DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2 March 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that McDonald does not disclose all elements recited in claims 1 and 55.
This is not found persuasive because while McDonald may not disclose the totality of either claim 1 or claim 55 as argued by applicant (pages 2-3 of Election Response) the only shared feature between the two groups are a microfluidic device comprising at least two channels in a rigid material which McDonald teaches. Therefore, the two groups lack a technical feature that is a special technical feature that makes a contribution over the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 10, and 39 objected to because of the following informalities: Each of these claims recite “the channels” in reference to “the at least two channels” as recited in independent claims 1 and 39. In order to maintain claim language consistency, examiner recommends amending claims to recite “the at least two channels” or an equivalent thereof. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 13-17, 21, and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a proximal end of a channel, and the outlet port is connected to a distal end of another channel” in lines 2-3 of the claim. It is unclear if "a channel" and "another channel" are the same channel as the channels of the at least two channels as recited in claim 1 or an entirely different set of channels. Examiner believes "a channel" and "another channel" to be the same channels of the at least two channels and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending claim to recite "a proximal end of a first channel of the at least two channels" and "a distal end of a second channel of the at least two channels" or an equivalent thereof.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the coverslip" in line 2 of the claim There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. "The coverslip" lacks antecedent basis as no coverslip is previously recited in either claim 1 or 12 from which claim 13 is dependent. Examiner believes "the coverslip" as recited is equivalent to "a coverslip" as recited in claim 8 and therefore equivalent to the rigid material of claim 1 and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending claim to recite "a coverslip" or an equivalent thereof.
Claims 14-17 are rejected based on their dependence to claim 13.
Claim 15 requires both a first nucleic acid and microbead, however, claim 12, from which claim 15 depends, only requires "a first nucleic acid or a microbead." According to the first example provided in the specification (pg. 25, line 32- pg. 26, line 14; Fig. 1-3), "the microbead" of claim 15 is referring to the first component, which can be a microbead. Examiner believes "the microbead" corresponds to "the first component" based on claim 1 and the specification and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite "the second nucleic acid is tethered to the first component..." or an equivalent thereof.
Claim 15 further recites the limitation of “on its distal end” in line 2 of the claim. It is unclear to what "its distal end" is referring. "Its distal end" can either be the distal end of the second nucleic acid or the microbead. Examiner believe "its" is referring to the second nucleic acid and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite "on a distal end of the second nucleic acid" or an equivalent thereof.
Claim 17 requires both a first nucleic acid and microbead, however, claim 12, from which claim 17 depends (through claims 14 and 13), only requires "a first nucleic acid or a microbead." According to the first example provided in the specification (pg. 25, line - pg. , line ), "the microbead" of claim 17 is referring to the first component, which can be a microbead. Examiner believes "the microbead" corresponds to "the first component" based on claim 1 and the specification and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite "the second nucleic acid is tethered to the first component..." or an equivalent thereof.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “wherein the first protein is affixed to the coverslip.” In claim 11 from which claim 21 depends, the first protein is established to be the first component. As per claim 1 is only attached to the second component and not attached to the coverslip/rigid material. It is unclear how the first protein of claim 21 which is equivalent to the first component of claims 1 and 11 can also be attached to the coverslip. Further clarification required.
Specification reiterates this (pg. 15, lines 21-25) but confusion is still present as it is unclear if the first protein representing the first component is attached in addition to or instead of the second component to the rigid material/coverslip. Examiner will examine as if this is a separate protein can be attached to the second component.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the coverslip" in lines 1-2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. “The coverslip" lacks antecedent basis as no coverslip is previously recited in either claim 1 or 11 from which claim 21 is dependent. Examiner believes "the coverslip" as recited is equivalent to "a coverslip" as recited in claim 8 and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending claim to recite "a coverslip" or an equivalent thereof.
If claim 24 is supposed to be dependent on claim 21, then claim 24 is rejected based on its dependence to claim 21.
Examiner notes the following rejections are based on the determination that claim 24 is dependent on claim 21 and not claim 12.
Claim 24 requires both a first nucleic acid and microbead based on claim 21; however, claim 11, from which claim 24 depends, requires "a microbead or a first protein." It is unclear if “the microbead” of claim 24 is the same or different from “a microbead” from claim 11. Examiner believes "the microbead" corresponds to "the first component" based on claim 1 and the specification and will be examined as such. Examiner recommends amending the claim to recite "a second protein is affixed to the second component..." or an equivalent thereof.
Claim 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 24 recites it is dependent on the device of claim 12; however, Examiner believes claim 24 is meant to depend on claim 11 or 21 and not claim 12 as recited because claim 12 does not recite "a first protein." Examiner believes this is a typo and should recite "the device of claim 21" and will be examined as such. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, 10-17, 21, 24, 25, 29, 34, 39, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, et. al. ("Multiplexed single-molecule assay for enzymatic activity on flow-stretched DNA;" citations with respect to copy provided with IDS dated 8 November 2023 referred to as "Kim main" and newly added Supplementary Information Note referred to as "Kim SI") in view of Zheng, et. al. ("Microfluidic Device for Studying Controllable Hydrodynamic Flow Induced Cellular Responses;" citations made with respect to provided copy).
Regrading claim 1, Kim teaches a single molecule assay for monitoring the nucleic acid enzymes on flow-stretched templated (Abstract) (for measuring hydrodynamic force between two components). Kim teaches the assay utilizes a flow cell with a microchannel (a microfluidic device) (Kim main, Fig. 1c; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) wherein the flow cell comprises a treated glass coverslip (rigid material) with an adhesive spacer to attach the coverslip to a slide creating a channel (Kim SI, pg. 3-4, section "Building a flow cell") (wherein the device comprises: a rigid material, wherein said rigid material comprises… channel).
Kim teaches a magnetic bead (first component) functionalized with anti-digoxigenin (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (a first component). Kim additionally teaches the treated coverslip has DNA (second component) termini tethered to the surface (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (and further wherein the second component is anchored to the rigid material). Kim teaches the surface tethered DNA has a second termini functionalized with digoxigenin to interact with anti-digoxigenin on the magnetic bead (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (wherein said first component is functionally attached to a second component).
Kim is silent to wherein said rigid material comprises at least two channels of varying width that are serially connected.
Zheng teaches a microfluidic device for producing different hydrodynamic flow patterns (Abstract). Zheng teaches a microfluidic device comprising rounded and rectangular channels connected through a series of valves with the rounded channels leading to the rectangular channels (Fig. 1b). The microfluidic device is made through soft lithography wherein the channels are made in PDMS-based layers (pg. 3712, col. 1, section "Functions of the Microfluidic Chip") (wherein said rigid material comprises at least two channels of varying width that are serially connected). Zheng teaches the series of different types of channels that can operate in parallel testing multiple flow dynamics wherein the flow produced is controlled with high precision and accuracy (pg. 3710, whole page).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the singular microchannel of the flow cell of Kim to instead comprise multiple channels of varying width that are serially connected as taught by Zheng because doing so allows for multiple flow dynamics to be tested with high precision and accuracy (Zheng, pg. 3710) with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim in view of Zheng teaches the two channels of different shape are connected by a channel connector as seen in Figure 1b by the wider region between the two channels (wherein the channels are connected via at least one channel connector). Examiner has additionally provided Figure 1b below with the channel connectors circled.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim teaches holes at each end of the flow cell for fluid flow (Kim SI, pg. 3, section "Building a flow cell"). Zheng further teaches an inlet at the proximal end of the parallel branching and separate outlets at the distal end of different channels for parallel testing region (Zheng, Fig. 1b) (wherein the device comprises an inlet port and an outlet port, wherein the inlet port is connected to a proximal end of a channel, and the outlet port is connected to a distal end of another channel).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim teaches the flow cell comprises a coverslip that is treated with 1 mg/ml biotin-PEG-NHS-5000 and 100 mg/ml mPEG-SPA-5000 to create a biotin-PEG functionalized coverslip (Kim main, Fig. 1b) (Kim SI, pg. 3, section "Preparation of biotin-PEG functionalized coverslips") (wherein the rigid material is a coverslip functionalized with… biotin-polyethylene glycol).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim in view of Zheng teaches the channels of the microfluidic device are made through PDMS-based layers (Zheng, pg. 3711, col. 1, section "Flow Chip Fabrication;" pg. 3712, col. 1, section "Functions of the Microfluidic Chip") (wherein the channels are made of polydimethylsiloxane).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kim teaches the DNA tether attached to a magnetic bead (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (wherein the first component is…a microbead).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim teaches DNA serves as the tether (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (wherein the second component is a first nucleic acid).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kim teaches the tethered DNA is denatured to generate single stranded (ss) DNA (Kim main, Fig. 1b) (Kim SI, pg. 1-2, section "Construction of DNA template for single molecule assay") (wherein the first nucleic acid is single stranded). Kim teaches the ssDNA has a termini tethered to the surface of the coverslip (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (and is affixed to the coverslip at a proximal end).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim teaches the tethered ssDNA can further be synthesized into double stranded (ds) DNA through DNA polymerase and a primer (Kim main, Fig. 1b) (Kim SI, pg. 7, section "HIV-1 reverse transcriptase (RT) primer-extension assay"). Kim teaches the addition of the primer while starting close to the proximal/tethered end of the ssDNA does not interfere with the terminal, biotin region, but starts forming the double strand at a region past the biotin treated end (Kim main, Fig. 2) (Kim SI, pg. 6, section "Ф29 DNA polymerase strand displacement assay") resulting in an initial ssDNA at the tethered/proximal, biotin treated end and a double strand extending to the binding/distal, digoxigenin end (wherein the first nucleic acid can hybridize with a second nucleic acid at a distal end, thereby forming a double stranded nucleic acid molecule). Kim teaches that at different pressures, ssDNA and dsDNA performs differently and therefore each are useful for tethering depending on the stretching forces (Kim main, pg. 397, col. 1, par. 02).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kim teaches the newly formed dsDNA has a digoxigenin treated end that binds to a magnetic bead that is chemically linked to anti-digoxigenin (Kim SI, pg. 2, section "Preparation of functionalized beads") (wherein the second nucleic acid is tethered to the microbead on its distal end).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kim teaches the ssDNA has a termini tethered to the surface of the coverslip through a biotin/streptavidin interaction, the ssDNA labeled with biotin and the coverslip coated with streptavidin (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (Kim SI, pg. 1, section "Construction of DNA template for single molecule assay") (wherein the first nucleic acid is affixed to the coverslip via biotin/streptavidin).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kim teaches the DNA tether is functionalized at the non-tethered end with digoxigenin and the magnetic bead is functionalized with anti-digoxigenin (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (wherein the second nucleic acid is affixed to the microbead… via an antibody/antigen interaction).
Regarding claim 21, modified Kim teaches the DNA tether attached to a magnetic bead is done so through functionalized digoxigenin and anti-digoxigenin ends (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01). The DNA is treated at a termini tethered to the surface of the coverslip through a biotin/streptavidin interaction, the DNA labeled with biotin and the coverslip coated with streptavidin (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (Kim SI, pg. 1, section "Construction of DNA template for single molecule assay"). Ultimately, all parts of the tether are affixed to the coverslip via biotin/streptavidin. Kim further teaches proteins can be attached to the tethered DNA. Specifically, Kim teaches the tethered ssDNA can further be synthesized into double stranded (ds) DNA through DNA polymerase (a first protein) and a primer (Kim main, Fig. 1b) (Kim SI, pg. 7, section "HIV-1 reverse transcriptase (RT) primer-extension assay"). Therefore, modified Kim teaches additional proteins can be attached to the DNA tether, the DNA tether being attached to the coverslip by biotin/streptavidin (wherein the first protein is affixed to the coverslip via biotin/streptavidin).
Regarding claim 24, modified Kim teaches the magnetic bead is chemically treated to have the anti-digoxigenin antibody attached to the surface of the bead (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (wherein a second protein is affixed to the microbead).
Modified Kim is silent to the connection being via biotin/streptavidin.
Kim teaches the biotin/streptavidin linkage used for linking non-biological material/molecules to biological molecules in how the DNA is tethered to the coverslip (Kim main, Fig. 1b) (Kim SI, pg. 3, section "Preparation of biotin-PEG functionalized coverslips"). As seen by its use to tether DNA to a coverslip, Kim teaches biotin/streptavidin is an efficient way to bind non-biological material/molecules to biological molecules.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the chemical binding of the protein to the bead as taught by Kim to instead by done through biotin/streptavidin means because it is another efficient way to bind non-biological material/molecules to biological molecules as taught by Kim. The claimed limitations are obvious because the simple substitution of one known element (antigen/antibody interactions) for another (biotin/streptavidin) is likely to be obvious when predictable results (binding non-biological material/molecules to biological molecules) are achieved. MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 25, modified Kim in view of Zheng teaches the rounded fluid channel is in series with the rectangular channel and can have a second rectangular channel (a third channel) operating in parallel with the first rectangular channel (Zheng, Fig. 1b) (wherein the rigid material comprises at least 3 channels).
Regarding claim 29, modified Kim in view of Zheng teaches the rectangular channels have a width of 225µm and the round channels have a width of 250µm (Zheng, Fig. 1, d and e descriptions) (wherein at least one channel has a width from 20 to 2500 microns).
Regarding claim 34, modified Kim in view of Zheng teaches the rectangular channels have a height of 24µm and the round channels have a height of 48µm (Zheng, Fig. 1, d and e descriptions) (wherein the channels have a height from 2 to 150 microns).
Regarding claim 39, Kim teaches a single molecule assay for monitoring the nucleic acid enzymes on flow-stretched templated (Abstract) (A system for measuring molecular interactions between molecules). Kim teaches the assay utilizes a flow cell with a microchannel (a microfluidic device) (Kim main, Fig. 1c; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) wherein the flow cell comprises a treated glass coverslip (rigid material) with an adhesive spacer to attach the coverslip to a slide creating a channel (Kim SI, pg. 3-4, section "Building a flow cell") (the system comprising a microfluidic device comprising a rigid material, wherein said rigid material comprises… channel).
Kim teaches a magnetic bead (first component) functionalized with anti-digoxigenin (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (a first component). Kim additionally teaches the treated coverslip has DNA (second component) termini tethered to the surface (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (and further wherein the second component is anchored to the rigid material). Kim teaches the surface tethered DNA has a second termini functionalized with digoxigenin to interact with anti-digoxigenin on the magnetic bead (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (wherein said first component is functionally attached to a second component).
Kim teaches a hydrodynamic flow is applied to the microchannel to stretch the DNA tether through the "frictional force exerted by the fluid on the magnetic beads" (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01 (wherein fluid can be forced through the channels, and further wherein hydrodynamic force between the first component and the second component can be measured).
Kim is silent to wherein said rigid material comprises at least two channels of varying width that are serially connected.
Zheng teaches a microfluidic device for producing different hydrodynamic flow patterns (Abstract). Zheng teaches a microfluidic device comprising rounded and rectangular channels connected through a series of valves with the rounded channels leading to the rectangular channels (Fig. 1b). The microfluidic device is made through soft lithography wherein the channels are made in PDMS-based layers (pg. 3712, col. 1, section "Functions of the Microfluidic Chip") (wherein said rigid material comprises at least two channels of varying width that are serially connected). Zheng teaches the series of different types of channels that can operate in parallel testing multiple flow dynamics wherein the flow produced is controlled with high precision and accuracy (pg. 3710, whole page).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the singular microchannel of the flow cell of Kim to instead comprise multiple channels of varying width that are serially connected as taught by Zheng because doing so allows for multiple flow dynamics to be tested with high precision and accuracy (Zheng, pg. 3710) with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Regarding claim 45, Kim teaches a single molecule assay for monitoring the nucleic acid enzymes on flow-stretched templated (Abstract) (A method of determining strength of molecular interactions between a first molecule and a second molecule comprising). Kim teaches the assay utilizes a flow cell with a microchannel (a device) (Kim main, Fig. 1c; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) wherein the flow cell comprises a treated glass coverslip (rigid material) with an adhesive spacer to attach the coverslip to a slide creating a channel (Kim SI, pg. 3-4, section "Building a flow cell") (Providing a device, wherein the device comprises a rigid material, wherein said rigid material comprises… channel).
Kim teaches a magnetic bead (first component) functionalized with anti-digoxigenin (a first molecule) (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (a first component with the first molecule associated therewith). Kim additionally teaches the treated coverslip has DNA (second component) termini tethered to the surface at one end and the opposite end treated with digoxigenin (a second molecule) (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (a second component, with a second molecule associated therewith). Kim teaches the surface tethered DNA second termini functionalized with digoxigenin interacts with anti-digoxigenin on the magnetic bead (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01) (wherein the first component and the second component can associate with each other through the first and second molecules).
Kim teaches a hydrodynamic flow is applied to the microchannel to stretch the DNA tether through the "frictional force exerted by the fluid on the magnetic beads" (Kim main, Fig. 1b; pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01 (executing at least one force spectroscopy test). Kim teaches when the hydrodynamic flow is applied, images are obtained of the tethered beads to measure the displacement direction due to the fluid form (Kim main, pg. 398, col. 1, par. 01). Kim teaches through this stretching forces can be determined (Kim main, Fig. 2) through calculating the series of forces acting on the tether and bead, particularly through a restoring force of the tether (Kim SI, pg. 8-9, section "Microscopic view of forces on DNA-tethered beads under shear flow"). These calculations, as taught by Kim, can be used to calculate bead trajectories including "the vertical bead separation" based on experimental conditions (Kim SI, pg. 9, listed item 1 in numerical list) (measuring dissociation force between the first and the second molecule, thereby determining the strength of the molecular interaction between the first and the second molecule).
Kim is silent to wherein said rigid material comprises at least two channels of varying width that are serially connected.
Zheng teaches a microfluidic device for producing different hydrodynamic flow patterns (Abstract). Zheng teaches a microfluidic device comprising rounded and rectangular channels connected through a series of valves with the rounded channels leading to the rectangular channels (Fig. 1b). The microfluidic device is made through soft lithography wherein the channels are made in PDMS-based layers (pg. 3712, col. 1, section "Functions of the Microfluidic Chip") (wherein said rigid material comprises at least two channels of varying width that are serially connected). Zheng teaches the series of different types of channels that can operate in parallel testing multiple flow dynamics wherein the flow produced is controlled with high precision and accuracy (pg. 3710, whole page).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the singular microchannel of the flow cell of Kim to instead comprise multiple channels of varying width that are serially connected as taught by Zheng because doing so allows for multiple flow dynamics to be tested with high precision and accuracy (Zheng, pg. 3710) with reasonable expectation of success. MPEP 2143(I)(G).
Conclusion
/M.T.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1758
/MARIS R KESSEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1758