended to recite more particular groups. R3 is now only H, and R8 is now only selected from C1-C6-alkyl, C2-C6-alkynyl and (C1-C6-cycloalkyl)-C2-C6-alkynyl.
Rejections and objections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13 are currently pending and are the subject of this Final Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11 and 13 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Major et al. (US 2017/0022170) in view of US 9,822,105 B2, US 10,029,992 B2 and US 9,549,558.
Applicant claims a diaminotriazine compound of formula (I)
, wherein R1 is Cl, Br, I or CH3, R3 is H and R8 is alkyl, and others. These compounds are useful as herbicides.
Major et al. teach diaminotriazine compounds of formula I
, useful as herbicides. Major teaches that the moiety
and that the moiety
, and others at claim 24. Compounds wherein the phenyl is 2,5-difluoro-6-prop-2-ynoxyphenyl and 2,3,5-trifluoro-6-prop-2-ynoxyphenyl were taught in Major et al.
Additionally, that the moiety
is selected from
, and other options found in claim 33. The agrochemical compositions comprising these compounds and at least one inert liquid or solid carrier are able to control undesired vegetation, defoliate and desiccate plants. See claims 34-36.
US 9,822,105 B2 teaches herbicides with the same diaminotriazine core
in which Rb1 is either H, fluoro, chloro, bromo, iodo, CH3 or CN. Rb3 is H, F, Cl, Br or I. See Table A starting at column 53.
US 10,029,992 B2 teaches herbicides with the same diaminotriazine core
in which the phenyl ring is represented by
wherein Rb1, Rb2 and Rb3 are Rb , and
See column 21 and 39.
US 9,549,558 B2 teaches herbicides with the same diaminotriazine core
wherein
or
. In Table A Ra is F, Cl, Br, CN or CH3. Note that Re can be alkoxy, also that Rb and Rd can be a halogen.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference between Applicant’s compounds and the prior art’s compounds is in the halogen substituting the 2-position in the phenyl ring. The prior art has a fluoro:
, while the instant claims have a Cl, Br or I. The difference is thus, one halogen for another.
Finding of prima facie obviousness--rational and motivation
The problem to be solved is that of providing additional compounds with the same diaminotriazine core
which have agricultural/herbicidal activity. Someone preparing these compounds would be trained in organic chemistry who would recognize the very close structural similarity and would expect the compounds to have similar properties. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the compounds of the claimed invention in view of the herbicidal compounds in Major et al. because F, Cl, Br, and I are halogen elements from the seventh group of the periodic table and are commonly replaced for one another in the pesticide/herbicide art. The secondary references are evidence of their expected equivalency and provide a reasonable expectation of success.
In Ex parte Wiseman, 98 USPQ 277 (1953), it was held that compounds are rejected over prior art when the difference between the claimed compounds and the compounds of the prior art is two fluorine atoms versus chlorine atoms. The basis of this reasoning is that fluorine and chlorine are both halogen elements from the seventh group of the periodic system and the claimed compound is thus an analogue or an isologue of that disclosed in the prior art. The compounds are expected to possess similar properties differing only in degree.
In addition, while Major et al. don’t teach exactly a Cl, Br or CH3 group at R2 of the compounds as in instant claim 2, the secondary references teach that a Cl, Br or CH3 group at R2 would be an obvious modification that the artisan would have been motivated to make. Particularly, see the teachings in US 10,029,992 B2 taught in which
wherein Rb1, Rb2 and Rb3 are Rb , and
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but were found unpersuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of references fails to teach two differences between the compounds. Applicant argues that the two differences are Cl, Br, I, or CH3 at the 2-position and an O-R8 substituent in the 6-position, wherein R8 is a small substituent. The examiner is not persuaded because Major teaches an O-R8 substituent at the 6-position which is the 6-propynoxy group. This can be found in the definitions for the phenyl moiety selected from 2,5-difluoro-6-propynoxyphenyl and 2,3,5-trifluoro-6-prop-2-ynoxyphenyl as discussed in the body of the rejection. The only difference between Applicant’s compounds and the prior art’s compounds is in the halogen substituting the 2-position in the phenyl ring, as discussed before.
As above, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the 2-fluoro atom of the compounds of Formula I of Major, with the halogen Cl, Br, and I, with the expectation of obtaining the same activity.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13 remain provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/273,814. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘814 application
because the compounds, compositions, and method for using the compositions are prima facie obvious over the co-pending claims in view of US 9,822,105 B2, US 10,029,992 B2 and US 9,549,558.
The co-pending claims recite compounds of formula
, which differ from the instant claims in that R1 is F.
The instant claims recite compounds
.
It would have been prima facie obvious to make the compounds of the claimed invention in view of the herbicidal compounds in the co-pending claims because F, Cl, Br, and I are halogen elements from the seventh group of the periodic table and are commonly replaced for one another in the pesticide/herbicide art. The secondary references below are evidence of their expected equivalency and provide a reasonable expectation of success.
In Ex parte Wiseman, 98 USPQ 277 (1953), it was held that compounds are rejected over prior art when the difference between the claimed compounds and the compounds of the prior art is two fluorine atoms versus chlorine atoms. The basis of this reasoning is that fluorine and chlorine are both halogen elements from the seventh group of the periodic system and the claimed compound is thus an analogue or an isologue of that disclosed in the prior art. The compounds are expected to possess similar properties differing only in degree.
US 9,822,105 B2 teaches herbicides with the same diaminotriazine core
in which Rb1 is either H, fluoro, chloro, bromo, iodo, CH3 or CN. Rb3 is H, F, Cl, Br or I. See Table A starting at column 53.
US 10,029,992 B2 teaches herbicides with the same diaminotriazine core
in which the phenyl ring is represented by
wherein Rb1, Rb2 and Rb3 are Rb , and
See column 21 and 39.
US 9,549,558 B2 teaches herbicides with the same diaminotriazine core
wherein
or
. In Table A Ra is F, Cl, Br, CN or CH3. Note also that Rb and Rd can be a halogen.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
In the response of 01/09/2026, Applicant stated that they will consider a response to overcome this rejection should it become necessary.
Claims 1, 3, 5-11 and 13 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10,941,122. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the compounds, compositions, and method of using the compounds are prima facie obvious over the patented claims in view of US 9,822,105 B2, US 10,029,992 B2 and US 9,549,558.
The claims of the patent claim compounds of formula
in which the phenyl ring is represented by the moiety of formula
, which is selected from the groups recited in patented claim 5
and 2,3,5-trifluoro-6-prop-2-ynoxyphenyl and R3, R4 and R5 are selected from the group recited in patented claim 13. R1 and R2 are as recited in patented claims 7 and 9.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference between Applicant’s compounds and the patented compounds in the claims is in the halogen substituting the 2-position in the phenyl ring. The prior art has a fluoro:
, while the instant claims have a Cl, Br or I. The difference is thus, one halogen for another.
Finding of prima facie obviousness--rational and motivation
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the compounds of the claimed invention in view of the herbicidal compounds in the patented claims because F, Cl, Br, and I are halogen elements from the seventh group of the periodic table and are commonly replaced for one another in the pesticide/herbicide art. The secondary references below are evidence of their expected equivalency and provide a reasonable expectation of success.
In Ex parte Wiseman, 98 USPQ 277 (1953), it was held that compounds are rejected over prior art when the difference between the claimed compounds and the compounds of the prior art is two fluorine atoms versus chlorine atoms. The basis of this reasoning is that fluorine and chlorine are both halogen elements from the seventh group of the periodic system and the claimed compound is thus an analogue or an isologue of that disclosed in the prior art. The compounds are expected to possess similar properties differing only in degree.
US 9,822,105 B2 teaches herbicides with the same diaminotriazine core
in which Rb1 is either H, fluoro, chloro, bromo, iodo, CH3 or CN. Rb3 is H, F, Cl, Br or I. See Table A starting at column 53.
US 10,029,992 B2 teaches herbicides with the same diaminotriazine core
in which the phenyl ring is represented by
wherein Rb1, Rb2 and Rb3 are Rb , and
See column 21 and 39.
US 9,549,558 B2 teaches herbicides with the same diaminotriazine core
wherein
or
. In Table A Ra is F, Cl, Br, CN or CH3. Note also that Rb and Rd can be a halogen.
Applicant’s arguments have been carefully considered but were found unpersuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of references fails to teach two differences between the compounds. Applicant argues that the two differences are Cl, Br, I, or CH3 at the 2-position and an O-R8 substituent in the 6-position, wherein R8 is a small substituent. The examiner is not persuaded because Major teaches an O-R8 substituent at the 6-position which is the 6-propynoxy group. This can be found in the definitions for the phenyl moiety selected from 2,5-difluoro-6-propynoxyphenyl and 2,3,5-trifluoro-6-prop-2-ynoxyphenyl as discussed in the body of the rejection. The only difference between Applicant’s compounds and the prior art’s compounds is in the halogen substituting the 2-position in the phenyl ring, as discussed before.
Regarding that the patent disclosure may not be used as prior art, in the instant case, all the limitations are found in the patented claims pointed out above.
Note to Applicants
Claims 1-3, 5-11 and 13 are rejected.
Not every piece of prior art found in the search has been applied against the instant claims. See MPEP 904.03.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE RODRIGUEZ-GARCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621