DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-12, 14, 15, 24, 26-27, 43, and 70 in the reply filed on 04/01/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-12, 14, and 70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 01/35483.
Regarding claims 1-6, 9-12, 14, and 70 WO 01/35483 teaches a lithium battery with an electrolyte including a capacity-enhancing reactive component (abstract). The reference teaches the component additive to be bis(methoxyethyl)disulfide; bis(N,N-dimethylaminoethyl)disulfide; or bis(N,N-diethylaminoethyl)disulfide (pg 11, lines 12-22 and examples 2 and 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 24, and 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 01/035483.
Regarding claim 15, 24, 26, and 27, WO 01/35483 teaches a lithium battery with an electrolyte including a capacity-enhancing reactive component (abstract). The reference teaches the component additive to be bis(methoxyethyl)disulfide; bis(N,N-dimethylaminoethyl)disulfide; or bis(N,N-diethylaminoethyl)disulfide (pg 11, lines 12-22 and examples 2 and 8), as discussed above.
WO 01/35483 does not explicitly teach the additive amount in the electrolyte, as claimed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize any amount, such as the claimed amount, dependent upon the desired functionality of the electrolyte without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, and 43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art is considered to be WO 01/35483, as discussed above.
WO 01/35483 neither teaches nor renders obvious the structure of instant claims 7 and 8.
WO 01/35483 neither teaches nor renders obvious the electrolyte additive being used in a zinc battery as required by instant claim 43.
Conclusion
/SARAH A. SLIFKA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759 July 7, 2026