Election/Restriction
Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on 12/1/25, for Group II, drawn to claims 1-3,5-6,8-9,11-13,15,18,20,23-26 and 30. Claims 31 and 34 were withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group I, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
For claim 13:
“a distance between orthographic projections of an edge of the protrusion and an edge of the surface, away from the base substrate, of the defining structure on the base substrate is less than 0.5 micron”;
For claim 18;
“the pixel circuit and the first electrode of the light-emitting element of at least one sub-pixel comprises a main electrode and a connection electrode”
(the only drawing that shows the main and connection electrode is in Fig.2 (see arrows below that show unclear description of the elements), but it is unclear as shown below:
For claim 20, the second insulating layer (which is not shown, in the device as a whole, in any of the drawings, with respect to the base and the first insulating layer);
AND
For claim 25:
“wherein the plurality of sub-pixels is arrayed along a first direction and a second direction, some pixels in the plurality of sub-pixels are arrayed along a third direction and a fourth direction, the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, the third direction is perpendicular to the fourth direction, and the first direction is intersected with the third direction; a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the first direction or the second direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a third size, a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the third direction or the fourth direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a fourth size, and the third size is less than the fourth size“
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the specification the limitation of “[0191] in (US-Publication of instant Application): ] In some examples, as shown in FIG. 6, the plurality of sub-pixels 10 are arrayed along a first direction and a second direction, some pixels 10 in the plurality of sub-pixels 10 are arrayed along a third direction and a fourth direction, the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, the third direction is perpendicular to the fourth direction, and the first direction is intersected with the third direction. For example, the embodiment of the present disclosure illustratively shows that one of the first direction and the second direction is the U direction and the other of the first direction and the second direction is the V direction; one of the third direction and the fourth direction is the X direction and the other of the third direction and the fourth direction is the Z direction. For example, the plurality of second color sub-pixels 102 are arrayed along the third direction and the fourth direction. For example, the first color sub-pixels 101 and the third color sub-pixels 103 are alternately arranged along the third direction and also alternately arranged along the fourth direction, so that the plurality of first color sub-pixels and the plurality of third color sub-pixels are arrayed along the third direction and the fourth direction “is unclear language.
The first, second, third and fourth directions are not clearly described. The language is confusing and unclear. Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13,18 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 13, the limitation of “a distance between orthographic projections of an edge of the protrusion and an edge of the surface, away from the base substrate, of the defining structure on the base substrate is less than 0.5 micron” is unclear language. It is not clear what is meant by this limitation. Is it the height of the trapezoid from the surface of the protrusion? Which is not clear from the limitations.
In claim 18, the limitation of “the pixel circuit and the first electrode of the light-emitting element of at least one sub-pixel comprises a main electrode and a connection electrode” is unclear language. It is not clear what these electrodes are and how and where exactly they are located.
In claim 25, the limitation of “wherein the plurality of sub-pixels is arrayed along a first direction and a second direction, some pixels in the plurality of sub-pixels are arrayed along a third direction and a fourth direction, the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, the third direction is perpendicular to the fourth direction, and the first direction is intersected with the third direction; a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the first direction or the second direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a third size, a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the third direction or the fourth direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a fourth size, and the third size is less than the fourth size” is unclear language. It is not clear what is meant by this limitation.
Appropriate correction is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 ,15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou (CN 114628451 A)
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a display substrate (see Fig.2,5),
comprising: a base substrate (180,110), at least comprising a first region; a plurality of sub-pixels (152; Abstract) located in the first region of the base substrate, wherein each sub-pixel in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element,
and a first electrode 131 and a second electrode 132 located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate (see in Zhou: In some examples, as shown in FIG. 2, the light function layer 120 comprises a first light emitting layer 121 and the second light emitting layer 122 located on two sides of the conductive layer 129 in the direction perpendicular to the substrate 110, the conductive layer 129 is a charge generating layer) , the first electrode is located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, and the light-emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of film layers (121,122), wherein the display substrate further comprises a defining structure (partition 140 OR 141,142) and at least one defining structure is disposed between at least two adjacent sub-pixels; a first orthographic projection of a surface, close to the base substrate, of the defining structure between adjacent sub-pixels on the base substrate is completely located within a second orthographic projection of a surface, away from the base substrate, of the defining structure on the base substrate (length of the pixel defining structure on the top surface and on its bottom surface; wherein top surface length is wider than the bottom surface length);
in an arrangement direction of light- emitting regions of the adjacent sub-pixels, a maximum size of the second orthographic projection is greater than a maximum size of the first orthographic projection (see the broader top and narrower bottom shape of the pixel defining structure that fulfills the requirement above),
and the defining structure comprises an inorganic nonmetallic material (see in Zhou: and the second sub-partition structure 742 is made of an inorganic non-metal material)
in at least a partial region of the first region, at least one film layer in the light-emitting functional layer is disconnected (see two sides of 140 in Fig.2);
at an edge of the defining structure, and second electrodes (top electrode 132) of adjacent sub-pixels are at least partially continuously arranged (also see Trapezoid shape for the partition: For example, as shown in FIG. 19, the cross section of the first sub-partition structure 741 can be trapezoidal, the upper bottom of the trapezoid is located at the lower bottom of the trapezoid far away from one side of the substrate 110, the included angle between the side edge and the lower bottom of the trapezoid is not more than 90 degree).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou teaches a display substrate, further comprising: a pixel defining pattern 150, located at a side of the first electrode away from the base substrate, wherein at least the pixel defining pattern located in the first region comprises a plurality of first openings (openings between the two opposite elements 150, on two sides of partition 140 in Fig.2),
one sub-pixel corresponds to at least one first opening, the light-emitting element of the sub-pixel is at least partially located in the first opening corresponding to the sub-pixel, and the first opening is configured to expose the first electrode, wherein the pixel defining pattern further comprises a second opening, and at least part of the defining structure is exposed by the second opening (first and second openings formed by 150 wherein the openings accommodate the light emitting portion 210 (Fig.2) and the partition 140).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou teaches a display substrate, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a plurality of first color sub-pixels, a plurality of second color sub-pixels and a plurality of third color sub-pixels, the defining structure comprises a plurality of first annular defining structures, and the plurality of first annular defining structures surrounds at least one sub-pixel among the plurality of first color sub-pixels, the plurality of second color sub-pixels and the plurality of third color sub-pixels (see borders 140 surrounding the pixels in Fig. 1); wherein each sub-pixel in the at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels further comprises a pixel circuit, and the first electrode of the light-emitting element of at least one sub-pixel comprises a main electrode and a connection electrode, and in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the main electrode overlaps with the light- emitting region of the light-emitting element, and the connection electrode does not overlap with the light-emitting region of the light-emitting element; the pixel circuit is electrically connected to the connection electrode, and the first annular defining structure surrounding the at least one sub-pixel comprises a notch, and in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first annular defining structure does not overlap with the connection electrode (see Objection to Drawings and 112 rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,8-9,11 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (US 20100193791) in view of Kim (US 20100032678)
Regarding claim 1, Chun teaches a display substrate ( at least Fig.1), comprising: a base substrate, at least comprising a first region; a plurality of sub-pixels ([0045]: The emitting layer 202 may emit one of red, green and blue lights in each pixel region) located in the first region of the base substrate (pixel region in [0043]/[0048] on the base substrate 100/110), wherein each sub-pixel in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element 200, the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (200: 201,202 and 203 in [0046]) , and a first electrode 180 and a second electrode 210 ([0046]) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode is located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, and the light-emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of film layers (201,202,203), wherein the display substrate further comprises a defining structure 190 ([0046]: pixel defining structure), and at least one defining structure is disposed between at least two adjacent sub-pixels (wherein 210 is indicated in Fig.1); a first orthographic projection of a surface, close to the base substrate, of the defining structure between adjacent sub-pixels on the base substrate is completely located within a second orthographic projection of a surface, away from the base substrate, of the defining structure on the base substrate; in an arrangement direction of light- emitting regions of the adjacent sub-pixels, a maximum size of the second orthographic projection is greater than a maximum size of the first orthographic projection ([0040]-[0042],[0048], since the pixel defining structure has varying thickness), in at least a partial region of the first region, at least one film layer in the light-emitting functional layer is disconnected at an edge of the defining structure 200, and second electrodes 210 of adjacent sub-pixels are at least partially continuously arranged.
Chun does not teach the defining structure comprises an inorganic nonmetallic material.
Kim teaches the defining structure comprises an inorganic nonmetallic material ([0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the material as disclosed in Kim, in the device of Chun, in order to protect from moisture (well-known reason of using silicon oxide/nitride insulating layer in OLED).
Regarding claim 2, Chun in view of Kim teaches a display substrate, wherein the second electrodes are continuously arranged at the edge of the defining structure (see 210 in the Figures of Chun).
Regarding claim 3, Chun in view of Kim teaches a display substrate, wherein (- - the second electrode of at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub-pixel adjacent thereto in a first sub-direction are continuously arranged, the second electrode of the at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub-pixel adjacent thereto in a second sub-direction are disconnected, and the first sub-direction is intersected with the second sub-direction;
and/or - -)
the second electrode of at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub- pixel adjacent thereto in a first sub-direction are continuously arranged, the second electrode of the at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub-pixel adjacent thereto in a second sub-direction are continuously arranged, and the first sub- direction is intersected with the second sub-direction (from 210 in Fig.1. As the second electrode is continuously shown in the first direction, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the application was filed, to use the second electrode continuously in the second direction as well, as claimed, in order to achieve easy manufacturing).
Regarding claim 8, Chun in view of Kim teaches a display substrate, wherein a cross-sectional shape of the defining structure cut by a plane where a center connecting line of the adjacent sub-pixels located comprises a first trapezoid, a length of a first base of the first trapezoid away from the base substrate is greater than a length of a second base of the first trapezoid close to the base substrate, and the plane is perpendicular to the base substrate (from teachings of 190 in Chun).
Regarding claim 9, Chun in view of Kim teaches a display substrate, wherein an included angle between at least part of at least one leg of the first trapezoid and the second base is an obtuse angle (shown by arrow below),
but does not teach the obtuse angle is in a range of 110-150 degrees (- - - and/ or a thickness of the defining structure is in a range of 300-550 angstroms - -). However, the angle as claimed is a result effective variable, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an obtuse angle in the range of 110-150 degrees by routine experimentation and simulation, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the “optimum range” involves only routine skill in the art, in order to optimize material deposition during manufacturing.
Regarding claim 11, Chun in view of Kim teaches a display device, further comprising: a first insulating layer 170 (in Chun), located between the defining structure and the base substrate, wherein, in at least the partial region of the first region, the first insulating layer is in contact with the surface of the defining structure facing the base substrate, the first insulating layer is located between the first electrode and the base substrate, and a material of the first insulating layer comprises an organic material ([0033] in Chun).
Regarding claim 30, Chun in view of Kim teaches a display device, comprising the display substrate (Abstract of Chun).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (US 20100193791 A1) in view of Kim (US 20100032678 A1) and further in view of Lee (US 20210020714 A1)
Regarding claim 12, Chun in view of Kim teaches the invention set forth in claim 11 above, but is silent regarding the first insulating layer comprises a protrusion in contact with the surface of the defining structure, and the first orthographic projection is completely located within an orthographic projection of the protrusion on the base substrate.
Lee teaches a display device wherein the first insulating layer comprises a protrusion SPRT (Fig.24 ,23 and 22) in contact with the surface of the defining structure PRT ([0179] and [0181]) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the protrusion as disclosed in Lee, in the device of Chun in view of Kim in order to protect the pixel definition layer ([0179] in Lee).
Further, Chun in view of Kim and Lee does not teach the first orthographic projection is completely located within an orthographic projection of the protrusion on the base substrate. However, the size of the protrusion is a result effective variable and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to optimize the protrusion such that the first orthographic projection is completely located within an orthographic projection of the protrusion on the base substrate, by routine experimentation, in order to optimize the manufacturing steps and the costs.
Regarding claim 13, Chun in view of Kim and Lee display substrate teaches the display substrate, wherein a distance between orthographic projections of an edge of the protrusion and an edge of the surface, away from the base substrate, of the defining structure on the base substrate is less than 0.5 micron (see 112 rejection and objection to drawings).
Claims 20 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (US 20100193791 A1) in view of Kim (US 20100032678 A1) and further in view of Zhang (CN 114628449 A)
Regarding claim 20, Chun in view of Kim teaches the invention set forth in claim 11 above, but is silent regarding : a second insulating layer (see Objection to drawings), located between the defining structure and the base substrate, wherein the base substrate further comprises a second region, and the first region is located at a periphery of the second region; the second insulating layer comprises at least one annular insulating portion surrounding the second region, the defining structure further comprises a second annular defining structure in contact with a surface, away from the base substrate, of the annular insulating portion, the second insulating layer is located at a side of the first insulating layer facing the base substrate, a material of the second insulating layer comprises an inorganic nonmetallic material, the material of the second insulating layer is different from the material of the defining structure, and the light-emitting functional layer and the second electrode are both disconnected at an edge of the second annular defining structure.
Zhang teaches a display device (Fig.11A) wherein: a second insulating layer 011 (see Objection to drawings), located between the defining structure and the base substrate, wherein the base substrate further comprises a second region (left side of 400), and the first region (right side of 400) is located at a periphery of the second region; the second insulating layer comprises at least one annular insulating portion 500 surrounding the second region, the defining structure further comprises a second annular defining structure 600 in contact with a surface, away from the base substrate, of the annular insulating portion, the second insulating layer is located at a side of the first insulating layer 400 facing the base substrate, a material of the second insulating layer comprises an inorganic nonmetallic material, the material of the second insulating layer is different from the material of the defining structure, and the light-emitting functional layer 100 and the second electrode 120 are both disconnected at an edge of the second annular defining structure.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the second region as disclosed in Zhang in the device of Chun in view of Kim in order to reduce crosstalk (see in Zhang: so that the charge generating layer is cut off at the edge of the isolation structure, which is good for reducing the probability of crosstalk between adjacent sub-pixels).
Regarding claim 23, Chun in view of Kim and Zhang teaches a display substrate, wherein across-section of the second annular defining structure comprises a second trapezoid, and a length of a base of the second trapezoid away from the base substrate is greater than a length of a base of the second trapezoid close to the base substrate; a cross-sectional shape of the defining structure cut by a plane where a center connecting line of the adjacent sub-pixels is located comprises a first trapezoid, a length of a first base of the first trapezoid away from the base substrate is greater than a length of a second base of the first trapezoid close to the base substrate, and the plane is perpendicular to the base substrate (given the shape in Chun, wherein the top surface of the trapezoid is longer than the bottom surface of the trapezoidal pixel defining layer 190 of Chun) ; but does not explicitly teach a ratio of a size of the first trapezoid in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate to a size of the second trapezoid in the direction perpendicular to the base substrate is in a range of 0.8-1.2, and a ratio of an included angle between a leg of the first trapezoid and the second base to an included angle between a leg of the second trapezoid and the base of the second trapezoid close to the base substrate is in a range of 0.8-1.2. However, However, the ratio as claimed is a result effective variable, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the ratio as claimed of 0.8-0.12 by routine experimentation and simulation, since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the “optimum range” involves only routine skill in the art, in order to optimize material deposition during manufacturing.
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun and further in view of Duan (US 20200279898 A1)
Regarding claim 24, Chun teaches a display substrate ( at least Fig.1), comprising: a base substrate, at least comprising a first region; a plurality of sub-pixels ([0045]: The emitting layer 202 may emit one of red, green and blue lights in each pixel region) located in the first region of the base substrate (pixel region in [0043]/[0048] on the base substrate 100/110), wherein each sub-pixel in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element 200, the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (200: 201,202 and 203 in [0046]) , and a first electrode 180 and a second electrode 210 ([0046]) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode is located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, and the light-emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of film layers (201,202,203), wherein the display substrate further comprises a defining structure 190 ([0046]: pixel defining structure), and at least one defining structure is disposed between at least two adjacent sub-pixels (wherein 210 is indicated in Fig.1);
the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel are both adjacent to the first sub-pixel ([0022]).
Chun does not teach a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a first size, a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a second size, and the first size is different from the second size.
Duan discloses:
[0077] In an exemplary embodiment, the first pixel defining region 201 is corresponding to a red (R) pixel region, the second pixel defining region 202 is corresponding to a green (G) pixel region, and the third pixel defining region 203 is corresponding to a blue (G) pixel region.
The arrangement of the plurality of pixel defining regions on the mask 200 is not limited herein and can be any one of known arrangements in the art. In an embodiment, widths, in a first direction X, of the first pixel defining region 201, the second defining pixel region 202, and the third defining pixel region 203 are substantially the same; a length, in a second direction Y perpendicular to the first direction X, of the third pixel defining region 203 is larger than that of the first pixel defining region 201, and is larger than that of the second pixel defining region 202, respectively.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the different sizes for the pixel defining layers as disclosed in Duan, in the device of Chun in order to optimize luminous efficiency (from [0003] in Duan).
Regarding claim 25, Chun in view of Duan teaches a display substrate, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels is arrayed along a first direction and a second direction, some pixels in the plurality of sub-pixels are arrayed along a third direction and a fourth direction, the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, the third direction is perpendicular to the fourth direction, and the first direction is intersected with the third direction; a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the first direction or the second direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a third size, a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the third direction or the fourth direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a fourth size, and the third size is less than the fourth size (see Objections to specification and drawings and the 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 26, Chun in view of Duan teaches a display substrate,, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a plurality of green sub-pixels, a plurality of blue sub-pixels and a plurality of red sub-pixels, and a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between two adjacent green sub-pixels in an arrangement direction of these two green sub-pixels is greater than a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between other adjacent sub-pixels in an arrangement direction of the other adjacent sub-pixels (See rejection in claim 24 above, the same reason to combine art applies).
Claims 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun and further in view of Shi (WO 2020134794 A1-CN 113380956 A)
Regarding claim 24, Chun teaches a display substrate ( at least Fig.1), comprising: a base substrate, at least comprising a first region; a plurality of sub-pixels ([0045]: The emitting layer 202 may emit one of red, green and blue lights in each pixel region) located in the first region of the base substrate (pixel region in [0043]/[0048] on the base substrate 100/110), wherein each sub-pixel in at least part of the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a light-emitting element 200, the light-emitting element comprises a light-emitting functional layer (200: 201,202 and 203 in [0046]) , and a first electrode 180 and a second electrode 210 ([0046]) located at both sides of the light-emitting functional layer along a direction perpendicular to the base substrate, the first electrode is located between the light-emitting functional layer and the base substrate, and the light-emitting functional layer comprises a plurality of film layers (201,202,203), wherein the display substrate further comprises a defining structure 190 ([0046]: pixel defining structure), and at least one defining structure is disposed between at least two adjacent sub-pixels (wherein 210 is indicated in Fig.1);
the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel and a third sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel are both adjacent to the first sub-pixel ([0022]).
Chun does not teach a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between the first sub-pixel and the second sub-pixel in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a first size, a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a second size, and the first size is different from the second size.
Shi discloses:
In one embodiment, the pixel structure 100 further includes a first pixel defining layer and a second pixel defining layer. The red sub-pixel group, the green sub-pixel group and the blue sub-pixel group are separated by a first pixel defining layer; each adjacent red sub-pixel, each adjacent green sub-pixel and each adjacent blue sub-pixel It is separated by a second pixel defining layer. The pixel-defining layer refers to a layer for separating sub-pixels. In this embodiment, the first pixel defining layer is used to separate adjacent sub-pixel groups having different colors of light; the second pixel defining layer is used to separate adjacent sub-pixels having the same color of light. Moreover, in this embodiment, the height of the first pixel defining layer is greater than the height of the second pixel defining layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the different sizes for the pixel defining layers as disclosed in Shi, in the device of Chun in order to optimize luminous efficiency.
Regarding claim 25, Chun in view of Shi teaches a display substrate, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels is arrayed along a first direction and a second direction, some pixels in the plurality of sub-pixels are arrayed along a third direction and a fourth direction, the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction, the third direction is perpendicular to the fourth direction, and the first direction is intersected with the third direction; a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the first direction or the second direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a third size, a maximum size of the defining structure between two adjacent sub-pixels arranged along the third direction or the fourth direction in an arrangement direction of these two sub-pixels is a fourth size, and the third size is less than the fourth size (see Objections to specification and drawings and the 112 rejection above).
Regarding claim 26, Chun in view of Shi teaches a display substrate, wherein the plurality of sub-pixels comprises a plurality of green sub-pixels, a plurality of blue sub-pixels and a plurality of red sub-pixels, and a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between two adjacent green sub-pixels in an arrangement direction of these two green sub-pixels is greater than a maximum size of the defining structure disposed between other adjacent sub-pixels in an arrangement direction of the other adjacent sub-pixels (See rejection in claim 24 above, the same reason to combine art applies).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun in view of Kim and further in view of Wang (US 20220069027 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Chun in view of Kim teaches the second electrode of at least one sub-pixel and the second electrode of one sub-pixel adjacent thereto are continuously arranged (from 210 in Chun) but does not teach and a minimum width of the second electrode between these two adjacent sub-pixels is greater than 1 micron in a direction perpendicular to an arrangement direction of these two adjacent sub-pixels.
Wang teaches a display device wherein the touch electrode 6112 ([0182] and Fig.13E) wherein its width is greater than 1 micron ([0186]-[0187]) and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the width as disclosed in Wang, in the device of Chun in view of Kim in order to achieve the desired shielding effect ([0186] in Wang).
Regarding claim 6, Chun in view of Kim and Wang teaches a display substrate,
wherein an orthographic projection of a center connecting line of these two adjacent sub-pixels on a plane where the second electrode is located is within the second electrode (see the 210 pixels within the touch electrode lines 6112 in Fig.13D-13E of Wang).
Other art
US 20210020714 A1 shows in Fig.11, the annular arrangement of the pixel defining layers
US 20070241671 A1, CN 114628451 A; CN 115516641 A; CN 105720081 B JP 2008078038 A-102; US 11539019 B2.
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875