DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted July 25, 2023 and August 6, 2025, have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
4. All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim US PG Publication 2013/0115494.
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses an energy storage device (rechargeable battery) 102 comprising an electrode assembly 10 formed by winding a plurality of plates (positive and negative electrodes 11/12 and separator 13, para 0039, Fig. 8), a case 120/130 of a rectangular parallelpiped shape housing the electrode assembly, wherein the case is constructed by welding a lid (cap member) 130 and a case body (case) 120, the lid 130 being formed of a pair of short side surfaces of the case, the pair of short side surfaces facing each other in a winding-axis direction of the electrode assembly 10, and formed of another one surface of the case (131), and the case body is formed of three surfaces , except for the pair of short side surfaces and the other one surface (see entire disclosure and especially Figs 8-9 and paras 0064-0076).
Regarding Claim 3, Kim discloses wherein the lid 130 is formed of a top surface (if the device 102 is positioned with e.g. 131 at the top) of the case as the other one surface, and the case body is formed of a pair of long side surfaces of the case and a bottom surface of the case as the three surfaces except for the other one surface. The designations of “top” and “bottom” are only based in this situation on relative orientation of Kim’s device since the claim has no other requirements that would prevent such interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Kim US PG Publication 2013/0115494.
Regarding Claim 4, Kim discloses in the above cited embodiment wherein the electrode assembly 10 includes a body long in the winding-axis direction and electrode uncoated regions 11a/12a at each of both end faces of the body in a winding-axis direction, but does not specifically disclose a tab protruding from each of both end faces of the body in the winding-axis direction. However, in another embodiment (Figs. 2-3, paras 0045-0049), Kim teaches that tabs 41 extend from the end surfaces of the current collectors of the electrode assemblies in order to attach to the terminals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include tabs protruding from each of both end faces of the body in the winding-axis direction in the previously described embodiment of Kim because Kim teaches that this allows terminals to be connected to the electrode assemblies and the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim discloses in Fig. 6 and paras 0060-0061 wherein the lid includes a reinforcing portion (electrode support part) 53 extending between the pair of short side surfaces to support the electrode assembly. Kim does not specifically recite that this part is bridged between the pair of side surfaces. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the reinforcing part of Kim such that it bridges the short side surfaces in order to maximize support to the electrode since a change in proportion or relative dimension is obvious in the absence of unexpected results. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding Claim 8, the skilled artisan would understand that if the reinforcing portion 53 of Kim were provided continuously with the top portion of the lid as described above, this portion would be provided continuously with each of a pair of ends of a top surface of the case that are along the winding-axis direction (again, the use of “top” is relative to the orientation of the case). Such claimed provision of the portion as “continuously with each of a pair of ends of a top surface” does not require the portion to be ON a top surface such as an outside surface, for example. It just requires the surface to be facing upward. The phrasing also does not require the portion to be disposed directly ON such a surface since it is claimed as being “with” such a surface.
7. Claims 2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US PG Publication 2013/0115494 and further in view of Jeon US PG Publication 2021/0135182.
Regarding Claim 2 and 5, Kim discloses the claimed energy storage device as described in the rejections above, which are incorporated herein in their entireties. Kim discloses wherein each electrode tab corresponds to a current collector and electrode terminal (see above) but Kim fails to specifically disclose wherein an electrode terminal is provided on each of the pair of short side surfaces, a positive electrode tab and a negative electrode tab are each provided as the tab on each of both of the end faces of the body and on each of the pair of short side surfaces of the lid, a positive electrode terminal and a positive current collector are provided corresponding to the positive electrode tab, and a negative electrode terminal and a negative current collector are provided corresponding to the negative electrode tab. However, in the same field of endeavor of energy storage device design, Jeon discloses battery cells that are designed to be used in conjunction with other cells to form a battery module to form a high power battery pack wherein cells have a positive and a negative tab on both opposing ends of the rectangular parallelpiped which allows the cells to be connected to one another to provide a high voltage device while e.g. minimizing resistance because distance between connected tabs is minimized (see at least paras 0056-0057 and Fig. 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the energy storage device of Kim such that an electrode terminal is provided on each of the pair of short side surfaces and a positive electrode tab and a negative electrode tab are each provided as the tab on each of both of the end faces of the body because Jeon teaches that this allows for the cells to be connected to one another to provide a high voltage device while e.g. minimizing resistance because distance between connected tabs is minimized. Further, this combination would result in modification of Kim such that on each of the pair of short side surfaces of the lid, a positive electrode terminal is provided corresponding to the positive electrode tab, and a negative electrode terminal is provided corresponding to the negative electrode tab. Although Kim modified by Jeon doesn’t specifically disclose wherein the respective current collectors are provided on the short side surfaces of the lid, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide the respective current collectors of Kim and Jeon on the short side surfaces of the lid in order to ensure the connections between the parts are secure and stable since the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 6, because Jeon shows that the desired and effective arrangement of leads on the battery cell (which leads to the already-stated benefits) is such that the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab provide on one end face of both the end faces of the body and the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab provided on an other end face of both the end faces of the body are arranged in an inverted manner (see Fig. 3), it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the energy storage device of Kim such that the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab provide on one end face of both the end faces of the body and the positive electrode tab and the negative electrode tab provided on an other end face of both the end faces of the body are arranged in an inverted manner. The use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
8. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US PG Publication 2013/0115494, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Okano JPH07176298.
Regarding Claim 9, Kim discloses the claimed energy storage device as described in the rejection of Claim 1, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Kim fails to specifically disclose wherein stepped joint surfaces, superimposed to be assembled with each other, are formed on each of the case body and the lid. However, in the same field of endeavor of battery case design, Okano discloses wherein upper and lower case portions have joining surfaces that are formed with stepped shapes that allow them to fit tightly together without any gaps (see e.g. paras 0006-0007, 0009, Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the energy storage device of Kim such that stepped joint surfaces, superimposed to be assembled with each other, are formed on each of the case body and the lid because Okano teaches that upper and lower case portions have joining surfaces that are formed with stepped shapes that allow them to fit tightly together without any gaps.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Choi US PG Publication 2011/0117426 discloses an energy storage device (secondary battery) 100 comprising an electrode assembly 110 formed by winding a plurality of plates (electrode plates 111/112 and separator plate 113/114, para 0046, Fig. 2), a case 120/140 of a rectangular parallelpiped shape housing the electrode assembly, wherein the case is constructed by welding a lid (support body) 120 and a case body (external member) 140, the lid 120 being formed of a pair of short side surfaces of the case, the pair of short side surfaces facing each other and formed of another one surface of the case, and the case body is formed of three surfaces, except for the pair of short side surfaces and the other one surface (see entire disclosure and especially paras related to Fig. 2).
/LISA S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729