DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amended abstract (on 11/4/2025) has been accepted and enter to the record.
The specification amendment (on 11/4/2025) to ¶¶43, 97 and 112 have been accepted and enter to the record.
Response to Arguments
Regarding title objection, applicant's arguments filed (11/7/2025) on page 11 indicated that the title has been amend , yet there was no tittle amendment. Accordingly, the title objection is sustained, Id. ¶7.
Regarding claims 1-13 objection, applicant's arguments filed (11/7/2025) on page 12 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 1-13 have been withdrawn.
Regarding prior art rejections, applicant's arguments filed (11/7/2025) on page 12-18, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-15, the applicant argued that, “…in the Office Action, the Examiner alleges that the UE para [0023], user equipment) of Zhang corresponds to the “sensor device” of the present invention. The Examiner also alleges that broadcast, RRC signaling, etc. correspond to the “heartbeat data” of the present invention… the foregoing repetitive description clearly indicates that the broadcast message or the RRC control signaling is sent to the UE, which corresponds to the “sensor device” of the present invention… In contrast, in the claimed invention of the present application, the heartbeat data is sent to the “gateway” (claim 1) and not to the sensor device. Accordingly, Zhan fails to disclose or suggest the foregoing underlined claimed features recited in claims 1 and 14…Applicants submit, however, that, as stated in the foregoing in response to the Section 102 rejections, Zhan fails to disclose or suggest transmitting “heartbeat data” and transmitting the detected data to the “gateway device” (claim 1) or the “second communication device” (claim 14), as recited in claims 1 and 14. In view of this, even assuming that Nishiyasu and Zhang can be combined, which Applicants do not admit, Nishiyasu in view of Zhang fails to disclose or suggest the foregoing features recited in claims 1 and 14.” in pages 13-15. [Emphasis added]
In response to applicant’s argument, examiner respectively disagree.
The claim limitation “heartbeat” data is constructed on the basic of the applicant specification.
[0061] The transmitter 102 transmits the transmission signal containing the data received by the receiver 101 to the “second communication device” using wireless communication scheme. The transmitter 102 also periodically transmits the transmission signal containing heartbeat data described later to the “second communication device”. The transmitter 102 may also select and set a frequency of the transmission signal to be transmitted from among a plurality of frequencies, as same as the receiver 101. For example, the transmission signal can be transmitted with a frequency of the transmission signal as F1(S) (corresponding to “first frequency”), or F2(S) (corresponding to “second frequency”). [Emphasis added]
In view of the above, the specification generally defines “heartbeat” data merely the data which is carried within transmission signal.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the heartbeat data is sent to the “gateway” (claim 1)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims1. In this case, claim 1 and 14 recite, “…wherein the relay device comprises…a transmitter … transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data..” The broadly recited claims only disclose transmitting heartbeat data, and it does not disclose “it is sent to the gateway”. Since the argument is not based on the actual claim limitation, it is not persuasive.
Applicant’s acknowledgment regarding periodically transmitting signaling data such as broadcast message, the RRC control signaling or the like as “heartbeat data” is noted since they have identical functionalities as set forth detailed in the office action below.
Although it is not recited in the claim, Arguendo, Zhang still teaches that the claim limitations of “ the heartbeat data is sent to the gateway” as shown below.
[0377] The network element or the logical unit includes the base station, a core network element, or a service server. For example, the SOR controller obtains the cell resource information from the base station, or may further obtain the service requirement and the service information. Alternatively, the SOR controller obtains the service information and the service requirement from the MME or the service server.
[0400] 901. The SOR controller obtains a service requirement and service information of a unicast service from the base station.
[0401] The SOR controller may request the base station to download the service requirement and the service information of the unicast service, or the base station may proactively send the service requirement and the service information of the unicast service to the SOR controller.
[0402] 902. The SOR controller obtains a service requirement and service information of an MBMS service from the base station.
[Emphasis added]
In view of the above, Zhang’s signaling messages such as service resources or service resources are sent from a relay device (i.e. base station) to SOR controller (i.e. gateway) by way of obtaining. In particular, Zhang discloses the relay device (see FIG. 1, 8A-B, 10 a00, 12 c00: Macro/ Micros base station) comprises: a storage (see FIG. 12, memory c30) storing heartbeat data ( see ¶377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510, store all sending/receiving data including such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data, which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data); also see ¶¶18, 23, 25, 27, 28, 82, 84) a transmitter (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) transmitting a transmission signal containing the data received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 8A-B, transmit data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶ 218, 321, 351, 381-383, 440 ) and transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data (see ¶159, 172, 231, 377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510; transmit the data signal such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data)).
Although it is not recited in the claim, Arguendo, Nishiyasu also teaches that the claim limitations of “ the heartbeat data is sent to the gateway” as shown below.
FIG. 1 and 2 (Emphasis Added)
[0050] Slave unit connection processing unit 203 receives, for example, a connection request transmitted by any one of slave units 30 via any one of APs 20. When the connection request is received, slave unit connection processing unit 203 determines to which AP 20 slave units 30 as a transmission source of the connection request should be connected based on, for example, a phase that scheduler 202 determines based on the number of connected slave units.
[0051] Further, slave unit connection processing unit 203 transmits a connection response to slave units 30 as the transmission source of the connection request via AP 20 accessed by slave units 30 that has transmitted the connection request. One example of the operation of slave unit connection processing unit 203 and one example of the “phase” will be described later. The transmission and reception of the connection request and the connection response may be regarded as one example of communication using the control channel (hereinafter occasionally referred to as “control communication”). [Emphasis added]
In view of the above, Nishiyasu’s signaling request messages are sent from controller device 10 (i.e. gateway) to a relay device (i.e. AP 20). In particular, Nishiyasu discloses the relay device (see FIG. 1, 3, 7, Access Points (AP) 20-1, 20-2) transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data (see FIG. 1, 3, transmit transmission with beacon/resource allocation data; see ¶70, 78,122-125, 216) to (see FIG. 1, 7, Slave Unit 30, Access Point 20, Control Device ).
Regarding claims 1-15, the applicant argued that, “…Applicants respectfully submit that there is no indication in Oura that the management device 102 transfers “the detected data to another network”, as recited in claim 1. Similarly, Oura fails to discloser or suggest setting “at least one of a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver and a frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter based on a frequency setting command transmitted from the second communication device, the set frequency being a frequency of an adjacent communication network”, as recited in claim 14. (Applicants note that although the Examiner has referred to Hasegawa (page 32 of the Office Action), Applicants believe that the Examiner is referring to Oura, Zhang has been relied upon to show that “a ‘frequency’ setting unit directing to set ‘a frequency’ based on a ‘frequency’ setting command ‘transmitted’ from the gateway device” is known in the art. In view of this, even assuming that Oura and Zhang can be combined, which Applicants do not admit, Oura in view of Zhang fails to disclose or surges the foregoing features recited in claims 1 and 14.…” in page 17-18. [Emphasis added]
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references2. In this case, the rejection is made based on combined system of Oura and Zhang. Oura’s the management device 102 configure/set the transmission data (e.g. signal 152 or 151), transmitted form the radio transmission unit 126 based on information (e.g. radio wave intensity information), and Oura also teaches the feature of communication with another device (e.g. smartphone) via another network or the like, shown in FIG. 2 and pages 6-8, 10. Zhang disclose the setting/configuring to ensure that the same frequency range is used in adjacent/neighboring cell set or cell group; recited in ¶¶209, 386,436, 442. At least in view of the above, the combined system of Oura and Zhang clearly discloses the broadly claimed invention.
Examiner appreciates applicant’s remark regarding typographical error on page 32 of previous office action, and in view of the rejection as a whole it is clear that examiner is referring to Zhang not Hasegawa. Appropriate correction has been made in this office action.
Specification
The title of the invention (WIRELESS COMMUNICATION NETWORK SYSTEM AND RELAY DEVICE) is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Relay Device with Frequency Setting Capability or Multinetwork communication with Frequency setting Relay Device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “…at least one relay device” in line 3, “the at least one relay device” in 6 and “the relay device” in line 8. It is unclear whether “the relay device” recited in line 8 refers back to a device recite in line 3, line 6 or both.
Claim 15 is also objected for the same reason as above.
Claim 10 recites, “…wherein the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command which does not direct to set a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver1 to the relay device which receives the detected data directly from the sensor device2...” in line 3.
It is unclear whether (1) a frequency of Relay device’s received signal (which is a signal containing detected data) receive by the receiver is the same as (2) frequency of Relay device which receive detected data signal directly from the sensor device. Both received signal and received data contain the detected data, and both are received by the same receiver of the relay device, there is no need to set or change frequency per gateway’s command according to claim. For clarity, it is suggested to insert comparison between two frequencies (e.g. wherein the gateway device transmits to relay device the frequency setting command which does not direct to set a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver to a frequency of the relay device which receives the detected data directly from the sensor device).
For the purpose of the examination, examiner will interpret as best understood.
Claims 2-9, 11-13 are also rejected since they are depended upon rejection independent claims set forth above.
First Set of rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20170367003).
Regarding Claims 1 and 15, Zhang discloses a relay device configuring a wireless communication network system (see FIG. 1, 9B, radio communication system; see ¶¶149, 153), comprising:
a sensor device (see FIG. 1, UE; see FIG. 11, terminal device), transmitting detected data (see ¶¶219, 238, 472, 517, 521; transmit RRC3/SRB4 signaling data or DRB5 data (i.e. resource service information) which is detected/noticed/sensed by the terminal (also see FIG. 4B-C));
at least one relay device (see FIG. 1, 8A, 10 a00, 12 c00: Macro/Micros base station) relaying the detected data (see ¶¶ 150, 152, 158, 400-401; repeat/relay the detected/noticed/sensed data) to a gateway device (see FIG. 8A-B, to Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller); and
a gateway device (see FIG. 8A-B, Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller) transferring the detected data to another network (see FIG. 8A, transfer detected/noticed/sensed data to another/neighbor network/cell; see ¶¶116, 121, 371, 386, 387, , 388, 389, 393, 398),
the sensor device, the at least one relay device, and the gateway device being connected by a wireless communication network (see FIG. 1, 8A, UE/terminal device, Micro/macro base stations and SOR are connected by wireless network; see ¶¶ 153, 189, 391),
wherein the relay device (see FIG. 1, 8A-B, 10 a00, 12 c00: Macro/ Micros base station) comprises:
a receiver (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) receiving a received signal containing the data (see ¶¶150, 152; receive detected/noticed/sensed data signal from UE/terminal device b0) ;
a storage (see FIG. 12, memory c30) storing heartbeat data ( see ¶¶377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510, store all sending/receiving data including such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data, which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data); also see ¶¶18, 23, 25, 27, 28, 82, 84)
a transmitter (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) transmitting a transmission signal containing the data received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 8A-B, transmit data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶¶ 218, 321, 351, 381-383, 440 ) and transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat (see ¶¶159, 172, 231, 377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510; transmit the data signal such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data)); and
a frequency setting unit (see FIG. 1, 10, processing unit a10, see FIG. 12, processor c10), setting at least one of a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 3A-B (frequency range), 8A-B; , setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40); see ¶¶172-173, 353, 373, 382-383, 386, 441; FIG. 5, base station receive Step 504-505, ¶¶307-309, FIG. 6B, base station receive Step 605, ¶¶338-339) and a frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 3A-B, 8A-B; setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal transmitted by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; also see FIG. 2, Base Station Transmit Step 202 and 204 , ¶¶158, 180; FIG. 4A, Base Station Transmit Step 412, 414, also see ¶¶220, 255) based on a frequency setting command transmitted from the gateway device (see FIG. 8B, Frequency range used message Step 803; based on instruction/information received from SOR; see ¶¶124, 380-382, 386,, 405, 430).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang also teaches wherein the heartbeat data contains information (see ¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510; frequently transmit the data signal with broadcast/RRC signaling data ) which indicates the frequency set by the frequency setting unit (see FIG. 3A, 7A, 9A; dedicated & common Frequency ranges, f1 vs f2; indicate/show frequency range set/allocates/configure by base station’s processing unit a10 processor c10; see ¶200, 342, 393; also see ¶172-173, 353, 382-383, 441).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang also teaches wherein the heartbeat data contains information (see ¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510; frequently transmit the data signal with broadcast/RRC signaling data ) which indicates the number of frequency setting time at the frequency setting unit (see FIG. 3A, 7A, 9A; the number of dedicated & common Frequency ranges (i.e. dedicated range 1, dedicated range 2, dedicated Range 3, common range), note that there are 3 times of dedicate ranges (see FIG. 3A), 2 time of frequency ranges for service A-B (see FIG. 7A); indicate/show the number of frequency times/ranges at base station’s processing unit a10 processor c10; see ¶200, 342, 393; also see ¶172-173, 353, 382-383, 441).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang disclose wherein the transmitter adds identification information of the relay device to the heartbeat data, and transmits the heartbeat data by adding the identification information (see ¶226, 228, 249, 252, 270, 342; base station’s unit a20/c40 broadcast/RRC signaling data message includes with the identification of radio interface of a current cell and transmit broadcast/RRC signaling data).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the transmitter transmits the heartbeat data (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40 transmit the data signal with broadcast/RRC signaling data; see ¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510) when the receiver received the frequency setting command (see FIG. 10, 12, when Transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40 receives Frequency range used message (see FIG. 8B, Step 803); see ¶124, 380-382, 430)
Regarding claim 7, Zhang also discloses wherein the sensor device (see FIG. 1, UE; see FIG. 11, terminal device; ¶152, 467-468) and the transmitter of the relay device (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40 of Macro and Micros base stations) transmits the data with a broadcast scheme ( see ¶161, 167, 170, 283, 285, BS transmit the data signal with broadcast/RRC signaling data; and UE transmit the respond to broadcast/RRC signaling data; (see FIG. 4, Step 504, see FIG. 6B, Step 605, see FIG. 7B, Step 705); note that broadcast signal and respond to broadcast signal/message are part of the broadcasting scheme: also see ¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists (see ¶386; an adjacent cell set or cell group or current which is neighbor cell set or group of the current cell set or cell group of network),
the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver of the relay device and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 8A, SOR instruct the base station to set/change frequency range, thereby, setting/changing frequency range of base station’s received & transmit signal at transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶124, 172-173, 353, 380-383, 430, 441) as a same frequency as a frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network (see ¶209, 386,436; to set/ensure the same frequency range is used in adjacent cell set or cell group; also see 149, 150, 175, 179).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists (see ¶386; an adjacent cell set or cell group or current which is neighbor cell set or group of the current cell set or cell group of network),
the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver of the relay device and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 8A, SOR instruct the base station to set/change frequency range, thereby, setting/changing frequency range of base station’s received & transmit signal at transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶124, 172-173, 353, 380-383, 430, 441) as a frequency different from a frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network (see ¶209, 212, 218, 279, 314, 321, 343, 386,397; to set/ensure the different frequency range is used in adjacent cell set or cell group; also see ¶ 488, 536, 537).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “set the frequency different from frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network” data as taught by Zhang in the system of Nishiyasu, so that it would improve flexibility of radio resource configuration thereby improving radio resource utilization ; see Zhang ¶4.
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang discloses a relay device (see FIG. 1, 8A, 10 a00, 12 c00: Macro and Micros base stations) relaying the data; see ¶¶150, 152, 158, 400-401 ) comprising:
a receiver (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) receiving a received signal containing data transmitted from a first communication device (see FIG. 1, UE; see FIG. 11, received transmitting detected data from terminal device; see ¶¶152, 467-468);
a storage (see FIG. 12, memory c30) storing heartbeat data ( see ¶¶377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510, store all sending/receiving data including such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data, which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data); also see ¶¶18, 23, 25, 27, 28, 82, 84)
a transmitter (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) transmitting a transmission signal containing the data received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 8A-B, transmit data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶ 218, 321, 351, 381-383, 440) to second communication device (see FIG. 8A-B, to combined system of Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller; see ¶¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510) and periodically transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data (see¶ ¶159, 172, 231, 377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510; transmit the data signal such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data))) to the second communication device (see FIG. 8A-B, to combined system of Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller and SGW; see ¶¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510); and
a frequency setting unit (see FIG. 1, 10, processing unit a10, see FIG. 12, processor c10), setting at least one of a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 3A-B (frequency range), 8A-B; , setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40); see ¶¶172-173, 353, 373, 382-383, 386, 441; FIG. 5, base station receive Step 504-505, ¶¶307-309, FIG. 6B, base station receive Step 605, also see ¶¶338-339) and a frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 3A-B, 8A-B; setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal transmitted by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; also see FIG. 2, Base Station Transmit Step 202 and 204 , ¶158, 180; FIG. 4A, Base Station Transmit Step 412, 414, ¶¶220, 255) based on a frequency setting command transmitted from the second communication device (see FIG. 8B, Frequency range used message Step 803; based on instruction/information received from SOR; see ¶124, 380-382, 386,, 405, 430), the set frequency being a frequency of an adjacent communication network (see ¶209, 386,436, 442; setting/configuring to ensure that the same frequency range is used in adjacent/neighboring cell set or cell group; also see ¶¶ 149, 150, 175, 179).
the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver of the relay device and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 8A, SOR instruct the base station to set/change frequency range, thereby, setting/changing frequency range of base station’s received & transmit signal at transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶¶124, 172-173, 353, 380-383, 430, 441) as a same frequency as a frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network (see ¶¶209, 386,436; to set/ensure the same frequency range is used in adjacent cell set or cell group; also see ¶¶ 149, 150, 175, 179).
Second Set of rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiyasu (US 20200404554) in view of Zhang (US 20170367003).
Regarding Claims 1 and 15, Nishiyasu discloses a relay device configuration a wireless communication network system (see FIG. 1, 7, wireless communication system 100; see ¶35-36), comprising
a sensor device (see FIG. 1, 4, 7; Slave Unit 30-N with sensor 406) transmitting detected data (see ¶¶34, 36-38, 85-90; transmit obtained sensor information data);
at least one relay device (see FIG. 1, 3, 7, Access Points 20-1, 20-2) relaying the detected data (see ¶¶67-69, 89, 90; repeat/relay the sensed/detected information data) to a gateway device (see FIG. 1, 2, 7, to control device 10); and
the gateway device (see FIG. 1, 2, 7, control device 10) transferring the detected data to network (see ¶¶40-41, 46; transmit sensed/detected information data to a network),
the sensor device, the at least one relay device, and the gateway device (see FIG. 1, 7, Slave Unit 30, Access Point 20, Control Device ) being connected by a wireless communication network (see ¶¶31, 36; are connected by wireless communication system),
wherein the relay device (see FIG. 1, 3, 7, Access Points (AP) 20-1, 20-2) comprises:
a receiver (see FIG. 3, reception circuit Wireless communication unit 301; see ¶66) receiving a received signal containing the detected data (see ¶¶ 36, 65-69, received sensed/detected information data) ;
a storage storing data (see FIG. 1, 3, AP 20 has the memory/storage to store data; see ¶¶ 36, 65-69)
a transmitter (see FIG. 1, 3, transmission circuit Wireless communication unit 301; see ¶66) transmitting a transmission signal containing the data received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 3, transmit sensor information data revived by the receiving circuit; see ¶¶ 36, 65-69 ) and transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data (see FIG. 1, 3, transmit transmission with beacon/resource allocation data; see ¶70, 78,122-125, 216); and
a frequency setting unit (see FIG. 1, 3, a combined system of wireless protocol controller 302 and operation mode setting unit 303) setting at least one of a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 3, set/change resource allocation and/or frequency channel of the received information data; see ¶¶66-69, 71-73, 48, 54, 58) and a frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 3, set/change resource allocation and/or frequency channel of the transmit information data; see ¶¶66-69, 71-73, 48, 54, 58) based on a frequency setting command transmitted from the gateway device (see FIG. 1, 2, based on resource allocation and operation mode setting information data command received from control device 10; ¶¶70-73, 48, 54-58).
Although Nishiyasu discloses a gateway device transferring the data to network a storage storing data set forth above, Nishiyasu does not explicitly disclose a gateway device transferring the data to “another network” and a storage storing” heartbeat” data. [Emphasis added]
However, Zhang discloses a relay device configuring a wireless communication network system (see FIG. 1, 9B, radio communication system; see ¶¶149, 153), comprising:
a sensor device (see FIG. 1, UE; see FIG. 11, terminal device), transmitting detected data (see ¶¶219, 238, 472, 517, 521; transmit RRC6/SRB7 signaling data or DRB8 data (i.e. resource service information) which is detected/noticed/sensed by the terminal (also see FIG. 4B-C));
at least one relay device (see FIG. 1, 8A, 10 a00, 12 c00: Macro/Micros base station) relaying the detected data (see ¶¶ 150, 152, 158, 400-401; repeat/relay the detected/noticed/sensed data) to a gateway device (see FIG. 8A-B, to Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller); and
a gateway device (see FIG. 8A-B, Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller) transferring the detected data to another network (see FIG. 8A, transfer detected/noticed/sensed data to another/neighbor network/cell; see ¶¶ 116, 121, 371, 386, 387, , 388, 389, 393, 398),
the sensor device, the at least one relay device, and the gateway device being connected by a wireless communication network (see FIG. 1, 8A, UE/terminal device, Micro/macro base stations and SOR are connected by wireless network; see ¶¶ 153, 189, 391),
wherein the relay device (see FIG. 1, 8A-B, 10 a00, 12 c00: Macro/ Micros base station) comprises:
a receiver (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) receiving a received signal containing the data (see ¶¶150, 152; receive detected/noticed/sensed data signal from UE/terminal device b0) ;
a storage (see FIG. 12, memory c30) storing heartbeat data (see ¶¶377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510, store all sending/receiving data including such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data, which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data); also see ¶¶18, 23, 25, 27, 28, 82, 84)
a transmitter (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) transmitting a transmission signal containing the data received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 8A-B, transmit data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶¶ 218, 321, 351, 381-383, 440 ) and transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data (see ¶¶159, 172, 231, 377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510; transmit the data signal such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data))); and
a frequency setting unit (see FIG. 1, 10, processing unit a10, see FIG. 12, processor c10), setting at least one of a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 3A-B (frequency range), 8A-B; , setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40); see ¶¶172-173, 353, 373, 382-383, 386, 441; FIG. 5, base station receive Step 504-505, ¶¶307-309, FIG. 6B, base station receive Step 605, ¶¶338-339) and a frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 3A-B, 8A-B; setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal transmitted by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; also see FIG. 2, Base Station Transmit Step 202 and 204 , ¶158, 180; FIG. 4A, Base Station Transmit Step 412, 414, ¶¶220, 255) based on a frequency setting command transmitted from the gateway device (see FIG. 8B, Frequency range used message Step 803; based on instruction/information received from SOR; see ¶¶124, 380-382, 386,, 405, 430).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a gateway device transferring the data to “another network” and a storage storing” heartbeat” data as taught by Zhang in the system of Nishiyasu, so that it would improve flexibility of radio resource configuration thereby improving radio resource utilization ; see Zhang ¶4.
Regarding claim 2, Nishiyasu discloses wherein the heartbeat data contains information which indicates the frequency set by the frequency setting unit (see FIG. 6, beacon/resource allocation data contains allocation and/or frequency channel information data which indicates/shows the frequency channel set/allocate by AP’s combined units 302-303; see ¶104-110, 66-69, 70-73, 48, 54, 58; 122-125, 216). Zhang also teaches wherein the heartbeat data contains information (see ¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510; frequently transmit the data signal with broadcast/RRC signaling data ) which indicates the frequency set by the frequency setting unit (see FIG. 3A, 7A, 9A; dedicated & common Frequency ranges, f1 vs f2; indicate/show frequency range set/allocates/configure by base station’s processing unit a10 processor c10; see ¶200, 342, 393; also see ¶172-173, 353, 382-383, 441).
Regarding claim 3, Nishiyasu discloses wherein the heartbeat data contains information which indicates the number of frequency setting time at the frequency setting unit (see FIG. 6, beacon/resource allocation data contains allocation and/or frequency channel information data which indicates/shows the phase number of frequency channel setting/allocation time (i.e. phase 1-4) at AP’s combined units 302-303; also see ¶104-110, 66-69, 70-73, 48, 54, 58; 122-125, 216). Zhang also teaches wherein the heartbeat data contains information (see ¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510; frequently transmit the data signal with broadcast/RRC signaling data ) which indicates the number of frequency setting time at the frequency setting unit (see FIG. 3A, 7A, 9A; the number of dedicated & common Frequency ranges (i.e. dedicated range 1, dedicated range 2, dedicated Range 3, common range), note that there are 3 times of dedicate ranges (see FIG. 3A), 2 time of frequency ranges for service A-B (see FIG. 7A); indicate/show the number of frequency times/ranges at base station’s processing unit a10 processor c10; see ¶200, 342, 393; also see ¶172-173, 353, 382-383, 441).
Regarding claim 4, Nishiyasu discloses wherein the transmitter adds identification information of the relay device to the heartbeat data, and transmits the heartbeat data by adding the identification information (see FIG. 7, C515 or C517 AP’s transmitter 301 add its transmission source AP address in beacon/resource allocation data and transmit to slave unit 30 (e.g. beacon) or Control device 10 (e.g. request information) ; see ¶116, 123,138, 216-218, 222 ). Zhang disclose wherein the transmitter adds identification information of the relay device to the heartbeat data, and transmits the heartbeat data by adding the identification information (see ¶226, 228, 249, 252, 270, 342; base station’s unit a20/c40 broadcast/RRC signaling data message includes with the identification of radio interface of a current cell and transmit broadcast/RRC signaling data).
Regarding claim 6, Nishiyasu discloses the transmitter transmits the heartbeat data (see FIG. 1, 3, transmission circuit Wireless communication unit 301 transmit beacon/resource allocation data; see ¶66, 70, 78,122-125, 216) when the receiver received the frequency setting command (FIG. 1, 3, receiving circuit Wireless communication unit 301 revies resource allocation and operation mode setting information data received from control device 10; ¶70-73, also see 48, 54-58). Zhang discloses the transmitter transmits the heartbeat data (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40 transmit the data signal with broadcast/RRC signaling data; see ¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510) when the receiver received the frequency setting command (see FIG. 10, 12, when Transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40 receives Frequency range used message (see FIG. 8B, Step 803); see ¶124, 380-382, 430)
Regarding claim 7, Nishiyasu discloses wherein the sensor device (see FIG. 1, 4, 7; Slave Unit 30-N with sensor 406) and the transmitter of the relay device (see FIG. 1, 3, transmission circuit Wireless communication unit 301 for AP20; see ¶66) transmits the data with a broadcast scheme (see FIG. 1, 3, transmit beacon/resource allocation data (e.g. Bacon from AP and Respond to Beacon (i.e. connection request) from Slave unit ); note that beacon signal and respond to beacon connection request are part of the broadcasting since information is distributed to a wider dissemination; see ¶70, 78,122-128, 130-132). Zhang also discloses wherein the sensor device (see FIG. 1, UE; see FIG. 11, terminal device; ¶152, 467-468) and the transmitter of the relay device (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40 of Macro and Micros base stations) transmits the data with a broadcast scheme ( see ¶161, 167, 170, 283, 285, BS transmit the data signal with broadcast/RRC signaling data; and UE transmit the respond to broadcast/RRC signaling data; (see FIG. 4, Step 504, see FIG. 6B, Step 605, see FIG. 7B, Step 705); note that broadcast signal and respond to broadcast signal/message are part of the broadcasting scheme: also see ¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510).
Regarding claim 8, Nishiyasu discloses the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver of the relay device and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 2, control device 10 send resource allocation and operation mode setting information to set/change resource allocation and/or frequency channel of the transmit information at the AP 20, thereby, setting/changing frequency channel allocation of receive signal received & transmit the wireless communication unit 301; see ¶66-69, 70-73, 48, 54-58).
Nishiyasu does not explicitly disclose “in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists” and “set the frequency as a same frequency as a frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network”.
However, Zhang discloses in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists (see ¶386; an adjacent cell set or cell group which is neighbor cell set or group of the current cell set or cell group of network),
the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver of the relay device and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 8A, SOR instruct the base station to set/change frequency range, thereby, setting/changing frequency range of base station’s received & transmit signal at transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶124, 172-173, 353, 380-383, 430, 441) as a same frequency as a frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network (see ¶209, 386,436; to set/ensure the same frequency range is used in adjacent cell set or cell group; also see 149, 150, 175, 179).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “set the frequency as a same frequency as a frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network” data as taught by Zhang in the system of Nishiyasu, so that it would improve flexibility of radio resource configuration thereby improving radio resource utilization ; see Zhang ¶4.
Regarding claim 9, Nishiyasu discloses the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver of the relay device and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 2, control device 10 send resource allocation and operation mode setting information to set/change resource allocation and/or frequency channel of the transmit information at the AP 20, thereby, setting/changing frequency channel allocation of receive signal received & transmit the wireless communication unit 301; see ¶66-69, 70-73, 48, 54-58).
Nishiyasu does not explicitly disclose “in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists” and “set the frequency as a different frequency as a frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network”.
However, Zhang discloses in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists (see ¶386; an adjacent cell set or cell group which is neighbor cell set or group of the current cell set or cell group of network),
the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver of the relay device and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 8A, SOR instruct the base station to set/change frequency range, thereby, setting/changing frequency range of base station’s received & transmit signal at transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶124, 172-173, 353, 380-383, 430, 441) as a frequency different from a frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network (see ¶209, 212, 218, 279, 314, 321, 343, 386,397; to set/ensure the different frequency range is used in adjacent cell set or cell group; also see ¶ 488, 536, 537).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “set the frequency different from frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network” data as taught by Zhang in the system of Nishiyasu, so that it would improve flexibility of radio resource configuration thereby improving radio resource utilization ; see Zhang ¶4.
Regarding claim 10, Nishiyasu discloses wherein the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command regarding a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver to the relay device which receives the detected data directly from the sensor device (see FIG. 1, 2, control device 10 send resource allocation and operation mode setting information regarding resource allocation and/or frequency channel is received by AP 20’s wireless communication unit 301 (receiver from AP side) , which also received detected data from slave unit 30; see ¶66-69, 70-73, 48, 54-58).
Although Nishiyasu discloses the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command regarding a frequency for the received signal received by the receiver of the relay device as set forth above, Nishiyasu does not explicitly disclose the frequency setting command “which does not” direct to set a frequency of the received signal.
However, Zhang discloses wherein the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command which does not direct to set a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver (see ¶209, 386,436; SOR instruct the base station to set frequency range to the same frequency range as before for intra-communication, thereby, not changing/directing the frequency range of signal received at unit a-20 or c-40 of base station to base station which received signals from UE; also see ¶124, 149, 150, 172-173, 179, 179, 353, 380-383, 430, 441).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the frequency setting command “which does not” direct to set a frequency of the received signal data as taught by Zhang in the system of Nishiyasu, so that it would improve flexibility of radio resource configuration thereby improving radio resource utilization ; see Zhang ¶4.
Regarding claim 14, Nishiyasu discloses a relay device (see FIG. 1, 3, 7, Access Points 20-1, 20-2) , comprising:
a receiver (see FIG. 3, reception circuit Wireless communication unit 301) receiving a received signal containing data (see ¶66; having obtained sensor information data ) transmitted from a first communication device (see FIG. 1, 4, 7; from Slave Unit 30-N with sensor 406; see ¶¶34, 36-38, 85-90);
a storage storing data (see FIG. 1, 3, AP 20 has the memory/storage to store data; see ¶¶ 36, 65-69)
a transmitter (see FIG. 1, 3, transmission circuit Wireless communication unit 301; see ¶66) transmitting a transmission signal containing the data received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 3, transmit sensor information data revived by the receiving circuit; see ¶¶ 36, 65-69 ) to second communication device (see FIG. 1, 2, 7, to control device 10, see ¶¶40-41, 46;) and transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data to the second communication device (see FIG. 1, 3, transmit transmission with beacon/resource allocation data/request to control device; see ¶¶70, 78,122-125, 216; also see FIG. 5, Step S1201, ¶¶91-92); and
a frequency setting unit (see FIG. 1, 3, a combined system of wireless protocol controller 302 and operation mode setting unit 303) setting at least one of a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 3, set/change resource allocation and/or frequency channel of the received information data; see ¶¶66-69, 71-73, 48, 54, 58) and a frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 3, set/change resource allocation and/or frequency channel of the transmit information data; see ¶¶66-69, 71-73, 48, 54, 58) based on a frequency setting command transmitted from the gateway device (see FIG. 1, 2, based on resource allocation and operation mode setting information data command received from control device 10; ¶¶70-73, 48, 54-58), and an adjacent communication network (another/neighbor network/cell; see ¶¶ 116, 121, 371, 386, 387, , 388, 389, 393, 398).
Although Nishiyasu discloses a storage storing data and a frequency setting unit setting at least one frequency of received signal by the receiver and transmitted from the transmitter and an adjacent communication network set forth above, Nishiyasu does not explicitly disclose a storage storing” heartbeat” data and set the frequency being “a frequency” of the adjacent wireless communication network. [Emphasis added]
However, Zhang discloses a relay device (see FIG. 1, 8A, 10 a00, 12 c00: Macro and Micros base stations) relaying the data; see ¶¶ 150, 152, 158, 400-401 ) comprising:
a receiver (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) receiving a received signal containing data transmitted from a first communication device (see FIG. 1, UE; see FIG. 11, received transmitting detected data from terminal device; see ¶¶152, 467-468);
a storage (see FIG. 12, memory c30) storing heartbeat data ( see ¶377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510, store all sending/receiving data including such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data, which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data); also see ¶¶18, 23, 25, 27, 28, 82, 84)
a transmitter (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) transmitting a transmission signal containing the data received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 8A-B, transmit data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶ 218, 321, 351, 381-383, 440) to second communication device (see FIG. 8A-B, to combined system of Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller and SGW; see ¶¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510) and periodically transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data (see ¶¶159, 172, 231, 377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510; transmit the data signal such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data)) to the second communication device (see FIG. 8A-B, to combined system of Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller and SGW; see ¶¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510); and
a frequency setting unit (see FIG. 1, 10, processing unit a10, see FIG. 12, processor c10), setting at least one of a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 3A-B (frequency range), 8A-B; , setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40); see ¶¶172-173, 353, 373, 382-383, 386, 441; FIG. 5, base station receive Step 504-505, also see ¶¶307-309, FIG. 6B, base station receive Step 605, also see ¶¶338-339) and a frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 3A-B, 8A-B; setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal transmitted by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; also see FIG. 2, Base Station Transmit Step 202 and 204 , ¶¶158, 180; FIG. 4A, Base Station Transmit Step 412, 414, ¶¶220, 255) based on a frequency setting command transmitted from the second communication device (see FIG. 8B, Frequency range used message Step 803; based on instruction/information received from SOR; see ¶¶124, 380-382, 386,, 405, 430), the set frequency being a frequency of an adjacent communication network (see ¶¶209, 386,436, 442; setting/configuring to ensure that the same frequency range is used in adjacent/neighboring cell set or cell group; also see ¶¶ 149, 150, 175, 179).
the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver of the relay device and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 8A, SOR instruct the base station to set/change frequency range, thereby, setting/changing frequency range of base station’s received & transmit signal at transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶¶124, 172-173, 353, 380-383, 430, 441) as a same frequency as a frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network (see ¶¶209, 386,436; to set/ensure the same frequency range is used in adjacent cell set or cell group; also see ¶¶ 149, 150, 175, 179).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a storage storing” heartbeat” data as taught by Zhang in the system of Nishiyasu, so that it would improve flexibility of radio resource configuration thereby improving radio resource utilization ; see Zhang ¶4.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiyasu in view of Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kasslin (US 2015 0036540).
Regarding claim 5, Nishiyasu discloses wherein when the receiver receives heartbeat data, the transmitter adds identification information of the relay device to the received heartbeat data and transmits the heartbeat data by adding the identification information (see FIG. 7, C515 or C517 AP’s transmitter 301 add its transmission source AP address in beacon/resource allocation data and transmit to slave unit 30 (e.g. beacon) or Control device 10 (e.g. request information) ; see ¶116, 123,138, 216-218, 222 ). Zhang also discloses wherein when the receiver receives heartbeat data, the transmitter adds identification information of the relay device to the received heartbeat data and transmits the heartbeat data by adding the identification information (see ¶226, 228, 249, 252, 270, 342; base station’s unit a20/c40 broadcast/RRC signaling data message includes with the identification of radio interface of a current cell and transmit broadcast/RRC signaling data).
Although the combined system of Nishiyasu and Zhang disclose the receiver receives heartbeat data from another device, and the transmitter adds identification information of the relay device to the received heartbeat data and transmits the heartbeat data adding the identification information as set forth above,
The combined system of Nishiyasu and Zhang does not explicitly disclose limitation receives heartbeat data from “another relay” device. [Emphasis added]
Kasslin discloses wherein the relay device (see FIG. 1, Master Device M3) comprising:
a receiver and a transmitter (see FIG. 1, 4, Radio transceiver 208 of the master device; see ¶290)
when the receiver receives heartbeat data from another relay device (see FIG. 1, when transceiver 208 of master device M3 receive Beacon B(M2)(A) from Master device M2), the transmitter adds identification information of the relay device to the received heartbeat data (see FIG. 1, transceiver 208 of the Master Device M2 add identification information of master device M3 to received Beacon; see ¶91, 259-261), and
transmits the heartbeat data adding the identification information (see FIG. 1, transmit Beacon B(M3)(A) with Master device 3 identification information M3; see ¶91, 259-261).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receives heartbeat data from “another relay” device as taught by Kasslin, in the combined system of Nishiyasu and Zhang, so that it would provide awareness about the local network environment to extend business and social networking to users in a peer-to-peer fashion; see Kasslin ¶6.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiyasu in view of Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang’5199 (CN 111526519).
Regarding Claim 11, Nishiyasu discloses the wireless communication network uses a first frequency (see FIG. 1, 6, AP 20-1 uses channel frequency of phase 1; also see FIG. 9, Steps 702-703; see ¶104-110, 66-69, 70-73, 48, 54, 58; 122-125, 216) and the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver and to set he frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter, to the closest relay device (see FIG. 1, 2, control device 10 send resource allocation and operation mode setting information instruction signal to set/change resource allocation and/or frequency channel information (e.g. channel frequency phase 1 ) of the received data signal by the wireless communication 301 and resource allocation and/or frequency channel information (e.g. channel frequency phase 2) transmitted from the wireless communication 301, and to closest AP 20 (e.g. AP 20-2; see ¶66-69, 70-73, 48, 54-58, 104-112) .
Nishiyasu does not explicitly disclose wherein “in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists”, and “the adjacent wireless communication network uses a frequency”, the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the closest relay device “to the adjacent wireless communication network”. [Emphasis added]
However, Zhang disclose wherein in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists (see ¶386; an adjacent cell set or cell group which is neighbor cell set or group of the current cell set or cell group of network),
and the adjacent wireless communication network uses a frequency (see ¶386; an adjacent cell set or cell group which is neighbor cell set or group of the current cell set or cell group of network uses a channel frequency range);
the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver as the frequency and to set the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter as the first frequency, (see FIG. 1, 3A, 6A, 8A, SOR instruct the base station (e.g. first small micro cell) to set/change frequency range signal received by transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40 as frequency range (e.g. dedicated rang 1, 2, or 3, common range) and frequency range (e.g. dedicated rang 1, 2, or 3, common range) of signal transmission from by transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶200, 342, 393; also see ¶172-173, 353, 382-383, 441) to a closest relay device to the adjacent wireless communication network (see FIG. 1, 8A, SOR also instruct to the closest base station (i.e. second small micro cell) in adjacent cell or neighbor cell; see ¶124, 172-173, 353, 380-383, 430, 441).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists”, and “the adjacent wireless communication network uses a frequency”, the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to the closest relay device “to the adjacent wireless communication network” as taught by Zhang in the system of Nishiyasu, so that it would improve flexibility of radio resource configuration thereby improving radio resource utilization ; see Zhang ¶4.
The combined system of Nishiyasu and Zhang does not explicitly disclose the wireless communication network uses “a first frequency” and the adjacent wireless communication network uses “a second frequency”, set the frequency of the received signal as “the second frequency” and the frequency of the transmission signal as “the first frequency”. [Emphasis added]
However, Zhang’519 discloses wherein in case that an adjacent wireless communication network (see FIG. 1, subnetwork 1 or A) which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists (see FIG. 1, next to subnetwork 2 or B; see page 2-3) and
the wireless communication network uses a first frequency (see FIG. 1, subnetwork B select 15MHz frequency; see page 5-7) and the adjacent wireless communication network uses a second frequency (see FIG. 1, subnetwork A select 20MHz, see page 5-7),
to set the frequency of the received signal as the second frequency (see FIG. 1, network node select the frequency of received signal as 20 MHz with the frequency with large bandwidth; see page 5-7) and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted as the first frequency (see FIG. 1, network node select transmit signal as 15MHz; see page 5-7),
to the closest relay device to the adjacent wireless communication network (see FIG. 1, to closest network node in subnetwork 1 or A; see page 2-3, 5-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wireless communication network uses “a first frequency” and the adjacent wireless communication network uses “a second frequency”, set the frequency of the received signal as “the second frequency” and the frequency of the transmission signal as “the first frequency as taught by Zhang’519, in the combined system of Nishiyasu and Zhang , so that it would improve network fusing efficiency while maintaining higher throughput; see Zhang’519 page 1.
Regarding Claim 12, Nishiyasu discloses the wireless communication network uses a first frequency (see FIG. 1, 6, AP 20-1 uses channel frequency of phase 1; also see FIG. 9, Steps 702-703; see ¶104-110, 66-69, 70-73, 48, 54, 58; 122-125, 216) and the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver and to set the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter, to the closest relay device (see FIG. 1, 2, control device 10 send resource allocation and operation mode setting information instruction signal to set/change resource allocation and/or frequency channel information (e.g. channel frequency phase 1 ) of the received data signal by the wireless communication 301 and resource allocation and/or frequency channel information (e.g. channel frequency phase 2) transmitted from the wireless communication 301, and to closest AP 20 (e.g. AP 20-2; see ¶66-69, 70-73, 48, 54-58, 104-112) .
Nishiyasu does not explicitly disclose wherein “in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists”, and “the adjacent wireless communication network uses a frequency”, the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to the closest relay device “to the adjacent wireless communication network”. [Emphasis added]
However, Zhang disclose wherein in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists (see ¶386; an adjacent cell set or cell group which is neighbor cell set or group of the current cell set or cell group of network),
and the adjacent wireless communication network uses a second frequency (see ¶386; an adjacent cell set or cell group which is neighbor cell set or group of the current cell set or cell group of network uses a channel frequency range);
the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver as the frequency and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter as the frequency, (see FIG. 1, 3A, 6A, 8A, SOR instruct the base station (e.g. first small micro cell) to set/change frequency range signal received by transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40 as frequency range (e.g. dedicated rang 1, 2, or 3, common range) and frequency range (e.g. dedicated rang 1, 2, or 3, common range) of signal transmission from by transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶200, 342, 393; also see ¶172-173, 353, 382-383, 441) to the closest relay device to the adjacent wireless communication network (see FIG. 1, 8A, SOR also instruct to the closest base station (i.e. second small micro cell) in adjacent cell or neighbor cell; see ¶124, 172-173, 353, 380-383, 430, 441).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “in case that an adjacent wireless communication network which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists”, and “the adjacent wireless communication network uses a frequency”, the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to the closest relay device “to the adjacent wireless communication network” as taught by Zhang in the system of Nishiyasu, so that it would improve flexibility of radio resource configuration thereby improving radio resource utilization ; see Zhang ¶4.
The combined system of Nishiyasu and Zhang does not explicitly disclose the wireless communication network uses “a first frequency” and the adjacent wireless communication network uses “a second frequency”, set the frequency of the received signal as “the first frequency” and the frequency of the transmission signal as “the second frequency”. [Emphasis added]
However, Zhang’519 discloses wherein in case that an adjacent wireless communication network (see FIG. 1, subnetwork 2 or B) which is adjacent to the wireless communication network exists (see FIG. 1, next to subnetwork 1 or A; see page 2-3) and
the wireless communication network uses a first frequency (see FIG. 1, subnetwork A select 10MHz frequency; see page 5-7) and the adjacent wireless communication network uses a second frequency (see FIG. 1, subnetwork B select 13MHz, see page 5-7),
to set the frequency of the received signal as the first frequency (see FIG. 1, network node select the frequency of received signal as 10 MHz; see page 5-7) and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted as the second frequency (see FIG. 1, network node select transmit signal as 13MHz; see page 5-7),
to the closest relay device to the adjacent wireless communication network (see FIG. 1, to closest network node in subnetwork 1 or A; see page 2-3, 5-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the wireless communication network uses “a first frequency” and the adjacent wireless communication network uses “a second frequency”, set the frequency of the received signal as “the first frequency” and the frequency of the transmission signal as “the second frequency” as taught by Zhang’519, in the combined system of Nishiyasu and Zhang , so that it would improve network fusing efficiency while maintaining higher throughput; see Zhang’519 page 1.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiyasu in view of Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oura10 (WO 2017109817A1).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined system of Nishiyasu and Zhang discloses wireless communication network system comprises the relay device as set forth above.
The combined system of Nishiyasu and Zhang does not explicitly disclose relay device is “mounted on a moveable body”. [Emphasis added]
However, Oura discloses the relay device is mounted on a moveable body (see FIG. 1, 3, Receiver 103 is carried by an observer such as an official of a facility or the like; see page 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide relay device that is “mounted on a moveable body”.” as taught by Oura, in the combined system of Nishiyasu and Zhang , so that it would perform flexibility and efficient communication; see Oura page 2.
Third Set of rejection
Claims 1, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oura (WO 2017 109817) in view of Zhang (US 20170367003).
Regarding Claims 1 and 15, Oura discloses a relay device configuring wireless communication network system (see FIG. 1, Configuration detection system 100), comprising
a sensor device (see FIG. 1, plurality of transmitters 104) transmitting detected data (see page 5-6, 16; plurality of transmitters 104 are sensor devices that transmit transmission data);
at least one relay device relaying the detected data (see FIG. 1, 3, plurality of receivers 103 which are repeaters retransmit/repeat detected data by the detection system 100; see page 6) to a gateway device (see FIG. 1, 3, Management Device 102); and
the gateway device (see FIG. 1, 3, Management Device 102) transferring the detected data to another network (see page 7; transmit transmission detected data to another device (e.g. smartphone) via a network or the like) ,
the sensor device, the relay device, and the gateway device being connected by a wireless communication network (see FIG. 1, Transmitter 104, Receiver 103 and Management device 102 are communicating via wireless network; see page 5-6) ,
wherein the relay device (see FIG. 1, 3, Receiver 103 ) comprises:
a receiver (see FIG. 3 radio reception unit 121) receiving a received signal containing the detected data (see page 6; receive detected data);
a storage (see FIG. 3, information storage unit 123) storing heartbeat data (see page 6-7; store transmission data including detection signal information);
a transmitter (see FIG. 3, a radio transmission unit 126) transmitting a transmission signal containing the detected data received by the receiver (see FIG. 2, transmits detected data (e.g. signal 152) received from radio reception unit 126; see page 6) and transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data (see FIG. 2, transmit detection signal 151 or completion signal 153 periodically (i.e. heartbeat); see page 6-8) ; and
a setting unit (see FIG. 2, a combined system of the reception strength measurement unit 122 and information accumulation unit 123) setting at least one of the received signal received by the receiver (see FIG. 2, to configure/set the received signal (e.g. reception radio field intensity) by the radio reception unit 121; see page 6-8 ) and the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter based on a setting command from the gateway device (see FIG. 2, to configure/set the transmission data (e.g. signal 152 or 151) transmitted form the radio transmission unit 126 based on information (e.g. radio wave intensity information) generated from management device 102; see page 6-8, 10).
Although Oura discloses a setting unit directing to set the received signal received by the receiver and/or the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter based on a setting command generated from the gateway device set forth above,
Oura does not explicitly disclose a “frequency” setting unit directing to set “a frequency” based on a “frequency” setting command “transmitted” from the gateway device. [Emphasis added]
However, Zhang discloses a relay device configuring a wireless communication network system (see FIG. 1, 9B, radio communication system; see ¶¶149, 153), comprising:
a sensor device (see FIG. 1, UE; see FIG. 11, terminal device), transmitting detected data (see ¶¶219, 238, 472, 517, 521; transmit RRC11/SRB12 signaling data or DRB13 data (i.e. resource service information) which is detected/noticed/sensed by the terminal (also see FIG. 4B-C));
at least one relay device (see FIG. 1, 8A, 10 a00, 12 c00: Macro/Micros base station) relaying the detected data (see ¶¶ 150, 152, 158, 400-401; repeat/relay the detected/noticed/sensed data) to a gateway device (see FIG. 8A-B, to Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller); and
a gateway device (see FIG. 8A-B, Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller) transferring the detected data to another network (see FIG. 8A, transfer detected/noticed/sensed data to another/neighbor network/cell; see ¶¶116, 121, 371, 386, 387, , 388, 389, 393, 398),
the sensor device, the at least one relay device, and the gateway device being connected by a wireless communication network (see FIG. 1, 8A, UE/terminal device, Micro/macro base stations and SOR are connected by wireless network; see ¶¶153, 189, 391),
wherein the relay device (see FIG. 1, 8A-B, 10 a00, 12 c00: Macro/ Micros base station) comprises:
a receiver (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) receiving a received signal containing the data (see ¶¶150, 152; receive detected/noticed/sensed data signal from UE/terminal device b0) ;
a storage (see FIG. 12, memory c30) storing heartbeat data ( see ¶¶377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510, store all sending/receiving data including such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data, which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data); also see ¶¶18, 23, 25, 27, 28, 82, 84)
a transmitter (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) transmitting a transmission signal containing the data received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 8A-B, transmit data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶¶ 218, 321, 351, 381-383, 440 ) and transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data (see ¶¶159, 172, 231, 377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510; transmit the data signal such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data)and
a frequency setting unit (see FIG. 1, 10, processing unit a10, see FIG. 12, processor c10), setting at least one of a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 3A-B (frequency range), 8A-B; , setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40); see ¶¶172-173, 353, 373, 382-383, 386, 441; FIG. 5, base station receive Step 504-505, also see ¶ ¶307-309, FIG. 6B, base station receive Step 605, also see ¶ ¶338-339) and a frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 3A-B, 8A-B; setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal transmitted by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; also see FIG. 2, Base Station Transmit Step 202 and 204 , ¶¶158, 180; FIG. 4A, Base Station Transmit Step 412, 414, also see ¶¶220, 255) based on a frequency setting command transmitted from the gateway device (see FIG. 8B, Frequency range used message Step 803; based on instruction/information received from SOR; see ¶¶124, 380-382, 386,, 405, 430).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “frequency” setting unit directing to set “a frequency” based on a “frequency” setting command “transmitted” from the gateway device as taught by Zhang in the system of Oura, so that it would improve flexibility of radio resource configuration thereby improving radio resource utilization ; see Zhang ¶4.
Regarding Claim 14, Oura discloses a relay device (see FIG. 1, 3, plurality of receivers 103 which are repeaters retransmit/repeat transmission data; see page 6) comprising:
a receiver (see FIG. 3 radio reception unit 121) receiving a received signal containing data (see page 6; receive transmission data) transmitted from a first communication device (see FIG. 1, plurality of transmitters 104; page 5-6, 16) ;
a storage (see FIG. 3, information storage unit 123) storing heartbeat data (see page 6-7; store transmission data including detection signal information);
a transmitter (see FIG. 3, a radio transmission unit 126) transmitting a transmission signal containing the data received by the receiver (see FIG. 2, transmits transmission data (e.g. signal 152) received from radio reception unit 126; see page 6) and periodically transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data (see FIG. 2, transmit detection signal 151 or completion signal 153 periodically; see page 6-8) ; and
a setting unit (see FIG. 2, a combined system of the reception strength measurement unit 122 and information accumulation unit 123) setting at least one of the received signal received by the receiver (see FIG. 2, to configure/set the received signal (e.g. reception radio field intensity) by the radio reception unit 121; see page 6-8 ) and the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter based on a setting command from the gateway device (see FIG. 2, to configure/set the transmission data (e.g. signal 152 or 151) transmitted form the radio transmission unit 126 based on information (e.g. radio wave intensity information) generated from management device 102; see page 6-8, 10), an adjacent communication network (see page 7; another device (e.g. smartphone) via another network or the like).
Although Oura discloses a setting unit directing to set the received signal received by the receiver and the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter based on a setting command generated from the gateway device, and an adjacent communication network set forth above,
Oura does not explicitly disclose a “frequency” setting unit directing to set “a frequency” based on a “frequency” setting command “transmitted” from the second communication device, and the set frequency being “a frequency” of an adjacent communication network. [Emphasis added]
However, Zhang discloses a relay device (see FIG. 1, 8A, 10 a00, 12 c00: Macro and Micros base stations) relaying the data; see ¶¶ 150, 152, 158, 400-401 ) comprising:
a receiver (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) receiving a received signal containing data transmitted from a first communication device (see FIG. 1, UE; see FIG. 11, received transmitting detected data from terminal device; see ¶¶152, 467-468);
a storage (see FIG. 12, memory c30) storing heartbeat data ( see ¶¶493, 506,508-510, store all sending/receiving data (e.g. broadcast, RRC signaling, etc.))
a transmitter (see FIG. 10, Transceiver unit a20; see FIG. 12, communication interface c40) transmitting a transmission signal containing the data received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 8A-B, transmit data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶¶218, 321, 351, 381-383, 440) to second communication device (see FIG. 8A-B, to combined system of Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller and SGW; see ¶¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510) and periodically transmitting a transmission signal containing the heartbeat data (see ¶¶159, 172, 231, 377, 386, 400-402, 493, 506,508-510; transmit the data signal such as broadcast/RRC/paging signaling/service-resource/service-requirement data which are send periodically (i.e. heartbeat data) to the second communication device (see FIG. 8A-B, to combined system of Service Oriented Radio (SOR) Server/controller; see ¶¶159, 172, 231, 493, 506,508-510); and
a frequency setting unit (see FIG. 1, 10, processing unit a10, see FIG. 12, processor c10), setting at least one of a frequency of the received signal received by the receiver (see FIG. 1, 3A-B (frequency range), 8A-B; , setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal received by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40); see ¶¶172-173, 353, 373, 382-383, 386, 441; FIG. 5, base station receive Step 504-505, also see ¶¶307-309, FIG. 6B, base station receive Step 605, also see ¶¶338-339) and a frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 3A-B, 8A-B; setting/configuring required frequency range of the resource service data signal transmitted by the transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; also see FIG. 2, Base Station Transmit Step 202 and 204 , ¶¶158, 180; FIG. 4A, Base Station Transmit Step 412, 414, also see ¶¶220, 255) based on a frequency setting command transmitted from the second communication device (see FIG. 8B, Frequency range used message Step 803; based on instruction/information received from SOR; see ¶¶124, 380-382, 386,, 405, 430), the set frequency being a frequency of an adjacent communication network (see ¶¶209, 386,436, 442; setting/configuring to ensure that the same frequency range is used in adjacent/neighboring cell set or cell group; also see ¶¶ 149, 150, 175, 179).
the gateway device transmits the frequency setting command to set the frequency of the received signal received by the receiver of the relay device and the frequency of the transmission signal transmitted from the transmitter (see FIG. 1, 8A, SOR instruct the base station to set/change frequency range, thereby, setting/changing frequency range of base station’s received & transmit signal at transceiver unit a20 or communication interface c40; see ¶¶124, 172-173, 353, 380-383, 430, 441) as a same frequency as a frequency used by the adjacent wireless communication network (see p¶209, 386,436; to set/ensure the same frequency range is used in adjacent cell set or cell group; also see ¶¶ 149, 150, 175, 179).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “frequency” setting unit directing to set “a frequency” based on a “frequency” setting command “transmitted” from the second communication device as taught by Zhang in the system of Oura, so that it would improve flexibility of radio resource configuration thereby improving radio resource utilization ; see Zhang ¶4.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IAN N. MOORE
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2469
/Ian N Moore/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993)
2 See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
3 Radio Resource Control
4 Signaling Radio Bearers
5 Data Radio Bearers
6 Radio Resource Control
7 Signaling Radio Bearers
8 Data Radio Bearers
9 Disclosed by IDS and translation is provided herewith
10 Disclosed by IDS and translation is provided herewith
11 Radio Resource Control
12 Signaling Radio Bearers
13 Data Radio Bearers