DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 29, the examiner suggests amending the phrase “and a content of vinylaromatic units, relative to the diene portion” to read “and a content of vinyl units, relative to the diene portion” – please refer to paragraph [0057] of the specification for support. As written, the limitations do not provide internal consistency for what the polymer can be.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 and 22-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Gaudemaris (CA 3 017 422).
Regarding claims 16-18, 20, 26 and 28, De Gaudemaris teaches a tire ([0001]) comprising a rubber composition based on at least one elastomer comprising from 90 to 100 phr of one or more copolymers of butadiene and vinyl aromatic monomer ([0013]). The content of the vinyl aromatic unit is between 0 and 5 % by weight and the glass transition temperature is from -110 to -80 C ([0013]). De Gaudemaris further teaches that the composition contains a hydrocarbon resin ([0013]) which is based on a cyclic monomer such as cyclopentadiene and methylcyclopentadiene ([0090]) which is a C5 cyclic olefin. De Gaudemaris teaches that the contains of the aromatic protons is less than 50% ([0067]), the Z-average molecular weight is less than 2000 g/mol ([0071]) and has a glass transition temperature such as that Tg ≥ 80-2(HA) ([0072]). These parameters overlap the claimed invention – for example, when HA is 17%, Tg ≥ 57.6 and Mn =417.
De Gaudemaris fails to specifically exemplify the exact rubber composition. However, it clearly discloses each of the components of the composition, and teaches that they are all suitable for use in the tire. It is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to make any of the tire compositions suggested by a reference, including selecting materials from a list in a reference. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare any of the tire suggested by reference, including the claimed invention. In view of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to use the teachings of De Gaudemaris to arrive at the presently claimed invention. It would be nothing more than using known compounds in a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 398, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 19, De Gaudemaris teaches that the units of cyclopentadiene are present in the hydrocarbon as the predominate unit ([0088]) and this indicates that this cyclic monomer is present in the resin at greater than 50 % by weight.
Regarding claim 22, De Gaudemaris teaches that the hydrocarbon resin is further based on aromatic monomers ([0089]).
Regarding claim 23, De Gaudemaris teaches that the aromatic monomer is an olefin-aromatic such as a vinyl aromatic compound such as styrene ([0089]).
Regarding claim 24, De Gaudemaris teaches that the aromatic monomer is an aromatic distillation cut (from a C9 fraction) ([0089]).
Regarding claim 25, De Gaudemaris teaches that the aromatic monomer can be a styrene which reads on the claimed formula II. ([0024]).
Regarding claim 27, De Gaudemaris teaches that the hydrocarbon resin is present in the amount from 15 to 150 phr ([0006]).
Regarding claim 29, De Gaudemaris teaches that the copolymer has a content of vinyl aromatic units of 1 to 4 % by weight relative to the total weight of the copolymer and a content of vinyl units ranging from 8 to 15 % by weight ([0032]).
Regarding claim 30, De Gaudemaris teaches that at least 70% by weight of the copolymer is functionalized ([0033]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Gaudemaris (CA 3 017 422) in view Rogers et al (WO 2016/043851)
The discussion regarding De Gaudemaris in paragraph 5 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 21, De Gaudemaris teaches that the hydrocarbon resin can contain methylcyclopentadiene ([0091]), however, fails to teach that the hydrocarbon resin is made up of between 0.1 to 15 wt. % methylcyclopentadiene.
Rogers teaches a tire composition with an elastomer that incorporates a hydrocarbon resin (Abstract, [0034]). Rogers teaches that the hydrocarbon resin comprises from 5 to 70 mol % of derived from DCPD ([0035]). Rogers teaches that while the information in paragraph [0035] is directed to DCPD, any polymer comprised of cyclic units are suitable. In paragraph [0036], Rogers teaches that methylcyclopentadiene is a suitable cyclic unit. While this is in mole units, based on the molecular weights of the components, it would overlap the recited weight ranges.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the hydrocarbon resin of De Gaudemaris to have the 5-70% mole of methylcyclopentadiene as taught by Rogers. One would have been motivated to do so in order to receive the expected benefit of using a hydrocarbon resin which provides improved durability along with improved impermeability in a cost-effective manner for use in tire applications (Rogers, [0007])
Double Patenting
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,485,385. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite a tire comprising the same elastomer matrix and a hydrocarbon resin with the same characteristics.
Claim 16 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 26 of copending Application No. 17/629,659 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite a tire comprising the same elastomer matrix and a hydrocarbon resin with the same characteristics.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764