Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-20 are currently pending with claims 6 and 8 being cancelled. Claims 9-17 and 20 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. Claims 1-5, 7, 18 and 19 are rejected.
The rejection over Hattori in view of Yang has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0215124 to Hattori et al. (hereinafter “Hattori”) in view of Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”), “Hyperelastic and Hydrophobic Silica Aerogels with Enhanced Compressive Strength by using VTES/MTMS as Precursors”, Journal of Non-Crystalline Solids, 525 (2019) 119677.
As to claims 1-5, Hattori discloses a void-containing layer comprising: silica porous particles chemically bonding to each other by a crosslinking assisting agent (paragraph 142). The void-containing layer has void fraction of at least 40% and a refractive index of 1.25 or less (paragraph 46, and abstract). The particle is an inorganic-organic composite particle obtained from a silicon compound precursor represented by the chemical formula as follows:
The silicon compound precursor comprises a methyltrimethoxysilane (MTMS) when R1 and R2 are both methyl groups (paragraph 111). Further, the inorganic compound in the particle contains at least one skeletal atom selected from the group consisting of Si, Mg, Al, Ti, Zn and Zr (paragraph 44).
Hattori does not explicitly disclose that R1 is a methyl group while R2 is a vinyl group with a molar ratio of the R2 group relative to a sum of the R1 group and the R2 group in a range from 1 to 30 mol%.
Yang, however, discloses a hyperelastic and hydrophobic silica aerogel obtained from a composite precursor comprising vinyltriethoxysilane (VTES) and methyltrimethoxysilane (MTMS). The presence of the methyl and vinyl groups is beneficial to enhancing the elasticities and compressive stress of the aerogel (abstract). The molar ratio of the vinyl to the methyl is 0.012, 0.06 or 0.084 (table 1). Hence, the molar ratio of the vinyl to the sum of the vinyl and the methyl is 1.2 mol%, 5.7 mol% or 7.7 mol% (table 1). Each of which is within the claimed range.
The pore size distribution curve of the MVTES5 aerogel (VTES/MTMS ratio of 0.06:1) shows two pore diameter peaks at 15 nm and 250 nm, respectively (figure 6c). Hence, the hydrophobic silica aerogel has a peak pore diameter of 15 nm within the claimed range.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the composite precursor comprising VTES and MTMS from Yang to prepare the inorganic-organic composite particle disclosed in Hattori, motivated by the desire to enhance elasticity and compressive stress of the inorganic-organic composite particle.
As to claim 7, Hattori discloses that the void-containing layer is a silicone-porous material (paragraph 142).
As to claims 18 and 19, Hattori discloses that an optical element and an image display device, each comprises the void-containing layer (paragraph 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that Yang requires a 50% distribution of the pore size within the range of 30 to 600 nm. Therefore, the combined teachings of Hattori and Yang fail to suggest a void-containing layer having a peak pore diameter of 5 nm or more and less than 30 nm.
The examiner respectfully disagrees.
The examiner directs Applicant’s attention to figure 6c of Yang wherein the pore size distribution curve of the MVTES5 aerogel (VTES/MTMS ratio of 0.06:1) shows two pore diameter peaks at 15 nm and 250 nm, respectively (figure 6c). Hence, the hydrophobic silica aerogel has a peak pore diameter of 15 nm within the claimed range.
As there is a motivation to combine the teachings of Hattori and Yang, a prima facie case of obviousness is said to exist. Accordingly, the rejection over Hattori in view of Yang has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Hai Vo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1788