DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application was filed on and is a U.S. national Stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of International Patent Application No. PCT/US2022/013547 filed 01/24/2022, which claims the benefit of the priority of US Provisional application 63/140,851 filed 01/23/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is noted that Applicants have not filed an information disclosure statement under § 1.97(c). Applicant is reminded of 37 CFR § 1.56, which details Applicants duty to disclose all information known to be material to patentability.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are being examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen et al. (TW202003016A – hereinafter “Wen”) in view of Burke et al. (US8324171B1 – hereinafter “Burke”) and Lopalco et al. (J. of Phar. Sc. 109 (2020) 2375-2386).
The teaching of the TW202003016A publication are based on the English language translation of the TW202003016A publication obtained by Google patent and the citations are based on the English language translation.
Wen teaches a pharmaceutical composition for promoting blepharoplasty or treating and/or preventing dry eye syndrome, comprising PEDF-derived short peptide (PDSP) or a variant of the PDSP, wherein the PDSP comprises the sequence of S-X-X-A-X-Q/H-X-X-X-X-I/V-I-X-R (SEQ ID NO: 5) or comprises the sequence of SLGAEQRTESIIHR (SEQ ID NO: 2) or wherein the PDSP comprises the sequence of SLGAEQRTESIIHRALYYDLISSPDIHGT (SEQ ID NO: 1) (all claims), which is 100%identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 3. Wen teaches that the pharmaceutical composition may include any pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Wen does not teach that the excipients include boric acid and tonicity agents such as mannitol and glycerin.
Burke teaches an ophthalmic peptide composition that further comprises from 0.15 to 0.6% w/v boric acid (col.2, line 30-40), and comprises one or more tonicity agents, such as mannitol, sorbitol, glycerin, wherein the tonicity agents are in the amounts ranging from 0.01 to about 2.5% wt (col. 7, line 50-64). Examiner notes that Burke teaches that boric acid is at a concentration of from 0.15 to 0.6% w/v, which is 0.15 to 0.6g of boric acid per 100 mL, which is 1.5 to 6 g/L. The molar mass of boric acid is 61.83 g/mol. Thus the concentration of boric acid in mmol is the amount divided by the molar mass which is 24 to 97 mM.
In addition, Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use boric acid and the tonicity agents taught by Burke in the composition since Lopalco teaches that boric acid is preferred buffer in pharmaceutical compositions and that boric acid is used as a buffer and in combination with other preservatives to broaden the preservative spectrum (Abstract). Lopalco teaches that boric acid is often used in combination with glycerol, mannitol, or other 1,2-diols or polyols and that is used as a preservative in ophthalmic eye drops, and claims have been made that mannitol extends its preservative potency (Page 2375, right col. Line 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the composition of Wen and use boric acid and tonicity agents as the excipients since it is known in the art to use boric acid in combination with tonicity agents such as mannitol in eye composition as taught by Burke and Lopalco. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated and would have had a reasonable expectation of success in using boric acid in combination with tonicity agents such as mannitol since Lopalco teaches that boric acid is often used in combination with glycerol, mannitol, or other 1,2-diols or polyols and that is used as a preservative in ophthalmic eye drops, since mannitol extends its preservative potency (Page 2375, right col. Line 1-4). The disclosures render obvious claim 1.
Regarding claim 2-3, 16, Burke teaches an ophthalmic peptide composition that further comprises from 0.15 to 0.6% w/v boric acid (col.2, line 30-40). Examiner notes that Burke teaches that boric acid is at a concentration of from 0.15 to 0.6% w/v, which is 0.15 to 0.6g of boric acid per 100 mL, which is 1.5 to 6 g/L. The molar mass of boric acid is 61.83 g/mol. Thus the concentration of boric acid in mmol is the amount divided by the molar mass and multiplied by 1000 which is 24 to 97 mM.
Regarding claims 4-5, and 17, Burke teaches the ophthalmic composition comprising the peptide, boric acid and tonicity agent that has a pH of 7.2 (Table 1), which is encompassed in the instant range. It would have been obvious to modify Wen and have the pH as taught by Burke.
Regarding claims 6-7, 10, Burke teaches an ophthalmic peptide composition that further comprises from 0.15 to 0.6% w/v boric acid (col.2, line 30-40), and comprises one or more tonicity agents, such as mannitol, sorbitol, glycerin, wherein the tonicity agents are in the amounts ranging from 0.01 to about 2.5% wt (col. 7, line 50-64).
Regarding claims 8-9, 11-12, and 20 Burke teaches an ophthalmic peptide composition comprises one or more tonicity agents, such as mannitol, sorbitol, glycerin, wherein the tonicity agents are in the amounts ranging from 0.01 to about 2.5% wt (col. 7, line 50-64), which is 0.1 to 25g of glycerin per 100 mL, which is 1 to 250 g/L. The molar mass of glycerin is 92.09 g/mol. Thus the concentration of boric acid in mmol is the amount divided by the molar mass which is 1 to 271 mM. Further, Examiner notes that the concentration of the active agent is a result effective variable and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable may be characterized by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144 II). It would be obvious and routine experimentation to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to optimize the dosages to arrive at the dosages of the instant claims.
Regarding claim 13, Wen teaches that the composition comprises the peptide of sequence of SLGAEQRTESIIHRALYYDLISSPDIHGT (SEQ ID NO: 1) (all claims), which is 100%identical to the instant SEQ ID NO: 3.
Regarding claim 14-15, Burke teaches an ophthalmic composition comprising a peptide in the amount of 0.05 to 2%, that further comprises from 0.15 to 0.6% w/v boric acid (col.2, line 30-40), and comprises one or more tonicity agents, such as mannitol, sorbitol, glycerin, wherein the tonicity agents are in the amounts ranging from 0.01 to about 2.5% wt (col. 7, line 50-64). It would have been obvious to modify the teachings of Wen and include the peptide in the concentrations taught by Burke. Further, Examiner notes that the concentration of the active agent is a result effective variable and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable may be characterized by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144 II). It would be obvious and routine experimentation to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to optimize the dosages to arrive at the dosages of the instant claims.
Regarding claim 18-20, Burke teaches an ophthalmic peptide composition comprises one or more tonicity agents, such as mannitol, sorbitol, glycerin, wherein the tonicity agents are in the amounts ranging from 0.01 to about 2.5% wt (col. 7, line 50-64), which is 0.1 to 25g of glycerin per 100 mL, which is 1 to 250 g/L. The molar mass of glycerin is 92.09 g/mol. Thus the concentration of boric acid in mmol is the amount divided by the molar mass which is 1 to 271 mM. Further, Examiner notes that the concentration of the active agent is a result effective variable and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable may be characterized by routine experimentation (See MPEP 2144 II). It would be obvious and routine experimentation to a person of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success to optimize the dosages to arrive at the dosages of the instant claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/MERCY H SABILA/Examiner, Art Unit 1654