DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendments and arguments filed on 04/29/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 27-41, 43-44, and 47-49 are now pending. Claims 1-26, 42, and 45-46 are canceled; claims 27, 30, 37, and 41 are amended; claims 43-44 are withdrawn; claims 47-49 are new.
Claims 27-41 and 47-49 will be examined on the merits herein.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied, and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-29, 31-33, and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 20200038301 A1 (Deshayes, 2020; as submitted on IDS of 10/02/2023).
In regards to claims 27-29, 31-32 and 41, Deshayes teaches a composition comprising an aqueous phase and oily phase (see Deshayes, paragraph 0065). It is taught that the ingredients can be in either phase (see Deshayes, paragraph 0065). The composition is taught to comprise zinc oxide, titanium dioxide, and mixtures thereof (see Deshayes, paragraph 0041), in an amount from 0.1 to 20 wt% (see Deshayes, paragraph 0043) (which fulfills requirement (iii) of claims 27 and 41). It is taught that the particle size of the titanium dioxide is from about 2 nm to 100 nm (see Deshayes, paragraph 0044). The titanium dioxide is taught to be coated with silica (see Deshayes, paragraph 0046). It is also taught that the composition comprises xanthan gum in an amount 0.1 to 1 wt % (see Deshayes, paragraph 0020). MPEP 2144.05 states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
In regards to the limitation of the particle size being measured by transmission electron microscopy, it is pointed out that the prior art teaches a composition identical to that which is described by applicant’s instant application, but applicant’s observation that the particle size is measured using transmission electron microscopy does not give it patentable weight, since it is the same composition, as adding a characterization to a prior art invention is not patentable. Measuring of physical properties of known compositions is not patentable.
In regards to claim 33, the composition is taught to comprise glycerin (see Deshayes, paragraph 0063). In Table 2, it can be seen that the amount of glycerin used is 6.00 wt.% in multiple examples (see Deshayes, Table 2). “A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").” One with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that a composition comprising 6 wt% of glycerin would have the same properties as a composition comprising 5 wt% of glycerin.
In regards to claims 38-40, the composition is taught to be in the form of a hydrogel (i.e., an aqueous gel) or a water-in-oil emulsion (see Deshayes, paragraph 0077).
Deshayes does not teach with sufficient specificity to anticipate and so the claims are obvious. It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to rearrange the teachings of Deshayes with a reasonable expectation of success to obtain the composition of the instant claims.
A reference is analyzed using its broadest teachings. MPEP 2123 [R-5]. “[W]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious”. KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S,Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007)(quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious”, the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007). The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. A person of ordinary skill in the art who is not an automaton is capable of producing the composition of the instant claims with predictable results.
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 20200038301 A1 (Deshayes, 2020; as submitted on IDS of 10/02/2023) as applied to claims 27-29, 31-33, and 38-41 above, and further in view of US PGPUB 20150328088 A1 (Suzuki, 2015).
The teachings of Deshayes have been described supra.
The teachings of Deshayes are silent on the use of citrate buffers.
Suzuki teaches sunscreen compositions in the form of water-in-oil emulsions comprising titanium dioxide in the aqueous phase (i.e., can be present in either phase) (see Suzuki, paragraphs 0007, 0016-0017). Xanthan gum is also taught as a component in the composition (see Suzuki, paragraphs 0061, 0067, 0079). The composition is taught to comprise pH adjusting agents (see Suzuki, paragraph 0026), such as citrate buffers (see Suzuki, paragraph 0089).
In regards to claim 36, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Deshayes and Suzuki to formulate the instant invention as both compositions are drawn to emulsions comprising the same components for similar purposes (i.e., sunscreens). "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to use the pH adjusting agent of Suzuki in an emulsion such as that taught in Deshayes as the use of pH adjusting agents are known in the art. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the pH adjusting agent of Suzuki with the composition of Deshayes according to the known method of making a water-in-oil emulsion (see Suzuki, paragraphs 0120-0121) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 37 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PGPUB 20200038301 A1 (Deshayes, 2020; as submitted on IDS of 10/02/2023) as applied to claims 27-29, 31-33, and 38-41 above, and further in view of US PGPUB 20060194057 A1 (Pfluecker, 2006; as submitted on IDS of 10/02/2023). [emphasis added to reflect newly presented claims]
The teachings of Deshayes have been described supra.
The teachings of Deshayes are silent on the use of magnesium sulfate and/or calcium chloride.
Pfluecker teaches a composition comprising titanium dioxide coated with silicon dioxide in a particle size of 5 to 50 nm (see Pfluecker, paragraphs 0019-0020) and xanthan gum (see Pfluecker, paragraph 0237) in one phase of an emulsion (see Pfluecker, paragraphs 0081, 0237). Pfluecker teaches in formulation 1-13 that magnesium sulfate is used in a water-in-oil emulsion in an amount of 0.6% (see Pfluecker, paragraph 0346). This is 0.9% by weight in respect to the aqueous phase of the composition. In regards to the teaching of the amount of magnesium sulfate, “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").” One with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that a composition comprising 0.9% by weight of magnesium sulfate would have the same properties as a composition comprising 0.7% by weight of magnesium sulfate.
In regards to claims 37 and 49, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Deshayes and Pfluecker to formulate the instant invention as both compositions are drawn to emulsions comprising the same components for similar purposes (i.e., sunscreens). "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to use the magnesium sulfate an emulsion such as that taught in Deshayes as the use of magnesium sulfate is known in the art. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the magnesium sulfate of Pfluecker with the composition of Deshayes according to the known method of making a water-in-oil emulsion (see Pfluecker, paragraphs 0343-0344) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the modified grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
In regards to applicant’s arguments that Deshayes does not teach elements (i)-(iii), it is noted that Deshayes teaches a composition comprising an aqueous phase and oily phase (see Deshayes, paragraph 0065). It is taught that the ingredients can be in either phase (see Deshayes, paragraph 0065). The composition is taught to comprise zinc oxide, titanium dioxide, and mixtures thereof (see Deshayes, paragraph 0041), in an amount from 0.1 to 20 wt% (see Deshayes, paragraph 0043) (which fulfills requirement (iii) of claims 27 and 41). One with ordinary skill in the art can easily envisage a composition comprising zinc oxide in the oily phase using these teachings. As such the rejections of Deshayes and Deshayes in view of Suzuki and Pfluecker are maintained, albeit modified as necessitated by amendment.
New Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 20200038301 A1 (Deshayes, 2020; as submitted on IDS of 10/02/2023) as applied to claims 27-29, 31-33, and 38-41 above, and further in view of PGPUB 20160346194 A1 (Jiao, 2016).
The teachings of Deshayes have been described supra.
The teachings of Deshayes are silent on the use of citrate buffers.
In regards to claims 27 and 30-33, Jiao teaches an example of a skin care composition comprising an aqueous phase composition in embodiment 7 (see Jiao, paragraphs 0074-0077). The composition is described in parts by weight out of 94.9 total parts and as such have been converted to percentages by weight for ease of comparison. The aqueous phase is taught to comprise about 1.05% of glycerin, about 5.3% of titanium dioxide, and about 0.1% of xanthan gum. These amounts overlap with the ranges of the instant claims.
In regards to claim 34, Jiao further teaches that the composition comprises varying amounts of water in the different embodiments, such as 50-70 parts by weight, 60-80 parts by weight, and 75-90 parts by weight (see Jiao, paragraphs 0017, 0021, 0025). Further specifically, looking at the amounts in paragraph 0017, it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to easily envisage a composition that falls within the limitations of the instant claims. For example, a composition comprising 70 parts of water, 2 parts of glycerol, 2 parts of caprylic/capric triglyceride, 1 part of titanium dioxide, 1 part of squalane, 0.1 part of C30-45 alkyl dimethicone or polycyclohexene oxide cross-linked polymer, 0.1 part of panthenol, 0.1 part of decamethylcyclopentasiloxane, 0.1 part of cetearyl alcohol, 0.1 part of C12-20-alkyl glucoside, 0.1 parts of sodium acrylates copolymer or mineral oil or PPG-1 trideceth-6, 0.1 part of polydimethylsiloxane, 0.1 part of PEG-20 methyl glucose sesquistearate, an appropriate amount of methylisothiazolinone, an appropriate amount of ethylhexylglycerin, 0.01 part of carbomer, 0.01 part of xanthan gum, 0.01 part of triethanolamine, and 0.01 part of disodium EDTA for a total of about 77 parts would be about 91% by weight of water. MPEP 2144.05 states that "[i]n the case where the claimed ranges 'overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art' a prima facie case of obviousness exists" quoting In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
In regards to claim 35, embodiment 8 teaches an example wherein the composition is described in parts by weight out of a total 110.7 parts and as such have been converted to percentages by weight for ease of comparison. The composition is taught to comprise about 0.09% of phenoxyethanol and titanium dioxide as well as 0.9% of xanthan gum (see Jiao, paragraph 0079). In regards to the teaching of the amount of phenoxyethanol, “a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium. "The proportions are so close that prima facie one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties.").” One with ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect that a composition comprising 0.09% by weight of phenoxyethanol would have the same properties as a composition comprising 0.1% by weight of phenoxyethanol.
In regards to claim 39, embodiment 7 is taught to be made in an emulsifying pot, as such would be understood to be an emulsion (see Jiao, paragraphs 0074-0077).
In regards to claims 34-35, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Deshayes and Jiao to formulate the instant invention as both compositions are drawn to emulsions comprising the same components for similar purposes (i.e., sunscreens). "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to use the amount of water and phenoxyethanol of Jiao in an emulsion such as that taught in Deshayes as these are components known to be used in such compositions. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Jiao with the composition of Deshayes according to the known method of making a cosmetic composition (see Jiao, embodiments, e.g., paragraphs 0073-0079) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claims 30 and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 20200038301 A1 (Deshayes, 2020; as submitted on IDS of 10/02/2023) as applied to claims 27-29, 31-33, and 38-41 above, and further in view of US PGPUB 20040253313 A1 (Ueda, 2004).
The teachings of Deshayes have been described supra. Further it is noted that Deshayes teaches the use of gellan gum as well (see Deshayes, paragraphs 0020-0021 and 0031; claim 5).
The teachings of Deshayes are silent on the use of sclerotium gum.
Ueda teaches a cosmetic composition comprising a hydrogel (see Udea, paragraphs 0003-0004) wherein the hydrogel comprises a gelling agent in an aqueous phase (see Udea, paragraph 0038-0040). The gelling agent is taught to be xanthan gum, gellan gum, sclerotium gum, or mixtures thereof (see Udea, paragraph 0047). Further it is noted that the composition is taught to comprise titanium dioxide, zinc dioxide, magnesium sulfate and calcium chloride as well (see Udea, paragraphs 0064-0065).
In regards to claims 30 and 47-48, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Deshayes and Udea to formulate the instant invention as both compositions are drawn to compositions for cosmetic use, specifically topical use (see Deshayes, paragraphs 0059-0060; Udea, paragraphs 0036 and 0058), comprising similar ingredients. "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose .... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). It would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to use the mixture of sclerotium gum, xanthan gum, and gellan gum an emulsion such as that taught in Deshayes as the use of such gelling agents is known in the art for providing structure and shape (see Udea, paragraph 0038). One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the gelling agent of Udea with the composition of Deshayes according to the known method of making a water-in-oil emulsion (see Deshayes, Examples; paragraphs 0088-0093) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISIS A GHALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1611