Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
For claim 18, the connection electrode 112 is only described in a blurry way in Fig.2. Although Specification mentions 112 in Fig.8, however it is not shown in Fig.8, therefore it is not clear how the connection electrode looks and how it is connected.
It should be clearly shown in Fig.8 or another drawing, other than Fig.2 which is not clear.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (CN 114628451 A, cited previously) in view of Wang (CN 112542495 A)
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a display substrate (see Fig.2,5),
comprising: a base substrate (180,110), at least comprising a first region; a plurality of sub-pixels (152; Abstract) located in the first region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element,
and a first electrode 131 and a second electrode 132 located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate (see in Zhou: In some examples, as shown in FIG. 2, the light function layer 120 comprises a first light emitting layer 121 and the second light emitting layer 122 located on two sides of the conductive layer 129 in the direction perpendicular to the substrate 110, the conductive layer 129 is a charge generating layer) , the first electrode is located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, and the light-emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of film layers (121,122), the second electrode is a second pixel electrode wherein the display substrate further comprises a defining structure (partition 140 OR 141,142) and at least one defining structure is disposed between at least two adjacent sub-pixels;
a first orthographic projection of a surface, close to the base substrate, of the defining structure between adjacent sub-pixels on the base substrate is completely located within a second orthographic projection of a surface, away from the base substrate, of the defining structure on the base substrate (length of the pixel defining structure on the top surface and on its bottom surface; wherein top surface length is wider than the bottom surface length;
Zhou: and the second sub-partition structure 742 is made of an inorganic non-metal material);
in at least a partial region of the first region, at least one film layer in the light-emitting functional layer is disconnected (see two sides of 140 in Fig.2);
at an edge of the defining structure, and second electrodes (top electrode 132) of adjacent sub-pixels are at least partially continuously arranged;
Zhou further teaches: a pixel defining pattern (pixel defining layer 150), located at a side of the first electrode 131 away from the base substrate 110/180, wherein at least the pixel defining pattern located in the first region comprises a plurality of first openings, one sub-pixel (200) corresponds to at least one first opening (left most 210 and 131 between the pixel defining layers), the light-emitting element of the sub-pixel is at least partially located in the first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel, and the first opening is configured to expose the first electrode, the pixel defining pattern further comprises a second opening (right most 210 and 131 between the pixel defining layers), and at least part of the defining structure is exposed by the second opening, the second electrode of at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub-pixel adjacent thereto are continuously arranged (see continuous and regular arrangement of sub-pixels 200 in Fig. 3 and 4 from the top view);
the display substrate further comprises a first insulating layer 180, located between the defining structure and the base substrate 110, in at least the partial region of the first region, the first insulating layer is in contact with the surface of the defining structure facing the base substrate, the first insulating layer is located between the first electrode and the base substrate, a surface of the first electrode is in contact with a surface of the first insulating layer, a material of the first insulating layer comprises an organic material, the first insulating layer comprises a protrusion 741 in contact with the surface of the defining structure, and the first orthographic projection is completely located within an orthographic projection of the protrusion on the base substrate, and the light-emitting functional layer covers a surface of the protrusion away from the base substrate (see in Zhou: the first sub-partition structure 741 and the organic layer 180 are integrated structure. For example, the first sub-partition structure 741 may be a portion of the organic layer 180).
Zhou does not teach: in an arrangement direction of light- emitting regions of the adjacent sub-pixels, a maximum size of the second orthographic projection is greater than a maximum size of the first orthographic projection; a cross-sectional shape of the defining structure cut by a plane where a center connecting line of the adjacent sub-pixels is located comprises a first trapezoid, a length of a first base of the first trapezoid away from the base substrate is greater than a length of a second base of the first trapezoid close to the base substrate, and the plane is perpendicular to the base substrate.
Wang teaches a display panel (Fig.9) wherein: in an arrangement direction of light- emitting regions of the adjacent sub-pixels,
a maximum size of the second orthographic projection (top surface of isolation structure 20) is greater than a maximum size of the first orthographic projection (lower surface of 20); a cross-sectional shape of the defining structure cut by a plane where a center connecting line of the adjacent sub-pixels is located comprises a first trapezoid (shape of 20), a length of a first base of the first trapezoid away from the base substrate is greater than a length of a second base of the first trapezoid close to the base substrate, and the plane is perpendicular to the base substrate.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the shape for the isolation structure as disclosed in Wang, in the device of Zhou, in order to avoid transverse leakage phenomenon.
Regarding claim 2, Zhou in view of Wang teaches a display substrate, wherein the second electrode covers the defining structure (131 that is continuous at the edge of 150 in Zhou).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou in view of Wang teaches a display substrate, wherein an included angle between at least part of at least one leg of the first trapezoid and the second base is an obtuse angle (shown by arrow below),
but does not teach the obtuse angle is in a range of 110-150 degrees (- - - and/ or a thickness of the defining structure is in a range of 300-550 angstroms - -). However, the angle as claimed is a result effective variable, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an obtuse angle in the range of 110-150 degrees by routine experimentation and simulation, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the “optimum range” involves only routine skill in the art, in order to optimize material deposition during manufacturing.
Regarding claim 30, Zhou in view of Wang teaches a display device, comprising the display substrate (abstract of Zhou).
Claim(s) 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Wang and further in view of Zhao (WO 2019184607 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 3, Zhou in view of Wang teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding :a display substrate, wherein the second electrode of at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub-pixel adjacent thereto in a one direction are continuously arranged, the second electrode of the at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub-pixel adjacent thereto in the other direction are disconnected, and the one direction is intersected with the other direction;
the second electrode of at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub- pixel adjacent thereto in the one direction are continuously arranged, the second electrode of the at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub-pixel adjacent thereto in a second sub-direction are continuously arranged, and the first sub- direction is intersected with the other direction.
Zhao teaches: the second electrode of at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub-pixel adjacent thereto in a one direction are continuously arranged, the second electrode of the at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub-pixel adjacent thereto in the other direction are disconnected, and the one direction is intersected with the other direction; (anode 10 in Figures 1-4 and in Zhao: As shown in FIG. 1, the vent holes 20 currently formed on the anode 10 are arranged in a matrix, and there are distinct anode continuous regions in the row direction (x direction) and the column direction (y direction), that is, the anode 10 is The width remains constant over a longer range, and the apparent continuous area of the anode affects the exhaust effect) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the anode shape as disclosed in Zhao, in the device of Zhou in view of Wang in order to easy manufacturing.
Regarding claim 6, Zhou in view of Wang and Zhao teaches a display substrate,
wherein an orthographic projection of a center connecting line of these two adjacent sub-pixels on a plane where the second electrode is located is within the second electrode (from the combined teachings of Zhou in view of Zhou).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Wang and further in view of Lee (US 20210020714 A1, cited previously)
Regarding claim 18, Zhou in view of Wang teaches a display substrate, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a plurality of first color sub-pixels, a plurality of second color sub-pixels and a plurality of third color sub-pixels, the defining structure comprises a plurality of first defining structures (140 in Fig.1 of Zhou), and the plurality of first defining structures surrounds at least one sub-pixel among the plurality of first color sub-pixels, the plurality of second color sub-pixels and the plurality of third color sub-pixels (see borders 140 surrounding the pixels in Fig. 1); wherein each sub-pixel in the at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels further comprises a pixel circuit, and in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate, a main electrode 131 (Zhou) overlaps with the light- emitting region of the light-emitting element; a shape of the main electrode is basically the same as the shape of the light emitting region, the pixel circuit is electrically connected to the connection electrode (see Objection above), and the first defining structure surrounding the at least one sub-pixel has a non-closed annular shape (see the open loops 140 in Fig.3), and in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first defining structure does not overlap with the connection electrode.
Zhou in view of Wang does not teach: the first electrode of the light-emitting element of at least one sub-pixel comprises a connection electrode as well which does not overlap with the light-emitting region of the light-emitting element
Lee teaches a display device with a main electrode E1 (Fig.7) and a connection electrode (within CH3) which does not overlap with the light-emitting region of the light-emitting element and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add the connection electrode in the device of Zhou in view of Wang, in order to facilitate connection with the transistor ([0090] in Lee).
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of Wang and further in view of Wang2 (CN 114628449 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 20, Zhou in view of Wang teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding : a second insulating layer, located between the defining structure and the base substrate, wherein the base substrate further comprises a second region, and the first region is located at a periphery of the second region; the second insulating layer comprises at least one annular insulating portion surrounding the second region, the defining structure further comprises a second annular defining structure in contact with a surface, away from the base substrate, of the annular insulating portion, the second insulating layer is located at a side of the first insulating layer facing the base substrate, a material of the second insulating layer comprises an inorganic nonmetallic material, the material of the second insulating layer is different from the material of the defining structure, and the light-emitting functional layer and the second electrode are both disconnected at an edge of the second annular defining structure.
Wang2 teaches a display device (Fig.11A) wherein: a second insulating layer 011, located between the defining structure and the base substrate, wherein the base substrate further comprises a second region (left side of 400), and the first region (right side of 400) is located at a periphery of the second region; the second insulating layer comprises at least one annular insulating portion 500 surrounding the second region, the defining structure further comprises a second annular defining structure 600 in contact with a surface, away from the base substrate, of the annular insulating portion, the second insulating layer is located at a side of the first insulating layer 400 facing the base substrate, a material of the second insulating layer comprises an inorganic nonmetallic material, the material of the second insulating layer is different from the material of the defining structure, and the light-emitting functional layer 100 and the second electrode 120 are both disconnected at an edge of the second annular defining structure.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the second region as disclosed in Wang2 in the device of Zhou in view of Wang in order to reduce crosstalk (see in Wang: so that the charge generating layer is cut off at the edge of the isolation structure, which is good for reducing the probability of crosstalk between adjacent sub-pixels).
Regarding claim 23, Zhou in view of Wang and Wang2 teaches a display substrate, wherein across-section of the second annular defining structure comprises a second trapezoid, and a length of a base of the second trapezoid away from the base substrate is greater than a length of a base of the second trapezoid close to the base substrate; a cross-sectional shape of the defining structure cut by a plane where a center connecting line of the adjacent sub-pixels is located comprises a first trapezoid, a length of a first base of the first trapezoid away from the base substrate is greater than a length of a second base of the first trapezoid close to the base substrate, and the plane is perpendicular to the base substrate (given the shape in Zhou, wherein the top/bottom of the trapezoid is longer than the bottom/top surface of the trapezoidal pixel defining layer) ; but does not explicitly teach a ratio of a size of the first trapezoid in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate to a size of the second trapezoid in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is in a range of 0.8-1.2, and a ratio of an included angle between a leg of the first trapezoid and the second base to an included angle between a leg of the second trapezoid and the base of the second trapezoid close to the base substrate is in a range of 0.8-1.2. However, However, the ratio as claimed is a result effective variable, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the ratio as claimed of 0.8-0.12 by routine experimentation and simulation, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the “optimum range” involves only routine skill in the art, in order to optimize material deposition during manufacturing.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou
and further in view of Shi (WO 2020134794 A1-CN 113380956 A, cited previously) and Wang
Regarding claim 24, Zhou teaches a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate, at least comprising a first region; a plurality of sub-pixels located in the first region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element, the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer, and a first electrode and a second electrode located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer in a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode is located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, and the light-emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of film layers; a pixel defining pattern 150, located at a side of the first electrode away from the base substrate, wherein at least the pixel defining pattern located in the first region comprises a plurality of first openings, one sub-pixel (left side 210) corresponds to at least one first opening, the light-emitting element of the sub-pixel is at least partially located in the first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel, and the first opening is configured to expose the first electrode 131, wherein the display substrate further comprises a defining structure, at least one defining structure is disposed between at least two adjacent sub-pixels, the pixel defining pattern further comprises a second opening, and at least part of the defining structure 154 is exposed by the second opening; the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel (200 in Fig.4), the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel are both adjacent to the first sub-pixel; the display substrate further comprises a first insulating layer 180, located between the defining structure and the base substrate 110, in at least the partial region of the first region, the first insulating layer is in contact with the surface of the defining structure facing the base substrate, the first insulating layer is located between the first electrode and the base substrate, a surface of the first electrode is in contact with a surface of the first insulating layer, a material of the first insulating layer comprises an organic material, the first insulating layer comprises a protrusion 741 in contact with the surface of the defining structure, and the first orthographic projection is completely located within an orthographic projection of the protrusion on the base substrate, and the light-emitting functional layer covers a surface of the protrusion away from the base substrate (see in Zhou: the first sub-partition structure 741 and the organic layer 180 are integrated structure. For example, the first sub-partition structure 741 may be a portion of the organic layer 180) (also see rejection in claim 1, as the same citations apply).
Zhou does not teach: a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a first size, a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a second size, and the first size is different from the second size.
Shi discloses:
In one embodiment, the pixel structure 100 further includes a first pixel defining layer and a second pixel defining layer. The red sub-pixel group, the green sub-pixel group and the blue sub-pixel group are separated by a first pixel defining layer; each adjacent red sub-pixel, each adjacent green sub-pixel and each adjacent blue sub-pixel It is separated by a second pixel defining layer. The pixel-defining layer refers to a layer for separating sub-pixels. In this embodiment, the first pixel defining layer is used to separate adjacent sub-pixel groups having different colors of light; the second pixel defining layer is used to separate adjacent sub-pixels having the same color of light. Moreover, in this embodiment, the height of the first pixel defining layer is greater than the height of the second pixel defining layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the different sizes for the pixel defining layers as disclosed in Shi, in the device of Zhou in order to optimize luminous efficiency.
Zhou does not teach: in an arrangement direction of light- emitting regions of the adjacent sub-pixels, a maximum size of the second orthographic projection is greater than a maximum size of the first orthographic projection; a cross-sectional shape of the defining structure cut by a plane where a center connecting line of the adjacent sub-pixels is located comprises a first trapezoid, a length of a first base of the first trapezoid away from the base substrate is greater than a length of a second base of the first trapezoid close to the base substrate, and the plane is perpendicular to the base substrate.
Wang teaches a display panel (Fig.9) wherein: in an arrangement direction of light- emitting regions of the adjacent sub-pixels,
a maximum size of the second orthographic projection (top surface of isolation structure 20) is greater than a maximum size of the first orthographic projection (lower surface of 20); a cross-sectional shape of the defining structure cut by a plane where a center connecting line of the adjacent sub-pixels is located comprises a first trapezoid (shape of 20), a length of a first base of the first trapezoid away from the base substrate is greater than a length of a second base of the first trapezoid close to the base substrate, and the plane is perpendicular to the base substrate.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the shape for the isolation structure as disclosed in Wang, in order to avoid transverse leakage phenomenon.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou
In view of Shi and Wang and further in view of Shang (CN 216749902 U, cited previously)
Regarding claim 25, Zhou in view of Shin and Wang teaches the invention set forth in claim 24 above, but is silent regarding the plurality of sub-pixels is arrayed along a first direction and a second direction, some pixels in the plurality of sub-pixels are arrayed along a third direction and a fourth direction, the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, the third direction is perpendicular to the fourth direction, and the first direction is intersected with the third direction; a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the first direction or the second direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a third size, a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the third direction or the fourth direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a fourth size, and the third size is less than the fourth size.
Shang teaches a display device wherein: the plurality of sub-pixels is arrayed along a first direction and a second direction, some pixels in the plurality of sub-pixels are arrayed along a third direction and a fourth direction, the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, the third direction is perpendicular to the fourth direction, and the first direction is intersected with the third direction; a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the first direction or the second direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a third size, a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the third direction or the fourth direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a fourth size, and the third size is less than the fourth size (see Fig. 15 and the arrangement of the pixels in horizontal, vertical and diagonal positions, and the size of the defining structures 140 ;
).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the shapes as disclosed in Shang, in the device of Zhou in view of Shi and Wang in order to avoid the charge generating layer with high conductivity causing crosstalk between adjacent sub-pixels.
(see in Huang: In the display substrate provided by the embodiment of the present disclosure, a partition structure is provided between the adjacent sub-pixels, and the charge generating layer in the light function layer is cut off at the position of the partition structure, so as to avoid the charge generating layer with high conductivity causing crosstalk between adjacent sub-pixels. and the partition structure comprises a plurality of annular partition parts, each annular partition part surrounds a first colour sub-pix; a second color sub-pixel or a third color sub-pixel, so the partition structure can realize the partition of most adjacent sub-pixel by simple annular partition part, so as to avoid the crosstalk between adjacent sub-pixels. On the other hand, because the display substrate can avoid the crosstalk between adjacent sub-pixels through the partition structure, so the display substrate can be designed by using double-layer light emitting (Tandem EL) and improve the pixel density. Therefore, the display substrate can have long service life, low power consumption, high brightness, high resolution and so on).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou
In view of Shi and Wang and further in view of Wu (WO 2022014843 A1,cited previously)
Regarding claim 26, Zhou in view of Shin and Wang teaches the invention set forth in claim 24 above, but is silent regarding the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a plurality of green sub-pixels, a plurality of blue sub-pixels and a plurality of red sub-pixels, and a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between two adjacent green sub-pixels in an arrangement direction of these two green sub-pixels is greater than a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between other adjacent sub-pixels in an arrangement direction of the other adjacent sub-pixels.
Wu teaches partitions between pixels with widths that are different for different color pixels. Wu discloses:
According to various embodiments, the pixel defining member 160_4 and the additional pixel defining member 160_4A may have the same width in the second type sub-pixel structure 202 based on the first direction. According to various embodiments, the pixel defining member 160_4 and the additional pixel defining member 160_4A may have different widths. According to an embodiment, the widths of the pixel defining member 160_4 and the additional pixel defining member 160_4A may be different for each color of the sub-pixel. For example, the width of the pixel defining member 160_4 disposed in the pixel structure corresponding to the second type blue sub-pixel 162B is the pixel defining member disposed in the pixel structure corresponding to the second type red sub-pixel 162R. A pixel corresponding to the second-type green sub-pixels 162Ga and 162Gb in which the pixel defining member 160_4 is larger than the width of 160_4 and disposed in the pixel structure corresponding to the second-type red sub-pixel 162R. It may be larger than the width of the pixel defining member 160_4 disposed in the structure. According to various embodiments, the width of the additional pixel defining member 160_4A disposed in the pixel structure corresponding to the second type blue sub-pixel 162B is disposed in the pixel structure corresponding to the second type red sub-pixel 162R. The width of the additional pixel defining member 160_4A that is greater than the width of the additional pixel defining member 160_4A and disposed in the pixel structure corresponding to the second type red sub-pixel 162R is greater than the width of the second type green sub-pixels 162Ga and 162Gb ) may be greater than the width of the additional pixel defining member 160_4A disposed in the pixel structure corresponding to the pixel structure.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the shapes as disclosed in Wu, in the device of Zhou in view of Shi in order to improve the lifespan and performance (see in Wu: so it is easy to design and lifespan performance of the OLED).
Other art
US 20210020714 A1 shows in Fig.11, the annular arrangement of the pixel defining layers
US 20070241671 A1, CN 114628451 A; CN 115516641 A; CN 105720081 B JP 2008078038 A-102; US 11539019 B2.
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 9/22/26 is acknowledged, however it is moot in view of new grounds of rejection for the amended claims, based on Wang, that teaches the reverse trapezoid shape for the defining structure.
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875