DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 01/20/2026
Claims 1-10 are presented for examination
This action is Non-Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nihan et al. (KR 2009/7021583) in view of Conant et al. (US 2017/0367521).
Claims 1, 10. Nihan discloses a cup made of plastic material, for producing a capsule for preparing infusion or soluble beverages, comprising:
an inlet opening, defined by an upper edge;
a bottom comprising an outer edge, an outlet opening defined by a nozzle, and an intermediate annular support portion;
wherein the bottom, between the intermediate annular support portion and the nozzle, is devoid of radial reinforcing flaps (fig. 4);
an inner base comprising a plurality of vertically protruding ridges (see annotated figure below).
Nihan fails to disclose a multi-layered cup. Conant teaches a co-extruded multi-layer wall comprising an outer layer 32, an inner layer 34 and an intermediate gas-barrier layer 36, wherein said intermediate gas-barrier layer extends from the upper edge to the nozzle (fig. 3); and
and the intermediate gas-barrier layer homogenously extends without interruptions from the upper edge to the nozzle [0043]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cup layers of Nihan to include the multi-layered cup layers of Conant increase shelf life while maintaining the structural integrity of the cup.
Claim 2. Nihan-Conant discloses the co-extruded cup of claim 1, wherein the bottom, between the intermediate annular support portion and the nozzle, has a wall thickness between 0.8 mm and 1.2 mm (Conant; [0045]).
Claim 7. Nihan-Conant discloses the co-extruded cup of claim 1, wherein the intermediate gas- barrier layer is made of ethylene vinyl alcohol (EVOH) or polyvinyl alcohol (PVOH) (Conant; [0057]).
Claim 8. Nihan-Conant discloses the co-extruded cup of claim 1, wherein both the outer layer and the inner layer are made of one of polypropylene (PP), polyethylene (PE), or polylactic acid (PLA) (Conant; [0051]).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nihan et al. (KR 2009/7021583) in view of Conant et al. (US 2017/0367521) in view of Bisio (WO 2016/193961).
Claim 3. Nihan-Conant discloses the co-extruded cup of claim 1, but fails to disclose reinforcing rings on the bottom of the cup. Bisio teaches wherein the bottom, between the intermediate annular support portion and the nozzle, is provided with at least one reinforcing ring (fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the cup bottom of Nihan to include the reinforcing rings of Bisio to assist in maintaining the structural integrity of the cup.
Claim 4. Nihan-Conant-Bisio discloses the co-extruded cup of claim 3, wherein the at least one reinforcing ring is a continuous annular inner ridge extending from the bottom and adhering to the nozzle (Bisio; see annotated figure below).
Claim 5. Nihan-Conant-Bisio discloses the co-extruded cup of claim 3, wherein the at least one reinforcing ring is a continuous annular central ridge extending from the bottom between the intermediate annular support portion and the nozzle (Bisio; fig. 13-14).
Claim 6. Nihan-Conant-Bisio discloses the co-extruded cup of claim 3, wherein the at least one reinforcing ring is a continuous annular outer ridge extending from the bottom towards the intermediate annular support portion (Bisio; see annotated figure of claim 5, fig. 13-14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Bisio in view of Fortin have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nihan-Conant.
Conclusion
/RAVEN COLLINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735