DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-5 recite “hollow graphite particles” but do not further define “hollow graphite particles” by providing, for example, a degree of hollowness or other measurement to demonstrate measured hollowness. Per Merriam-Webster online dictionary, hollow means having unfilled or hollowed-out space within. In terms of a graphite particle, the broadest reasonable interpretation of hollow is a graphite particle which is taught to have functional voids within, such as pores, reads on hollow graphite particles, since such particles would be considered at least partially hollow.
Further, claims 1-5 recite “solid graphite particles” but do not further define “solid graphite particles” by providing, for example, a degree of solidness or other measurement to demonstrate measured solidness. Per Merriam-Webster online dictionary, solid means being without an internal cavity. In terms of a graphite particle, the broadest reasonable interpretation of solid is that a graphite particle that does not have functional internal voids or which is taught to minimize internal voids or which does not require internal voids for functionality reads on solid graphite particles, since such particles would be considered mostly solid or inherently solid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Choi et al. US20180190985A1, as provided on the IDS dated 7/24/2023, hereinafter Choi.
Regarding Claim 1 Choi discloses an energy storage device [Choi abstract and throughout] comprising
a negative electrode including a negative substrate and a negative active material layer layered directly or indirectly on at least one surface of the negative substrate [Choi 0104 and throughout],
wherein the negative active material layer contains:
solid graphite particles that have a median diameter D1 [Choi abstract and throughout, fine second artificial graphite particles B with D1 of 3 µm to 5 µm. Choi does not teach voids in the fine second artificial graphite particles B; thus, Choi’s fine artificial graphite particles B are considered solid graphite particles meeting the requirements of the limitation.];
hollow graphite particles that have a larger median diameter D2 than the solid graphite particles [Choi abstract, 0020, 0023, 0025, 0052-0055, 0064-0066, 0095-0097, the first artificial graphite particles A, which are secondary particles, with D2 of 15 µm to 20 µm, Choi teaches first artificial graphite particles A include secondary particles having first pores inside the secondary particle [0020, 0052-0055], second pores as an empty space between the carbon coating layer and the graphite particle [0023, 0064-0066 ], and third pores as empty space between internal graphite particles and the second artificial graphite particle [0025, 0064-0066 ], which result in a porosity of 5 to 20% providing the function of improving contact area between lithium ions and the active material [0052-0055]. Choi’s pores as describe provide a functional empty space within the particles and thus read on hollow graphite particles as claimed. Since the size of Choi’s hollow graphite particles have a diameter range greater than the diameter range of the solid graphite particles, the medium diameter requirement is met. ]; and
a conductive agent, and wherein the conductive agent is fibrous carbon [Choi 0116, Choi discloses materials for a conductive agent which include carbon fibers].
Regarding Claim 2, Choi discloses the energy storage device according to claim 1, wherein a relationship between the median diameter D1 of the solid graphite particles and the median diameter D2 of the hollow graphite particles satisfies 1 < (D2/D1) 10 [Choi abstract and throughout, 0139-0152, Table 1, D1 is 3 to 5 µm and D2 is 15 to 20µm in Table 1,Choi’s examples 1-5 are for mixing hollow artificial graphite particles (first artificial graphite particles) with solid graphite particles (second artificial graphite) with results provided in Table 1. Example 1 ratio is 20 µm/4µm or 4, Example 2 ratio is 19 µm/5µm or 3.8, Example 3 ratio is 15 µm/3µm or 5, Example 4 ratio is 20 µm/4µm or 4, Example 5 ratio is 20 µm/4µm or 4, all of which anticipate the claimed range].
Regarding Claim 3, Choi discloses the energy storage device according to claim 1 wherein the median diameter D1 of the solid graphite particles is 1 µm or more and less than 5 µm [Choi abstract and throughout, 0139-0152, Table 1, D1 is 3 to 5 µm, Choi’s examples 1-5 with solid graphite particles (second artificial graphite) summarized in Table 1. Example 1 4µm, Example 2 5µm, Example 3 3µm, Example 4 4µm, Example 5 4µm, all of which anticipate the claimed range.], and the median diameter D2 of the hollow graphite particles is 5 µm or more and 20 µm or less [Choi abstract and throughout, 0139-0152, Table 1, D2 is 15 to 20 µm, Choi’s examples 1-5 with hollow graphite particles (first artificial graphite) summarized in Table 1. Example 1 20µm, Example 2 19µm, Example 3 15µm, Example 4 20µm, Example 5 20µm, all of which anticipate the claimed range.].
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses a negative electrode for an energy storage device [Choi abstract and throughout], comprising
a negative substrate and a negative active material layer layered directly or indirectly on at least one surface of the negative substrate [Choi 0104 and throughout],
wherein the negative active material layer contains:
solid graphite particles that have a median diameter D1 [Choi abstract and throughout, fine second artificial graphite particles B with D1 of 3 µm to 5 µm. Since Choi does not teach voids in the fine second artificial graphite particles B, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Choi is the fine artificial graphite particles B are solid graphite particles.];
hollow graphite particles that have a larger median diameter D2 than the solid graphite particles [Choi abstract, 0020, 0023, 0025, 0052-0055, 0064-0066, 0095-0097, the first artificial graphite particles A with D2 of 15 µm to 20 µm, Choi teaches first artificial graphite particles A have first pores inside the secondary particle [0020, 0052-0055], second pores as an empty space between the carbon coating layer and the graphite particle [0023, 0064-0066 ], and third pores as empty space between internal graphite particles and the second artificial graphite particle [0025, 0064-0066 ], which result in a porosity of 5 to 20% providing the function of improving contact area between lithium ions and the active material [0052-0055]. Choi’s pores as describe provide a functional empty space within the particles and thus read on hollow graphite particles as claimed. Since the size of Choi’s hollow graphite particles have a diameter range greater than the diameter range of the solid graphite particles, the medium diameter requirement is met. ]; and
a conductive agent, and wherein the conductive agent is fibrous carbon [Choi 0116, Choi discloses materials for a conductive agent which include carbon fibers].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi, as provided for claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogi et al. JP2018078029, as provided on the IDS dated 7/24/2023 (machine translation relied upon provided), hereinafter Ogi.
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the energy storage device according to claim 1 but is silent to wherein the fibrous carbon has an average aspect ratio of 50 or more and 100 or less. Ogi discloses a negative electrode for an energy storage device [Ogi 0001 and throughout] wherein fibrous carbon provides the function of being a conductive agent [Ogi 0022] and having an aspect ratio of 10 to 200, which overlaps and obviates the claimed range. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Ogi’s teaching about aspect ratio for fibrous carbon with Choi’s battery with fibrous carbon as a conductive material for the predictable result of a battery with a negative electrode with good electrical conductivity [Choi 0116; Ogi 0029].
Contact Information
/M. T. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724