DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, and 6-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 08/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, and 6-11 under 5 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in light of applicant’s amendments to claims 1 and 6.
The Examiner has changed the element to element matching of Hatakeyama in Claims 1-4 and 6-11, to better demonstrate the similarities between the prior art and the claimed invention. Specifically, in regards to claim 1, the Examiner has clarified that Hatakeyama teaches the first light transmissive coating layer and second light transmissive coating layers comprising adhesive layers (See annotated Fig. 8 below: second and third adhesive layer 60), so that it is clear that limitations (iii), (iv), read on the teachings of the prior art. Similarly in regards to claim 6, the examiner has clarified that the claimed substrate reads on the teaching of Hatakeyama (see Examiner annotated Fig. 8: second glass layer 41 counting from the bottom up which is examiner annotated as substrate, second antireflection layer 42, and first optical unit 50 annotated as 2-LT) thus teaching the limitations (vii), and (viii).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references (of Hatakeyama and Han), the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, satisfaction of a target wave, as taught by Han [Par 113], would motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to independently set the thickness or refractive index of the microcells since both the thickness and refractive index of diffraction gratings (or a meta-surface for example) affect refractive power with respect to a desired wavelength bandwidth and in controlling chromatic aberration [Han: Par 6].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 12 recites the broad recitation “a fourth main surface opposite the third main surface and uncovered.” (from Claim 1 which claim 12 incorporates by dependency), and the claim also recites “wherein the fourth main surface of the first light diffraction element unit contacts the second main surface of the second light diffraction element unit.” (thus covering the fourth main surface) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
For the purpose of examination the examiner assumed that the narrower language is a required feature of the claims.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 9 is withdrawn in light of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama (JP 2019041060A Machine Translation, 03-14-2019, Espacenet) in view of Han (US 20200174163 A1).
Re Claim 1, Hatakeyama discloses on Fig. 8, a light diffraction element unit comprising: a light diffraction element (irradiation apparatus 1) including: a substrate (second glass layer 41 counting from the bottom up, examiner annotated as substrate) having a first main surface (top of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 1m) and a second main surface (bottom of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 2m) [Par 25, 35, 45] that are flat and smooth (Fig. 8: top and bottom of second glass layer 41 are flat and smooth);
and a light diffraction structure (resin layer 11 labeled, LD) composed of microcells (middle most resin layer 11 has a cell structure as can be seen in Fig. 8) [Par 25, 35, 45] disposed on the first main surface (LD is disposed on top of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 1m);
a first light-transmissive coating layer (third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11) that covers the first main surface (1-LT and adhesive 60 cover top of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 1m) and the light diffraction structure (1-LT and adhesive 60 cover LD in examiner annotated Fig. 8);
and a second light-transmissive coating layer (first optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 2-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11) that covers the second main surface (2-LT covers the bottom of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 2m) [Par 25, 35, 45] ,
wherein the first light-transmissive coating layer (third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11) has a third main surface (examiner annotated as 3m) directly contacting the first main surface (adhesive 60 of 1-LT contacts the top of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 1m) and a fourth main surface (Examiner annotated as 4m) opposite the third main surface (examiner annotated as 3m)
the second light-transmissive coating layer (first optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 2-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11) has a fifth main surface (Examiner annotated as 5m) directly contacting the second main surface (surface 5m directly contacts the bottom of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 2m) [Par 25, 35, 45], and a sixth main surface (Examiner labeled 6m) opposite the fifth main surface (5m) and uncovered (surface 6m is uncovered i.e. there is a gap between 6m and substrate 32) [Par 25, 35, 45],
the fourth main surface (Examiner annotated as 4m) and the sixth main surface (Examiner labeled 6m) have complementary shapes (topmost resin layer 11 or 4m, and bottommost resin layer 11 or 6m have complimentary shapes as can be seen in Fig. 8) [Par 25, 35, 45].
But Hatakeyama does not explicitly disclose, wherein the microcells each have an independently set thickness or refractive index, the fourth main surface is uncovered.
However, Hatakeyma does teach, where in a main surface (main surface 6m) is uncovered (space between main surface 6m and substrate 32) [Par 39], and that the covering of the fourth main surface (cover glass 40) is primarily to improve heat resistance [Par 41] but is not necessary as seen in Fig. 10-11 wherein the light transmissive coating layer (1-LT in annotated in Fig. 8) is not covered [Par 48].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hatakeyama in order to provide, reduced thickness.
But modified Hatakeyama does not teach, wherein the microcells each have an independently set thickness or refractive index.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Han teaches, on Fig. 10-11, that it is desirable in microstructures for the microcells to each have an independently set thickness or refractive index (“A predetermined rule may be set and applied not only to the width w and the pitch p, but also to the height H of the nanostructures NS.sub.k for each region 122_k.”) [Par 114 and 119].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hatakeyama with Han in order to provide, satisfaction of a target wave, as taught by Han [Par 113].
Examiner Annotated Figure 8 of Hatakeyama
Re Claim 3, Hatakeyama in view of Han discloses, the light diffraction element unit according to claim 1, and Hatakeyama further discloses on Fig. 8, wherein the first light-transmissive coating layer (third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11)) is apart from the light diffraction structure (See Examiner Annotated Fig. 8: resin layer 11 labeled, LD is separate from layer 1-LT ).
Re Claim 4, Hatakeyama in view of Han discloses, the light diffraction element unit according to claim 3, and Hatakeyama further discloses Fig. 5 and 8, wherein a space between the first light-transmissive coating layer (third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11)) (top resin layer 11) and the light diffraction structure (resin layer 11 labeled, LD)(middle resin layer 11) is filled with a gas (Fig. 8: empty area between either side of adhesives 60, wherein Fig. 5 shows an example diffraction grating similar to resin 11 in which air exist in concave portion 112 such that air exists in the entirety of this connected empty region) [Par 28].
Re claim 6, Hatakeyama discloses on Fig. 8 (See Examiner Annotated Fig. 8 above), a light diffraction element unit comprising: a light diffraction element including (irradiation element 1): a substrate (second glass layer 41 counting from the bottom up, examiner annotated as substrate, second antireflection layer 42, and first optical unit 50 annotated as 2-LT) having a first main surface (top of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 1m) that is flat and smooth (See Fig. 8: top of bottommost glass layer 41 is flat and smooth) and a second main surface (first resin layer 11, examiner annotated as 6m) [Par 25, 35, 45];
a light diffraction structure (resin layer 11 labeled, LD) composed of microcells and disposed on the first main surface (top of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 1m);
and a light-transmissive coating layer (third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11) that covers the first main surface (1-LT and adhesive 60 cover top of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 1m) and the light diffraction structure (1-LT and adhesive 60 cover LD in examiner annotated Fig. 8);
wherein the light-transmissive coating layer third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11) has a third main surface (examiner annotated as 3m) directly contacting the first main surface (top of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 1m) and a fourth main surface (Examiner annotated as 4m) opposite the third main surface (examiner annotated as 3m),
wherein the second main surface (6m) is uncovered (bottom of bottommost resin layer 11 is uncovered), the second main surface (6m) and the fourth main surface (4m) are complimentary shapes (6m and 4m are complimentary shapes) [Par 25, 35, 45].
But Hatakeyama does not explicitly disclose, wherein the microcells each have an independently set thickness or refractive index, the fourth main surface is uncovered.
However, Hatakeyma does teach, where in a main surface (main surface 6m) is uncovered (space between main surface 6m and substrate 32) [Par 39], and that the covering of the fourth main surface (cover glass 40) is primarily to improve heat resistance [Par 41] but is not necessary as seen in Fig. 10-11 wherein the light transmissive coating layer (1-LT in annotated in Fig. 8) is not covered [Par 48].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hatakeyama in order to provide, reduced thickness.
But modified Hatakeyama does not teach, wherein the microcells each have an independently set thickness or refractive index.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Han teaches, on Fig. 10-11, that it is desirable in microstructures for the microcells to each have an independently set thickness or refractive index (“A predetermined rule may be set and applied not only to the width w and the pitch p, but also to the height H of the nanostructures NS.sub.k for each region 122_k.”) [Par 114 and 119].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hatakeyama with Han in order to provide, satisfaction of a target wave, as taught by Han [Par 113].
Re Claim 11, Hatakeyama in view of Han discloses, the light diffraction element unit according to claim 6.
But Fig. 8 of Hatakeyama in view of Han does not explicitly disclose, wherein the main surface of the first coating layer has recesses, and the second main surface (bottom of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 2m) [Par 25, 35, 45] has protrusions.
However, Hatakeyama teaches, on Fig. 11 that it is desirable in diffraction gratings to include wherein, the main surface of the first coating layer has recesses (bottom most side of uppermost resin layer 11 has recesses), and the second main surface (bottom of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 2m) [Par 25, 35, 45] has protrusions (bottom most side of middle resin layer 11 has protrusions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hatakeyama in order to provide different arrangements of the resin layer in relation to the light source, as taught by Hatakeyama [Par 47-48].
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama in view of Han as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Sutherland (US 20060119916 A1).
Re Claim 12, Hatakeyama in view of Han teaches the light diffraction element according to claim 6.
But Hatakeyama in view of Han does not explicitly teach, an optical computing device comprising: first and second light diffraction element units, each of which is the light diffraction element unit according to claim 6, wherein the fourth main surface of the first light diffraction element unit contacts the second main surface of the second light diffraction element unit.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Sutherland teaches, on Fig. 2, that it is desirable in diffraction gratings to include, an optical computing device (the invention can be used for optical computing) [Par 7] comprising: first and second light diffraction element units (grating 220b and 220a)[Par 140],wherein the fourth main surface (top of grating 220b) of the first light diffraction element unit contacts the second main surface (bottom of grating 220a) of the second light diffraction element unit (Sutherland teaches the intentional stacking of light diffraction elements, “…it has been found that a stack of five gratings each with a length of 10 .mu.m yields the thickness required for a half-wave plate.”)[Par 140].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hatakeyama and Han with Sutherland in order to create, diffraction or polarization gratings that yield the thickness required for wavelength plates (half wavelength for example), as taught by Sutherland [Par 140].
Claim(s) 2 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama in view of Han as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Argoitia (US 6749936 B2).
Re claim 2, Hatakeyama in view of Han discloses, the light diffraction element unit according to claim 1.
But Hatakeyama in view of Handoes not explicitly disclose, wherein the light diffraction structure (resin layer 11 labeled, LD)is embedded in the first light-transmissive coating layer (third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11)).
However, within the same field of endeavor, Argoitia teaches, on Fig. 6, that it is desirable in diffractive layers to include wherein the light diffraction structure (resin layer 11 labeled, LD)(reflector 52) is embedded in the first light-transmissive coating layer (third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11)) (reflector 52 is embedded in dielectric layer 54A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hatakeyama in view of Han with Arogitia in order to provide, low background brightness as taught by Argoitia [Col 16, Lines 15-25].
Re Claim 7, Hatakeyama in view of Han discloses, an optical computing device comprising: first and second light diffraction element units, each of which is the light diffraction element unit according to claim 1.
But Hatakeyama in view of Han does not explicitly disclose, wherein the fourth main surface (Examiner annotated as 4m) of the first light diffraction element unit contacts the second main surface (bottom of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 2m) [Par 25, 35, 45] of the second light diffraction element unit.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Argoitia teaches, on Fig. 7, that it is desirable in diffractive layers to include wherein the fourth main surface (Examiner annotated as 4m) of the first light-transmissive coating layer (third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11)) (Fig. 7 discloses an embodiment, with a bottom of dielectric coating 62) of the first light diffraction element unit (reflector 64a) contacts the second main surface (bottom of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 2m) [Par 25, 35, 45] of the second light diffraction element unit (top of reflector 64B) [Col 20, Lines 0-25].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hatakeyama in view of Han with Arogitia in order to provide, low background brightness as taught by Argoitia [Col 16, Lines 15-25].
Re Claim 8, Hatakeyama in view of Han discloses, a method for assembling an optical computing device including first and second light diffraction element units, each of which is the light diffraction element unit according to claim 1.
But Hatakeyama in view of Han does not explicitly disclose, the method comprising causing the fourth main surface (Examiner annotated as 4m) of the first light diffraction element unit to contact the second main surface (bottom of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 2m) [Par 25, 35, 45] of the second light diffraction element unit
However, within the same field of endeavor, Argoitia teaches, on Fig. 7, the method comprising causing the main surface of the first light-transmissive coating layer (third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11)) (Fig. 7 discloses an embodiment, with a bottom of dielectric coating 62) of the first light diffraction element unit (reflector 64a) to contact the second main surface (bottom of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 2m) [Par 25, 35, 45] of the second light diffraction element unit (top of reflector 64B) [Col 20, Lines 0-25].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hatakeyama in view of Han with Arogitia in order to provide, low background brightness as taught by Argoitia [Col 16, Lines 15-25].
Re Claim 9, Hatakeyama in view of Han discloses, a method for manufacturing an optical computing device including first and second light diffraction element units, each of which is the light diffraction element unit according to claim 1.
But Hatakeymaa in view of Han does not explicitly disclose, the method comprising causing the fourth main surface (Examiner annotated as 4m) of the first light diffraction element unit to contact the second main surface (bottom of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 2m) [Par 25, 35, 45] of the second light diffraction element unit.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Argoitia teaches, on Fig. 7, the method comprising causing the main surface of the first light-transmissive coating layer (third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11)) (Fig. 7 discloses an embodiment, with a bottom of dielectric coating 62) of the first light diffraction element unit (reflector 64a) to contact the second main surface (bottom of second glass layer 41, examiner annotated as 2m) [Par 25, 35, 45] of the second light diffraction element unit (top of reflector 64B) [Col 20, Lines 0-25].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hatakeyama in view of Han with Arogitia in order to provide, low background brightness as taught by Argoitia [Col 16, Lines 15-25].
Re Claim 10, Hatakeyama in view of Han discloses, the light diffraction element unit according to claim 1.
But Hatakeyama in view of Han does not explicitly disclose, wherein the fourth main surface (Examiner annotated as 4m) has recesses, and the sixth main has protrusions.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Argoitia teaches, on Fig. 7, wherein the main surface of the first light-transmissive coating layer (third optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 1-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11)) (bottom side of dielectric layer 54A) has recesses (layer 54a has recesses), and the main surface of the second light-transmissive coating layer (first optical element 50 and adhesive 60, examiner annotated as 2-LT is at least partially transmissive since it includes a diffractive resin layer 11)has protrusions (top of dielectric layer 54B has protrusions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the invention to modify the system of Hatakeyama in view of Han with Arogitia in order to provide, low background brightness as taught by Argoitia [Col 16, Lines 15-25].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lyu (US 10345506 B1) teaches a similar diffraction grating.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAY ALEXANDER DEAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872